Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ong: Malaysians must free themselves from racial shackles

Ong: Malaysians must free themselves from racial shackles PDF Print
Thursday, 06 November 2008 16:01

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 6 - MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said today it is time for Malaysians to free themselves from the shackles of racial issues.

Taking Barack Obama, the first African-American elected as the president of the United States, as an example, Ong said, "Sadly in Malaysia, we are still bickering over the appointment of a Chinese lady as acting general manager for the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS).

"It is time for us to break free from the orthodox way of doing things. In the US, it took more than 200 years for a black man to be elected president in a predominantly white country.

"Ironically, the very people in Malaysia, who cheer for Obama do not think that a Chinese lady is deemed fit to lead PKNS," Ong said in a statement.

Ong, who is Transport Minister, said the reaction from certain politicians from both sides of the divide on the appointment showed that they were still "stuck in their own racial cocoon." 

- Bernama

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by MAMR, November 06, 2008 16:18:47
Malaysian must NOT ONLY FREE THEMSELVES FROM RACIAL ISSUES BUT MUST START TO REJECT DIRTY LEADERS (Those who are CORUPTED, SCANDALOUS,LOW MORALES ,USED POSITION FOR THEIR OWN GAIN AND CONCEALED THE TRUTH FROM RAKYAT-LIER)
written by Counterpointer, November 06, 2008 16:38:22
stuck in their own racial cocoon

OTK are you talking to yourself again?

For someone who made helluva lot of noise about resolving to review the ISA but chickened out unashamedly when the opportunity to debate the issue arose, your hands are indeed stucked deep in those UMNO's cocoon balls.

written by fireduck, November 06, 2008 16:48:08
How to, Mr Ong? When the time comes for you elected representatives to speak up, your biji kecut. So how? When the rakyat speak out on their own, we are threatened with ISA. So, please tell how we Malaysians, must free ourselves from racial shackles?

We elected you guys for a reason, and ONE reason only. That is to represent us and our interests. When a wrong is committed, call it as it is. Justifying a wrong cannot make it a right. Learn to speak up when it matters most, not during party election time only. And be willing to walk the walk for us. Why do you think RPK, Zaid and others are getting the kudos. They are willing to lay it on the line for us all, not just talk about it.
written by palani, November 06, 2008 16:49:50
SEE WHO IS TALKING? MCA AND OTHER COMPONENT PARTIES IN BN ARE RACIAL AND THEY SHOULD EITHER DISSOLVE THEIR PARTIES OR MAKE IT MULTIRACIAL. EVEN PAKATAN RAKYAT PARTIES ( PKR, DAP & PAS) are falling into the trap of race and religion. If PR wants to be a viable alternative to BN they must first get rid of their affinity to race and religion and fight for all Malaysians. I am really worried about PAS and some of their actions. If PAS wantsto portray themselves as multiracial and multireligious, they must recruit direct membership and not through PAS Supporters Club. Islam doesn't differentiate between race and religions. Islam has greater respect for other religions. Your religion is yours and my religion is mine. Isn't that correct? I have greater respect for Tok Guru Nik Aziz and I hope he will persuade PAS leaders to change the party's constitution to allow the party to recruit direct membership. DON'T CONFUSE PEOPLE AS THOUGH YOU HAVE A HIDDEN AGENDA. PAS, PLEASE WALK THE TALK.[edited by st low for excessive use of capital letters]
written by Hello Keithy, November 06, 2008 16:50:15
Well Datuk Seri OTK, what you said is true and correct. In other words, MCA also feels the racial discrimination from you-know-who. In order to free ourselves from racial shackles in Malaysia is to vote for non-race based parties in elections. That way all the race-based parties would be wiped out. The new ruling parties will have to act accordingly to live up to the true Malaysian spirit. We too have a dream. And this dream can come true ..... just like in America.
written by michaelT, November 06, 2008 16:53:12
OTK I must tell you that talking and keep buzzing does not impress the Chinese and Indians and certain percentage of the Malays. Unfold racial policies and dismantle the shackles is your elected job. Just do it YOUR WAY like TDM did It MY WAY. I tell and promise you that if you can dismantle the racist policies I can tell you You will get the full support of the rakyat. The PR will lose heavily the next GE. Haha this is a challenge you must accept since you talk about Racial Shackles haha
written by New Malaysian, November 06, 2008 16:57:53
Err.... Mr President of the Malaysian Chinese Association, how can you free yourself from the shackles of racial issues? Your very party represents racial issues, no? And will you champion equal rights of all races to the seat of GM of PKNS? And when will you do this, Mr President? I am waiting with bated breath.....
written by patycy, November 06, 2008 17:02:33
"MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said today it is time for Malaysians to free themselves from the shackles of racial issues."

