Home arrow The Blogs arrow Straight From My Heart arrow Congratulations to Obama, from Malaysia-Today

Congratulations to Obama, from Malaysia-Today PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 06 November 2008 12:05

To President-elect Barack Obama of the United States of America

Your election to be the next President of the United States is a sweet victory for all who espouse change, fairness and equality. The reality of a you being a first term African-American senator being elected to the highest office in the nation, by her citizens representing all races and religious backgrounds, brings much hope and inspiration to all of us in Malaysia.

We Malaysians have been dulled into a sense of complacency for far too long by the propaganda that change is risky, that the time-tested Barisan Nasional leadership knows what is best for the people, and that 'Ketuanan Melayu' is the only way to go. Your message of “We are the change we seek” is equally fitting for us in Malaysia. May this historic moment be the catalyst to open our people's and politicians' eyes, that change is possible, that no barrier is too great if we so desire to transform this wonderful country of ours into a land that every Malaysian can truly call home .

When you said “"Let us resist the temptation to fall back on the same partisanship and pettiness and immaturity that has poisoned our politics for so long “, the message resonates all too clear for us and we do hope that we in Malaysia can also rise above the racial and religious politics to ensure a safe place under the sun for every Malaysian, regardless of race, sex, and religion. We want to celebrate and value our own diversity, and where caring for each other overcomes distrust between one another

We congratulate you on your victory, and we hope that it will bring about positive changes for the world, and inspire all Malaysians to reclaim our rights to determine how we want our beloved nation to change and progress.

From: Marina and Raja Petra Kamarudin, and Malaysia-Today readers

Copy forwarded to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Comments (67)Add Comment
written by avj, November 06, 2008 12:12:55
Barack Obama further strengthens the resolve of all freedom loving Malaysians to resist and topple the racist regime of the Barisan Najis.
agree 216
written by Tom n Jerry, November 06, 2008 12:13:33
Congratulations & Celebration to President-elect Barack Obama of USA;your victory is certainly avictory for the world at large and especially to the American people ;this victory clearly shows that there is no room for race or religion in politics;I sincerely hope you will give a piece of your mind to our mentally retarded BN politicians who are still screaming of Ketuanan Melayu,something quite bizzare and uncalled for in this day and age!
agree 146
written by DXB2008, November 06, 2008 12:14:17
The victory inspired the rest of the wrold but in Malaysia, there is no Obama in najib and we have nothing to change in leadership....we have robbers and thieves!
http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...elect.html
agree 110
written by kanokporn, November 06, 2008 12:15:37
lucky for obama that he wasn't born here in malaysia otherwise he will be just one of us or worse still in jail just like rpk or have his passport revoked and sent back to kenya by abdullah and najib and rais and albar
agree 135
written by AuntyG, November 06, 2008 12:18:03
Yesss, Obama. We are happy for America, not bcos they voted ing in their 1st 'black' president, but bcos they are matured enough to vote in CHANGES, be their leader white or black (no 'grey' aka blurblur please!!).

Yess, Obama. We are inspired by your apt message "We are the change we seek".
For we are seeking change in Malaysia too. Anything is possible, and nothing is impossible. After all, Malaysia is known as Bolehland isnt it??
Well, Malaysia boleh - CHANGE IT!!
written by Mr Smith, November 06, 2008 12:20:05
In US all are equal. In Malaysia some are more equal than others. We have Ketuannan Melayu, Bumiputra on the one hand (more equal) and the 'pendatang', 'kafir' and 'squatters' on the other (less equal).
The second group have to provide crutches and pay taxes to support the first.
So when will there ever be an Obama in Malaysia?????
Yes, one day, when there is no more UMNO.
agree 132
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 12:23:39
What? sucking up to Body Odour oleli?
disagree 137
written by mei1, November 06, 2008 12:32:27
US has just marked an unprecedented history, but we're still struggling hard to achieve that "Yes we can".
Even country like Indonesia has stepped forward by passing bill against racial discrimination, yet it's still ketuanan Melayu, social contract, lip service etc here.

When will the powers that be here ever learn & walk the talk?
written by Zapper, November 06, 2008 12:33:49
USA has shown to the whole world that the ordinary Americans are color blind and have the courage to change. I salute to all the Americans. TDM must be very disappointed at Obama being elected. No opportunity to bash USA.

