Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib: Measures aimed at encouraging spending

Najib: Measures aimed at encouraging spending PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 09:50

V. Vasudevan and Eileen Ng, NST

The government has unveiled a RM7 billion stimulus package to reinforce and stimulate the economy, and at the same time, bring relief to the public at an economically challenging time.

Announcing the stimulus package in Parliament, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who is also finance minister, said the measures were proof of the government's concern for the people's well being and to stimulate private sector confidence.

Najib said the RM7 billion was from the savings derived from cuts in the fuel subsidy.

The government will adopt an expansionary policy as is the current practice in other countries.

He said the government had the flexibility to implement value-added high impact projects.
Najib said the gross domestic product would be revised downwards to 3.5 per cent for 2009, but the fiscal deficit would remain at 4.8 per cent.

"The reason for the deficit is that the government chooses to continue with Budget 2009, as announced, to maintain the growth momentum."

Najib told the Dewan Rakyat that to ensure more people could own houses, RM1.2 billion has been allocated to build 25,000 units of low- and medium-cost houses.

He said RM500 million has been set aside to upgrade, repair and maintain police stations, living quarters, army camps and quarters.

Najib also said RM600 million would be channelled to minor projects, including village roads, community halls and small bridges.

The deputy prime minister said the jobs would go to small-time contractors.

Public amenities such as roads, schools and hospitals will be allocated RM500 million, while a similar amount will be used to build and upgrade roads in rural areas, villages and agriculture roads, including in Sabah and Sarawak.

Najib said RM200 million had been set aside to improve school facilities, with the funds given evenly to religious, mission, Chinese and Tamil schools.

He said RM300 million would be allocated for a fund to implement a skills programme catering to the needs of employers and industry, particularly in the development corridors.

He said RM1.5 billion would be used to set up a special fund to attract private sector investment and would be disbursed as grants, cheap loans or as equity.

Another RM100 million has been allocated to set up new business premises to increase the number of small- and medium-scale entrepreneurs.

Youth programmes will receive RM100 million.

Najib said the packages were aimed at alleviating hardship and encourage spending.

Civil servants also received some good news with the extension of all housing loans from 25 years to 30 years, while the quantum of loan to buy cars has been increased.

Najib said Bank Negara would encourage local banks to introduce a similar measure for its housing loan customers.

To encourage the development of retail business and domestic tourism industry, hypermarkets can open till 11pm on weekdays and 1am on weekends. Those in shopping complexes could seek to operate round the clock.

To stimulate activity in the private sector, import duties for cement, long iron and steel products for the construction and manufacturing sectors have been abolished.

The government will also allow individuals or foreign entities to buy commercial real estate worth RM500,000 and above without any Foreign Investment Committee approval, for their own use.

written by smeagrooo, November 05, 2008 10:04:56
Do u know why every idiot wanna become a politician? Becos in good times you gets lots of contracts from govt and with ur connections, u can pull strings and get lotsa kickbacks.

Now come the bad times, and Najis again inject $$$ and gv out billions to move the economy. Govt contracts again which will benefit who? You guessed it!

Open tender my foot la!

Same fellas will be laughing all the way to the banks!!

written by Arubin, November 05, 2008 10:07:20
You want to encourage people to buy cars despite all the talk of improving the public transport system? Does this decision not reek of trying to coddle support from civil servants, as well as trying to prop up a dying (and deserverdly so) local automobile industry?

No wonder the opposition MPs walked out. I would have, too, in light of such an obvious gaffe.
written by antiilluminati, November 05, 2008 10:15:38
Get rid of NAJIS now. Pepatah lama has it harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi..
Are the RAKYAT so stupid to have wanted "criminal" to be their Leader ?.
OR is it just the UMNO goons ?.
Are the Malays so stupid to have believed in the Ketuanan Melayu ( Malay Supremacy ?. Then u guys must have supported the White Supremacy as well ?.
My 2 cents for the day is : Jangan Takutkan diri dengan Bayang2 Sendiri.
written by yteo2, November 05, 2008 10:27:41
So what happened the the 5 Billion that went to ValueCap?

Doesn't our shit of a Finance Minister EVER learn from other people's mistakes? For example the US?

