Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Walkout An Irresponsible Act, Says Najib

Walkout An Irresponsible Act, Says Najib PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 09:58

(Bernama) Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak today slammed opposition members of parliament for staging a walkout in the Dewan Rakyat, saying the move was an irresponsible act.

He said the opposition members should have remained in the House because what was being deliberated at the time was additional measures crucial for the country's future and people's well-being.

"As a responsible and constructive opposition, they should have remained in the House.

"The people should realise this... that they (opposition members) have shirked their responsibilities as a constructive and responsible opposition," he told reporters at the parliament lobby today.

Opposition members staged a walkout during the winding up of the 2009 Budget debate by Najib, claiming that the Finance Minister did not give them opportunities to inteject to get clarifications.

Najib said he decided not to give way until after he finished tabling the first part the stimulus package so as to avoid any confusion on the new measures introduced by the government.

"It's better to let me finish with the presentation first. When a clear picture has been established, if they want to asked for any clarification, I will clarify. But they are impatient and insisted on walking out.

"I've promised to give them time to raise whatever question and clarification. I am not denying them their rights; I am just using my rights to determine when they can interject," he said.

When asked whether there was indeed confusion between the 2009 Budget and the additional measures tabled today, Najib said, "This is not a new budget because the amount for development and operating expenditures remains the same."

Najib said what was happening was that the government managed to save on fuel subsidy from RM21 billion previously to between RM10 billion and RM11 billion at the moment following the drop in the global fuel price.

"So there is a saving which we can utilise to stimulate the economy and implement projects that could generate economic growth and help improve the people's well-being," he said.

On the Eurocopter deal, Najib said the government was proven right in the way it implemented the procurement.

"The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) had said that it found no procedurial irregularities in the deal... all are in accordance with the rules and carried out in a transparent manner," he said.

He said the purchase was appropriate based on the armed forces' needs in defending the country's sovereignty.

"We are going to decide... the present situation requires the purchase to be postponed; so we postpone it but eventually if we buy, (the price) is going to be much higher than that," he said when asked whether the government would decide to buy the Eurocopter helicopters before February next year.

The price for the 12 EC725 helicopters as stated in the tender is RM1.604 billion and is only valid until February next year, according to the PAC.

Comments (45)Add Comment
written by Alice, November 05, 2008 10:11:25
Hey Najib our patience is wearing thin. Don't try to push us to the edge. smilies/angry.gif
written by ylcc, November 05, 2008 10:13:27
Yes ...tuan ...you are always right!
I think it was more of "no respect" for you! Can't blame them - me too no respect for you!
written by smeagrooo, November 05, 2008 10:15:43
hey najis,

heard of democracy? heard of parliament?

it is not ur house ok and u cant act as if u own it. and to that tan sri panta(x) amin, u need to ask najis if opposition can ask him Qs? wahhhh!!! U need to go to toilet do u need to ask him also?

looks like more money into the pockets of umno. CONTRACTs!! Build more schools, build more roads, build more fat accounts.
written by lamakawan, November 05, 2008 10:18:09
The opposition walked out from the parliament session is because they cannot tolerate any more of your lies for that session. They are not like the BN goons that acted like hooligans (and using threats as well ) whenever they cannot agree to anything said by the opposition.
written by InEffective, November 05, 2008 10:24:09
I think we are all getting sickened and disgusted by this arrogant coercive behavior in parliament.

The opposition's functions is to questions, challenges, debate policies to ensure the judgments and implemented programs are strong and beneficial to the rakyat.

If this finance minister believes that he alone has the intelligence and capability to solve all financial and economics challenges the rakyat is going to bear, then he also is inflicted with the same disease his mentor suffered from -
"the disease of Intellectual Vanity"

But in nearly all cases, the victims of 'intellectual vanity' paid heavy exacting prices and were subjected to massive underwriting of risk.
(and malaysians - malays, chinese, indians, and brothers in sabah,sawarwak have paid massively for this vain arrogance.

