Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Suit against road signs in Penang

Suit against road signs in Penang PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 November 2008 09:31

GEORGE TOWN: A Pahang accountant has filed an injunction at a High Court here to stop the Penang Municipal Council from putting up multilingual road signs.

Nik Rizman Sapian, 33, from Kuala Lipis, claimed that the council’s move would jeopardise the position of Bahasa Malaysia as the country’s national language.

A pro tem exco member of the yet-to-be registered Gabungan Graduan Melayu Muda (GGMM), Nik Rizman filed the injunction through his counsel Sahrihan Jani, from Muar, Johor, at the High Court registry here at 2.50pm.

Protest march: Mohd Khairul (second from left) leading members of GGMM during their walk to the high court building in George Town Tuesday.

He is also seeking a declaration that the Penang government’s approval of the council’s application to put up the street names and road signs in different languages at Penang’s heritage enclave was against Article 152 of the Federal Constitution, which made it clear that the Malay language was the country’s national language.

He is also seeking costs and other relief deemed fit by the court.

In his statement of claim, Nik Rizman alleged that on Oct 24, the state exco approved the council’s application to put up the street names and signs in multiple languages in December.

He named the council and the state government as the first and second defendants respectively.

He said he felt that his right to maintain the position of Bahasa Malaysia as the country’s national language had been interrupted .

“It is clear that the application and decision made by the council and the state government were against the Federal Constitution of which as a citizen of this country, I have the right and the responsibility to protect,’’ he said.

Earlier, about 50 members of the GGMM, sporting yellow sashes with the words “Himpunan Melayu Muda’’ (Young Malays Gathering) written in Jawi, had gathered at The Esplanade at about 2.15pm where they were briefed by the confederation’s chairman Mohd Khairul Azam Abdul Aziz. Several members were also seen distributing flyers.

A short while later, the group walked about 200 metres to the High Court where Nik Rizman filed his writ of summons accompanied by four GGMM members.

Other members and supporters who were waiting across the road began clapping and shouted “Hidup Melayu’’ (Long Live the Malays) and “Allahu Akhbar” (God is great) as soon as they saw Rizman.

The crowd dispersed at 3.05pm.

- The Star

Comments (79)Add Comment
written by sydput, November 05, 2008 09:41:36
I notice that some signs in the mosque are written in arabic (not malay jawi). Maybe put those down as well.
written by Mark C, November 05, 2008 09:43:42
bunch of brainless morons. Wonder why didn't they "sound" when TDM change the teaching of Maths and Science to English?
written by kc respect, November 05, 2008 09:45:11
What an incompetent fool!!!
The BN government itself does not know which "bahasa" is the right bahasa.

