Maturity Of Malaysian Politics….still a long way to go…… PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 November 2008 13:11

Today’s the day folks……Americans (expected to turn up in record numbers) will decide whether it’s the Democratic 47-year old Illinois senator Barack Obama or Republican 72-year old Arizona senator John McCain who will take over the reins of one the world’s most powerful nation.

For all the horrible things that the US is guilty of, I can’t help but envy the Americans for the freedom to decide who they want as the head of their government, rather than,say , allow the fate of the nation to be decided by some greedy and corrupted 2000 delegates from one political party.

I mean, hey, if the presidential candidate wants to bribe his way in, at least majority of the nation will benefit from the money that exchanged hands right?

Actually, that sounds pretty familiar with what happens during our elections, doesn’t it, but on a much smaller scale of course……instead of RM2 million, each voters would perhaps expect RM50 and some food hamper or something….sigh…

Anyway, as I was catching up on the election snippets on both the US presidential race and our UMNO’s party election, I just can’t help but be hit by the stark differences in the way these people campaign….and I think most of us realise them too….

1) Bruce Springsteen in his endorsement for Obama, said ” Our social contract has been shredded. We’re going to need all the angels we can get.” and he praised Senator Obama’s efforts to “….build a house big enough for all our dreams“. …notice the social contract was meant to be all encompassing, not just for one particular group of citizens?

In contrast, we have ambitious UMNO politicians who wouldn’t think twice about prancing with crooked daggers screaming “If you question our Malay rights in the social contract, we will go amok (and poke you with our sharp pokey thing)“.

2) The main topics covered by the two US presidential candidates were focused on the economy, healthcare, taxes, foreign policies, etc. Voters are informed of what they are voting for.

Back home, whoever wins the UMNO presidential spot usually assumes the juicy post of being the nation’s Prime Minister too…..so one would have expected the candidate (well, due to certain reasons, there’s only one lah…and he’s won unapposed of course) to spice up his election campaign with his plans for the nation…….don’t know about you guys but I’ve not heard anything worth hearing from this fella, have you?

READ MORE HERE: http://thedandelions.wordpress.com/

written by michael chick, November 04, 2008 13:15:19
written by cheekymate, November 04, 2008 13:19:08
What do you expect to come out from the mouth of someone with a name like najis? Something sure stinks in the air these days!
written by michael chick, November 04, 2008 13:32:03
God Forbid that this happens in ISA

STOP ISA TODAY !!!!

written by Nunudada, November 04, 2008 14:01:30
Please do not compare us with the USA.They fought for independence(really fought)unlike our Brave-Hearts,then a civil war,and today they are a fully civilized nation.We are not according to UMNO.We are not supposed to think and do according to our desires.They will tell us what to do and what not to do.What I would like to do is to kick them into oblivion.
written by krising1, November 04, 2008 14:10:42
If you watched the news where Obama is epaking to any crowd, you can see the whites rooting for him and cheering for him. In this country if a Malay, like Zaid, is seen supporting a non-Malay cause, he will branded a traitor and asked to apologise. Do you think Obama will win the election if all the whites think like our UMNOputras do? Ketuanan orang puteh!
written by cheekhiaw, November 04, 2008 15:59:11
Unlike here, the US does not believe in giving special rights to thieves...

written by asguard, November 04, 2008 16:10:17
The more longer the UMNO holds the post of the PM ....the worse it would become for malaysia...they are not interested in governing the country more interested in looting the money for themselves .... we will became like philipines during marcos rule....
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 04, 2008 16:18:01
Unlike here, US presidential candidates have to face off in live telecast debates and be open to judgement.
Can you ever imagine our future PM debating over anything, intelligently?
written by educationist, November 04, 2008 16:50:03
I agree fully with the contentions of the writer.
However, a point of correction, though all registered voters can vote, it is the electoral votes[roughly proportional to population of state] assigned to each state that eventually will determine the next President of the USA.
Which is why there was the unhappy situation in the 2000 elections when Al Gore won the popular vote but lost to Bush!!
I believe the history of the world would have been different , otherwise!
Yes, we still have a long way to go because the UMNOputras won't want things any other way.
This is their weapon to cling to power-using the racial weapon rather than any rational , open discussions of alternative policies!
written by spliff_roller, November 04, 2008 19:41:54
Two puppets of the same master
written by Food Thought, November 04, 2008 21:04:34
Keep my finger cross and hope Obama wins. That will deflate UMNO super ego. A chances for a person from a minority race becomes a leader in the super power country. We need a leader with brain to face the Global challenges.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 04, 2008 21:27:12
The writer must understand this...we are about now 300 years behind the USA in almost every element of living. Knowledge is being got at a speed where even the comets will one day envy..the last 2000 years knowledge can be got with a ***** of a mouse..and the speed of the new findings is mind boggling..the last 30 years as compared to the past we have had findings that are astronomical..

But as for Malaysia..we have still a group of Malays who hold on the the "kandang attitude" they still want the Malays collared and pulled by the nose.This group is UMNO with its bigoted views. They want to revert back to Bahasa Melayu for education..how to catch up??still give subsidy..still hold on to the NEP.
Added to this they have now used Islam to brand all their people into one common "Kandang..as Ketuanan Melayu" which makes them a laughing stock of the world( What has UMNO and its Malay elite given the world in any knowledge that has taken the world forward??)Whatever they are enjoying and cherishing is what others have discovered and purchased with oil money or our taxes.
People are progressing they are taking giant steps backward..with yoga talk and
how to keep the "herd together"..the only way is NOT to allow the Malays to learn English so that they cannot understand what is going on in the real world..In the 300 years America is moving forward even to have a Black president..in the 50 years in Malaysia we are moving backwards not to have even a chinese as a PKNS head..and all because she is not a MUSLIM..
..it is difficult to attain what the writer is dreaming...in Malaysia it will be a pipe dream ..until and unless the Malays are freed from UMNO and the stranglehold of the Malays using religion. This is the stumbling block for Malaysia and for Malays who have their freedom clipped by UMNO..A good example is; if Najib was standing for elections in America by now he would have been put behind bars...but not in Malaysia..where the powers that be are powers way beyond even God's. And so we will continue until some brave Malay will want to change things and not be brought down like Abdullah by a bunch of old UMNO vultures who want to profit from the same old system..We will wait....maybe until the vultures die??? ..don't forget the vulture's son's are coming forward now!!!!

written by budakindia, November 04, 2008 22:55:47
Malaysian politics? They can't even live with having multi-languages sign boards. You expect these UMNO freaks to be mature? Hahahahaha! That's a good one! With the current charade of "Tak Salah" screaming over the media? smilies/grin.gif
written by Man In Black, November 05, 2008 06:04:57
I am currently in New York and following closely the US elections. This is not about the US or Malaysia politicians. These are about the Malaysian people...The people in the US dare to HOPE and Dream for a change...But people in Malaysia just talk and always hope for the FALSE HOPE!!! So we can talk till the cows come home...unless the people are ready to HOPE and are willing to walk the extra mile with the unison of voices without seeing creed, colour or religion..MALAYSIANS AND THE MALAYSIAN POLITICS WILL NEVER CHANGE. GOD BLESSED AMERICA AND GOD BLASTED MALAYSIA.......