Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow There's more to come

There's more to come PDF Print
Thursday, 06 November 2008 09:51

KUALA LUMPUR: The RM7 billion economic stimulus package is just the start of more measures Malaysia plans to introduce to keep the economy growing and competitive amid a tougher global environment.

"This policy response is the first package. It's important to note that there's still more to come," said Datuk K. Govindan, head of the secretariat for the National Economic Council.

The council, comprising ministers and representatives of the public and private sectors, meets weekly to discuss ways to improve the economy.

Its feedback contributed to the stimulus plan announced on Tuesday.

"We continue to debate and measures will be considered and implemented, as and when," said Datuk Seri Nazir Razak, a council member and chief executive of the CIMB banking group.

On whether RM7 billion would be sufficient to stimulate the economy, Nazir said the government needed a reserve in case the global scenario worsened.

He added the signs pointed towards a bottoming of the global financial crisis.

The council was working on various strategies that could quickly be adopted should the crisis worsen and the country's growth fall below 3.5 per cent next year, said Govindan yesterday.

Nazir said the government's response to the crisis was "well directed" in terms of fiscal expansion, consumption stimulus, investment inducements and creative ideas on the financial management of its assets.

The stimulus package was what the country needed now, he said, adding the council also looked into longer-term structural changes to the economy.

"Future work will include structural issues, because a crisis always gives you space to make changes," Govindan said, adding that working groups in the council were discussing ways to make Malaysia more attractive to foreign investments.

He said liberalisation of the services industry, particularly in the legal, medical and medical tourism space, would be a top area of focus.

Besides trying to attract more investments from China, India and the Middle East, Malaysia would also look into Russia.

Nazir said the government had demonstrated its dynamic handling of the economic situation. Not only had it taken steps to ensure that the RM7 billion would be spent, it had also demonstrated better spending management.

"We now now have a budget with a realistic set of assumptions, and that's very important for the private sector."

- nst

written by Newkidonblog, November 06, 2008 10:03:30
Nazir! If your family name is not Razak, do you think you will have this chance to speak up on behalf of the govt.? If not being surrounded by brains around you, would you be bold enough to speak? If not protected by UMNO's Ketuanan Melayu, would you be so daring to steal Southern Bank?

Razak brothers are mightier than the Malay rulers!

Nothing is permanent, enjoy it while it lasts!
written by *********, November 06, 2008 10:06:49
The Malays must remember that we are a small country of only 27 million souls to choose from. If we restrict the participation in nation building to race and religion, we may end up not getting the right man or woman for the job because we would have overlooked 40% of the population from among whom may have the talents, skills and expertise this country really needs to be a developed and prosperous nation. The Malays must also free themselves from the shackles of Umno and religious bigotry and ignorance which are in itself the reasons why the Malays are where they are now today.

Now, The Scribe is asking the Malays , "ARE YOU PREPARED TO SACRIFICE THE SOCIAL CONTRACT, THE NEP AND THE MALAY SPECIAL RIGHTS AND EMBRACE YOUR NON MALAY MALAYSIAN BROTHERS AND SISTERS AS EQUALS IN THIS LAND OF PLENTY?" "ARE YOU AS MALAYS, READY TO EMBRACE A NON MALAY / NON MUSLIM AS YOUR PRIME MINISTER?"...More http://*********.********.com

written by educationist, November 06, 2008 10:13:56
If the money is well spent; if it really goes towards alleviating the effects of the global economic slowdown; if it'll help lighten the burden of those hardest hit then by all means spend all that is required.
But, also make sure none is siphoned down the implementors' pockets!
written by avj, November 06, 2008 10:31:56
Nazir said the government had demonstrated its dynamic handling of the economic situation. Not only had it taken steps to ensure that the RM7 billion would be spent, it had also demonstrated better spending management.

"We now now have a budget with a realistic set of assumptions, and that's very important for the private sector."

- nst

Really! then why the farce in Parliment? Why was the speaker playing ball with the MoF,refusing to entertain clarifications sought by the opposition?
To this MSM report from nst I say, bullshit.
written by Msian Idol3, November 06, 2008 11:23:45
Where is the 7 billion going. To the malays or chinese or indians or UMNO companies & proxies??? The non malays already know & are preparing to have soya sauce with rice as their favourite meals for the next 24 months. I have not heard of any concrete plans as to where the 7 billion is going.
written by cekikdarah, November 06, 2008 11:33:33
I'm concerned with the implementation and management of the RM7billion. If things are run properly, we should all prosper, regardless of race.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/fun-...isits.html
written by Mee Udang, November 06, 2008 11:49:32
Come on laaa..... 7 billion, to poor people like me, its a lot man!!!
BUT WE'RE TALKING BOUT SAVE THE ECONOMY & KEEP THE COUNTRY ECONOMY GROWING. DO YOU THINK 7 BILLION IS ENUF??? It's in RM not USD, come on man!!!! AM POOR BUT NOT STUPID!
written by joeawk, November 06, 2008 12:07:27
EPF money is our money, don't touch our money. Whoever has taken our money, please pay back now. Valuecap must immediately pay back our money.