Can the malays accept this change in Malaysia?? If cannot, the Malaysian government should NOT send congratulatory message to the incoming President. This is hypocrisy to the highest order.
written by FFT, November 06, 2008 12:38:40
Where foreign policy issues in South East Asia are concerned, the new President-elect should immediately and unreservedly declare UMNO a state sponsor of terrorism and facilitate its collapse so that true democracy will flourish in Malaysia under the stewardship of a responsible leader.
written by ilovepakatan, November 06, 2008 12:42:32

It took so many years for them to achieve this. For us, it will take longer. The simple reason is, the Bolehland Community is made up of selfish, childish and narrow-minded people. So it will happen in year 2050 perhaps. When you and me are fertilizing daffodils.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, November 06, 2008 12:43:22
The Americans have shown the world that the racial background of the "Captain" is irrelevant. What matters most is that he/she cares enough for the Country. This could not be said for Malaysia. Will we be ever be ready for a non-Malay PM?
written by kanokporn, November 06, 2008 12:45:28
the sultan of perak who was the cj or lord president then has warned people just recently not to question the malay rights otherwise it will become sensitive.how educated our sultans are. congratulations mr barrack
written by Kuku Burung, November 06, 2008 12:46:40
Not to forget that we have our very own agent of change in RPK! Yes, we can! We need you Pete to lead us into the new era.
written by DatoSeri, November 06, 2008 12:51:25
I am no Obama fan... but don't get me wrong, I don't hate him in anyway. It was just that McCane was more convicing through his experience and background as an ex-service man in military and many terms of an senator. That's assessment from meritocracy and experience point of view.

However, in time of such an economy melt down, people fear for further erosion into their livelihood and have a bigger dream to change in the best interest of a more secure future. Thus, people choose to CHANGE, and I respect the outcome.

In Malaysia, similarly, the country was not administered accordingly and many unfair policies and rules being practised. You can even find some of it in constitution, which by right should seek to protect and treat all citizen fairly. With the situation we have here, though a single group of politicians/leaders claimed to have experience in running the country, the country remain going south in many fronts.

There is not wrong to change, so we ought to change the government, change the policies, change the rules, and ammend the constitution for better and fairer baseline in administering this nation.

Let's follow the role model and persue our dream of fairness & equality!
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 13:03:21
How many of you really know what BO stands for?
disagree 72
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 13:04:52
How is possible that BO can get almost unlimited campaign funds while McCain is poor by comparison?
disagree 70
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 13:05:57
Democrats have always been known to be poor compared to the Republicans. Why the change this time?
disagree 62
written by johanssm, November 06, 2008 13:07:00
American gets to elect their president.
While 2000 umno's sub cons and kaki contract junkies are 'paid " to elect a najis for Malaysia.
written by dumbfounded, November 06, 2008 13:18:12
Very well said. Obama's thoughtful 30-minute infomercial alone would have won my vote. Even Mc Cain's concession speech was gallant. Unfortunately, I'm Malaysian which means I'm not at liberty to vote for my president/prime minister. It is a privilege reserved only for UMNO supremos who will never be half the leader Obama is.
written by Singapolean, November 06, 2008 13:19:29
we had an indian PM wat before this... the issue in malaysia is not race... but religion.. America have no problem with African-American being a President cos end of the day he is a Christian too..

If the chinese lady was a muslim... no problem to be the next head for PKNS...

Why call hindraf...hindraf... can't find a name with Malaysian Indian or just Indian on it... must include Hindu....

Semua sama je la...

After we have put the religion issue behind our back then we talk about getting a minority as PM in malaysia...

written by expat70, November 06, 2008 13:23:25
God Bless America, God Save Malaysia.

Malaysia Truely Asia
written by hamid, November 06, 2008 13:25:52
Hope it is a CLEAR message to the Sultan and AGONG that ALL Malaysia can be MB and PM>>>>> Without the need for Songkok and ISLAM.

PAS your congratulatory message is a sign of your Hiprocrasy....remember PKNS, Perak MB, need to be malay Islam, Yet you have the gall to insult Rakyat intelligence with your Islam is Fair remark. If Islam is Fair, go and Compensate and fix the Christian Orang Asli Church you demolish in Kelantan. For Sure Barak Obama will hear of your narrow minded deeds.

