TOURISM MINISTER MISLED PARLIAMENT PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 21:33
APOLOGISE OR BE REFERRED TO HOUSE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES - PRESS STATEMENT

I am aghast by the false statements made by the Minister for Tourism, Azalina Othman during Question Time in Parliament on Tuesday 4 November 2008, which were aired live on RTM1 and reported by major newspapers and blogs today.

From the news reports, she had misled the august House, among other misleading information, on the following:-

1. That I did not attend the opening of the Ministry of Tourism's launch of 'ZOOM' ('No party sentiments in promoting tourism', Bernama, 5 November 2008)

2. That I was invited to Pulau Carey during the Minister's visit there. ('Pelancongan: Negeri pembangkang tidak dipinggir, Utusan Malaysia ms 8, 5 November 2008)

3. That I lied to the Honourable Member of Parliament Shah Alam, Khalid Samad ('We're fair to all states: Azalina', The SUN, page 6, 5 November 2008)

For the record, I was present at the Ministry's launch of 'ZOOM' where Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi graced the event. The Exco for Tourism from Kedah, Penang and I even had the opportunity to speak to the Prime Minister, who was seated on the next table.

The Minister challenged me to prove that I was never invited to Pulau Carey in her programme there (Berita Harian, 5 November 2008). Allow me to state publicly that I was never invited to Pulau Carey by the Minister. In fact the Minister herself has never stepped foot officially on Pulau Carey.

In Selangor, the Minister has visited the following sites - Batu Caves, Pulau Ketam and Royal Gallery Klang. On those occasions, I was left out on purpose, whereas by convention, I should have been informed to host or to to accompany the Minister.

Similarly, I have never received an invitation to programmes organised by the Selangor Tourism Action Council (MTPN-Selangor).

It is an open secret that since the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the Ministry and state governments was cancelled after the General Elections, and with the chairmanship of the State Tourism Action Councils in the 5 Pakatan Rakyat states relegated to BN officials, there has been very limited communication and cooperation of the Ministry with Pakatan Rakyat states.

Even the General Manager of the Selangor Tourism Action Council, when invited to meet me for discussions on tourism matters, was too frightened to meet officially. In the end, he only spoke to me on a personal basis.

The disconnect between the state governments and State Tourism Action Councils is glaringly unproductive and unhealthy for the nation. Further, the signal sent to the tourism industry is extremely negative and jeopardises the tradition of close collaboration of the state government with related government agencies.

I do not wish to prolong this unnecessary protracted war of words with the Minister. It has been 7 months since we took office, and the Minister should be looking into revamping the current communication channels to foster closer and productive ties with state governments. To carry on in this current mode of operations and communications is detrimental to the nation. 

Nonetheless, Pakatan Rakyat states' Excos on tourism will continue to soldier on despite the odds, as we are mindful of the national importance of tourism to the economic health and wealth of the nation.

Tourism is a national agenda and all parties should be mindful that success in this sector needs proper official channels and access to plans, programmes and decision-making by the state governments to the Ministry of Tourism. Political interference serves only personal agendas. To this end, I have from very beginning, instructed state officials, including local councils, to cooperate fully with the Ministry of Tourism.

I call on the Minister to apologise publicly as her statements, assertions and insinuations have gravely affected my credibility and that of the Selangor state government. Failure to do so will compel me to refer the Minister to the House Committee of Privileges for censure.

Released by,

Elizabeth Wong

EXCO for Tourism, Consumer Affairs and Environment

Selangor State Government

written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 21:39:08
lies are trademark of the BN UMNO leaders right?

the lesbian lies are nothing compared to the top lies of UMNO leaders
written by Kunta Kinte, November 05, 2008 21:45:03
These people are all just living their lives day to day through lies. Then they will preach about religion like the faithful.
written by Msian Idol3, November 05, 2008 21:47:33
Good one Eliz. Such feedbacks are great for all to know what kind of slimeballs we have in govt. I wonder why the govt cannot find the right people to do the right job. All these political appointments are a farce, always leading to lies, waste & corruptions. Cannot even do a simple job in the tourism ministry shows how good our minister is & the lack of quality guys in UMNO leadership.
written by malsia1206, November 05, 2008 21:52:29
I simply love lesbians. They really excite me to the hilt.
written by Dongra Dude, November 05, 2008 21:53:49
Thats great YB Eliz. We the rakyat knows that AAB has appointed a useless LESBO as the Minister of Tourism who is full of lies and Bullshit! Her arrogant attitude and ****ed up face will drive away tourist to this country. THe Lesbo Queen will twist and turn her statement later. Watch and see. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Liberace, November 05, 2008 21:55:25
Lie? We don't lie, we just forget. I mean, we do meet a lot of people and attend many events so sometimes we do get them confused. Even our Honorable DPM forgot that Saiful came to visit him at home the night before the sodomy report was made. And our great Tun forgot everything about the Lingam thingy so why pick on me, a mere tourism minister?
written by lamakawan, November 05, 2008 22:00:48
Do the right thing, Liz. Refer Azalina to the House Committee of Privileges right away. No need to hesitate. No need to give warnings. These are stubborn donkeys of the UMNO goons of yesteryears.
written by justinlian, November 05, 2008 22:02:26
Can anyone or MPs to suggest our beloved DPM to take this woman to a night in Paris so he can be loved by our casanova ?
Maybe after that she wont lie too much and keep her faith with DPM
written by smokingsoldier, November 05, 2008 22:03:43
well wat can u expect from this azalina? so many people dont even know whether to label 'her' as a lesbian, a bitch, or a butch. cant even classify the gender..
written by Motherchell, November 05, 2008 22:05:29
malsia1206! If this just excites you , than this should pull the rug under your feet! Read more here of what i mean of what Powers that be are made of!
http://sjsandteam.*********.co...-pictures/

written by penangboi, November 05, 2008 22:05:30
So, what's new.