The fools cannot even decide whether it is BAHASA BAKU?, BAHASA MELAYU?, or BAHASA MALAYSIA? at this very moment.
written by astina, November 05, 2008 09:51:18
Their society should be renamed "Gabungan Graduan" Why would Kuala Lipis file such suit?. Anak Jati Penang mana pergi? should be sent back to Kuala Lipis.
written by adan, November 05, 2008 09:51:27
Oh great! The need breed of GLOBAL malaysians ready to take on the world!
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 05, 2008 09:52:54
Yet to be registered GGMM? Illegal lah! What happened to Syed Hamid's "We're fair in issuing permits for protests"? What a waste of taxpayers' time and money!!!
written by unomalaysia, November 05, 2008 09:54:35
What about road signs in Jawi? Is Jawi enshrined in the constitution? These racist amno shitheads will use the constitution when it suit them and totally ignore it when it suit them as well eg. rights of non malays on religion, languages, education, judiciary, etc.
Another big question here for the Polis di bawah arahan amno. Didn't these bunch of pissheads just held an illegal assembly. Where were the FRU, tear gas, baton charge, assualt and battery and arrests? Was a permit issued?
And lastly, why is a racist jerk from Pahang filing a case against the Penang government. Can a Penangite now file a lawsuit against the Pahang gomen in Kuantan for raod signs with jawi since jawi is not mentioned in the constitution and will therefore be an insult to Bahasa Malaysia?
Case of "he who lives in a glasshouse..." and spitting into the air or as my wife is fond of saying... dropping a 100kg rock on his own foot
written by ylcc, November 05, 2008 10:07:57
Sorry, were the FRU and police anywhere around? Why no arrests? Only HINDRAF is a threat? High time the govt start creating jobs for these "graduates" from the U. At least it keeps them occupied, and maintain some self-respect by earning honest money instead of "seeking costs and other relief deemed fit by the court" for ridiculous claims. They simply have nothing else better to do, but sound stupid!
written by AuntyG, November 05, 2008 10:08:16
This GGMM - Young Malay Graduates body - go get yourself a proper job first, then get off the streets, then get yourselves properly registered.....in that order. Duh!!
written by Msian Idol3, November 05, 2008 10:13:51
First of all Malay rights are never sidelined or threatened. What is threatening the Malays well being is this govt bankrupt of ideas & the need to save themselves by harping on malay rights. If one were to look closely, what matters most is economics not special rights. Can malays progress with special rights! After more than 40 yrs why is the malay economic status trailing others? Malays own more banks & have MARA, PNB etc & what do non malays have apart from hard, diligent and willing to face challenges to grasp opportunities. Look, we have OBAMA, a coloured leader who is now President of the most powerful country in the world -- does it matter he is coloured. The answer is NO. Its the leadership not rights. We are so conditioned by lack of transparencies, crony business, race, rights and very short on quality. Do we have an opportunity to be better, we do if we can see beyond race, religion, rights etc. Few Malays like Zaid, RPK, Regent Of Perak etc are true malay leaders. Are this high potentials given the chance to lead the malays & all M'sians forward. Sad to say NO. The malays need to send a very strong message that short of quality leadership is unacceptable.
written by temenggong, November 05, 2008 10:24:52
Its good that they are seeking legal remedy. This is the way to solve disputes. Well done Graduan Melayu Muda. You lagi muda lah. Apa you tau?

In the courts they will be taught a lesson!
written by dumbfounded, November 05, 2008 10:30:59
God IS great and understands ALL languages. And it will not shortened Malay lifes to have road names in other languages. What's with the Hidup Melayu? What's wrong with learning other languages? Would you say a professor of 7 languages has betrayed his race 6 times? I've seen American road names in Spanish and Mandarin. That hasn't hurt the Americans.
written by truthbespoken, November 05, 2008 10:37:14
It is all about politics and their actions are not to the interest of the public. How can these inconsistent ever succeed in life? The worse part is that they are going to bring innocent people down to their level. It is about stupidity at work!
written by Bosan, November 05, 2008 10:41:11
Earlier, about 50 members of the GGMM, sporting yellow sashes with the words “Himpunan Melayu Muda’’ (Young Malays Gathering) written in Jawi.

Hey! Penang Government, counter sue these so called GGMM for written the words in Jawi and not in Bahasa Malaysia.Takda otak punya GGMM, sendiri pun tak nak pakai Bahasa Malaysia, nak saman orang lain pula
written by Tosh, November 05, 2008 10:48:57
Frog under the coconut shell!! nothing better to think about. Ummno lacki!
What a twat!!!!
written by POTH, November 05, 2008 10:52:50
Is not about the Bahasa issue that they are harping on if you notice the jawi writing they are wearing. Just that they need to make some noise in order to be noticed and have the opportunity to climb up the ladder. Opportunities are getting lesser and hard to come by now because the PR have taken 5 states and maybe soon the Federal as well.
written by carribeanking7, November 05, 2008 10:58:24
Thats the problem we have not only does Azalina a lawyer by training and a loyar buruk in practice, we have GGMM supposedly an NGO but obviously UMNO lackeys, supposedly educated but profoundly ignorant, I wrote an article about it in July which I reproduce here as I think its still relevant:
http://www1.malaysiakini.com/letters/86746

Nothing in constitution about road names
Vijay Kumar Murugavell | Jul 25, 08 5:58pm
I refer to the Bernama report where Tourism Minister Azalina Othman Said said that all road signs should be in the national language. I quote:

"All official signs, therefore, should be in Malay. This is part of the social contract agreed upon by our forefathers and I hope no one will try to challenge that," Azalina told Bernama when contacted............
written by ohie, November 05, 2008 11:02:34
Eh, jobless grads getting paid for joining the circus parade show la..this is also a income for them, so, pity them la..if not,they might end up snatch theif or rompak and so on..the pg gov must tap in movie industry,as we have lots of extra with certificates lo..
written by supplier, November 05, 2008 11:16:16
Bahasa Melayu is OK but Why jawi when that is the written language of Arab
written by PRman, November 05, 2008 11:29:11
Having multiple languages on the road sign are to highlight our multi-racial society, not to disrespect the Malays. Some of these tourists can relate to the languages, and that can only encourage more tourism revenue.