My confidence in Najib is close to ZERO. I cannot tolerate irresponsible policies, and i CANNOT tolerate Najib.

We need BETTER people in our government that can utilize taxpayers money MORE efficiently, and most of all, to BENEFIT taxpayers themselves!
written by Msian Idol3, November 05, 2008 10:31:22
Najib, the hole is immensely deep. Why are U wasting the rakyat's money? You can throw good money & U will see none in return. The richest & most powerful economies do not know what to do. I for one would not spend one cent until things are more clear. U have already created an idiot decision by putting $5 billion into ValueCap which can disappear in a blink of an eye. UMNO/BN govt policies have wasted so much $$$ & sidelined meritocracies & U will need a miracle to survive the next election.
written by arazak, November 05, 2008 10:44:24
To stimulate economy, Najis wants the rakyaat to spend, spend and spend!

How can we spend when we don't have enough money?

Of course he and Big Fat Mama can spend, spend and spend (even in London) because they have tons of money stolen from us. . ., the rakyaat!!!
written by asguard, November 05, 2008 10:44:42
He spends the 5 million EPF money just like he owns the EPF as his second bank (the first bank is Climb bank)for Value-cap. Then ...another idiot scheme..more money being spend like no body business....
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 05, 2008 11:29:40
Instead of reducing EPF, why don't they reduce personal taxes for the middle income and below group? And tax themselves more to balance things up.....

Encourage spending? No Thanks......the amount spent by the ministers and their families can more or less cover for the rest of us smilies/angry.gif
written by densemy, November 05, 2008 11:39:46
Najib said the RM7 billion was from the savings derived from cuts in the fuel subsidy.

Does this mean the petrol buying public will be subsidising the government's buddies who will no doubt cream off all this money for themselves

600 mill will go to...The deputy prime minister said the jobs would go to small-time contractors.

That guarantees that chinese and indians will miss out, the work will be done by incompetents who will compromise quality for profit and the waste of money will be mind boggling
written by biggun129, November 05, 2008 11:53:30
Who wants to be PM if there is no money left in the vault of Bank Negara???
written by yipck, November 05, 2008 12:19:13
Frack the 3.5% growth in 2009.

Business Times yesterday put malaysia growth at 0% in 2009!!!
written by CJ7, November 05, 2008 12:22:32
0% is good oredi...i think is -300%
written by KARMANNGHIA, November 05, 2008 12:24:12
No money how to spend? R we so dumb we need you to teach us when and how to spend our money? We've no money for anything, that's all thanks to the 50 years of BN screwing us, our economy, our education, our life.
written by citizenmy, November 05, 2008 12:29:08
I doubt the stimulus package will work this time.
First , the current fundamental of economy is very weak.
Second, it is a global crisis.
Third, the stimulus package is too small.
Fourth, Najib is just not capable handling this.
written by jayenjr, November 05, 2008 12:41:14
As I watched analysts pore thru the stimulus package, I personally can't help but feel, this has all the elements of Mahatirism stamped on it. Firstly, SPEND is what Mahathir did in the throes of the 80s down turn, & he applied it again to counter the 97 crisis - albeit the latter he padded it with currency controls.

Now - if I wished to analyse the larger picture - I would ask myself this question : WHO EXACTLY is going to benefit from this so-called stimulus package? Let's see now :- low cost houses, RM200m for upgrading schools infrastructures, RM500m for upgrading police stations & army camps, RM100m for Rakan Muda programs (hmmm....I didn't even know this prog is still around? can anyone care to account for its success or otherwise, incl producing all financial statements on how the funds were actually utilised? Looking at the Mat Rempit menace - I have my doubts) RM500m for public transport (wow - the never-ending problem - weren't subsidies saved from increased petrol price supposed to have been allocated for this - so why another RM500m?)