Change Now or Forever be Voted out like that Kulim MP. Yes we Will Obliterate Racism in Malaysia in the name of God!! Don't wait another day, Change Now and Change for a Better Malaysia. UMNO-BN MUST be REMOVED....YES WE CAN!!
written by zackzeni, November 06, 2008 13:36:50
i am a maly but sick of all these 'ketuanan melayu'. it sounds more like white supremacy or nazi's ..... time to move on my fellow malaysian
written by cheekymate, November 06, 2008 13:45:20
May I suggest that our cabinet elect should contain the following honourable people:
1.Our hero Raja Petra Kamaruddin-Chief whip in government
2.Mr.Zaid Ibrahim-Minister in the Prime Minister's Department
3.Mr.Anwar Ibrahim-Prime Minister
4.Mr.Lim Kit Siang-'No hanky panky' Minister
5.Mr.Lim Guan Eng-Deputy Prime Minister
6.Dr.Azly Rahman-Legislator
7.Mr.Moothy
8.YB Tengku Razaleigh
9.Mr.Karpal Singh
Only then can we hope that Malaysia has finally seen the light at the end of the tunnel.
written by Bluechip, November 06, 2008 13:47:03
What has been in America means can happen in Malaysia based on "Democracy". Democracy did'nt count whether you are Malay, Chinese, Indian or Serani as long as you can carries out "Daripada Rakyat, Kepada Rakyat, dan Untuk Rakyat."
written by angkasawan bocor, November 06, 2008 13:47:30
Congrats to President-elect Barack Obama. Obama's victory shows that the Americans have BIG HEARTS. They accept and vote for a candidate who is from the minority group and whose father is a Muslim. No wonder why United States is a great nation.

Shame to all those narrow-minded, racist and selfish politicians and people of the Bolehland. If adding Chinese and Tamil names to street nameplates has already caused some people to lodge a police report, then needless to mention a GM of a minority origin in a state government subsidiary or a PM of a minority origin for the nation. That is simply IMPOSSIBLE.

This country will never achieve anything great because everything in life is so dominated and so obsessed with racism.
written by panca, November 06, 2008 13:51:09
Yes the change has come to America...and Malaysia?

11.00 am Nov 5th 2008
“Barack Obama won the US Presidency by majority win of 12000 votes(LOL)”. The world congrats him for the change, the first Black President where Black r only 10% of American People. But Malaysia plunge into socio-political darkness as a result of racism, divide n rule, a one majority-race based party that decide the prime ministershipfor all msian of all races! Re4maC! While Obama’s win determine the wisdom and the rights of the American People. What does Msia show?…. Msia Boleh?

Najib is going to be the next PM? PMship thru our existing seriously flawed system where not at all all races are allowed to decide!

Only Msia Boleh!

It resembles the tsunami of March 08 but theirs are real big time, and lots of white esp young people has spoken and voted for Obama. Malaysian Federal Ruling party is still caught in the same time warp of the last 50 years of(one step forward three steps backward) policies.
written by hiro, November 06, 2008 14:24:24
I think Obama win is inspirational not the least because he is black, or because he is Democrat, but because he obtained a landslide, meaning those people whom the rest of the world have given up on at the rust belt actually voted for him despite being conservative. What it does is to send the following message:

1) it is not the people's fault if a bad government gets elected - all you need is a sufficiently inspirational leader or set of leaders to persuade them to support you, and

2) the worse kinds of electorate could be turned over to support a just cause.

This augurs well for Malaysia. We Malaysians have for far too long believe that rural Malays are a lost cause - easily bought by the message of Malay supremacy and continuation of NEP and how UMNO is their sole defender.

What the Pakatan Rakyat need is a collection of unified charismatic leaders to go to the grounds, inspire the young, and persuade the rural Malays to another point of view- one that is in harmony with the rest of right thinking Malaysians. Once that's done, UMNO will forever lose its support and will finally undertake that long and painful journey at self reform, failing which they will never see the lights of the corridors of power ever again.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 06, 2008 14:57:02
Ok, ok, so congratulation to the President elect Barack Hussein Obama! But it sure took them long enough (232 years and 111 days) to accept a non white to become President of these United States of America!