We seriously don't need these morons being racists, and causing a damp to our economy.
written by Lembing, November 05, 2008 11:39:31
These group is trying to get notice by the UMNO goons. Not being high achievers, they have to stir up some trouble to get the attention of UMNO in order to plan ahead for their promotion within UMNO. It is getting so bloody obvious and always the same old trick and it is always against the NON-MALAYS.

WHEN a MALAY makes come contentious remarks, all these cowards just keep their foul gaps shut...why? because they are just cowards.
written by biggun129, November 05, 2008 11:39:32
Is ISA abolished??? Why thie illegal organisation(GGMM) is allow to make protest??? Where is Syed amid botak? we need clarification from him!!!
written by Counterpointer, November 05, 2008 11:58:31
Where the hell are the FRU and their chemical laced water cannons when we needed them? This group sure looks like they can use a good chemical bath.
written by fairnessforall, November 05, 2008 11:58:40
This guy and the rest of the group are obviously morons. They dont even know the true facts about Bahasa Malaysia. He should be told that bahasa malaysia is not even an original language and most of their words are stolen from other languages such as english, hindi, sanskrit, tamil, etc. So whats the big deal about putting signs in other languages and how does it jeopardise the position of bahasa malaysia when it consist of many languages itself. Shame on him for not even knowing his own roots and roots of his so called language. He is just some cheap scum trying to get easy money by claiming costs and other relief. Who the hell is he that the other relief should be paid to him. What an idiot. When are these morons going to realise that all these cheap stunts are not going to get them anything accept tell everyone else that they are morons and idiots.
written by Agahdemo, November 05, 2008 12:04:47
Kata mau pertahankan bahasa Malaysia tapi pakai banner tulisan jawi.....pandai jerit saja tapi tak tau apa yang di jerit itu....

Tulisan bahasa malaysia tetap mengambil tempat yang teratas di banding bahasa lain...tidak salah di tambah tulisan lain asalkan tulisan bahasa malaysia di utamakan...lagipun yang dipamirkan dilokasi turis..janganlah bising tanpa arah tujuan, cuba nak buat kacau saja....

Kalau nak cari " cheap publicity" atau nak jadi " hero "..saya sarankan protes memansuhkan ISA......itulah Hero betul....OK ya semua anak anak, bawah bag balik rumah masing masing OK??????? Uncle tak marah......
written by Agahdemo, November 05, 2008 12:14:40
"He said he felt that his right to maintain the position of Bahasa Malaysia as the country’s national language had been interrupted ."

May I ask how in the world, in addition to bahasa malaysia, other languages will affect the importance of bahasa malaysia as the national language?......when these signages are placed in tourist spots?...

Jangan cakap yang bukan bukan... pakai otak udang kamu itu.......nak ungkit isu yang tidak menjadi isu....berambus la....bangsat!!!!!

written by wood, November 05, 2008 12:15:43
I am a local and I couldn't care less if the sign boards are in other languages, in addition to the present ones. As long as the present signboards are still there and our postal guys have no problems to deliver our mail and for others like delivery people and our friends and relatives have no problem to locate their final destination then it is okay with me. What I believe is the extra road signs is for the foreign tourist and if this will help them , so be it as we are trying to earn tourist dollars ! It would of course be a little too much under this present bad/hard times to put extra road signs in the villages/outskirts/kampungs where the tourist are less likely to go to and this I believe is pure common sense.

What is the fuss all about????? Have we got no better things to do ? My boss used to say " Work or Get Fired !" Ha ! Ha ! So I have been trying to work ever since and make sure I do not get fired !