We are tired of all these 'sandiwara and re-framing' of problems definitions and who is causing it. We the rakyat can recognize 3rd class politicians when we see it.
written by yteo2, November 05, 2008 10:31:28
I remember that neither the PM nor Najib attended Sir Anwar Ibrahim's instatement at parliament? So now, why should Sir Anwar extend that courtesy to najib?
written by netaddict1, November 05, 2008 10:35:00
Hahaha... get used to this. This is how good democracy works. Suck it up, Najis!
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 05, 2008 10:35:23
That's your side of the story. You in fact have lost you self-respect. Those parliamentarians just can't tolerate your nonsensical attitude in the house. I think when (if) you become PM it'll be worse.
written by Jan, November 05, 2008 10:35:57
If walkout is irresponsible, not answering the questions posed by the opposition is even more irresponsible of the Finance Minister.
written by asguard, November 05, 2008 10:46:59
Well... the next elections ..we will be putting more opposition MPs there for your companion....the bottomline we don't trust the BN nor UMNO MPs these brunch of idiots are the same....
written by Msian Idol3, November 05, 2008 11:08:17
Your bullshit is unbelievable. Those huge numbers would do nothing for the rakyat. They would benefit your UMNO Companies & cronies. Right now the economic hole is too deep & U are throwing limited financial resources after bad ones. Our economic structure is weak with so many cooked books. Even the richest nations & best economic minds do not know what the best options for now. Compounding our dire situation we have too many hungry crocodiles in UMNO/BN as well as people who are selfish on their Ketuhunan. Right now -- U just don't have the guts to own up that U do not know what to do. This is no surprise as U don't exhibit true & sincere leadership. I would walkout too.
written by biggun129, November 05, 2008 11:28:30
The thief is accusing the victims!!!
written by kurangfaham, November 05, 2008 11:29:54
Ya! Adakah mulutawak ditutup dengan Najis awak sendiri apabila bekas Menteri Besar Perak dan Kumpulan yang kurang matang itu keluar semasa Persidangan Dewan Undangan Perak. Kenapa awak tegur awak tegur mereka. Jangan cuba bertindaka pandai, sebenarnay awak tidak. It's good for you to just get lost from the country, Tis good fpo everybody.
written by Counterpointer, November 05, 2008 11:32:38

Najis, that pie sure didn't taste like chocolate, did it?

What flavour pie, do you think a bullshitter like you will get?
written by carribeanking7, November 05, 2008 11:56:34
DSAI showed parliament courtesy in mid October by not moving any no confidence motion, as the priority was to debate the budget, Najib repayed that courtesy by arrogantly being absent from the debate.

On top of being absent from the debate, Najib seemed not to be in the know of what transpired during his absence, wasting parliaments time over what has already been flogged to death, so opposition interjected, you waved off their rebuttals so they walked out, thats within their rights, the term irresponsible should apply to Najib for his absence in mid October when opposition was debating the budget.
written by unomalaysia, November 05, 2008 11:59:52
Aiyah Najis, why so sensitivelah...
Anyway, signing LOI to buy ultra overpriced helicopters is more irresponsible and not even test flying first.
Also paying extra RM500 million for submarines also more irresponsible lah!
Lagi pun, gadis mongolia kena bom lagi irresponsible...
Better to shuddap in Parliment and not try to act like a hero for amno. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jack Hui, November 05, 2008 12:48:22
Najis is the most canning PM in waiting !!! But he will not stay long !!! Rakyat semua KITA LAWAN TETAP LAWAN.....!!!!
written by MAMR, November 05, 2008 12:48:25
That is right Najib when others do something because of your action, but if you or your UMNO geng do anything even though it hurt other people you all
written by borneoman, November 05, 2008 12:57:21
keep on building castle in ur smelly umno air najib.it is your birth right to dream but please be very ready to face reality once your dream is over.
written by avj, November 05, 2008 13:00:11
(Bernama) Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak today slammed opposition members of parliament for staging a walkout in the Dewan Rakyat, saying the move was an irresponsible act.

Najib,to know what an irresponsible act is,all you have to do is stand in front of mirror and look into your eyes,and it will be very glaring,that you are an irresponsible act.
written by clarity, November 05, 2008 13:15:20
Obviously once the opposition has walked out, then Najib can say that he would be prepared to take questions but before that he won't let them ask anything. So how do we know what he says is true. Think we are stupid like him?
And the deputy speaker can also an emergency session on the queries regarding irregularities of three mega projects. We are talking about billions of dollars and he says it;s not urgent
Also the PAC, how can all the procedures had been carried out when the next thing they say is that the ministry never look at the goods beforebuying? Ism't this a very basic procedure to check thoroughly before buying? At the price we are paying, is it proper procudure. We can easily offer Brazil 20& more on the price they are paying and we still would have significant savings. Brazil can then make an additional order for 12 more copters at a quantity discount. Of course it's not that they are unaware. It's just the corrupted habits working overtime.
written by Daryl, November 05, 2008 13:18:18
As a leader you should be leader for Malaysian not bunch of thiefs.
written by DezMalaysia, November 05, 2008 13:18:53
Najib C4 will be at MITC (Melaka) on Nov. 7, 2008 to launch a so called
" Satu daerah Satu Industri Campaign ".