Then please dissolve MCA since it is a race based party, and all these racial issues started from the influences of race based party.

Dissolve MCA, create a party for all Malaysian, then i will acknowledge what you say.
written by michaelT, November 06, 2008 17:07:32
AAB has said that Non Bumi can be PM.. OKT what have you to say and reinforced what AAB has said ... Say something on this topic and stand up like a respectable President Of MCA
written by hiro, November 06, 2008 17:12:02
No point lar OTK talk in a vacuum. The only way to proper race relations is first to get rid of ISA and promote interfaith/interracial discourse, then review the definition of sedition so that it is separated as clear as day and night between (1) criticism of those in power, and (2) making derogatory racial slurs or inciting racial hatred.

And then OTK should lobby for the investigation, arrest and prosecution of all those in UMNO under the Sedition Act, try them and shame them in public. And then clean up the likes of Zukifli Noordin and those in PAS too if they incite hatred by religious prejudices. Only then will OTK will have my respect.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 06, 2008 17:28:37
“..shackles of racial issues”???Hmmmm, really Ong!!

I repeat once more:

It took the great United States of America 232 years and 111 days to accept a non white to become their President.
It took only just a mere 23 years (from the formation of our nation of Malaysia in 1963) for the minority race of the Indian community to become the 4th Prime Minister of Malaysia.
Furthermore, the 5th Prime Minister of Malaysia is also from another minority race of Arab-Chinese descend.

Unfortunately, these two Prime Minister do not admit to being non Malay, as this “little detail” of their ancestry might hurt and upset my beloved Malays. So, all my fellow bloggers here, let’s keep this little secret among us; ok!

Now only IF one (just one) very brave elected MPs ( be he/she from the BN or Opposition) has the guts to say this fact outright in parliament! Then the walls of racial issues in Malaysia might be busted wide open and opening up a whole lot of possibilities!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 06, 2008 17:45:07
Why Barack won??Simple, really!

Would you vote BN back into power if you have the choice? The Republican is akin to our BN and the Democrats as our Opposition in Malaysia.
The Feds government performance has been real shitty and the Democrats are viewed the same way as we see our Opposition..i.e. hope and a change for the better.

So, why vote for a government who will give you more or less of the same old shit??
written by cllim123, November 06, 2008 17:56:16
Talk only. When MCA is a race based party just like MIC, and UMNO. don't just talk. In the uSA, your MCA is illegal for racism!
written by cllim123, November 06, 2008 17:57:02
Other associations that are illegal in the USA for racism is the KU KLUX KLAN!
written by angkasawan bocor, November 06, 2008 18:15:33
"Ironically, the very people in Malaysia, who cheer for Obama do not think that a Chinese lady is deemed fit to lead PKNS," Ong said in a statement.

Brother Tee Keat,
So, what are you going to do about that? Just talk, talk, talk only for publicity's sake?

If MCA, Gerakan and MIC are sincere about what they preach, they should leave BN immediately and help PR to form the next Fed. Gomen. Learn from your buddy SAPP. Walk your talk.
written by educationist, November 06, 2008 18:19:04
Forgive him, for he knows not what he's talking about.
written by allmenarebrothers, November 06, 2008 18:36:55
Dear Ah Keat
You can only talk big but the moment the Big Bully breathe down your neck you became as quiet as a church mouse.
You can dream that you are the Malaysian version of Dr Martin Luther King Jr and arouse the people with your dream of freeing Malaysians from the shackles of racism or your Ah Yen can dream of standing up to her rights like Mdm Rosa Parks by refusing to give up her rights to her bus seat to a White in Montgomery, Alabama in 1955. But these are mere dreams which will turn into a nightmare for both of you when the Big Bully put his foot down.
Neither William Wilberforce nor Abraham Lincoln can emancipate all of you MCA slaves.
You are all doomed as slaves forever.
written by riversnail, November 06, 2008 19:11:20
"it is time for Malaysians to free themselves from the shackles of racial issues".

get out from BN!!!
then talk about racism!!!
or stay in BN and proof to everyone that you do have balls between your legs by voicing out against UMNO / Ketuanan Melayu!!!
Can you do that??I doubt so..... smilies/sad.gif
written by wood, November 06, 2008 19:55:12
DS OTK, from where and what you are now,is anyone in BN paying attention to what you are mumbling ? You and MCA could have done better ! Anyway nice try !

written by asguard, November 06, 2008 21:19:37
too long to see any changes unless the people of races can rejected the brand politics introduce by UMNO ....THEN IT SURE TO DOOM ...
written by joejoe, November 06, 2008 21:35:19
OTK

Don't TOK KOK. I know what you said makes sense, but when you make a statement without action, you sound like a whiner. Whine! Whine! Whine!

Are you expecting something to happen? You are the president of the largest Chinese political party. What are you going to do other than whine? Or are you expecting someone to make something happen for you?

Tiew!
written by No nonsense, November 06, 2008 21:54:29
As long as you are still with BN you will always Talk the KOK and not walk the talk. You think you dare to say it in front of the Amno goons? You think you got the guts? You will be under ISA man. You are in a very comfortable position holding a Minister post you think you want to give that up. Please stop talking KOK and walk the talk. If not dont be a mad barking pariah dog. SHUT UP.
written by Darth Vader, November 06, 2008 22:10:23
OTK,

if you want to free from the racial shackles, you should make some sacrifices. Give up yr presidency and disband MCA. If you are not willing to do so, then please dont open yr mouth.
written by penangboi, November 06, 2008 22:34:33
Makes my blood boil hearing such blatant insincerity spewing from this typical hypocrite!!!

Trying to jump on to the bandwagon in 'championing' Obama's win BUT he'd just as easily turn around and continue his role as one of the 3 main racist parties in Malaysia (the other 2 are UMNO and MIC).

Just like what Bodohwi said about anybody can be PM of Malaysia. Shit. All these BN leaders are all talking 'KOK'.
written by Proarte, November 06, 2008 22:34:35
Ong Tee Keat said:

"Ironically, the very people in Malaysia, who cheer for Obama do not think that a Chinese lady is deemed fit to lead PKNS," Ong said in a statement"

All I can say is Hear! Hear!

It is all very well for Pakatan supporters to belittle Ong but remember he is a BN minister and give him credit for that. PKR and PAS are not in government but yet they have betrayed the Rakyat by wanting only a Malay as head of PKNS. Their 'generous concession' to the non- Muslims is the 'temporary' appointment of the brilliant and loyal Chinese lady who has served PKNS for 33 years. Such is the generosity of spirit of the Malay Muslims in PKNS that they can begrudge a Chinese of merit a couple of years of service as head of the institution which she has served so well and with such dedication.

What has the Pied Piper of Permatang Pauh aka the 'Reformasi Icon' said about 'temporary' appointment of a loyal Chinese staff who has worked 33 years in PKNS until a Malay can be found? Typical cowardly and duplicitous silence has been Anwar's response.

Why haven't the Chinese in PKR not taken Khalid and Anwar to task for their betrayal of March the 8th promises? Similarly, why hasnt PAS been taken to task for their racism let alone betrayal of basic Islamic principles.

Islam is only as good as its followers. In Malaysia, Islam as espoused by the politicians in PKR, PAS and their supporters seems to be fit only for the sewer.
written by SiHangChai, November 06, 2008 23:21:20
Don't talk the talk OTK. Do it, and don't be like your previous leader the ex-OKT.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 07, 2008 09:41:16
To those still in doubt or too lazy to seek out Wikipedia in the internet, here are excerpts about our “beloved” former & present Prime Ministers of our country called “Malaysia”.

Mahathir was born on 10 July 1925, in Alor Star, the capital of the northern state of Kedah,[8] the youngest of nine children[9] of a schoolteacher and a housewife. His father, Mohamad Iskandar, was of half-Indian origin, being the son of a Malayalee Muslim (who migrated from Kerala) and a Malay mother, while Mahathir's own mother, Wan Tampawan, was Malay.

Abdullah Badawi was born in Kepala Batas, Penang to a prominent religious family. His father, Ahmad Badawi, was a prominent religious figure and UMNO member. Badawi's paternal grandfather is Syeikh Abdullah Badawi Fahim, who was one of the founding members of Hizbul Muslimin, later known as PAS. Syeikh Abdullah Badawi Fahim was also a famous nationalist and first mufti of Penang after Independence.[1] His maternal grandfather, Ha Su-chiang (also known as Hassan), was a Chinese Muslim who came from Sanya in Hainan.

So, again I repeat, what’s the big deal about these United States of America FINALLY having a non Whilte President, as it sure took them long enough after 232 years & 111 days to get there???

In Malaysia, we got a non Malay Prime Minister in just 23 years. The Americans should be the one doing the congratulating for our “non racist” feat in such short period of time!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Rozlan, November 07, 2008 10:09:54
MCA itself is as racist as UMNO.How come he advised others not to be rascists...
written by antiilluminati, November 07, 2008 11:52:18
Wah lau ehh..like that also can ahh ?... OTK, i agree that u are talking to yourself.
written by ianketam, November 07, 2008 12:22:46

Dear F**K UMNO-Putra..,

this is so-called.. KETUANAN MELAYU

DEB sekarang hanya menguntungkan sebahagian KECIL MELAYU sahaja...

DEB merugikan sebahagian BESAR MELAYU..

Dasar DEB telah memecahkan dasar pemerintahan Inggeris, iaitu

pengenalan kaum melalui kegiatan ekonomi..

Blue-print DEB ADALAH DASAR YANG SANGAT BAGUS

CUMA

PERLAKSANAAN DEB adalah secara tidak adil...

kepada orang melayu sendiri..oleh orang melayu sendiri

Rustam Affendi Abu Rahim
Sek Alam Shah, KL 1985 -89
UUM 1990 - 97
MK Land 2000 - 2008
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 07, 2008 12:46:10
What a hypocrite!! As expected of UMNO's shackled slave......
written by adamckteh, November 07, 2008 13:42:29
Balls carrier, you are no better than those you criticized.
Didn't you read the sms between Najib and lawyer Shafie, the statutory declaration of PI Bala.
Man of no conscience.
written by tino_chan1988, November 07, 2008 14:15:17
The United States of American took less than 50 years to eradicate the racial discrimination mindset by voting in an African-American origin to the White House.

It took Malaysia less than 50 years of discriminatory politics and practices to develop what it is today - segregation of races and religion in order to strengthen individuals and political parties agendas.

Where are we heading to?

written by benny loh, November 07, 2008 14:16:29
MR.ONG, THIS IS HOW...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...sible.html