Let's all do some "work" !
written by Mark C, November 05, 2008 12:23:10
we are still stuck in the "racist" mentality when even the most racist country has picked a Black man to be the 44th president! ...

written by KARMANNGHIA, November 05, 2008 12:32:01
yet-to-be registered Gabungan Graduan Melayu Muda (GGMM), Earlier, about 50 members of the GGMM, sporting yellow sashes with the words “Himpunan Melayu Muda’’ (Young Malays Gathering) written in Jawi, had gathered at The Esplanade at about 2.15pm, The crowd dispersed at 3.05pm.
======================================================= =========================
Poliss, where's the water canon and tear gas?
written by apa jadi, November 05, 2008 12:32:47
Nik Rizman Sapian, 33, from Kuala Lipis, claimed that the council’s move would jeopardise the position of Bahasa Malaysia as the country’s national language.

I am really amazed at these bunch of bigots. They seem consumed with the inferiority complex to claiming supremacy over and over trivial issues. I would rather see them spending their energy setting the country's dwindling economy and security right than to fight for their rights. Until the day when after all these patriotic robber rob this country dry, they keep blinding themselves with trivialities.

My suggestion is: if they want to claim to such fear, remove all signboards in other languages at the entrance of to this country: Airport. See if it works wonder.
written by avj, November 05, 2008 12:36:21

jeopardise the position of Bahasa Malaysia as the country’s national language.
Where did this bunch of idiots graduate from? Bahasa Malayasia has been enriched by the numerous languages of the world.I would appreciate it if these idiot can add value,rather than try gain cheap political milage.
written by aimmsia, November 05, 2008 12:42:51
Stupid, brainless, foolish, insane, silly ........ These idiots are really a threat to the development of Malaysia. They should go back to the jungle.
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 12:46:25
stay out of penang affairs. aku anak pulau pinang. what's wrong with you
written by Mr Smith, November 05, 2008 12:55:00
USA has elected a Black President and here we have racial bigots suing the Penang Government over road signs.
And mind you, those going berserk over signboards are Young Malay Graduates!
Little wonder thousands of them are still unemployed. They prefer to chain themselves in shackles than to move with the times.How the hell did idiots become graduates?
written by aimmsia, November 05, 2008 12:55:34
I'm really tired of these nonsense going for 50 years in our country. May be the best solution is to divid the country into two. West Malaysia and East malaysia. Those who want to talk about race and religion, and who want to practice corruption and abuse of power may remain in the West. Those who want freedom of speech, respect human right irrespective of races and religion can work together in the east to build the best nation in the world.
written by beijing, November 05, 2008 13:02:38
Memalukan bangsa MELAYU/REMPIT sendiri sahaja. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by borneoman, November 05, 2008 13:12:05
rizman,do you know that bahasa malaysia was never the official language in the country of Sarawak as enshrined in the constitution during the FORMATION of malaysia.why dont you file the billion RM SUIT against Tunku Abdul Rahman? It would be very sweet if the constitutions ir null and void so that we can have all our petrol,gas n timber revenues all to ourselves.
written by macaufan, November 05, 2008 13:18:47
LGE was correct ! y Math & Science were change fr Bahasa to Inggeris u guys don sue d rejim umno/bn? huh?
written by mahkota, November 05, 2008 13:25:38
Their shashes says "Himpunan Melayu Muda[/b" but from the picture none of them looks like one, young that is. Must be some despots paid to do AMENO's dirty works. Half-baked, good-for-nothing graduates, succesfully produced by our local universities found work that suits them most.
written by riversnail, November 05, 2008 13:26:50
ok...bagus dan pandai macam ludah atas langit lepas tu kena kat muka sendiri!!
as we know,NOT all the Malays are having this mentality.Only a small fanatic groups with the support from UMNO who are going around the country creating racial issues in the name of "Ketuanan Melayu/Islam/National Language etc smilies/sad.gif
written by thor, November 05, 2008 13:53:28
Guess Pink Lips must be very happy he has a Pahang accountant having a gathering in Penang? Botak with a lot of Bull, does not make any comment on this gathering, is this illegal, why double standard. With this type of "accountant" and our calibre of leaders, I dread to think how are we, ALL MALAYSIANS going to survive in intense global competitions. Or maybe there is a social contract at the formation of UN where those AMENO members hve special rights.
written by The Hammer, November 05, 2008 14:00:25
Looks like this unemployed accountant and those ding dongs have nothing else to do but to create hubba hubba against those elected by the rakyat!
So what wrong with having other languages under the Malay ones! As an accountant you will write somtimes in English if you are in the private sector or is it maybe becasue you are in the governement sector which is all in Malays. Or are you instigated by M2Square (me no speakie Inglsih)!
Go back to where come from and play marbles with your kids if you have any!
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 14:46:38
I don't see any 'young graduates' in the photo shown.
Do you???
written by BORN FREE, November 05, 2008 14:51:39
Shame on you people! Got nothing better to do than to argue on the road signs issue. Please bear in mind, Penang is not under BN's rule, so why are Pahang people so "sibuk" there? Want to show to those upper level people that you are the one doing this mess, easier for your names to be register under their books
for nasty & dirty jobs?
written by billyong, November 05, 2008 15:06:17
This fella is from Pahang. Does he have a locus standi?
written by elmo world, November 05, 2008 15:06:45
Nik, go tell the govt to remove all the sign boards in English or other languages in the airport. that would be the best move. do u really think the so cal bahasa melayu/malaysia is that great. do u know how many young generations suffer becos they cant speak english & can get a proper job. private companies all use english. not pejabat kerajaan! go tell the education ministry first the bahasa melayu is really screwed up. they copy :"comunikasi" frm english and so many more, i feel like i have been living in another pulau malaysia, as they have changed & modified the bahasa so much. whre is the originality? huh!
written by Raizzen, November 05, 2008 15:12:39
Aku Melayu, and to tell you the truth, am not at all proud,
written by lamepug, November 05, 2008 15:41:39
now i do believe that these bunch of people brain runs with p133mhz w/o mmx 64mb edo ram memory which need to be recycle asap as they releasing toxic that harmful to earth eco system.
written by MalaysianFirst, November 05, 2008 15:53:35
Another blatant display of Malay Supremacy. Do we still want to believe what UMNO will drop this claim? Do you think UMNO will chastise and reject this group for such confrontational behavior? I personally think the UMNO leadership would probably telephone (or SMS) the leader of this bunch of racists and congratulate them for their Ketuanan Melayu "effort".