Sheesh - all of these look like a typical handout allocation for Class F contractors, man! Your average Mat UMNO supporter/member! And considering that if Mahathir wants to "remain" on the throne - what does he do (or in this case - perhaps had "advised" Najid to do)? Ah yes - do the handout exercise la! And then you have MIC "thanking" the Finance minister for the Tamil school llocation of RM50m! Now I'm prepared to bet, that that money will make its way to the bank account of MIC first to "manage" it - only then the Tamil schools will prob get 1% of that sum - if they are lucky. If NAjib really wanted to stimulate the economy - he shd have looked at variuos tax breaks, and not just an average RM60 back into the pockets of the M'sian by way of reducing EPF contributions. By the way - not everyone contributes to EPF. Most SMI proprietors - a prime mover of the economy - dont contribute toEPF - they withdraw funds by way of drawings or paying fees to themselves - which don't need the compulsory EPF. Now, you tell me which is better : RM60 to an employee, or giving tax allowances for business by way of allowing them to claim 100% Capital Expenditure on personal assets used in their business?

Is RM60 going to move the economy as much, or tax breaks to businesses a better option? RM60 may pump back some 2.4b into the ecomony, but as an individual what is RM60 these days. But if my boss (aka the business owner) is given tax breaks to facilitate his cash flow while banks begin to squeeze lending, he might just keep me employed while the shit hits the fan. And that, will help me, the employed one, to continue spending and move the economy. A much better option than having just RM60, in my pocket. Of course, ket us not forget, the larger picture. Whilst providing more money for spending, the new finance minister continues to ignore (as is expected from any BN man), the perils of wastages, leakages, inefficiences, & corruption that caused us to be in rot in the first place. Now, isn't this some form of evidence that, just maybe, before he left his office to present the numbers in P'ment - that Najib would have stopped by at the Perdana Foundation, for some "advice"?

Hmmm....a pre-cursor to the UMNO Presidential Council.....??
written by avj, November 05, 2008 12:52:26
The government will adopt an expansionary policy as is the current practice in other countries.
Question,what if the other countries got it wrong? This is called the herd mentality,when the one leading the herd falls of the cliff the rest follow,and it becomes good pickings for the hunters who have been shrewdly waiting below.
How much effort actually went in,to find solutions to our long term needs? It looks like a stop gap measure to just plod along. What a shame,and you are Prime Minister in waiting.
written by adan, November 05, 2008 12:58:38
The BN Govt's idea is to spend,spend,spend to KICK START the economy.In theory at least.In practice the vultures are waiting for their 'KICK BACKS' from all the spendings.
written by jayenjr, November 05, 2008 13:43:48
comment by citizenmy, November 05, 2008 12:29:08

"I doubt the stimulus package will work this time...Najib is just not capable handling this."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

citizenmy - I agree - Najib is not capable....on his own.

But when Mahathir is behind him - now, that's a different story...this is very much a Mahathir style Keynesian budget...

written by joeawk, November 05, 2008 16:14:48
To encourage spending, you ask the poor emplyees to save less thru' lower EPF contribution. You and your bunch are bankrupt and whenever you want money, you can see only the EPF. You take RM5 bilion from our EPF and gave it away to bail Valuecap and now you ask employees spend so that businessmen can make more money. We ask you to manage our money but we did not give you the power to take away our money. Can't you ever change instead of continueing with your bad old ways?
written by clarity, November 05, 2008 17:31:42
First they jack up the fuel prices sky high until evrtything else also go up. We are all finding it hard to survive now. Now they say they want to encourage spending. Where the F are we going to find money to spend?
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:29:29
what?? encourage spending? who spends? us the rakyat? we got no money to spent lah bugger...

becos u already suck our taxmoney..

SO AT LEAST IF THE UMNO MALAZUT IDIOTS REALLY WANNA HELP THE ECONOMY OF OUR COUNTRY... THEN ASKED ALL THE RICH UMNOPUTRAS TO TAKE OUT YOUR MONEY FROM YOUR SWISS BANK ACCOUNTS, BRING IT BACK TO MALAYSIA AND ASK YOUR CHILDREN TO SPEND BIG IN ALL OUR SUPERMARKETS...ETC... INSTEAD OF YOUR FAT MAMA SHOPPING AT HARRODS... AND ALL OVER EUROPE... and improving foreign countries economy...

bloooody hipocrites.

written by Old Man, November 05, 2008 21:37:32
Spend? Can I borrow 0.0000000000001 percent from your current savings in Malaysia only? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif