Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Opposition's objections to stimulus package overruled

Opposition's objections to stimulus package overruled PDF Print
Thursday, 06 November 2008 09:49

THERE was high drama in the Dewan Rakyat yesterday when the opposition unsuccessfully tried to bring proceedings to a halt over a technicality involving the RM7 billion economic stimulus package announced on Tuesday.

Deputy Speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar adjourned the house at 12.30pm after opposition members of parliament claimed that the package unveiled by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak needed to be tabled separately.

But when proceedings resumed after lunch, Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia overruled the opposition's objections by saying that the package was part of the budget tabled by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Aug 29.

He ruled that the fiscal measures introduced by Najib were not an additional budget but were supplementary measures to tackle the global economic slowdown.

He said the Dewan Rakyat would not be contravening any of its standing orders or federal laws by continuing the debate on the budget.

Pandikar Amin said the RM7 billion injection was a redistribution of savings derived from cuts in fuel subsidy.

"It is not an additional budget. There is no change to the budget tabled at the policy level and no change to any figures to projections made in any documents or pamphlets before members."

At this juncture, Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Husni Hanadzlah confirmed that the house was still debating the budget tabled by Abdullah, who was finance minister at that time.

Earlier in the morning, opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim led the charge by repeatedly demanding to know if the house was debating the budget tabled by Abdullah or the "budget tabled by the deputy prime minister and new finance minister".

"We wanted the figures. Now at the committee stage, which figures are we to use?"

Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar (Pas-Tumpat) told the house there were legal implications in the matter.

"We have to be clear what we are going to debate now. Is it the budget tabled on Aug 29 or what was presented by the deputy prime minister on Tuesday?" he said, maintaining that Najib had tabled a new budget on Tuesday.

Later in the lobby, Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) said the measures introduced by Najib were questionable.

"This is unprecedented. What the finance minister has done yesterday was irregular, improper and unparliamentary.

"I don't understand how he, with his advisers, can make such a basic elementary parliamentary error. This must be rectified. Otherwise, we will be debating something that has not been presented.

"It is proper that the house should be adjourned and the deputy prime minister should be summoned by the speaker."

Anwar said the opposition was criticised for walking out when Najib was outlining the stimulus package.

"You know that at least 30 attempts were made to raise this point and to appeal to the speaker and finance minister to consider this. But we were just ignored and now we have problems."

- nst

written by binarytan, November 06, 2008 09:53:20
PR, pls keep the pressure to the parliament and ask for the truth and transparent figure on the budget.

Never let our money washes down to the drain. Over the years, too much of our national resources being dumped by politician.

written by Mark C, November 06, 2008 10:05:37
Am i wrong to assume that to be a speaker of the parliament, the person should be a neutral? It would seem that our speakers are all loop sided and bias kaw kaw to BN. Anything the opposition brings up is denied, on every imaginable or unimaginable excuse that prick can think of. It's disgusting. smilies/angry.gif
written by Mr Smith, November 06, 2008 10:13:15
Even to be a ketua kampong one has to be aligned with UMNO. What more if you want to be the Dewan Rakyat Speaker, CJ, AG, IGP, Vice-Cancellor or ACA Chief.
They may even come out with an edict that one has to an UMNO member to go to heaven.
written by avj, November 06, 2008 10:39:25
"It is proper that the house should be adjourned and the deputy prime minister should be summoned by the speaker."
Uncle Lim you of all persons should know that the speaker wouldn't dare summon the DPM,only the DPM will summon the speaker when he dares to rule against the DPM.
written by mountainking, November 06, 2008 11:10:18
pls stop them from going ahead with this stimulus package of RM7 b. think they are not gonna to take it from fuel subsidy savings. they might go with the plan to borrow the money by issuing govt bonds (MGS) and request EPF to buy up all their bonds since EPF has the most cash with them.

that aside, god knows whether the money is used for those items highlighted or use it to bail out some other crony companies.
written by asiseesit, November 06, 2008 11:31:02
Parliament is a great place to debate
I go there often almost everyday
To tell people what I think
And to say it my way

They will listen to me
Of course they have to
Because if they don’t
I will show them the door

For fifty years we have been doing it
Who dare speak gets whack
But I am different
Because I am the master

But now I am really sad
These people like to interrupt
I like the old days when we are many
When we can be very, very noisy

We still hold the stick and newspaper
Do as we please we will
If ever they talk too much
I will make them stay home in Perak

They are saying Obama change things
But we are not changers
We want to eat our chicken rice
And also keep the fork, spoon and plate

I cannot drink wine in Paris anymore
Cannot rub furs with Genghis Khan children
Cannot buy expansive new hovering toys
Cannot even take candies from Ethan, Pua & Faizal

All those above I like
But cannot anymore
These people will make more noise
If only I can just whallop them

Our Mad-Hat-Tales of yesteryears
Where is your brain when we need it
These people just keep interrupting
Just how long can I keep this up

Please all of you
Your noise makes me sad
That I cried once too often
All the way to the bank

written by Ben, November 06, 2008 11:32:28
Anyone can be pm, but you cannot ask questions during the budget debate. The finance minister do not need to answer any questions. The responsible MPs do not need to know if the budget they are debating has been presented before by pm or a new one. What kind of debate is this? This is a monologue endorsed by the speaker, pandikah.
written by DreamLady, November 06, 2008 11:43:43
pandikar amin, will you just shut up!!! let the opposition and ruling party deal with the problem without interruption from you. If you know the rules and procedures and rules of the house, you should know when to interfere and when to shut your mouth up. DO NOT BE BIASED !!!