So, what is the big deal!

In Malaysia, in just a mere 23 years from the formation of our nation, the 4th Prime Minister of Malaysia is from the minority race of the Indian community.
On top of that, the 5th Prime Minister of Malaysia is also from another minority race of Arab-Chinese blood.

Unfortunately, these two Prime Minister do not admit to being non Malay as this “little detail” of their ancestry might hurt and upset my beloved Malays. So, all my fellow bloggers here, let’s keep this little secret among us; ok!

Pak Lah is sooooo correct when he said anyone can become Prime Minister in Malaysia!
written by biggun129, November 06, 2008 15:54:48
Yes Malaysia can 'Change'! One voice can do, one voice can change a room, and if a voice can change a room, it can change a city, and if it can change a city, it can change a state, and if it can change a state, it can change a nation,what we want is a change to our country, nothing more than that,who is that voice, Release 'RPK', than you will hear the voice of change!!!
written by fireduck, November 06, 2008 16:31:41
By the Penang UMNO's definition, Mr Barack Obama would be classified as a Pendatang or Penumpang or whatever. His father, Barack Obama Sr., was born and raised in a small village in Kenya,where he grew up herding goats with his own father, who was a domestic servant to the British. (ref:
http://www.barackobama.com/learn/meet_barack.php)

To be a Presidential Candidate, the person's life history is laid bare for all to peruse. Even the genealogy of the person is well documented, and often dissected and sometimes abused by the competing candidates.

Yet, unknown to almost all of us, Malaysia has been there done that. We have had a rich Obama-ish political history too. Tun Mahathir's background, just from the angle of parentage and lineage, runs parallel to Mr Obama's. Mahathir's father was from India, who came over to Malaysia to seek his fortune, I assume. Mahathir's rise to the apex of power here in Malaysia is well-known to us, but unlike Obama, we hardly ever knew his background.

Obama is not Michael Jackson; he did not go to the extent of de-pigmentation of his skin, and to reconstruct his face in order to fit in. Well, Mahathir didn't do any of that too. But that is where the differences start.

Obama is proud to be what he is, and he holds high respect for his mixed parentage. He does not mind having to check the little box that says "African American", each time he has to filled out a form. And he is damn proud to be known as an American first and foremost.

Mahathir, on the other hand, conveniently forgets his father's lineage. He is quick to call himself a Malay. Not that we begrudge him that but he is also more interested to be known as a Malay champion first and foremost, rather than as a champion of all Malaysians. What's so wrong with identifyng ourselves only as MALAYSIANS?

Well, to be fair to Mahathir, under it all he probably maintains strong ties to India. How else do we explain the some of the 'Malays' look more tan than even those in South India? But they call themselves 'Malay' wor, even though their command of Bahasa Malaysia is at the very best, only as good as mine ( I 'secured' a grade 8 - Pass - in my old MCE, equivalent to the current Form 5 SPM).

To get to the top of the heap in America you work for it to prove your worth. Parentage doesn't matter as long as you are a naturalized citizen. To get to the top of the pile in Malaysia, you have to work on it to disprove your parentage. Proof of your worthiness is not important.
written by Liberace, November 06, 2008 16:45:06
Batsman,

You seem to have something against Barack Obama, calling him Body Odour. I'm not a fan or a supporter of Obama and I still have my doubts about him, but to attack someone you know nothing about so viciously? If you have something on him, spill it. Otherwise, stick to the generally accepted etiquette of "if you've got nothing good to say, then don't say anything".

And the money, there are 168 million registered voters for 2008 of which 86 million are Democrats. If each voter gives $10, that'll be $860 million. Not too far-fetched is it?
written by yellowwoman, November 06, 2008 16:47:46
BATSMAN said,

How is possible that BO can get almost unlimited campaign funds while McCain is poor by comparison?

Well, Batsman, if you knew so much, why don't you share with us? I believe he got some of his money the same way DAP got their funds during their Pre-election nightly ceramahs, through donations of USD5, USD10 from the general public.

