Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Obama is first black president in landslide

Obama is first black president in landslide PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 13:08

WASHINGTON, Nov 5 - Barack Obama was elected the nation's first black president  in a historic triumph that overcame racial barriers as old as America itself.

The son of a black father from Kenya and a white mother from Kansas, the Democratic senator from Illinois sealed his victory by defeating Republican Sen. John McCain in a string of wins in hard-fought battleground states - Ohio, Florida, Virginia and Iowa.

A huge crowd in Grant Park in Chicago erupted in jubilation at the news of Obama's victory. Some wept.

McCain called to concede defeat - and the end of his own 10-year quest for the White House.

Obama and his running mate, Sen. Joseph Biden of Delaware, will take their oaths of office as president and vice president on Jan. 20, 2009.

As the 44th president, Obama will move into the Oval Office as leader of a country that is almost certainly in recession, and fighting two long wars, one in Iraq, the other in Afghanistan.

The popular vote was close, but not the count in the Electoral College, where it mattered most.

There, Obama's audacious decision to contest McCain in states that hadn't gone Democratic in years paid rich dividends.

Obama has said his first order of presidential business will be to tackle the economy. He has also pledged to withdraw most US combat troops from Iraq within 16 months.

Fellow Democrats rode his coattails to larger majorities in both houses of Congress. They defeated incumbent Republicans and won open seats by turn. 

- AP

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by macaufan, November 05, 2008 13:16:35
Rais Yatim said "saya sokong Obama jadi President USA ! we're no racist !"
TAPI
what if Obama happen to contest in M'sia for PM? do u Rais Yatim sokong?
hahaha.....
agree 150
written by ylcc, November 05, 2008 13:26:42
Congratulations to President Obama on his victory! Can Malaysia demonstrate the same maturity, and perhaps one day have a capable Iban, Chinese, Eurasian, Indian, Dayak, .... as Prime Minister? That would be nice.
written by krising1, November 05, 2008 13:29:24
Tonight I saw a wonderful event. An African-American has been chosen to lead the most powerful nation on earth. He is going to lead a nation where the majority is whites. Looking at the news on TV I saw the whites rooting and cheering for Barak Obama like they were colour blind. It moved me because in my life time I have seen the blacks from being treated like animals, segregated, beaten up and abused in all kinds of ways to a day when a black man is going to take the highest political office in the land. This would not have happened if the whites of America had practiced KETUANAN ORANG PUTEH like KETUANAN ORANG MELAYU as practiced in this country. No white man or woman has been asked to apologise for supporting a black man. No white man or woman has been accused being a traitor to his race by supporting a black man. I hope our UMNOputras can learn something from this!
agree 144
written by mikefonz, November 05, 2008 13:30:17
I may not a fan for American's policies but no matter how we think about them is that they are truely DEMOCRATIC. Looking at Obama winning as the 1st black President of USA. Our goverment also say and try to protray to the whole world that Malaysia is Democratic but we'll can't and will not see another race or religion being the PM of Malaysia. DEMOCRATIC my foot !!!
written by Birdbrain, November 05, 2008 13:30:21
After listening to Barack Obama's inspiring victory speech send tears rolling down my cheeks. When can we have our own Obama?

Malaysia needs our own Obama, he's none other than Anwar Ibrahim. Najib is no match for and he didn't earn it. He is been given this PM seat by 191 warlords who knows nuts about developing and bringing hope to Malaysia.

Anwar! Anwar! Anwar!

The future of Malaysia. Malaysia should move away from UMNO and Barisan Nasional.We need a leader who speaks for the majority and not just 3 million pseudo Malay UMNO members.
written by Counterpointer, November 05, 2008 13:33:44
I'm sure Obama would have a natural affinity to the causes of Hindraf and those marginalised by racism in Malaysia. But if Pakatan takes over, that would be a different story
written by Sunnysoul5, November 05, 2008 13:37:28
In the true spirit of democracy, the Americans have decided that Barrack Hussein Obama shall be the 44th President of USA on 20th January 2009, making it the first Black or African American to have made it. In developing countries it will be unthinkable to have a minority race to lead the nation.

