Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Legalize corruption, cronyism & nepotism

Legalize corruption, cronyism & nepotism PDF Print
Thursday, 06 November 2008 11:12

Don't play dumb and self-righteous. Wake up to reality!! Corruption, cronyism and nepotism are everywhere and it appears in different forms. In some manifestations it is legalized and hypocritical while in others it is outright straight-in-your-face and you cannot do anything about it.

Let's face it - be it socialism, communism or democracy, it has and it always will exist. A simple favor can equate to corruption, cronyism and nepotism and thereafter evolves into larger things. In a democratic system however, it appears to be most prominent due to market forces driven by want of material & power.

Some of these practices have been made into law while others are accepted as common practice i.e. it was always done that way, so we shall continue doing it the same way. The more laws one has the more corrupt the country is. Are all these laws actually protecting the man on the street? I don't think so. I can safely assume 95% of us don't even know how the laws are enacted or why it was enacted or whether our so-called representatives actual work to enact these laws to benefit the public.

Corruption exists to oil the gears, to make it easier to get what you want without going through the correct channels. It has become, in Malaysia, what we feel we ought to do to resist unjust law and unjust governance. For example, to someone who does not want to be cheated out of a contract he thinks he ought to receive (sidelined perhaps by the NEP), he may resort to giving higher sales commissions (bribery) to agents (saboteurs).

This means Malaysians have learnt to cultivate, respect and adjust for unjust governance and laws. We see that these laws only govern our body but through corruption, cronyism and nepotism, we can do what we assume to be right for individual needs. And what is so wrong with this, right? No one seems to be protecting our rights for us, so isn't it right that we should protect ourselves?

Why should we complain that there is something wrong with the system when we continue to practice the very elements that feed them their power? We ourselves are not resisting corruption, cronyism and nepotism, so why should we expect better of others?

People like RPK and those in Hindraf capture our imagination because we are depending on them to put things right. To make things go OUR way. To get what we think is rightfully ours - whether we deserve it or not. We do not see that we ourselves are creating a thicker wall, preventing them from breaking through.

Hindraf and RPK are battling for us out of their own consciences and humanity. But as long as we fail to distinguish what is right and wrong, our moral lines will be blurred even further. If this is the direction we want to continue heading, then why not just legalize everything and make it easier for everyone? Everyone does it anyway, and has been doing so since time immemorial, so it is already considered common law.

The government is said to be the voice of the people. We have formed our government based on self-interests. Our laws exist to maintain the status quo and with no thought of whether it is moral, right or humane. If this is what we have chosen for ourselves, then we have nothing and no one to blame but ourselves. And since we do not want to blame ourselves, we should therefore just legalize corruption, cronyism and nepotism and leave those idealists for conscience, morality and humanity in Kamunting to rot.

R. Shan (Human Being)

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by asiseesit, November 06, 2008 11:24:53
When I grow up, I want to be like you

My mother said I should help people
To be courteous and be humble at all times
To respect our elders and take care of them
Do not hurt other people feelings

She also said I must study hard
So that I may become someone one day
Work hard so that I may live a peaceful life
Because god gave us this earth our home

I told my mother when I grow up
I want to become a lawyer
And help those unfortunate people
To give them hope to live

After a few years as a lawyer
I will join UMNO and become a member
To serve my country for the good of all
And also to bring happiness to all

When my hard work is seen
I hope to become a Member of Parliament
UMNO will let me contest in a state
And people will know I am trustworthy

When I win, I will tell my PM
To give me a minister work
So that my knowledge will be used
For all to see I am good

I will make the country better
The people will enjoy good things
Their life and mine will be peaceful
Because they have everything

People will come to me
To put my name in their company
So that they can help the country
With my name there to make it easy

It is good for everybody
Since I don’t pay a single cent
But get so much money with my name
So my name is very useful

But I will continue to work hard
For the people and the country
And also to my UMNO from this company
Not forgetting my family, brother, sister,…

If the company is losing money, it is okay
Because the government will help
I will continue enjoying my money
Because they belong to me

Then I will leave this company
So that I can help other company
This company will pay me to go
And more than what I expected, wow!

