Unheard Voice PDF Print
Thursday, 06 November 2008 16:04

The talk show "What Say You" by government-run RTM2 was abruptly discontinued.

Some said the programme was discontinued because its invitation of Teresa Kok as a guest has enraged a certain group of people. Some others said the programme allowed the airing of talks that shouldn't have been aired due to a technical lapse.

Information minister Ahmad Shabery Cheek said "What Say You" had been shelved because of its poor viewership, with only 170,000 viewers in each episode. Having said that, the programme which subsequently replaces "What Say You" has touched on the unpopular topic of local movies, and suspicion has been aroused whether the programme structuring has actually shored up the viewership during the same time slot.

This is not the first time a Chinese call-in programme has been abruptly stalled. Two years ago, Ai-FM was also suffering the same fate of having its hosts in a popular call-in programme and the eventually the programme itself replaced, all done in the name of programme restructuring.

It is indeed not easy to run a talk show in Malaysia, as too many topics have come under the so-called sensitive category. The hosts must handle their shows with particular care in order not to tread upon forbidden territories.

The greatest thing about "What Say You" is that the talk show has allowed politicians from within and without the government to voice their opinions.

Ong Tee Keat, Koh Tsu Koon, Liow Tiong Lai and Chew Mei Fun from the BN camp, as well as Tian Chua, Teng Chang Khim and Liew Chin Tong from Pakatan Rakyat, have all been invited to the show before. They were all given equal opportunities to voice up. This, coupled with the insightful views from non-political professionals, has allowed the audience to gain a more comprehensive scope of major issues.

Moreover, "What Say You" has also invited non-Chinese who are conversant in the Chinese language to share their opinions, and this has allowed Chinese viewers to better understand how non-Chinese Malaysians perceive things.

Sparks may be triggered if politicians from opposing camps are brought onto the same stage, but often accord is amicably struck on issues related to the bread and butter of rakyat.

To be honest, government representatives invited to appear in the show often do so "at their own risk," as they will come under harsh criticisms of the audience. But then isn't this a perfect way to get the public opinions heard?

Since the March general elections, public awareness on politics has soared, and similar talk shows begins to see tremendous rise in popularity.

Government-run TV stations are different from private stations in that they shouldn't focus too much on viewership without taking into consideration their unique social obligations. When our TV stations have been packed with an overabundance of poor quality variety shows, there is this need to air programmes that will inspire the public and accentuate their wisdom.

Viewership factors aside, running a live talk show is like walking on a tightrope. But even if the audience has come up with some very radical feedback, they should at least be seen as what people of a specific walk of life think and feel of certain issues.

It is far wiser to permit an outlet for voices of dissatisfaction and then offer solutions to appease the rage, then to turn off the microphone and shut off all the unheard talks. (By YANG LIQIN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by arazak, November 06, 2008 16:30:00
Information minister Ahmad Shabery Cheek said "What Say You" had been shelved because of its poor viewership, with only 170,000 viewers in each episode.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another feeble excuse by the "foaming in the mouth" Minister.

Also, so much for the empty rhetoric for reforming media by his boss. . ., PM Bodohwi!

written by ibabonma, November 06, 2008 16:42:48
"poor viewership, with only 170,000 viewers...!"

Susah-susah gantikan dengan slot: Popeye the Sailorman! Menteri UMNO boleh tidur lena.
written by Hello Keithy, November 06, 2008 16:58:43
This is an act of cowards and losers. Only BN-UMNO acts like so.

I've said it before and I shall say it again here. Wake up Malaysians. Tell your friends and families to vote out BN. That way, we don't have to put up with all these nonsense.

Poor viewership ???!!! In that case, put up a programme showing Ahmad Shabery Cheek frothing at the corners of his mouth. Then the rating will definitely goes up.
written by densemy, November 06, 2008 17:27:31
A government funded channel should be promoting programmes which encourage freedom of speech, no matter what the ratings

Whooops... For a while I forgot I was in Malaysia. The country where freedoms of any type are frowned on
written by Alice, November 06, 2008 17:30:57
Looks like we have become a hypersensitive nation. Every thing in this county is so sensitive that there is nothing much left to talk about . Sigh!
written by cllim123, November 06, 2008 17:50:54
Any topic that these Umno goons cannot reason intelligently on is sensitive. Basically, when they lose an intelligent debate, they resort to fists. And Ban all talk and call it sensitive. Also anything that will expose these goons is sensitive.
written by johntyc, November 06, 2008 19:22:05
The programme was discontinued because they're unable to portray Teresa and PR as being bad. Take RPK's interview with RTM on 27 April 08 as example.
written by Sabahfan, November 06, 2008 20:45:55
BAN BAN BAAN BAANNNNEED..!!1

ANYTHING that does now benefit the Ketuanan PENDATANG and the ketuanan big nose.. ha ha ha ha ah
written by asguard, November 06, 2008 21:24:34
Not only that types shows..being banned examples likes Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, also missing from the scene warm hearted stories Touched By An Angel previously shown by Ntv7... and couple more of goods like jericho, The Dead Zoneor jeremiah ... and Beverly Hills 90210 's third season being banned, Melrose Place, Will & Grace...
written by Darth Vader, November 06, 2008 21:25:58
Mr Cheeky..... yeah right. u think we so stupid to believe you.... WHAT SAY YOU??
written by thebaker, November 07, 2008 11:36:26
Information Minister, your counting must be very good, only 170,000 viewers each episode. Are you sure it is not 171,011 or 170,123 viewers. How on earth did you get an exact figure of 170,000 viewers per episode, no more no less? Are you very very sure?