Incidentally, if we travel to Los Angeles we can see the signage in English, Japanese, Chinese and others at the airport. The Americans have grown out of the racial barriers to a certain extent, and recognize the fact that not all tourists can read English, so being multi-ligual may attract the tourist dollars.

Some Christians believe that God created two sons, one White and one Black. The Whites have dominated for a long time and it is now the beginning of the era for the Black to shine. Lewis Hamilton won the F1 world championship and makes the British proud. Barrack Obama becomes the first Black President and the Kenyans are probably overjoyed at the “miracle”. The world is definitely changing, and more so after the tsunami in Asia.

The fact that Obama and his Democrats win mainly because the Americans want to be out of the wars in Asia. The two Bushes have been actively engaging in wars much to the dislike of the peace loving Americans. Pulling out of Iraq is on Obama’s agenda, and the world is likely to receive it without a doubt.

The world is really changing.

written by vineeth menon, November 05, 2008 13:40:58
Barack Obama was born to Barack Hussein Obama, Sr., a Luo from Nyang’oma Kogelo, Nyanza Province, Kenya, and Ann Dunham, a white American from Wichita, Kansas. His parents met while attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa, where his father was a foreign student.They separated when he was two years old and later divorced.Obama's father returned to Kenya and saw his son only once more before dying in an automobile accident in 1982.

Obama is the first person of African-American descent to be nominated by a major American political party for President,and the first person of African American descent to be elected President of the United States of America.

RESULT: - OBAMA - 338 MCCain - 156

Can we Get Any closer to this... Over to you.. To All the Racists & Fanatics (of all race & religion)
written by cheekymate, November 05, 2008 13:41:05
Although I am not an American, I wept when the victory was won. It was a defining moment in the history of American and his struggles to become the president have left poignant images in my brain. I admired his determination and perseverance during his journey and my heart reached out to our beloved Malaysia at the same time. If all Malaysians can share the same hope and aspirations for a better Malaysia, regardless of colour, creed or race, wouldn't that be a wonderful place for us to live.
written by anak penang, November 05, 2008 13:41:41
and he is a pendatang
when malaysia going to have the 1st non malay PM
written by takbolehtahan, November 05, 2008 13:42:06
We have our own "Obama" here. The problem is whether we are brave enough to elect him when the time comes!!
written by honestlypls, November 05, 2008 13:45:31
Friends....did u listen to Obama's victory speech. It brought tears to my eyes.
He touched on all items we Malaysians feel and wished cud happen here in Msia.

Can it ever happen....can we hope?
written by educationist, November 05, 2008 13:47:54
Yes , we can!
Tha's his battle cry and his vicory brings hope that the USA will, once again act as a great nation rather than a rogue nation.
But the beauty of their elections, was the graceful manner Mccain conceded defeat at about 1220[local time] while the polls has not c;osed yet in Alaska and Hawaii.
If we think back of how all the TV stations 'recycled' those few early BN seats won, we'll see the mentality of those in power then, and now.
So, let's also believe, yes we can, come the next general elections to send the BN crashing to defeat.
written by jargon, November 05, 2008 13:52:22
Obama's victory speech was marvellous...brought tears to my eyes. It's because
he touched on so many things we Malaysians are feeling.

Let's hope we can make that change too ....I must believe we can...don't know when but hope soon.
written by Spear Bing, November 05, 2008 13:55:18
That's the power of democracy......YES WE CAN!

But can we with Malay Supremacy still reeling in the minds of UMNO Mullahs?

Can we be colour blind, religion blind,?

When will the UMNO Mullahs ever learn?