If I am wrong and you know the truth, spill the beans. Otherwise shut up!
written by malsia1206, November 06, 2008 17:38:41
Count me in for the congrats extended to the new President-elect of USA. It's a milestone in her history. New frontier abridged. Well done.
written by justinlian, November 06, 2008 18:41:44
Batsman, where is your susu that defending you all the way,
Still milking under her mummy arms ?
written by gorshan, November 06, 2008 19:05:38

written by batsman, November 06, 2008 12:23:39

batsman is from those class of people who think anyone one shade darker than him is smelly and dirty.what he doesn't know is that these dark people washes their backside with water and soap unlike his type who only wipes with tissue paper. now you know why i prefer to stand only in buses or train. there's just too many of these tissue wipers in this country. eeeeww!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mara koman, November 06, 2008 19:48:42

gorshan you amuse me..

Dont blame you, how else one can reason with a smelly stinking fart like batsman.
written by benny loh, November 06, 2008 20:36:11
ANOTHER PUBLIC ENEMY
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...enemy.html
written by Eskay Lim, November 06, 2008 20:52:54
It took only about 200 years for one of the descendants of black African slaves in the person of Barack Obama, to become the president of the world's most powerful nation of USA.

But here in Bolehland, descendants of non-Malays who landed in this country some 500 years ago during the Melacca Sultanate can't even get treated with equality.
So for a non-Malay to be the PM... that would be wishful dreaming.
written by Darth Vader, November 06, 2008 22:00:25
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 13:03:21

--------------------------------------------------
Batsman.... yes i know. "Batsman's Odour"

Since you have the gall to insult Africa-American who just won the election , you must be racist and you must be UMNOPutras.
written by Mee Udang, November 06, 2008 22:11:55
GORSHAN,
THERE'S ANOTHER TYPE OF PEOPLE WHO WASH THEIR BACKSIDE WITH WATER AND SOAP, THEN WIPES WITH TISSUE PAPER. THIS TYPE OF PEOPLE CALLED, "COLOUR BLIND PEOPLE".
written by liko, November 07, 2008 03:29:53
written by batsman, November 06,
_______________________________________________________ _________________________

Hahaha...batsman...you are so occupied creating negative meanings for people's initials. It's a kid's game and I believed most MT readers are matured adults who don't waste time on such a things. The BO that the Americans voted as their 44th president is no ordinary BO. Their BO is an inspiration to the rest of the world, a man whom they see as having the integrity, the capability to serve them. Maybe once you are done with your silly games, you could go and read the victory speech at: http://abcnews.go.com/Politics...477&page=2
Live and learn batsman. Life is not only about smelling people's BO!

written by letsbefair, November 07, 2008 05:33:20
Howard and Joan Ng decided what is best for their children and they are just one of those millions who made the same decision. In their family get together it is highly probable they would have mentioned the racist policies and their reason for migrating. I believe Barack Obama is well aware of the problems many who are non-Bumiputra, non-UMNO faces in this country.
He of all people will understand the frustration and anger that we the majority felt. America not too long ago was also very racist.
I don't know how much influence he can bring here but I do know Democrats have a tendency to meddle into other peoples affair. We witnessed that in the 1998 APEC forum in KL with Al-Gore's speach and Pelosi's meeting the Dalai Lama in India.
written by roadbarra, November 07, 2008 07:05:47
This is truly great for America. They showed the world race,religion and skin color don't matter. God Bless America.
written by SocratesI, November 07, 2008 09:15:38

Batsman sounds like a proxy for Maha-Shithead trying to belittle a victory of the people, by the people and for the people of America !! It is the American people's choice, and we should all respect that ! Such bigotry as pisplayed by batsman is totally uncalled for.

God Bless USA, and God Save Malaysia is the most apt sentiment at this point in time, as America has arrived at where Malaysia wants to be at, hopefully by the end of this year, a takeover of the Govt. by the people's choice, Pakatan Rakyat !

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 07, 2008 09:32:06
To those still in doubt or too lazy to seek out Wikipedia in the internet, here are excerpts about our “beloved” former & present Prime Ministers of our country called “Malaysia”.

Mahathir was born on 10 July 1925, in Alor Star, the capital of the northern state of Kedah,[8] the youngest of nine children[9] of a schoolteacher and a housewife. His father, Mohamad Iskandar, was of half-Indian origin, being the son of a Malayalee Muslim (who migrated from Kerala) and a Malay mother, while Mahathir's own mother, Wan Tampawan, was Malay.