Those representing us in the EPF,unless you have the b all to protect our money, u just quit instead of selling us out.

written by batsman, November 06, 2008 12:26:30
RM 5 billion for Valuecap plus RM 5 billion more. Only RM7 for the rest of Malaysia - guess who will get their hands on this RM7 billion? Those who do not wake up to UMNO's corrupt character sleep through Malaysia doomsday.
written by panca, November 06, 2008 13:14:01
written by Newkidonblog, November 06, 2008 10:03:30
Nazir! If your family name is not Razak, do you think you will have this chance to speak up on behalf of the govt.? If not being surrounded by brains around you, would you be bold enough to speak? If not protected by UMNO's Ketuanan Melayu, would you be so daring to steal Southern Bank?

Razak brothers are mightier than the Malay rulers!

Nothing is permanent, enjoy it while it lasts!

Newkid...you are not far from the truth.
written by clarity, November 06, 2008 13:20:32
Spend, Spend, spend. Question is: Who is going to monitor the spending? umno?
written by cllim123, November 06, 2008 15:00:38
RM7 billion. RM5bil for Umnoputra and cronies. Must make sure they continue to support and nominate and vote for Najis. RM2bil for roads like MRR2, Schools like the computer labs that collapse, hospitals that grow mouldy, RM400 screwdrivers and RM10,000 for obsolete computer programmes... and port facilities like PKFZ and the CIQ complex at causeway. We Malaysian will not see the light of day on the RM7bil.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 06, 2008 15:14:42
In an interview telecast over at RTM this morn, someone asked Najib, why did the bulk of the economic stimulus go to construction, and was it to benefit the constructors?

Our very "intelligent" Finance Minister replied that is to create more houses for the benefit of the people.......

But, erm, Mr. Finance Minister, those houses are free wan ar? Dun need to buy ar? How does constructing more houses benefit the people if their earnings are just enough to cover for the month? Contractors on the other hand...... smilies/angry.gif
written by lamakawan, November 06, 2008 15:39:46
Who are withrawing their money from CIMB?
written by Ursurper, November 06, 2008 16:48:10
Najib proposal of reducing EPF constribution....memang a typical ketuanan Melayu thinking. How can you playing around with your future earning? The govt is encouraging all the Malaysian to spend with what you don't have and later feel the pain later.

On ********* comments, we can't teach a moron to think after 51 years of honeymoon, can't we? The UMNOputras still think that money will keep on growing from the tree as long as the soil they step on is call "bumiputera"...but oops, you are not bumiputera 100% if you are not from UMNO... The dayak from PBBS is not qualify to call bumiputera... they are only second class passenger in the airplane that call NEP airline...

So to all UMNOputras, by when will this NEP plane will crash???? Go on and keep praying that this plane will still flying non-stop....

To keep the plane flying they came out with the terms "Now all Ketuanan Melayu can fly". If everything fail, the next campaign will be "Now Umno putra's Muslim (only) can fly too"

Always brings the Prophet to defend your greeds and protect your sins. So who is more sinful?

Only in Malaysia a suspect sodomy which fabricated out of thin air is more sinful than a murderer that not only murder but commit brutally murder. Worst than Jack the Ripper. Jack fare much better as he only murder prostitute, but in Malaysia innocent people get blown up and the conspirator is now walking out of the court free!

Orang tak tahu matematik can become finance minister and half past size youg graduate can become adviser to the Prime Minister....

Like that also can survive..No wonder this land is call Bolehland where the leader is trap in their fantasy....

smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by ibabonma, November 06, 2008 17:14:12
What is RM7 billion compared to KLCC costing RM6.8 billion? Najis brother, we are not stupid like your brother who did not complete his degree.
written by asguard, November 06, 2008 21:11:29
Need include the opposition they are our eyes and ears... if truly needs feedback from just everyone... the economy proposal...
written by ianketam, November 07, 2008 11:37:02

For all Malaysian..,

this RM 7 billion is for KETUANAN Melayu...

what a F**K UMNO...

Saya merasa sedih apabila institusi Kesultanan Melayu Perak diheret semata-mata
menjaga "mileage" kekalahan F**K UMNO Perak..

Beritahu saya.. di mana sultan-sultan Melayu semasa Inggeris datang dengan
1,001 muslihat.. semasa 1800an- awal 1900an.. ?

I am very sad kerana Sabahan dan Sarawakian tidak berjaya menerima
gelombang PRU12...

Terima kasih

Rustam Affendi Abu Rahim