When will they ever learn..... the answer is blowing in the wind.
written by adan, November 05, 2008 14:00:28
Malaysia has been more modern and democratic than America. We have had the Man from Kerala who ruled Malaysia for 22 years and we have a Man from Java who aspires to become one.
written by carribeanking7, November 05, 2008 14:06:32
It appears UMNO is conspiring to prevent me from becoming PM ...ha ha ha

My first act as PM would be to give Penang semi autonomy, they contribute RM5bil in taxes but get less than RM1 bil in federal disbursement,I believe in the phrase"no taxation without representation".

written by MAMR, November 05, 2008 14:07:06
I wish and hope Msia one day will be like AMERICA whereby the followings are elected as person to LEAD the country:
The non scandalous,
The best in term of knowledge,
The best in term of example,
The uncorrupted.
written by MinahManja, November 05, 2008 14:11:52
America has broken the racial barier for the top job. Well done! Dare we hope for the same for Malaysia ?
written by shepherdvoyage, November 05, 2008 14:13:18
Congratulations to Barack Obama on creating history in the US.

Can we also hope for the same here one day? A non-Bumi Prime Minister who has Obama's calibre.

Very unlikely I can live long enough to see this day come.
written by angkasawan bocor, November 05, 2008 14:25:40
Congratulations to President Barack Obama. A victory to the minorities in the U.S. An inspiration to all minorities in the world. (But in Bolehland where everything is said to be possible, to have a member of the minority race as the PM is impossible, if the current racist mentality of the politicians and the people persist.)

In the meantime, let us have a CHANGE which WE BELIEVE IN. Let's bring in Pakatan Rakyat in the next GE.
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2008 14:27:45
We would like to have Obama to be our prime minister..but the moment he makes his intention clear, the UMNO/BN will not waste much time to detain Obama under ISA for 'disrupting peace'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 14:39:31
RPK is our OBAMA. I propose all candle light vigils in all states.
written by MalaysianFirst, November 05, 2008 14:40:11
Will Malaysia mirror the success story of American politics?

My answer is yes and no.

NO because UMNO and PAS has said it a millions over and over again that to expect Malaysians to even suggest a non-Malay to be our prime minister (or even deputy prime minister) will immediately invoke the wrath of the Malays, no matter if they are right or left thinking. To the Malays (especially UMNO and PAS), Malaysia is, for good or for bad, theirs FOREVER and no one is allowed to ever remotely harbor any thought of changing this so-called "reality".

YES only when Malaysia is completely wallowing in abject poverty, with no sign whatsoever of economic survival for the next 20 years as a direct consequence of our racist and non-meritocratic policies that left us completely weakened and uncompetitive. YES, only when the government is unable to pay its civil servants, police and armed forces and where the World Bank and IMF will not lend us a sen, where no country will help. Only then, will the Malays wake up and say "YES, WE WANT CHANGE".

Until then, you know and I know that we're only dreaming.
written by BORN FREE, November 05, 2008 14:42:46
In March 08, we, Malaysians missed the chance to experience the "winds of change" But the Americans, were more lucky, they got to experience their 1st
"winds of change" today! This is what democracy is ! So, hear me
loud & clear, dear Malaysians, when the next chance comes to us, make sure we grab it, be brave ! We, Malaysians too want to experience this CHANGE !!
written by Anak_Asia, November 05, 2008 14:48:54
I salute Americans who have voted in a Black as their President.

In Malaysia, even a temporary appointment of a female Chinese in PKNS is creating a BIG hoohaa .. Malaysia Memang Boleh !!
written by MalaysianFirst, November 05, 2008 14:49:38
Let's just perish the thought of a non-Malay ever becoming our prime minister and concentrate on our fight against corruption. This is more realistic.
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 14:51:33
The tidal wave of change is here to stay. Wow! first black american president
of US of A. Its history in the making.
How nice......such democracy in malaysia??? sigh!!!
but there is still hope.....if only....
written by indianputra, November 05, 2008 14:58:29
It's a beginning. Hope the UMNO goons will take note of what happened in USA. Don't STOP progress and when the change comes, Muthu or Ah Beng or Rosli will be the PM of Malaysia.
written by ASK4u, November 05, 2008 15:04:28
..Our goverment also say
and try to protray to the whole world that Malaysia is Democratic
but we'll can't and will not see another race or religion being the
PM of Malaysia..

mikefonz, Malaysia is UMNOCRAPTIC

written by Birdbrain, November 05, 2008 13:30:21
Malaysia needs our own Obama, he's none other than Anwar Ibrahim

Allow me to correct you; he's none other than YM RPK. As for Anwar, I'm not too sure if he can match Obama's sincerity and statesmanship especially so with his silence on so many 'sensitive' issues of late.
Obama aside, here is another good human being in the form of John McCain. John McCain's concession speech: http://www.bittenandbound.com/...ech-video/

written by Mark C, November 05, 2008 15:05:10
If US can do it, with Malaysia Boleh's battle cry, I am sure, we can!

Ketuanan UMNOputeras? ptuii! your days are numbered!
written by cheekhiaw, November 05, 2008 15:06:13
Other than occasional idiots like Reagan and Bush, the Americans are led by people with a much more virtuous culture than what we have in Malaysia where we are led by people from thieves with crooked knife culture.
written by apa jadi, November 05, 2008 15:06:20
If Obama was born Malaysian, he would have the name Badak bin Osama to be the Malaysian Prime Minister.

While a Black become a president of a predominant white USA, we have the institutionalised aparthied defining who should be a prime minister of an insignificant nation.

While the world going flat, we still have people having red eyes over road signs.

Tell me! How is this country going to progress?
written by 2edgedsword, November 05, 2008 15:13:46
United States took 200 years before the whites accepted a black for President. How long would it take Malaysia to have the best person to be PM regardless of race?

When interviewed by Bloomberg recently, TDM said to the effect that he has to contend with Najib because there is no better choice. Has Umno produced the best man for the job so far? Definitely no. Would the coalition partners in BN make more noise about this? Cause a riot in parliament if you have the guts.
written by Kamikaze, November 05, 2008 15:17:01
Malaysians want a CHANGE!

http://ooibenghooi.********.co...hange.html
written by ylcc, November 05, 2008 15:35:54
Thought for the day! Do you think Obama will be sued if he decides to call his office the "Black House"? Well .... talking about being sued for disrespecting the Bahasa Malaysia for road signs!
written by ENCIK NASIR, November 05, 2008 15:36:01
ylcc, vineeth menon

I don't agree with you. Malaysia had an India Muslim Malay as Prime Minister No.4. A Bugis as Prime Minister No.2, 3 White Maharaja Brooke for Sarawak (though not elected) a Jawa as former Menteri Besar Selangor, Pakistan Dusun as the current Sabah Chief Minister, a Melanau as the Current Sarawak Chief Minister, a chinese as the current Penang Chief Minister, A Suluk as Sabah's first TYT, a omputeh dusun as 1st Sabah Chief Minister, a chinese as 2nd Sabah CM, a Suluk as Sabah 3rd CM, a Bajau as Sabah 4th CM, a Pakistan Dusun as 6th Sabah CM, a Dusun as Sabah 7th CM, a Sama as Sabah 8th and 9th CM a Chinese as Sabah 10th CM, a Kadazan as Sabah 11th CM, a Bajau as Sabah 12th CM, a Chinese as Sabah 13th CM and finally last but not least a Eurasian as the current's PM Consort.

Congrats to Obama but we in Malaysia accept that we will never have a black african descendant as PM, CM, TYT in Malaysia. TQ.
written by ylcc, November 05, 2008 15:42:43
Hello Encik Nasir ... thank you for your opinion, but pse stick to the main subject ... we are talking about Prime Minister as leader for all ... the tree trunk, not the branches ... you know what I mean? And I do not understand what you mean by India Muslim Malay as PM ... either he is Indian or he is Malay. Maybe Haris Ibrahim or Zaid Ibrahim can enlighten me on this! Cheerio!
written by hiro, November 05, 2008 15:48:47
Obama win should send a chilling message to dictators and oligarchies all over the world that democracy's reach is boundless.

Malaysia's Obama moment will come one day when a non-Malay makes it as Prime Minister. The chances of that happening is definitely brighter under Pakatan than the UMNO-led BN that is suffering from irreparable corruption and malaise.

But for the moment, it will be a watershed moment just to bring down the BN government and for Anwar to be PM.

Let's all be inspired by the Obama win by making that happen.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 05, 2008 15:54:54
Americans created history by voting in their President, not based on race, religion or culture...but rather on the promise for progress, prosperity and change.

Malaysians? Erm......we don't have a say in the first place. smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif

Anyway, UMNO goons are still busy setting up bogus NGOs to make life miserable for the PR state governments.......so Malaysians can forget about our leaders focusing on what's important.
written by joeawk, November 05, 2008 16:07:59
Nothings gonna change change except for the colour of the 2 contenders. They fought on quite similar agenda. However, the hawks will have their nose snipped off a bit, only a bit,there will still be war.
written by Dongra Dude, November 05, 2008 16:16:11
President choosen Barrack Obama in his victory speech stated that US as Land of Possible because it has choosen An African American as its 44th President. We also always cry of Malaysian Possible (MALAYSIA BOLEH) in sending a Malay Dr as a tourist to the space, Datukship for Cendol seller for crossing the English Channel, Dropping Mat Rempits parachutist with instant training from Russian Sky, and many more useless BOLEH just to get International attention. Malaysia when are we going to be Politically and Democratically mature like the people of US to select a leader like OBAMA and not the Leaders in Malaysia who passes the baton from father to son Dynasty. Enough of this family monopoly Leaders. Throw them out in the Next GE 13. I wish this dream will become in this possible and promising land. MALAYSIA BOLEH! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by vineeth menon, November 05, 2008 16:26:38
ENCIK NASIR,
Q1. Did you elect TDM because he was a Indian Muslim or a Malay ?
Q2. Will you agree with a Malayisn of Chinese/Indian descent to be a PM ?
Q3. Can you explain why was there a big fuss in adding an additional language on the sign boards in Penang?

When one cant even tolerate a language , what are you talking about. I will be happy, If you say that you want to add Arabic. Because it is a language not a religion.My Lebonese Christian friend pray to Allah, No issues there.But Word Allah became a Islam Prophet in Malaysia.Arabic is a language in Middle East, but some in Malaysia sees it as a religious symbol. Think about it..

I repeat My question in more detailed way..
" Can Malaysia Get any Closer to US in Terms of Democracy & Transparency? "
written by Birdbrain, November 05, 2008 16:29:47
ASK4U WROTE:

Allow me to correct you; he's none other than YM RPK. As for Anwar, I'm not too sure if he can match Obama's sincerity and statesmanship especially so with his silence on so many 'sensitive' issues of late.

Hello ASK4U, We do not pitch the political strategist against the peoples' leader!!! RPK is the reluctant politician but a voice for those like us who doesn't dare to speak out.

They are both great men! Are you flocking with me? Cuckoo!!!
written by Delima25, November 05, 2008 16:43:08
Will Barak Obama win if he contest in Malaysia to be the PM.
Based on the caring nature of The Home Affairs Minister, it is just possible that Barak would have been taken into ptotective custody to ensure he is not in danger of becoming the PM.
Let us not even talk about running the country, Barak Obama will also face protest if he is nominated to take over as the chief at PKNS. Who cares whether you are a capable person or not if you do not have the necessary "Kulit-fication".
To our so-called leaders, please do not call Barak Obama up to offer your congratulations. Compare to the Americans, you are somewhat in the same boat as the North Korean leader, the Myanmar leader and Robert Mugabe so stay away from their evil democratic ways that will be a bad influence on the UMNO party members who might suddenly realise that you are leading them by the nose.
written by Debbie, November 05, 2008 16:43:09
Dear krising 1,

If I could vote you UP a million times over , I would and times it by whatever numerals that we have.

Best comment I have heard so far.

written by joejoe, November 05, 2008 16:46:47
USA used to have a party which practices UMNO-like policies. It was called the Klu Klux Klan.
written by fireduck, November 05, 2008 16:50:38
I congratulate all my American friends for being bold and hungry enough to make that change. Let's hope the change that Obama promised WILL be positive. We can only dream for now that we will have a non-UMNO Prime Minister in the future, and not too distant in that, hopefully.

And I did say non-UMNO, not even non-Malay PM. Do we dare to make that change come the next GE?

And I would like to point out something else: Did you guys see the front page of the STAR on Monday, Nov 03, 2008? Top story, Najib wins the UMNO Presidency uncontested. When is the UMNO elections again? March 2009? More than 4 months away? Ah, Malaysian Democracy! Malaysia Boleh!

And at the bottom of the front page, it highlighted how the candidates for the US Presidency is still slugging it out right up till the last minute of the US Election.

Who can speak more proudly of real and true democracy? My bet is Obama. Definitely not even your Rosma-mama, Naj!
written by isa affendi, November 05, 2008 16:53:47
Congratulations to Obama for being the next President on USA.

Sigh, too bad our PMs are passed on from father to son, like its their birth right smilies/sad.gif
written by Food Thought, November 05, 2008 16:57:10
Haha Obama won.. landslide.. padan muka UMNO. Other people change, look for brain to lead them but Malaysia still stuck dalam zaman sang nila utama. Small issue like PKNS can also be used by UMNO to turn into some desperate racial issue.
written by Kyle, November 05, 2008 17:06:03
If Malaysians (read non-Malays) think we can have our very own Obama, keep dreaming, for it will never come true.Just talking about opening a bit of the shitty UiTM, appointing a non-Malay to head PKNS, asking for the post of DPM, talking about abolishing NEP are considered threats to national security. and you are thinking of having your Made In Malaysia's Obama ?
written by MalaysianFirst, November 05, 2008 17:18:01
The Americans have finally shown the world that they are a truly matured society with a first class mentality where race plays absolutely no part in their quest for progress and prosperity.

I can only pity those poor, ignorant but good-hearted Malays living in the kampungs who continue to be indoctrinated by UMNO in particular and PAS to some extent, into believing that UMNO and PAS, indeed BN, will somehow lead them to glory, ready to take on the world with confidence and and knowledge.

I am certain many will agree with me that the only Malaysians that don’t share in the joy and excitement of the Americans is (no prize for the right answer) UMNO.
written by citizenmy, November 05, 2008 18:32:34
US election result shows US Citizens managed to breakthrough the RACIAL barrier.
Malaysia managed through the RACIAL barrier long time ago by selecting Dr. Mahathir.

But could Osama had won if he is a Muslim. Could Dr. Mahathir had won if he is a non muslim?

RELIGIOUS barrier will be harder to break. Only time will tell whether these 2 nations will be able to break this RELIGIOUS barrier.
written by mara koman, November 05, 2008 18:35:10

Now what we see in the US is democracy and progressive intelligent nation building.

Wht we see is one sick umno nation building.,,

Going backward nation building,, sickoo greedy, arrogant brainless umno'sss

written by Apache3, November 05, 2008 18:35:58
Barrack Obama Congratulations for being elected the first black President of America. Barrack Obama was voted into the HIGHEST OFFICE IN USA by 160 million voters. In BOLEHLAND you ONLY need 191 voters out of 27 million voters to put you in the same post, and this means 26,999,809 million voters are insignificant.
written by mara koman, November 05, 2008 18:38:53
Malaysiaputra,,

Thank you for interesting analysis,, but it doesnt sound any amusing at this very moment....

When did anything can be reasoanably justified in the malaysian democratic system ha !!!!!!
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:22:12
do not cry too fast lah. in the first place he is a halfbreed. And should whites be the natives of America he is already a native by virtue of being half native if going by the anak negeri rule of sabah. BUT then remember the true natives of America and the TUANs should be the red indians. I know my history.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 06, 2008 00:52:46
I heard that since UMNO wants to open up for all races Samy has rushed in and wants to be the first orignal Indian Prime Minister! But I sent him a note. wait another 250 years. if you are not a MUSLIM you cannot be a PM here. that is progress that is Malaysia Boleh.