Because they say I am good
The money is for me to enjoy
I will keep them all in another country
To help that country also

As a minister, I get to buy things
Good things for the people to use
Because I say buy, people sell
They come to me with their goods

They give me money
So that they will make more money
Cannot tell people this money
Must be careful of thieves

They will see I am sincere
Because I tell them so
And the country will be better
Everyone life will improve

written by Newkidonblog, November 06, 2008 11:50:48
written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 11:21:32

Who are the ones who give most bribes in Bolehland, and have consequently encouraged, promoted rampant corruption????

It is largely, the Chinese business community.

It takes two hands to clap.

And Lembing, do you know why it's largely the Chinese doing it. UMNO make sure thereis no avenues for the non-Malays to voice their grievances. The only way out as long as UMNO is concern, buy your way out!!!

So it's largely the Malays in UMNO who are actually encouraging the Chinese to bribe.

Got it, Lembing?!
written by Kampong, November 06, 2008 11:58:11
written by Newkidonblog, November 06, 2008 11:50:48

Who are the ones who give most bribes in Bolehland, and have consequently encouraged, promoted rampant corruption????

It takes two hands to clap.

Ever think why the Chinese in Malaysia in doing this, while the Chinese in Singapore, Hong Kong, and most western countries don't? It's the system that causes it, dude. What do you do when you know the only way to get businesses in this country is to bribe, or else you eat bananas?
written by justinlian, November 06, 2008 12:09:31
Everywhere is currupted in malaysia.

not only the chinese is bribing them even UMNO is bribing their way in...
So, it become a custom to malaysian..
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 12:31:39
RM 5 billion for Valuecap plus another RM5 billion more. RM 7 billion for the rest of UMNO cronies. What do the rest of Malaysia get ..... ripped off? This is the work of a great economics genius.
written by FFT, November 06, 2008 12:34:19

Lame argument.

When the corrupt government servant drags his/her feet on some important application, unless you can pay under the table, to get a business going (or any other application for that matter), then it leaves one with no choice. There is no recourse in govt departments, enforcement, or the judiciary because all of them are inflicted with the disease of Ketuanan Melayu a.k.a. rent-seeking.

May as well chalk it up to the "cost of doing business" and pass it on down the line.

The problem isn't the greedy Chinaman who wants to get thingsa done with as little hassle as possible, the problem is the disease, entitlement, and mental retardation called Ketuanan Melayu.

But at the end of the day, you can't blame the lowly government servant, when the wives of Defense Ministers make hefty commissions from weapons purchases, while C4-ing any competition who demands their share of the loot. It's called monkey see, monkey do.

written by Zapper, November 06, 2008 12:37:16
Hi dude Lembing.............you are really simplistic in your thinking. How can you be so naive?? Are you an amoeba by any chance??

Money politics are in UMNO....their leaders openly admitted it and go further to say that MCA and Gerakan do not have this problem.
written by densemy, November 06, 2008 12:47:31
The way I see it:

Corruption results from inefficiency and failure to supervise/police
The decison making officers and policing officers of government are overwhelmingly malay
And all malays are muslims

... and where else in the world is corruption rampant??

Reach your own conclusions
written by Newkidonblog, November 06, 2008 13:09:52
written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 12:16:26

Yes, always blame it on UMNO. So if UMNO encourages you to carry and lick their smelly balls, you would go ahead like a obedient gutless servant.

No wonder nobody in Barisan Nasional debates anymore, just like the PM-in-waiting. They use foul languages when they're trapped. This Lembing guy sounds like Pasir Salak.......selalu salah menyalak!!! Woof!
written by adan, November 06, 2008 13:26:55
'LEGALIZE CORRUPTION,CRONYISM & NEPOTISM'.... There is no need to leaglize all these.In BOLEHLAND all thses ARE LEGAL accoding to "our own laws". However,it is illegal to talk about it..and could be detained under ISA for touching on 'sensitive' issues
written by FFT, November 06, 2008 13:42:02
written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 13:06:52
TO FFT
UMNO members, who don't elected because those who are elected are involved in money politics, will have "no recourse in govt departments, enforcement, or the judiciary". So using your argument, it is OK for money politics to get elected.

Hey, don't blame the Chinese if the UMNO grassroots can be bought over for RM 50 and a sarong. New sarongs must make them feel like spanking little Tuans.

written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 13:06:52
So it's OK to bribe the police and the councils to.... open massage parlours, illegal gambling dens....