Let anwar ask questions, and najib has to answer. Is that too much to ask of you????
written by msiaman, November 06, 2008 12:36:29
Wonder why they are called Speakers? Probably for the fact that they are no different from those in Car and Home AV, to churn out noises for those who holds the control.

I don't think they are independent or playing an intellectual role. Merely a puppet on the string.
written by ilovepakatan, November 06, 2008 12:38:46
I dont understand. I really dont. Why politicise the matter? Isnt saving the economy more important than anything else at the moment?

Even in the hard times we choose to argue and fight and let the important objectives go beyond us.

Politicians please grow up! For the first time, I am sick of both sides. Doesnt matter your differences. Work for the country's economy first.

Plus, I have lost interest in Supporting PAS (the childish party). So if PAS is still in PR comes next election, I will stay at home and watch American Idol.
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 12:41:54
RM 5 billion for Valuecap, RM 7 billion for the rest of UMNO cronies. Other Malaysians left to fend for themselves in the face of the worst economic crisis for almost a century.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 06, 2008 15:18:35
"This is unprecedented. What the finance minister has done yesterday was irregular, improper and unparliamentary.

"I don't understand how he, with his advisers, can make such a basic elementary parliamentary error. This must be rectified. Otherwise, we will be debating something that has not been presented.

Do you think they give a damn? That's what we get when a political partyhas been in absolute power for the last 50 years and counting.....
written by Side Helmit Elba, November 06, 2008 17:03:39
Two DAP lawmakers ordered out of Parliament
By Adib Zalkapli
KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 6 - Two DAP representatives, Fong Po Kuan of Batu Gajah and Chong Chien Jen from Bandar Kuching were asked to leave the Dewan Rakyat by the Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia today.

Pandikar made the ruling after the two MPs questioned his decision.

Fong who called a press conference after she left the House said she was only seeking to clarify why she was not chosen by the Speaker to debate the Supply Bill.
Similiar to above caption,
"According to Standing Order 35(2), when there are more than two MPs who stand up to speak, the Speaker must the call the one who was the first to stand up," said Fong.

"Why wasn't I called, I want to take part in the debate," she added.

Her colleague, Chong said the decision by the Speaker was uncalled for.

"I do not see any necessity on the part of the Speaker to send her out," said Chong.

Chong was asked to leave when he questioned the Speaker's ruling against Fong.

"By what yardstick does the Speaker determines who to speak," said Chong.

He added that the Speaker has been unfair when Pasir Salak MP, Datuk Tajuddin Rahman was let off with only a warning after the BN lawmaker said the word 'bastard' yesterday.

On Tuesday, Batu MP, Tian Chua was also asked to leave the House by the Speaker.

In late 2001, Fong was suspended for six months when she brought up the Certificate of Legal Practice examination scandal in the Parliament.

How can a Barisan MP speaker be fair when he is elected to the bench by the barisan. So where got fairness and transparency. This is the stupid system elected by our rakyat
written by carribeanking7, November 06, 2008 17:06:14
We have a finance minister who can actually announce on tv that the US crisis will not reach our shores... because of our reserves and
resilient banking system......................amazing !

Get your money out of Equities, Bonds are not safe too, if interest rates are raised Bond papers will go down, the safest would be money market funds.
I have been saying this since June.

Inflation in Malaysia is at a 27 year high, and the half past six government of the day tells us that bank Negara will keep interest
rates at bay,they must have been taking economics lessons from pak pandir the ancestor of pak lah.
When interest rates do go up- just remember that you have been warned.

More than that the programme "ISU" over TV3 yesterday was a lame exercise in public relations to convince village bumpkins
that Najib actually was in the know of the economic situatian, 4 panelist with scripted questions was a dog and pony performance
to give the illusion that our finance minister could field questions off the cuff.
so is the airing of edited clips of parliamentary proceedings that shows pakatan as the bogeyman.

The fact stands - the stimulus package was not included in the original budget tabling, I myself criticized it for lacking a stimulus package....
I used the words"where the dickens is the stimulus package"

If it was amended, 2 days notification must be given to parliament, which Najib did not do.....so Anwar was right to have said he insulted parliament,
also when the opposition was debating the budget on Oct 13, Najib showed his arrogance by being absent.

written by cllim123, November 06, 2008 18:04:59
Speaker Pandikar is an UMNO goon. Useless dog bringing the House into disrepute. He is in contempt of the House.