While the whole world, (USA obviously), have accepted or are beginning to reject racist thinking and policies, Malaysia is doing just the opposite - increasing its hold on racist policies. What can I say?
written by yipck, November 05, 2008 15:56:03
If to sue for road sign.. might as well Sue KLIA, SEPANG, etc...
written by joeawk, November 05, 2008 16:29:49
Instead of contributing to the national GDP, they chose to loiter. They can afford it because they live on handout and does not have to pay taxes but instead got paid using our taxes.

They are a bunch of baruah and bangsat, nothing else.

sporting yellow sashes with the words “Himpunan Melayu Muda’’ (Young Malays Gathering) written in Jawi, why not in malay?

written by joeawk, November 05, 2008 16:33:57
I wonder if they speak proper bahasa malaysia, melayu or whatever or they speak only bahasa kampung which sounds like animal language.
written by carribeanking7, November 05, 2008 16:53:05
I think its not UMNO this time--Its Independent Ibrahim Ali, 2 days ago his motion to discuss penang road signs was turned down in parliament. If we go back to Oct 10th 3 NGO's including GGMM asked the government to take sterner action against Hindraf, with Ibrahim Ali echoing the same call. I find it highly suspicious that just 2 days after Ibrahim's motion was rejected, action came in the form of GGMM, makes one wonder how Independent the Pasir Mas assemblyman really is- from the Hindraf issue to Penang roadsigns it seems that there is a concerted effort to gain cheap political milieage, read the two mini articles below and form your own conclusions.

written by Dongra Dude, November 05, 2008 16:55:11
Kami dari Kuala Lipis. Kami hanya tahu Bahasa Malaysia. Apa itu Global?. Ketua Kami Najis ada beritahu kita orang Melayu mesti Glokal. Tourist orang putih tak mahu pergi ke Taman Negara kerana semua sign board dalam Bahasa Jawi. Jadi Kami GGMM (Gila-Gila Melayu Mundur)nak ke Pulau Pinang dan buat kacau disana kerana ramai orang putih kerap kunjungi Pulau Pinang. Sorry Ye!
written by rockli, November 05, 2008 16:56:14
Do these Umno goons have nothing better to do? It is not that that the B Malaysia letters were replaced but just to put in other lingo and yet a jealous red-eyed soul wants to cause trouble coz of this. Probably they will start some disturbances like the PKR did at Bar Council meet.
written by AsamLaksa, November 05, 2008 17:12:37
There is definitely some misconception on all sides of the argument.