Ah, you must be new to MT. If you had been a Pre-March 2008 reader, you would've known that the operators of the massage parlors and illegal gambling dens are under the patronage of the IGP (enforcement), AG (judiciary), and the Home Ministry (govt dept).

So how now?
written by mountainking, November 06, 2008 14:15:47
to lembing

well written lembing. i totally agree with you that the chinese community resort to bribing bcos they know how to go about it. bcos UMNO is more concern about their pocket, therefore they create policy that benefits them, the malay champions the whole issue and behind door, tell the chinese, "you want me to help, can... how do you want me to help?"

does the chinese in singapore involve in bribery? the answer is minimal bcos they have a group of brainy lawmakers whereas we have a group of UMNO/MCA/GERAKAN/MIC brain dead lawmakers who conspired at the highest level to screw the rakyat, benefit the businessmen (so happen most of them are chinese).

you still don't get it?? ..... open your eyes and stop supporting BN. it is not the chinese that is corrupted or enjoy bribing.

it is the ppl who are helming the BN.
written by mountainking, November 06, 2008 14:23:14
to lembing and aizad

you know well that this country won't go through change unless the malays are willing to put their vote against BN. we have to accept the fact that malays are the majority and it's power within the majority to embrace change. do you think Obama can become the next President if it is not bcos the vote from the white who are willing to throw away White supremacy and truly embrace democracy?

so, we will only have change as long as the Malays are willing to adopt a different mindset, do away with Ketuanan Melayu, abolish NEP, do away with 30% equity, anyone can become PM, anyone can become MB. for your info, we are malaysians and please don't be deceived that the "Chinese wants to take over malaysia". we are not interested to rule and enslave malays. we would like to see this country belongs to every malaysian.

for a start, do you both ready even to say "YES" now to discard ketuanan melayu and have a non-bumi to be the next PM or MB of selangor?

if the answer is no, it says it all why UMNO can continue to screw the ppl.
written by hiro, November 06, 2008 14:31:14
While this article is a typical wakeup call, I would like to commend R Shan for choosing a rather thought provoking title.

Imagine - we know that drugs will never go away, yet we have anti-drug crusade year in year out. We know that prostitution will never go away, yet we have anti-brothel raids year in year out. A lot of people are afraid of sanctioning something immoral, but the practical leaders will say - let's regulate and tax them. And so in some European nations, they have legalised certain drugs and prostitution, and taxed them as an industry.

Since corruption, nepotism and cryonism will end up with pecuniary benefits, and whether it be in UK or US this phenomenon won't go away, it is in a strange way plausible to legalize, then tax them!

Of course, the only problem being - drug dens and brothels are raided. Corruption at the highest office may well involve the police - they won't enforce the law against themselves in the first place - so the discussion of legalising them becomes rather academic.
written by cheekymate, November 06, 2008 14:49:41
I would like to share my personal experience, my friends.
I own a restaurant and employ a number of foreign workers of whom I sponsor over from Myanmar under my company. After three of my new staff in Myanmar had completed the processing of their passports, medicals, etc., they were ready to start work here in Malaysia. They needed a 'calling visa' to be issued by the Immigration Department and after waiting patiently for three whole months, I decided to approach the Immigration Department. The Deputy Head told me point blank that my file was probably sitting somewhere in the far corner and it would take a huge effort to move it over to his table. His words were" Madam, you nak saya bantu; boleh, tapi saya pun sibuk sekali. Jadi, bagaimana?" At that point, I thanked him and left the room without condoning to his invitation to crime. I wrote a very strong letter relating my entire experience and demanded immediate action. Their calling visa was issued within a week after I sent the letter. My poor workers wasted three and a half months of their passport validity and it was no fault of theirs.
It takes two to tango. If we unite to do our bit to stamp out corruption in our own little ways, we will be heading towards a brighter and better future for us and our generations to come.
written by ez24get, November 06, 2008 14:50:35
Written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 11:21:32
Who are the ones who give most bribes in Bolehland, and have consequently encouraged, promoted rampant corruption? It is largely, the Chinese business community. It takes two hands to clap.

You are correct, Lembing. Not only you, in fact a lot of malays share the same opinion.

Don't you think you should be more angry with UMNO for stealing billions of $ from the rakyat (the majority from malays), like using $5 billion from our EPF money without permission, charging grossly inflated prices for government purchases, inflated defense contracts, PKZ scandals, sending people to the moon, wastages, daily corruption and what not. For every $1 stole by UMNO, 65 cents belongs to the malays.