I am certainly not surprised at the Federal Government's attitude towards oppositon-held states.

Take a look at how Kelantan has been treated. See what happened to all the North Development Corridor projects promised by no other than Pak Lah himself who is a Penangnite himself after Kedah, Penang and Perak fell to Pakatan.

It is obvious that this is a form of 'punishment' dished out by BN/UMNO for the people's rejection of BN.

But what this short-sighted BN goons don't realise is that such immature actions will certainly backfire. Come next GE the rakyat will remember what were done by BN, and the backlash shall be a hundred-fold what GE12 was.

Someone, maybe all of us, should make a list of all such despicable acts by BN and bring them all up the future. And this list should also include all the injustice and corruption perpetuated by BN.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 05, 2008 22:43:14
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gifLATEST SCANDAL: LESBIAN MINISTER SQUANDERRED TAX PAYERS' MONEY! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

On 25 Oct 2008, a Malaysian lesbian sports and tourism minister and a big entourage flew Singapore Airlines from KL to Singapore to Paris onboard the brand new B777-300ER, flight SQ334 SIN-Paris. They chosed to fly the long way round to Paris on SIA and spent much more on the airfares instead of taking a direct flight from KL-Paris because the MAS aircraft has no luxurious first class. For info the 1st class seats cost around RM25,000 each!!!

PR MPs or Elizabeth please question these scumbags on the misappropriation of funds from her ministry!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 05, 2008 22:45:00
Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need more info smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by DezMalaysia, November 05, 2008 22:50:21
Maybe Lesbian Minister was hinting for Sexual (sejenis) favours from opposition women MPs.
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 22:51:11
She is someone's niece isn't she. So she can do what she likes. so cocky!!!.
Isn't there a ruling by fatwa council for tomboys.
Good thing that the koreans are investing in penang.
See how hard working our dear penang CM is.
You can boycott all you want in the opposition states but they have proven
their grit and look for outside investment. BRAVO!!!
written by tokioRain, November 05, 2008 23:25:08
Azalina is in love with Eli.
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 05, 2008 23:32:13
Eli don't dance to lesbbo's tune.

written by DreamLady, November 06, 2008 00:28:56
Oops, not again!! this time involves lesbian. hey, where is the Fatwa council, there is an immediate case for you guys to handle, Come on !!!
written by RumahPanjai, November 06, 2008 00:32:01
Badawi is a baboon. The rests of his caucus are, monkey see, monkey do. Their coveted trophy is, "The mother of all liars". One potential contender this far is none other than Azalina.
written by Dongra Dude, November 06, 2008 06:08:16
The LESBO Queen only deserved to be dated and made love by a Gorrila from D.CONGO. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Aming, November 06, 2008 06:34:03
Totally a true blue UMNO minister, performing in absolute compliance to ISO ala UMNO standard.
written by batsman, November 06, 2008 08:10:39
What's new? Azalina's preferences are well known.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 06, 2008 09:08:14
TOURISM MINISTER MISLED PARLIAMENT

THAT'S A VERY MILD WAY OF PUTTING IT. HECK, THE PM LIED ON PETROL INCREASES, HIS DPM LIED ON SAIFUL'S BUTT, SO WHAT DO U EXPECT. THAT'S A WAY OF LIFE FOR THEM. AND 2M AMENO MEMBERS FULLY SUPPORT AND ENDORSE THE PM ELECT.
WHAT ARE WE TO SAY??
written by Xerxes, November 06, 2008 15:41:24
YB Liz, surely you do not want to be in the company of the Minister? Their tainted presence will tarnish your image just by association. So the less you have to do with her, the better off you are. Just so long at the operating level her officers are working with your office would suffice. In any case, typical of these ministers, their visits are all media hypes anyway and serves no productive purpose and you will be wasting your time acompanying them.

But if they tell lies, then you should "slap" them across the face nice and proper because if no one has taught them when they were young, it is not too late to teach them now not to tell lies.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 06, 2008 21:30:45
AGAIN SHE IS SEDUCING THE PUBLIC..BUT CANNOT LIE LIKE THE MOTHER OF LIARS THE MATAMAK WHO PUT HER THERE..

MUST LEARN FROM FROM HIM..HE IS A TRUE LIAR>>

STOP PLAYING STRIP POKER WITH THE PUBLIC..
AAAAGH!!!WE DON'T WANT TO SEE WHAT U DON'T HAVE!!!
OR HAVE EXTRA!!!

written by AngryTaxpayer, November 07, 2008 12:35:12
I'm definitely not surprised at all......the entire BN cabinet has been screwing and lying to the entire nation for the past 50 years.

It's certainly time for another tsunami, dont' you think? smilies/wink.gif
written by onnetline, November 07, 2008 23:17:37
Lying is a pre-requisite to be an UMNO elite member.
So, there's nothing new about this tomboy Minister character.

written by mahendra5, November 08, 2008 00:28:23
This Azalina the so-called Minister of Tourism is not fit to be a Minister.
I viewed the direct telecast of Parliamentary Debate over TV1 2 days ago and was
shocked at her explanation which endorses the saying A POT CALLING THE KETTLE BLACK. Oh my God what a full Cabinet Minister! The Rakyat are no fools to be carried away by her 'cock and bull stories'.