Firstly, the various languages on the road sign is not to cater for the various language speakers. Thus the Jawi road names are not to cater for Middle eastern tourists neither are the Chinese road names for the convenience of the Chinese tourists. Thus do not expect German road signs just because you have lots of German tourists. You can have direction signs in German such as on tourist information boards or notices if there are loads of German tourists to direct them but no need to have German road names else the Germans will feel cheated as if their holiday experience is like back in Germany. Remember the road signs are names not directions.

Secondly, this is not the same as multi lingual airport announcement as it is not important information that is displayed on the road signs but rather a name for a road. There is little public need for multi lingual signs.

So why the multilingual signs? Tourism. Penang is a Unesco something something heritage site.

Out of so many places in the world, why did UNESCO choose Penang? Because Penang is a melting pot of cultures. The potential for cultural and historical tourism is great.

What has road names got to do with history and culture? It has to do with a lot. A road name usually tells you what the primary use of the area was and who lived or worked there. Take note that it is the old road names that is of historical and cultural significance, not the modern names. Multilingual road signs was a norm in the past.

Thus I agree with multi-lingual road signs but only those of historical and cultural significance. These do not need to be placed over or replace any existing road signs. What the Penang state government could do is to places plaques to tell tourists what the historical name was and also provide information on the historical and cultural significance of the road.

What of GGMM's case? No case. As long as a BM sign is used it is no challenge to the national language. Those are just names. The constitution allows display of business signs in other languages as long as there is a BM counterpart.
written by MinahManja, November 05, 2008 17:19:00
It is indeed laughable. With this type of mentality can you just imagine where we are headed ? Typical mud in the brain and yet they are the so called "Tuan" over the rest of us. God bless us all.
written by notsosmart, November 05, 2008 18:15:48
What is this sucker trying to prove. If he don't like the Penang Council plan then this idiot could just not visitting Penang. He is not welcome at all. As said, a lot of neanderthal suckers are still living in our country.
written by freesby, November 05, 2008 18:34:12
Just one word is enough. BODOH!
written by educationist, November 05, 2008 18:49:50
Though I believe those chaps are out for cheap publicity, they are, at least going about things the legal way.
I'll leave it to the lawyers on both sides to argue out the case.
Of course, I can only hope the judge hearing this case will be above reproach.
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:34:59
ANOTHER example of a failed UMNO putra professional.. ha ha ha aha ha ha ha ha

HOOOOI.... ritman sapian.. ANAK SAPI KE???

what has multilingual road sign affecting your accountancy? Unless this bloody umno sucking accountant can even add his figures...

I really doubt this ketuanan punya accountant even knows how to close the books.. hahaha haha ha ha ha ha...