You should blame the crony and discriminative policies purposely instituted by UMNO so that you malays remain weak and beholden to it until you have no choice but to return this corrupt Government into power year after year. For every $100 earned by the Government, they perhaps give back $5 to the malays and the rest of $95 are pocketed by them, their families and cronies. Yet, the malays are so easily conned into believing the UMNO Government has looked after their interest.

Please bear in mind, the chinese did not steal your money; in fact they gave money to the malays albeit the corrupted UMNOputras. Not a single $ is taken from the ordinary malay. If the contract is not given to a non-malay it will be given to an UMNOputra anyway. The ordinary malay won't benefit from it!

Do you think the chinese relish giving bribes to this corrupt Government? No, they don't! Remember unlike the malays, they could not choose what race they can be born into and from the day they are born they only have themselves to rely on or else they eat pisang. They have no choice but to bribe their way to put food on the table for their families. Put yourself into their shoes and imagine had you been born a different colour, you will understand life for them aren't a bed of roses!

Don't think the discriminative racial policies benefits the malays in general. Don't ever think because these discriminative policies only affects the non-malays, this unfair treatment doesn't concern the malays and therefore they can let things be! Whether you are an ordinary malays, chinese or indians all our faiths are intertwined. Any discriminative polices will invaribly affect all of us Malaysians. Why? Here's how:

Corruptions and bribes only benefit the UMNOputras. Every Malaysians including the general malays will lose. When the chinese bribe the UMNOputras, it is a "cost of doing business" and this cost will be passed back to the endusers. Since the the general malays constitute 65% of the populace of endusers, the malays have to bear 65% of the bribe. Now does that affect you?

If there are no discriminative policy or there are transparency and open tenders, there won't be a need for bribes. If there are no bribes, you needn't add it to the cost of doing business. The end users gain! Everyone gains!

As I said our fate whether you are a malay, chinese or indians are intertwined. Don't be fooled by this corrupt UMNO government who plays the racial card. If you are angry, don't be angry be another race whose destiny cannot choose what race he could be borne into; direct your anger to the person responsible for ransacking this nation and putting the rakyat in a rut!
written by biggun129, November 06, 2008 15:41:47
Dear Madam Cheekymate, I am a builder, I dont know the procedures of employing Foreign Work, I am having quite a substantial foreign workers working under me,all I knew is that the HR outsourcing Company is helping me to do the recruitment, so far I paid to get everything done!!!
written by cheekymate, November 06, 2008 16:05:28
Dear biggun129,
Initially, I had to apply for approval to bring in the workers under my company and not through an HR outsourcing company which a lot of other companies do. This was done by an agent from a HR outsourcing company who did all the documentation, paper work, etc. for me. I paid an agency fee for his services fees rendered which amounted to RM 500 per worker and this included any comunication with the Immigration Department. When he failed to obtain the calling visa for my workers, I insisted on seeing the Immigration Department myself to get to the bottom of the issue. He subsequently received the approval after about a week and proceeded to get the workers in for me.
I hope to have answered your question satisfactorily. Thank you.
written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 16:26:27
Firstly, I should mention that I agree that UMNO is the one mainly responsible for the rampant corruption. I am also acknowledge that some Malays do give bribes.

For the benefit of those readers who are young and ignorant, please be aware that Chinese have been giving bribes in the 1950’s and the 1960’s to government servants which well before Ketuan Melayu policy was implemented. I am certain those who are in their 50’s and above will agree on this point.

So far most of the comments made here support payment of bribes because UMNO "encourages and force the Chinese" to do so. It is also stated that by not paying the bribes, the Chinese will starve.

I have 2 brothers who own their own businesses and another brother who is a general manager of a factory. I myself own a business. My sister has her own business. We have refused to give any bribes since the day we started our businesses. Of course, it is tough at times dealing with the government. We preserve and of course, we could have made more profit if bribes were given. But no, we are not starving and we can afford more than bananas. We are doing quite nicely, thanks to our hard work and efficient management skill, if I may say so

It is those businessmen who wanted to make more profit that are prepared to give bribes. What a lame excuse to state that if no bribes are given, the Chinese would starve.