Abdullah Badawi was born in Kepala Batas, Penang to a prominent religious family. His father, Ahmad Badawi, was a prominent religious figure and UMNO member. Badawi's paternal grandfather is Syeikh Abdullah Badawi Fahim, who was one of the founding members of Hizbul Muslimin, later known as PAS. Syeikh Abdullah Badawi Fahim was also a famous nationalist and first mufti of Penang after Independence.[1] His maternal grandfather, Ha Su-chiang (also known as Hassan), was a Chinese Muslim who came from Sanya in Hainan.

So, again I repeat, what’s the big deal about these United States of America FINALLY having a non Whilte President, as it sure took them long enough after 232 years & 111 days to get there???

In Malaysia, we got a non Malay Prime Minister in just 23 years. The Americans should be the one doing the congratulating for our “non racist” feat in such short period of time!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Caesar, November 07, 2008 10:06:11
I want to share 2 profound statements which says it all:

1)Malaysian 'Democracy' is 'for the UMNOputras and by the UMNOputras'.

2)The American Civil War really ended on 4 Nov 2008 but Malaysia started to crack-up from May 13 and the NEP (1970). The latter (crack-up) takes time because we had 3 great legacies:
a)Strong administration & rule of law (and judiciary) with good educational institutions all laid out by the departing British at the time of Merdeka.
b)Natural resources :tin, rubber, palm oil and petroleum.(which will keep us afloat but just)until the last runs out in 2025
c)Hardworking and educated people (which already 1 million of the best & brightest have LEFT the country)

Malaysia! Truly the only racist nation on earth!
written by Rozlan, November 07, 2008 10:06:26
Nothing will change in USA oppressive policies worldwide.Why americans choose Obama instead Mcain? It was because they need cosmetic changes to potray a freindlier USA..Thats all.The republicans had wrecked US image abroad for years.Now its naturally they will vote a softer approached president.Please look at the yeateryears trend.The voters had shuttled between Democrat and Republicans consistently.As far as I am concern the Republicans is a lion which roar before devoring its victims,The Democrats is a phython which stranggled its victims silently..Both are no differrent..

Hey what about the socalled landmark votes by the americans?? NOthing to me.Other than skin colors,both candidates adopt the same religion and culture...So more or lest the americans are voting similar person
written by DontPlayGod, November 07, 2008 11:19:38
If Obama is a Malaysian, he would not even have qualified to be the Mayor of K.L., let along the CM or MB of a state in Malaysia. And what is this we hear of our AAB that a minority can be a PM of Malaysia when even a non-Malay appointed to a Government Department(PKNS) can draw so much objection from the staff of PKNS and UMNO. AAB, don't take the non earth-prince rakyat to be fools.
written by WaKaliKong101, November 07, 2008 14:01:36
My fellow American friend, here in KL and everywhere else,

Greetings from Malaysia!

Like many, I was also glued to CNN trying to track Election 2008. I count it a privilege that I can witness the euphoric celebrations after the results were announced last night. The defining outcome of the Election 2008 permeates not just American frontier land but also the deep recesses of nations far beyond American shores. I am compelled to share this moment of history, albeit, only a distant perspective from outside, the ringside.

Granted that Malaysia did not, unlike Kenya , declare a public holiday to commemorate Obama’s momentous victory, the festive mood was and still is invigorating, to say the least. Yesterday, a journalist rightly asked our Prime Minister, “Is it possible for a non-Malay to be Malaysia ’s Prime Minister, one day?” Obama has put into reality MLK’s oft repeated quote that one day America would be able to judge its people not by the color of their skin but the content of its character. Yesterday, the day arrived.

America has breached that high racial barricade within such a short span of time. A day that is still a lingering dream for many in other lands. The 44th presidential election affirmed that America does not see people from that a skewed prism of race, anymore. I find it quite unbelievable when just 4 decades ago, a black seamstress, Rosa Parks, had to contend with giving up her bus seat to fellow white passenger. And I particularly like what one American rapper echoed the change of events so eloquently, “Rosa Parks sat, Martin Luther King Jr. walked so that Barrack Obama can run.” Now I understand, just last niight, why Colin Powell was so sentimental in his reflection of Obama’s win, why Jesse Jackson shared tears and why Condoleezza Rice oozed a most unassuming but composed confidence. And why fellow Americans party all nite, all across the nation.

