Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Catalyst For Change

Catalyst For Change PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 November 2008 11:06

nhb

There are two types of changes: evolution and revolution.  Evolution is the slow change. It normally takes years or generations. Revolutions are immediate, sometimes overnight or abrupt.

They say Malaysia can never see a revolution. This, they say, is because Malaysians are not revolutionary or violent. Well, yes and no. Malaysians may not be violent, at least the majority of Malaysians, but they can be revolutionary when they want to. 

Revolutions should not be equated with killings and blood on the streets. You can have a paradigm shift, which is a revolution if done overnight, or a change of mentality, which would be a mental revolution.  

Malaysia saw its revolution on 8th March, 2008. It is a revolution and nothing short of that. You can’t really call it anything else. 

Revolutions are good, if it can be un-bloody. Bloody revolutions normally never end because there will always be the tendency for revenge. But when there is no other avenue and if a bloody revolution is needed then a bloody revolution it would have to be like in Indonesia and the Philippines who fought against the Dutch and Spanish respectively. 

Malaysian at first were quite prepared to allow for an evolutionary change. In fact, they waited 50 years. Then, on the 51st year, they decided that the situation is getting from bad to worse and they can’t expect any improvements so they decided to go for a revolutionary change. And that is why Barisan Nasional did so badly on 8th March 2008. 

This triggered other events. The Barisan Nasional component members realized that they too need to change or else suffer death and we began to see dissent in the ranks of MCA, Gerakan, and so on. Umno too is going through change, at least a change of leadership. 

But Umno needs more than just a change of leadership. It also needs a change of attitude. It can no longer threaten “another May 13” or ask the “immigrants” to “go back to their own country” whenever they raise “sensitive issues”. Umno must realize that the Chinese, Indians, Ibans, Dayaks, Kadazan, Portuguese, Thai, etc. have as much rights as the Malays. They too have a stake in Malaysia. Did not Tun Dr. Mahathir say that 90% of the income tax is paid by the Chinese? 

The fear is that Umno’s leadership change is just that and nothing more; Umno is not going to change its attitude or policies. And why should it? After all, it is not 26 million Malaysians or 11 million voters who decide the Umno presidency. It is 191 division leaders. 191 Malay Umno leaders decide who becomes the President of Umno and ultimately the Prime Minister of Malaysia. 

So 26 million Malaysians do not matter. 11 million voters do not matter either. Only 191 division leaders matter. And what matters to these 191 division leaders is what counts. 

And what do these 191 Umno division leaders want? They want Umno to continue to uphold Malay rights and special privileges and to defend the New Economic Policy “with the last drop of their blood”. And this is what the Umno President cum Malaysian Prime Minister will have to do if he wants to keep his job. If not then he will be pressured into resigning like what happened to Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.  

The Prime Minister normally forgets that he is a prime minister of all Malaysians. Most times he thinks that he is the prime minister of just the Umno members – not even the prime minister of all Malays. And this is not going to change when Najib takes over from Pak Lah.  

It is not that Najib does not know. It is just that he has no choice. It is not 26 million Malaysians or 11 million voters who gave him his job. It is the 191 division leaders. The 191 division leaders who nominated him and gave Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah only a single nomination. So he has to cater to their needs and not the needs of non-Umno Malays or the 11 million voters or 26 million Malaysians. 

And this is why we need a prime minister from Pakatan Rakyat. We need a Malaysian prime minister, not an Umno division prime minister. And until Pakatan Rakyat takes over and as long as the prime minister is a man nominated by 191 Umno division that would be how long the prime minister will be an Umno prime minister and not a Malaysian prime minister. 

But is this going to happen? Will we see a Pakatan Rakyat prime minister? And when will that be? 

Yes, I think it will happen. And it may not be too long away, probably even before Christmas. The 8th March 2008 revolution has not ended. It is still continuing. It continued into the Permatang Pauh by-election. It will continue into the Kulim by-election if they dare declare that seat vacant – which was why they dropped the case. And the revolution will only end once the Umno prime minister has been kicked out of office.  

The incoming Umno leadership is a Mathathir leadership. Mahathir announced at Hotel Singgahsana in Petaling Jaya that the new prime minister will be guided by a Presidential Council. Who will head this newly set up Presidential Council? Can the people accept the fact that Mahathir will be back in power and will be ruling by proxy? This will be the issue debated these next couple of weeks and which will have a bearing on a Pakatan Rakyat prime minister taking over. 

