Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow No, neo-colonialism is never the answer

No, neo-colonialism is never the answer PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 13:31

Today, the structures of colonial rule persist with colonial era-inspired laws such as Malaysia’s Internal Security Act still in place; and the ruling elite of Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and other countries are likewise distanced from their own people. Like the colonial masters of the past, they view their own fellow citizens with incredulity, and fail to understand how plural and complex their societies really are, observes Aliran member Farish Noor.

I recently had a conversation with an Indonesian political analyst in Singapore, where I am currently based. In the course of our discussion about the state of Indonesian politics, he let slip a statement that I felt terribly uncomfortable with. While lamenting the state of Indonesia’s convoluted politics, he opined thus: “I wonder if Indonesia ’s problems could be solved if we allowed a foreign government to run our country?”

Now, talk like this usually sends shivers up my spine. We will recall that up to the late 1990s, it even became fashionable to talk about the necessity for the re-colonisation of Africa. This sort of nonsense was all the rage in some American political magazines and journals, and of course this neo-colonial bile was dressed up in the discourse of altruism and universal humanism, as if the colonisation of any country was an altruistic act between fellow human concerned about the fate of others. Never mind the fact that the ones doing the colonising would be the same Western powers and the ones being colonised would be the same hapless denizens of the Third World.

It is true that Indonesia’s political situation at present is a mess to say the least. With the next elections almost half a year away, the political parties – and there are more than 35 of them, at the last count – are already campaigning in earnest. Vast amounts of money are being spent (or rather wasted) on publicity campaigns and electoral drives that are designed to puff up the already inflated egos of political aspirants than to do any real good to the people. On top of that the political discourse of parties like Hanura and Gerindra seem full of fluff and froth as the leaders have little to say on how they will actually set about changing things for the better.

But in the case of Indonesia, as it is with the other countries of Southeast Asia, the perennial problem is the same: aspiring elites want to speak for the people and represent them, but they don’t even know what the people want. The political disconnect between the elites of Jakarta and the masses across the archipelago is mirrored in the disconnect we see among the elites of Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Manila and Bangkok. Why?

Answering this question may also lead us to the answer to the earlier comment about the need for Indonesia to be re-colonised for its own good.

The bottom line is that the governmental structures of Indonesia – as it is for Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines and many other post-colonial societies remains rooted in the structures of colonial rule. Now colonial rule was unique in the sense that the colonial governments could govern with scant attention paid to the colonial subjects themselves, hence the ‘success’ of British colonial rule in Burma, Malaya and Singapore and Dutch colonial rule in Indonesia. The British, French, Dutch, Spanish and American colonisers who governed Southeast Asia were not answerable to their colonial societies, but rather the metropolitan capitals of London, Hague, Paris and Washington. Thus British Malaya, Burma and Singapore were governed at a long-distance, with orders from London being enacted and executed in Malaya. Likewise orders from the Hague were put to work in Indonesia. At no point was this metropole-colony relationship an equal or reciprocal one.

Today the structures of colonial rule persist with colonial era-inspired laws such as Malaysia’s Internal Security Act still in place; and the ruling elite of Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and other countries are likewise distanced from their own people. Like the colonial masters of the past, they view their own fellow citizens with incredulity, and fail to understand how plural and complex their societies really are. The ‘success’ of colonial rule – if you could call it that – was that it blanketed the real pluralism and differences in these colonised societies and made them look homogenous.

Today, Southeast Asia’s internal pluralism and difference are coming to the forefront in no uncertain terms. Indonesia ’s complex political landscape merely mirrors the complexity of Indonesia’s plural society, a fact that was thinly disguised during the three decades of Suharto’s centralised authoritarian rule. But we need to remember that the manifold forms and modes of socio-political activity we see in Indonesia today, that includes also the new ‘radical’ groups like the Majlis Mujahidin Indonesia, the Hizbut Tahrir Indonesia (HTI) and even mainstream Islamist parties like the PKS are the genuine expressions of Indonesian pluralism too. The MMI, HTI and PKS are not from Mars or Sweden: they are part and parcel of Indonesian society and the products of the same political processes that created the political elite in Jakarta who do not understand them.