Also to say that the Chinese born in Malaysia “could not choose what race they can be born into and from the day they are born they only have themselves to rely on or else they eat pisang. They have no choice but to bribe their way to put food on the table for their families. Put yourself into their shoes and imagine had you been born a different colour, you will understand life for them aren't a bed of roses!n”
Wake up…They are millions of Chinese living in other countries who have to rely on themselves and DON’T BRIBE to put food on their family tables.

Of course there are many Chinese who pay bribes to get their driving licences (consequently, we have drivers who can’t even parallel park and will rather double park) and the many who have given bribes to police to avoid getting a traffic summons. If you don’t pay these bribes, do you think you will starve.
Yet another ridiculous comment…”Please bear in mind, the chinese did not steal your money; in fact they gave money to the malays albeit the corrupted UMNOputras. Not a single $ is taken from the ordinary malay. If the contract is not given to a non-malay it will be given to an UMNOputra anyway. The ordinary malay won't benefit from it!” So you are saying it is acceptable to bribe UMNO because part of the bribes will end in the hands of ordinary Malay!!! How ridiculous!!

Let’s look at another statement…..”Corruptions and bribes only benefit the UMNOputras. Every Malaysians including the general malays will lose. When the chinese bribe the UMNOputras, it is a "cost of doing business" and this cost will be passed back to the endusers. “ Yes, totally agree with this.
Who are the end-user or consumers…it is the rakyat who have to fork out the additional cost. The general attitude of some of the Chinese business people is just plain selfishness….they just want to make more profit regardless of the consequence of giving bribes.

As far as I am concern, accepting bribes and giving bribes is morally wrong regardless of the reason.

IT IS HIGH TIME That the inept ACA and the Police pull up their socks and start to charge both the giver and acceptor of bribes….just like the current anti-corruption drive in CHINA where thousands are being charged.
written by InEffective, November 06, 2008 16:29:57

To Lembing,

Well done - appreciate your views - has a lot of merit.
Allow me to add in some more comprehensive views.

The Chinese or Indian political parties like MCA & Gerakan and MIC are also accountable of allowing this state of affairs to develop, and so is any unscrupulous Chinese and/or indian businessmen who take advantages of Malays (and vice-versa) to further their illicit gains.

A real life example would be an unscrupulous property developer who colludes with the Selangor StateExco member (try Datuk Fuad Hassan) to use the State's gazetting power to forcibly acquire lands from private owners under the guise of state or public requirements. After land acquisition, the land to converted to commercial or residential for stratospheric gains in valuation and is sold off to private buyers - sweet deals and sweet handshakes all around for the exco members and the property developer).

So who pays the price ? - the potential property buyers, the legitimate property owners, and you (all your property acquisition costs are skying upwards because state official are deliberately controlling hte supply and demand of available land for development).

To be balanced, we must also appreciate that now nearly all businesses are controlled by licenses - we officially are a concession-based economy (you do the verification of facts and figures to judge this claim).

Licenses-to-operate which on one hand is legitimately used to prevent illegal operations or behavior by firms and companies, is now expanded to extort using conditional time-bound licenses where renewal of licenses is dependent on paying recurring payments to politicians and state officials and license-grantors. (this practice is now prevalent in nearly all industries - try manufacturing,factories, oilpalm, telecom, media, education, construction and more... - you name it - just because you dont know about it, don't assume its not happening). The 'sword of damocles' (ie the license) hangs over their heads and their revenue-streams into perpetuity - no difference from the Italian mafia extortion strategy.

The collusion that occurs usually has winners and losers (who pay the price). In nearly all cases the rakyat (malays, chinese, indians) has to incur the costs, with all risks being transferred and socialized over the rakyat.
(for ex: the imminent idea for a bullet train will be a good example how all risks and cost are borne by the rakyat conveniently arranged by the investor and his political buddies in governance).

So one should be razor clear who wins (usually a small super-privileged group) and who loses (the large number of malaysians - malay, chinese, indian)

Cronyism, Corruption, Nepotism is not enabled by race or religion - its enabled by mindless assumptions and biases (its promoted by the unscrupulous). Its supported by the weak mind who prefers to outsource his self-accountability of the status quo (state of corruption, nepotism, etc) and of his self-ignorance.

And to my brother and sister citizens who are malay, chinese, and indian - I hereby hold you and myself accountable !!! And you and I have been found wanting...
written by ez24get, November 06, 2008 17:30:04
written by Lembing, November 06, 2008 16:26:27
Firstly, I should mention that I agree that UMNO is the one mainly responsible for the rampant corruption. I am also acknowledge that some Malays do give bribes.