To all my fellow American friend, thank you for teaching us the intrinsic meaning of unity in diversity!. I cannot fathom a better way of closing the circle. Certainly, you have set a torrid pace, a tall order, for all of us in other nations to follow. I am amazed, still dazed, yet I am happy for America. You have modeled an exemplary community which says come, there is a place for all beings, irrespective of race or creed. Yes, I marvel at the way you guys re-invent yourself, not just yesterday but continually; though still mired in the doldrums of a financial meltdown, there is still a greater cause for celebration!

God bless America!
written by DontPlayGod, November 07, 2008 19:36:23
singapolean wrote, quote:

"Why call hindraf...hindraf... can't find a name with Malaysian Indian or just Indian on it... must include Hindu"

In Malaysia, we have *****s(Indian Muslims) who have become ministers and even PM. We also have Indian Muslims who want to be known as Malay. That is why Hindraf is for Indian Hindus only. The Muslim Indians would not want to jeopodize their their application to UMNO to be called Malays, although many have joined and climbed up to the uppermost ranks of UMNO.
written by hng, November 08, 2008 15:18:10
Yes, Obama won the support of 53% of the people with his message of change. I know it sounds so amazing. Yet, we need to keep in mind that 46% of the people thought McCain was the better candidate. Also, the tide turned for Obama when Wall Street and the economy went into a tailspin. People are afraid and voted for change. Yet, it is unclear that Obama could have prevented the Wall Street crisis. The problems are definitely not caused by any one person, nor could they be prevented by any one person. I believe that the ultimate cause is definitely long term in making, probably relating to the lifestyle of debt and deficits exercised by all level of US government and the consumers. With Obama's promises and what his party stands for, it is definitely not going to reduce the national debt. Wall Street banking failures and sub prime mortgage crisis can be linked to policies of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae which were supervised by the Democrats controlling the House and the Senate. Chris Dodd and Barney Frank were the Democrats in charged of the banking commitees. As Democrats, they people that home ownership should be expanded to more people, and would do everything to make it happen. Guess who were the largest recipient of Fannie Mae donations? Chris Dodd and Barrack Obama. Like Malaysia, the mainstream media is slanted. In this case, they are mostly for Obama. Could Obama have won on his own merits, and without the ill timed Wall Street crisis?
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 08, 2008 18:45:41
Obama Hussein Barrack was a born Muslim who converted to christianity.
So what the **** in Malaysia Muslima can convert
Grow up ass holes
written by redzuank, November 10, 2008 10:15:15
So we hope he can change the world.
BE positive - to change for a better.
If worsen he will be just another Bush.

redssays.blogspot.com
written by aboo, November 10, 2008 14:17:40
Congratulations? Sure, for not being in this country. Or else he would be Barak Joyless, the male equivalent of Linda Joy, trying to hide from the police as he tries to convert from his papa's religion...
written by mymalaysia, November 10, 2008 16:23:17
It's not Malaysian that afraid of the change it is the politicians! Coz once everything changes, they will have not enough pocket money as they will be drawing just salary smilies/tongue.gif

Obama is the way to go! RPK is the way to go too!
written by kclim2, November 10, 2008 20:53:40
Australia, New Zealand, USA, UK, Thailand, France has change its head of state, when its Malaysia turn?
written by ksra, November 11, 2008 11:33:08
BATSMAN,
The differences between DEM and GOP are many. Philosophically, they are different in the role of government. DEM believes in equality and well being of the poor and minority. DEM has more socialist substance in their policy. GOP is more like the strong get stronger or the rich get richer.
There are many DEMs that are rich beyond measure such as Warren Buffet....
I am no expert but I am sure you can read up if you want to.
Good luck.
written by ksra, November 11, 2008 11:37:34
PeacefulMalaysia,
I 2nd you comment. I really feel sorry for the muslims in Malaysia. I really do. They cannot even convert to another religion.
written by k4kenny, November 12, 2008 16:49:20
YES, Obama has indeed opened up many blur eyes that the world is changing fast and needing to reject racist sentiments altogether. Now, we also have our former PM (the old horse) saying non-muslim can become PM in Malaysia. Way to go. But having said and having courage to change is two remote things.