This kinda accountant sure bankrupt lah, so the only way he can get some money to spend is to taiko or angkat kaki UMNO by creating sensitive issue to prod his BANGSA konon.... ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
written by miwaki, November 05, 2008 20:24:12
Sue my cock also as its written " suck it " in Chinese.
written by Heaven8402, November 05, 2008 20:26:43
Semuanya orang bodoh di jalan. Di saat kegawatan ekonomi sekarang, kami semua sedang sibuk cari makan, kamu semua sibuk dengan isu papan tanda. Otak kat mana??!!!
written by zonefinder, November 05, 2008 20:47:30
Nik Rizman, go do something more productive. Nobody is downgrading or challenging the status of Bahasa. We have better things to do lah. The additional languages are to make Penang a more welcoming and courteous place for tourists and visitors. Can only be positive for the State. Akauntan like you suppose to be a professional. Bolih faham kah??
written by KBodoh, November 05, 2008 21:56:33
Hey is "Jawi" or "Arabic" Bahasa Malaysia? If no, can the Nik Rizman guy also makes a police against all the municipal council in Malaysia for voilating the constituition. Don't all those moron realized that with other language written, it helps other who do not understand the Bahasa to learn the language better and faster. Just take for example, a kui loh may now understand that "Jalan" means "Road". Don't you thinks that is wonderfull.....Why are Malaysian is stooding so low these days????????
written by KBodoh, November 05, 2008 21:57:27
Sorry...I means Police Report....
written by SiHangChai, November 05, 2008 22:06:51
This bunch of clowns do not know what they are doing except fight for 'malaynism' when this is nothing to shout about. They are blind shrimp! Go and launch the polis repot. I ain't give no shit to these people. Guan Eng is trying to promote tourism and Malaysianism, not Malaynism. If chinese, english and india languages can't be used on road signs, then jawi shouldn't be used either. By the way, what language is there that you put on your body banner? Is that bahasa Malaysia? Nope, I don't see so. So you guys are anti-Malaysia then, and anti-Bahasa Malaysia. Buat malu orang Pahang sahaja!
written by KweN, November 05, 2008 22:16:45
sigh....how can road signs even threaten the national language?
and can someone take that picture of them holding hands away please! dam gay la!
simple minded people of our country should be deported , seriously...
especially those illegal imigrants that are granted the right to vote in malaysia for example in sabah....
seriously this has got to stop...america has a great new leader..we need someone like him...we need laws and constitutions like them....learn from others..not create stupid new idea's like sending people to space and declaring we are advanced in space technology blablabla...what a lot of bull
written by ckw, November 05, 2008 22:17:12
these are the katak dibawah tempurung syndrome. they call themselves graduates. waste of time and public funds. must be UITM graduates. good for nothing in school, good for nothing after coming out, don't know nothing but want high pay and ended with no jobs, so becomes goons to UMNO and just went round cari pasal. I wonder what they studied in their courses to be so narrow minded. i've interview quite a number of malays for my company, one of the biggest IT MNC in Malaysia, and while some are good, most of them are a joke, can't even communicate effectively(and i mean not able to communicate, not only in english but in professional BM, period. the business that we do requires us to have good and effective english comm skills with local and international customers so no wonder we have to reject these group of people. we are not being racist but we need high performers. yet they complain that private companies are not being fair to them. hello, go review what you studied and how you manage to pass the exams.

i'be been to so many other countries, from the east to the west and in middle eastern countries like dubai and eqypt, english were used in their road signs for the conveniences of tourists. it's the same thing in china and Hong Kong. I don't see people there revolting and etc. only in malaysia, who touted itself as an international tourist destination only to have all road signs in BM.

seriously, what's the problem. have all the road signs in BM. big and bold but have supplementary names either in english, chinese, jawi for the benefits of others. cannot meh?

in a country where only malays can be king, sultan, MB, CEO of GLCs, and even equity in private companies guaranteed, how in the hell can the malays rights can be compromised?

i think if they can bring to court such petty cases, every other race can bring to court the discrimination that non malays are facing from umno.
written by temenggong, November 05, 2008 22:50:26
Someone is actively deleting my posts. My response to GMM as follows was deleted!

"Pi. Pi belajar lagi. Sial! Loglak aje!
written by The Hammer, November 05, 2008 22:57:01
Here is a challege to you Nicky and gang, why don't yyou and yyour no speakie Inglish bums make a visit to the KLIA and paint up all those foregn languages signages in red paint and at same time you and yoyrr semi moronic graduates from Uitm and elsewhere shout at all those incoming and outgoing foreign tourists "Hidup Melayu’’ “Allahu Akhbar” for their ignorance in Bahasa Melayu and UmmO Hadari Islam! Make them wish they should have gone to Singapore instead and come here again!
Oh, one more thing, are those old men surrounding you, your father and FIL? Wandering why you a grown up need your old man to escort you! Thot this groupie is for young graduates but looks like majority are old folks who have nothing do except to croak like frogs when it rains!
written by pixieface, November 06, 2008 00:24:53
Want to sue!!! So much money kah??? recession now you know. Or you got korek
korek korek.......lagi pun you bukan orang pulau pinang. nothing better to do kah?
written by bambolero, November 06, 2008 07:28:13
You fool's this is not about politics this is National language.I f you go to Amsterdam their street names is Dutch Straat in Dutch Language, If you go to France they speck their French language even though they knew English they never speck.If you go to Israel everything is in Jew. Any where in the world if you travel they put signs in their own language and the next option is ENGLISH because English is an INTERNATIONAL language. If you go to Saudi Arabia it's Arabic next English thats all.
written by Sabahfan, November 06, 2008 20:34:46
MAAAAA LUUUUUUUUU !!!!