How about staging a demo there with banners of Altantuya, Eurocopters, Sukhois, and Rosmah Fat lady spending RM700000 wang rakyat at Lodon shopping ?

Bloody fool that pervert C4 Minister, should throw rotten eggs & trash at him !

He deserves no respect from the public !
written by cheekymate, November 05, 2008 13:54:18
You have no right to pass any judgement. You are facing serious accusations from multiple factions of purported crimes. The truely innocent have nothing to hide. Do you?
written by Tompios, November 05, 2008 14:15:48
yea, you are right! everything must be okey in the name of Najib. but, why you take too much time for explanation? what people can do for 5 minutes left? clever huh! manipulator. this is must part of your study with Guruji.
written by maverick, November 05, 2008 14:47:03
yup he's full of shit, but think of it, it's not right for the opposition to just walk out too.

what to do? they are all just politicians for themselves smilies/sad.gif
written by said, November 05, 2008 15:06:37
Organised crime headed by BK Tan,‘Tengku’ Goh and gang should swap places with Barisan govt every week, taking turns, in ripping off rakyat by the trainloads of money, drug dealing, prostitution, illegal lotteries, money laundering, torturing and murders There is no point in presenting the autocratic one sided budget without being checked out by Anwar and PR. Barisan has taken into their pockets a big slice of the budget each year.The head of the fish is rotten so the only way to chop off the head in the form of at least 95 % Barisan MPs like Najib, Hishammudin, Badawi, Yassin, Tahi Mahmud and Musa Hassan. My calculation shows Najib has swindled so so much that his loot is now worth at least 50,000 low cost houses, each costing 30,000 ringgit. Yassin has run away with at least 60,000 low cost houses. The crimes of Barisan are more gigantic than 90-95% of the jailed criminals who should really be released immediately now. NAJIB, you are more hated by more Malays than Badawi because your crimes has no boundaries. You are a murderer and a big time swindler. Everywhere you go, the words ‘MURDERER, SWINDLER’ are written on your face. Your maggot filled job is hanging on with a thread. More Chinese and Indians hate you than Badawi and that view will never get better. Get that into your murderous head. You do anything you like because there is no law at the top and you support each other in the evil deeds. As for rakyat, you torture, molest, rape, bash, bomb them(Altantuya), rob and throw them into jail or under ISA. Najib, his gang, families and cohorts- go and sodomise each other, your children, grandchildren and dogs.
written by economistkampong, November 05, 2008 16:05:04
If a small band of opposition members could not be persuaded, how on earth does the Government hope to bring the 27 million Malaysians to be together as a nation. OR it does not matter to the GIvernment as for those who disagree, the Government would use the ISA??

It is the Government's duty to 'sell' the proposal to the opposition. Otherwise why bother -- just sign it into law and let us spend all that money being proposed. May be this is what the government is most interested in - spending those RM billions.
written by InEffective, November 05, 2008 16:19:47

Following the same strategy and approach when the highly flexible 'Malay' term got defined into the constitution back in the '80s - expedited in parliament to avoid any opportunity to review, debate, and understand the consequences.

Looks like this minister has picked up the nefarious strategies of the ol'master.
written by thor, November 05, 2008 16:27:57
Pray tell which countries are we defending our country's sovereignty from ? Certainly, we can't defend the invasion of our country under guise of Project IC in the East using such copters. Why don't we help our orang asal brothers and sisters so that they hve a fair goal in life? Why must be so greedy and irresponsible. Insaf lah
written by fireduck, November 05, 2008 16:34:10
"The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) had said that it found no procedurial irregularities in the deal... all are in accordance with the rules and carried out in a transparent manner," he said

Procedurally correct .... even if I grant you that, I still think it is morally wrong to just favor one supplier without checking out the competition, and without even checking out the goods offered by this supplier. And I doubt the procedures themselves are transparent and correctly set up.
written by miwaki, November 05, 2008 16:36:12
Walking out is irresponsible .This chap has lost every credibilty to talk about responsibilty.Eurocopter my god,even his wife knows it is not in order.
written by fireduck, November 05, 2008 16:38:39
Dude, with the financial mayhem happening across the globe, the Eurocopter supplier will be hard pressed to even survive if they don't swing the deal quick. So, on the contrary, I think the revelations of the 'mis-deeds' of this deal will actually save us a whole lot of money ..... that is, if you do not deal under the bedsheets and give away all our money again. It's turning to be a BUYER'S MARKET, so who should be more worried about sealing the deal, dude!

....... unless you have huge vested interest in seeing the deal signed off soon at the exhorbitantly inflated prices.
written by Apache3, November 05, 2008 17:38:07
When Anwar was presenting the Opposition's Budget and the BN MPs walked out of the DEWAN why did you NOT comment on the behavior of the UMNO/BN MP's behavior?
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2008 19:10:19
Najib, since when you learnt the meaning of being irresponsible??

1. For telling lies that you have not met Saiful, and the next day you admitted you had. Isn't it an irresponsible act as DPM to lie??

2. Where is BALA? You have yet to answer the question, a responsible person in your position would be searching for Bala high and low to appease public's frustration and outcry !!
written by Kathy, November 05, 2008 19:18:14
How dare Najib talk about responsibility. How responsible has he and his govt. been? When he becomes the PM of Malaysia he will have been picked by a handful of Malays in UMNO - even the BN component parties have no say in this - whereas Obama has been picked by the majority of Americans to be the 44th President of the United States of America.
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2008 19:18:55
3. ....you allow hantu toyol to stir up racial upheaval in Selangor without reprimanding him is an irresponsible act.

4. You schemed with Hamid to detain Raja petra under ISA based on cut and paste documents is the most despicable and outright irresponsible act!!!

5. You allow our judiaciary system be tainted with distorted facts and figures just to accomodate your convenience to cover up whatever you wanted to cover so that your shit does not stink anymore. Isn't it an irresponsible act ???
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:26:13
FUKKK U NAJIB C4...

EVERYTHING done by umno including raising sensitive issue; all ok.

every thing with opposition, all irresponsible..

thats the spirit, right najib?

only got one thing to say.... fukkkk u !!
written by Kuda Belang, November 05, 2008 19:49:44
Hey Najib, If walkout is irresponsible then you and deputies not turning up the last two weeks when the Parliament was in session is even more irresponsible!!
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 21:34:04
No wonder they walk out. EPF is not your grandfather's money period.
written by Kathy, November 05, 2008 21:37:38
Yes, Kuda Belang is right. The absence of the Cabinet when Parliament reconvened was not only an act of irresponsibility but one of arrogance and disrespect towards the august house and all that it purports to stand for. And why were they absent? Because they were afraid that during the budget debate they would be exposed and blown to pieces (as the Mongolian model was) and a motion of no confidence would be tabled. But the way I look at, we who are with Anwar, Lim Kit Siang and PKR are in a lose-lose situation. Who appointed the Speaker and his Deputy? As long as these facilitators who are supposed to be neutral are with the govt. the Opposition hasn't a hope in hell of toppling the govt. with a vote of no confidence. Look at the two issues that the Opposition wants debated and have been rejected by the Speaker. I despair of the situation and hope someone out there can restore some semblance of confidence in me that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
written by onnetline, November 05, 2008 21:57:14
Najis,

Please close your mouth as shit is pouring out. Bloody smelly crook !
written by SiHangChai, November 05, 2008 22:00:25
Who give a shit to you, Najib? You are a non-decisive, a snake, high corrupted, ladies eyes etc... You are just not a PM-to-be material. face it.
written by chiongguo, November 05, 2008 22:04:34
"The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) had said that it found no procedurial irregularities in the deal... all are in accordance with the rules and carried out in a transparent manner," he said.

Anyone who had gone through the tender process would know that even when you had followed all procedures and rules corruption can still take place. One way is to write the spec according to the "preferred" product and not to the real need of the country. Having found a willing seller, price could be inflated based on under the table negotiation.

PAC did not examine any of these. No public hearing was called and no presentation was made by any vested interest groups. How could PAC have done their duties and obligations transparently when all they had done was white-washed the entire episode.

PAC ini tak tahu malu. Being made used of also tak tahu or perhaps they do know !