With that quote of yours I rest my case. At least you are one of the more intelligent ones (although biased) who are willing to enter into a discussion unlike many in UMNO.

The fact admitted and acknowledged by you is that malays also bribe. In fact bribe does take into account what race you are. Malays give bribe. Chinese give bribe. Indians give bribe. They all give bribe because of the failed, corrupt system brought about by UMNO.

No way is the process of bribing more apparent than in the election process in UMNO right now! In the case of bribes by the public, the bribe is to get one out of problem or shorten a certain protracted process or to get preference for something. It's effects are limited.

In UMNO you see a full bloom of the worst kind of ugly and foul malays giving and accepting bribes by a group of people in choosing the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia. This Prime Minister and Deputy Minister will then govern the citizens of all races in Malaysia whether they accept them or not. These people will determine the policies of Malaysia, decides the direction of the country and determine whether the country prosper or fail. These people will determine the lives of our children, grand children and future generations.

These malays won't batter an eyelid in accepting huge amount of bribes in, not in hundreds or thousands, but in billions of $ or discriminate and bully its citizens but when it comes to religion, extol themselves as the true defender of Islam and will defend its race to the last drop of blood. They are so opened and no longer ashamed to hide their misdeeds unlike the ordinary citizens who have to hide their bribes and meekly utter "tuan, boleh selesai di sini ke?" It is the very behaviour of these malays which turns people away and repulse the senses. It is the like of these hypocritical behaviours which insults Islam and malays.

So Lembing just don't pick on the chinese giving bribes. That's why I say you are biaised. You are able to nit-picked the faults of other races but couldn't see the elephant in front of you!

And I say it again. Please bear in mind, by the giving of bribes, the chinese did not steal anyone's money. In fact they gave money to the malays albeit the corrupted UMNOputras. Not a single $ is taken away from the ordinary malay. In addition, they pay taxes to the Government with the intention of the money to be used to help the ordinary malays but the money never reached the ordinary Malays. Not only was the money hijacked by UMNO for themselves, families and cronies, they put the blame on the non-malays to create chaos by pitting the malays against the non-malays as cover-up of their theft. No, the non-malays aren’t the ones stealing the money from the Malays. They gave money in spite they are Malaysians like everyone's else. Don’t be angry with them. The ones really stealing money is UMNO!

The chinese are not perfect. And so are malays and indians. If you want to be angry, be angry the hypocritical malays in UMNO!If you want to blame, blame it on the system that is plaguing the nation and the corrupt Government right now! Don't be angry with the other races. All our faiths are closely intertwined! One race loses all loses! One race wins all win!
written by pixieface, November 06, 2008 17:41:29
Oh lembing, so money politics in umno currently is a rumour only!!!
tidur kah!
written by mountainking, November 06, 2008 18:27:04
to lembing

i am yet to have your reply to my question:

"for a start, are you ready even to say "YES" now to discard ketuanan melayu and have a non-bumi to be the next PM or MB of selangor?

if the answer is no, it says it all why UMNO can continue to screw the ppl"

talk is cheap. what's in your heart mate?
written by mountainking, November 06, 2008 18:29:06
to lembing

assuming all races are guilty of giving and receiving bribes, let's put aside the argument which race give more and which race give less, do you think ketuanan melayu does not benefit the country as a whole?

YES or NO.

is a very simple question
written by eskay, November 06, 2008 22:55:14
To Lembing

You still miss one very important fact, not all Chinese bribe for greed of huge profit; many are forced to especially the ordinary people who are not highly educated. I had personally seen on a few occasions of how the Chinese hawkers in my area in Selangor under UMNO were harassed by the city council people, each time at least more than 20 of them surrounding a few Chinese hawkers. The hawkers were seen pleading, and I knew they had been paying to trade at that corner over the last few years, while just a few yards away, a few Malay hawkers were doing their business peacefully, as if the city council people couldn’t see them. On one occasion, I was so furious I lost my control and raised my voice at the city council people. I remembered I said to them “Apasal kacau Cina sini, lepaskan Melayu sana ? Tak nampak kah ? Tak tau apa itu adil kah ? Tak ada kerja lain kah ? Patut lah Malaysia tak boleh maju, pasalkan kakitangan kerajaan macau you ni !!!”, and to my surprise, suddenly they were turning at different directions and none of them dared to look at me . I stood there & stared at them until at last one of them murmured something like “yah lah, tak adil “. Shame on them ! Can you imagine that ? Lembing ?