We must therefore recognise two things: postcolonial societies have yet to jettison the colonial mindset of colonial governmentality; and we need to develop a new mode of representative politics that reflects the complexity of the societies we reside in. Indonesia’s new political elites may be jockeying for position and running for the biggest prize of all – the Presidential seat – next year. But they need to remember that to be President of Indonesia today means being President of one of the most complex, confounding, plural and internally-differentiated societies in the world. The sooner the political elites of Indonesia (and Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and the Philippines) realise this and the sooner they behave like democratic representatives rather than colonial bureaucrats, the better it will be for everyone.

- Aliran

written by borneoman, November 05, 2008 14:22:43
hear ye,hear ye the poor and down trodden citizens of SARAWAK,the article above provides us with truth beyond reasonable doubt that we have been colonised for over 200yrs.1803-2008A.D.ours is made worst because our trust is betrayed by our very own country men.we should change the name of sarawak to "THE KINGDOM OF YAAKUB,TAIB &FAMILY.
written by biggun129, November 05, 2008 14:41:21
Why blame on Colonial rule, we are now ruled by ourself, we are independent, we can decide to abolish the 'ISA', I never heard of any 'Mat Salleh' PM in South East Asia, we must change, the people must change then only the Country Will change, look at US today, they change, their Preseident is 'Black'!!!
written by Fatcat, November 05, 2008 15:08:54
Yes... Imperative that Change must come in Bolehland too...
written by *********, November 05, 2008 15:13:06
When our DSAI was beaten up and hauled to prison on what seemed like trumped up charges, we do not even complain. When RPK was taken away from us, we are even more cowered. We do not even complain anymore. Well, we do; but only to each other...More http://*********.********.com
written by Navigator, November 05, 2008 16:52:04
With the colonial powers, corruption was not a problem. With local leaders, this becomes endemic. The failure of the African and Asian nations, with the exception of Singapore, is due to corruption which makes it necessary for draconian laws to still opposition. The worst case is Myanmar followed by Thailand where the elite group under the guise of supporting royalty, overthrows a legally elected government several times.
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2008 18:59:27
The malaysians are so used to being slaves to their UMNO/BN goons for the last 51 years. Even when their rights as slaves are infringed, they do not know the know-hows to retaliate or fight back.

To learn to be one's master, each malaysian has to have the courage to act like a Master; to talk like a Master; and to slam the enemies like a MASTER!!!!

GOD, please give strength to all Malaysians to be Masters on the soil of their country!!!
written by borneoman, November 05, 2008 19:49:40
the sinfull umno led bn government has been and will forever use their education policy as a tool to their advantage.luckily some one invented computer and the internet.now the whole world is open to us and let us use it to our advantage against the recist umno led bn regime.
written by densemy, November 05, 2008 21:22:41
Your new colonial masters are the Arabs... and they have plundered you more than the Brits ever did and in return have given you nothing but slavery and placebos for your troubled minds that they also gave you. They have overseen the rape of your most cherished institutions and they are laughing as they now move in and buy up all your assets
written by chiongguo, November 05, 2008 22:23:00
The neo-colonialist appears in many guises and form but none of it could dominate or colonise us if we do not allow it to do so. Many of us in asia continue to engage the west with uncharacteristic subservience. The singapore girl's reputation of treating the asians with contempt while treating the caucasians with deference represents such a slavish mentality.

Neo-colonialists also control much of what we believe. We believe what they wanted us to believe and often we seem to bow and thank them for giving us such a wonderful gift. One good example would be allopathic medicine. While americans and europeans are leaving such medical modalities the asians are embracing it with uncharacteristic enthusiasm and discarding century-old treatment modality.