How can we change if people are always harping on issues at the wrong end? A peaceful gathering is not even allowed or tolerated. The very rights of her citizens are taken away or clamped down! smilies/cry.gif

So, to the powers that be, don't simply say you can change where in reality you cannot let go even the simplest issue. PEOPLE, WE CAN ONLY CHANGE IF FIRST WE CHANGE UMNO. DAMN. smilies/angry.gif
written by Johan Mohriz, November 14, 2008 08:47:37
dont get too hasty

Yes:
1. obama can speak publicly well (you can practice that).
2. he talks of inspiring change

but what cange?
-he talks in very general terms, no specifics
-anybody can talk what he talks, if your english is good enough

a leader needs to be more than just merely inspiring or else the country will fall into the trap of populism like what is happening in africa and latin america
written by Milo, November 18, 2008 10:34:05
Johan Mohriz,

A leader's ability to make changes has to start with his policy, beliefs, rationality and ideas as expoused in his speaches and writings. It is very indicative! History has always shown that with great leadership comes great performance and vice versa.

I watched Bush 'good english' and well-rehearsed past speeches and views and like the majority of Americans and talk shows, concluded that he is an half-wit, half-bake and semi-retarded President long before he start damaging the whole world with his actual performance. He talks like a snake-oil salesman. Many consider him to be the worst President ever in the history of America!

I watched Obama's speeches and what are written of him by other American leaders, and easily recognises the potentially superb leadership in him. John McCain was good, but was no where near. His choice of Sarah Palin as VP was a joke and the idiotic views shown in her moronic speeches and interviews damaged MaCain's campaign no end. How you talk shows!

Of course, no change is guaranteed in the world even with a great person leading, but with a leader like Obama, there is hope, and with hope real change is possible. If you followed Obama's election campaign from winning the democratic party nomination to winning the presidential election, you will see a clear demonstration of his world class leadership qualities in his ability to think, plan and organise, His performance is simply amazing. So, in his case, it is not just a matter of populism.

Our local examples of leaders with the qualities to make changes that can reverse our dire situations would include DSAI, YB RPK and Zaid Ibranim. Many other leaders in the opposition camp are good, but their composite leadership qualities and their ability to air views with balanced thoughts are not as pronoun. The BN too have some leaders of great calibre, but immersed in the rotting system, they will not survive if they try to make significant changes. Let's watch...and hope for now.
written by redzuank, November 18, 2008 15:30:15
Congratulations to Obama?

I don't think we have to.
What colour he is. He has same ideology/religion just like Bush & other crap of White American.
Promoting unfair democracies. Unfair Fiscal policy (It's Fallacy & now failed).
Did history have this kind of recession at 1997 before 1971? (Before fiat money existed)
Their theories for politic & economics are failed. U just about to see now & what will happen next year. Its a Darwinism economics.

As long as unbalance power & hipocrates Muslim country exist. American will send those 3rd World Countries to the 4th World Countries. They will dig sources from 'em and put 1000-years debts interest on em. Then U will see the world must follow everything that fallacy (systems they invented) that drag down the entire world to sink with 'em.

Thats all what U want?

What is changes political in Malaysia won't effect entire world unless the politician brave enough to change those fallacy belief systems (politic, economics, socials & etc)from our soveregnity.

So let me ask u a favour to see what happened:

1. Before 1921
2. Before WW1
3. Before WW2
4. Before 1971

And now we get what have those American & European did.

Thanks have a nice reading.

http://redssays.blogspot.com/
written by elmo world, November 19, 2008 19:52:55
God bless Obama
God bless america
God bless our world
written by elmo world, November 19, 2008 19:54:23
how come we malaysian cannot do like what thailand did... re-elect our choice of PM?
written by batsman, November 19, 2008 20:12:36
If BO is not already tainted, his tainting has begun. He receives the same briefing everyday that Bush receives from the CIA. I presume that this must also involve facts about the bombing of Pakistan and Syria where the sovereignty and territorial dignity of nations are trampled underfoot and villagers killed as collateral damage. Those who claim they are against the evil of ISA must also weigh these evils in their conscience. Otherwise you are as tainted as BO.

Next >