I guess you are a Malay, that’s why you do not really feel the pain & hardship of your non-Malay brothers & sisters in this country, probably until one day you suffer the same fate, which I sincerely hope you will never have to. Put yourself in other’s shoes, you will understand it’s easier for Malays to hold on to your principle and say you refuse to bribe yet you are doing successfully in this country. Many things you don’t have to bribe, Lembing, your Malay friends in the government are readily to serve you simply because you are same bangsa to them. If you are a Malay with an open mind, you will hear a lot of stories of how the non-Malays are being treated unfairly in their homeland when dealing with the government under UMNO in order to survive in this country. That doesn’t mean that I am for bribery, what I am trying to say is when you are so sure you won’t get a fair chance due to your race status, and if situation force you to bribe in order to survive, people tend to choose the easier way out, so who is to blame ? The government’s policy or the non-Malays ?

I am a non-racist; therefore I do not put the blame on ordinary Malay people. I believe all these unfairness is due to some Malay politicians/government servants who abuse their power, who manipulate & being too narrow-minded to understand & respect human rights; I put the blame on these people who are too short-sighted to see that by pampering a certain race & victimising the other is no good for the country. Anything that is not done according to the truth is not good for anyone, regardless of Malays or non-Malays. All will become victims due to certain people’s wrong doing.

Those who are aware of this are not against UMNO as reps of Malays or against government, but are against UMNO & the government who adopt this type of mindset. Neither do we respect MCA or Gerakan, because for whatever reasons they have no gut to tell the truth to UMNO for the sake of our nation. We have to be very clear about this. Admit the source of the problem, do not blame the Chinese, Indians or Malays, but blame those in UMNO who started such problem, even the top UMNO people also admit that openly , Lembing.
written by cheekhiaw, November 07, 2008 00:46:22
LEMBING LEMBU

According to lembing lembu logic, when all the females in his family got raped by one knife wielding UMNO rapist all are to be blamed.

The same idiotic logic also says that since the rapist had the most pleasure from those females of his, his family probably deserves it.

written by cheekhiaw, November 07, 2008 01:02:09
And while the rape was taking place, lembing lembu was telling the victims they should be virtuous like him...

written by pixieface, November 07, 2008 01:20:09
Lembing, what you are implying is that chinese are the biggest supporter of
rasuah. regarding 'umno money politics' which is now being highlighted whereby
umno politicians are bribing their way through to get nominations.
'Undertable money' 'kopi duit' is rampant.
I have encountered being stopped by traffic police. I asked for the citation
because I refuse to pay 'kopi duit'. So where does that leave us???
Question for you: Have you ever had to pay some 'kopi duit to get things done.
If not, kudos to you. You are the lucky one!!!
written by cheekhiaw, November 07, 2008 10:22:10
While Lembing Lembu notes that the majority of bribe payors are Chinese it did not occur to him that the majority of bribe askers/takers are Malays.

The obvious explanation for that difference is because one is doing the work while the other is doing the takiing.

Only idiots from thieves' culture cannot tell who the thieves are...

written by mountainking, November 07, 2008 11:22:46
lembing

i hear you. you are being level minded. we are on the right course as all of us do not support bribery (don't care what race), ketuanan melayu, chinese patriots/chauvinist and NEP. i believe one of this day, you and i and many ppl of different races can have a mind of convergence to bring out the best policy for the country.

i hope we have more of ppl like you from the malays community and hope you can continue to educate your fella brother/sis. same here for the non-bumis to urge our pppl not to give bribes and walk with our head up.
written by merchant222, November 07, 2008 23:05:07
Lembing, for your naive opinion, I give you 100 marks.

This is what NEP is all about. Milk the Pendatangs for UMNOputras (not BUMIputras or any other Melayu). I need not elaborate further but the UMNOputras use Pendatangs to satisfy their needs financially while telling the BUMIputras or the Malays that Pendatangs are the cause of their predicament.

MCA, Gerakan or MIC are BN's(UMNOputras) puppets to make such things happen. I wonder if you were born yesterday trying to play the blame game of BN???