I know many are no longer holding their breath. Most Malaysians have given up hope for Pakatan Rakyat taking over the federal government. Well, it may be too early to give up hope. If by Christmas it has not happened then maybe it’s time to get worried. Until then keep hoping and plan for this year’s Christmas to be the best Christmas in 51 years since Merdeka. 

Comments (93)Add Comment
written by hamid, November 04, 2008 11:18:57
Yes it is happening. Sabah & Sarawak destiny is in your hands for a better Malaysia. Your few leaders that hold on to UMNO will eventually die but I can assure you NONE of your children will be taken care of like these Cronies.

The dissent is Loud and clear. We could even see a Ku Li jumping ship with his ARMY. Get ready for the REVOLUTION. The Altan case was the other nail needed to see who is ALIGN those CROOKS. Once the Crooks are determined, Malaysian wanting a Better Malaysia will finish UMNO-BN into Sg. Buluh Prison. To see UMNO-BN Leaders & cronies suffer in Prison is better than swift Death!

We have given them 51 years to reform, Ku Li also saying UMNO is corrupted to the Core. Move now. YES WE CAN. For a better Malaysia!!
agree 412
written by cheekymate, November 04, 2008 11:20:31
Our dear Raja Petra Kamaruddin,
My heart goes out for the words so well spoken by a true warrior of freedom. You have just made my day so much better, my dear friend, just to read your posting. I believe you on our Christmas celebrations, my toddy is still waiting for you in my fridge.
agree 287
written by TruthSayer, November 04, 2008 11:22:39
Let all Malaysians work towards this change by voicing out to your elected MP to have courage and stand up for what is right for all Malaysians, even if it means breaking rank with your party leadership.

Let's pray and hope for a New Malaysia before the year is out!!
agree 204
written by zachary, November 04, 2008 11:22:44
dear rpk the indomitable,
you are quite right in that many have stopped holding their breath but after having read your posting, one ventures to hold one's breath again. and that is what the malaysian revolution should be - to not lose hope but to keep the faith in and the vision of a deliverance. our prayers are always with you and your family. thank you and God bless you.
agree 157
written by justice, November 04, 2008 11:26:54
agree 502
written by biggun129, November 04, 2008 11:29:47
We knew its going to happen, be it before Christmas or after Christmas,we know he is not PM elected by Malaysian, but by his own party, we dont pray hope on him, 'Reform' & 'Change of Administrator of Country is our agenda',we are with you all the time 'RPK'!!!
agree 169
written by mamak, November 04, 2008 11:31:31
The only choice we have is the hope.....

written by AuntyG, November 04, 2008 11:31:36
Amazing ... RPK, resting in KamuntingHotel, can draw such inner strength to hope that a peaceful revolution is gonna happen.
Let us keep on praying for divine intervention to give us a new government for ALL Malaysians, our 'bestest' Christmas/New Year present ever. Not to forget,
pray that RPK will be back with us soon - yohoho !!
agree 184
written by Bosan, November 04, 2008 11:33:45
Hopefully,UMNO will be kicked out by Santa Claus this coming Christmas,Ho! Ho! HO!
written by temenggong, November 04, 2008 11:45:53
This is rpk talking to us. He is telling us that there will be a Pakatan govt by Christmas! I am telling you all that the BN govt will be toppled and there will be a change in the govt in the next three weeks!

No, rpk, none of us have given up hope! Just biting out nails impatiently.
agree 193
written by Kreator, November 04, 2008 11:47:00
RPK, you have certainly done a lot to change the mindset of the young especially me. I have been reading your articles for the past 2 years and your articles have certainly given me not only hope, but has shaped my political awareness and also my rights as a Malaysian. Many of my friends who are either working or still students in university read your articles and has has an equal impact as well. Although the older generation had almost ruined the country, thanks to your guidance and your spirit, we will try our level best to undo this mess and make Malaysia a glorious nation.

My best wishes to you and your family. Hope to see you out soon and do what you do best, educating us. smilies/cheesy.gif
agree 175
written by K W Waran, November 04, 2008 11:49:38

Dearest YM RPK,

The day the government change hands, that day would be the day all Anak Anak Bangsa Malaysia would celebrate Hari Raya, Deepavalli, Christmas, Chinese New Year, etc, etc All-in-One. Having said that, for us members of MT Community, the day you are free, hopefully, this Friday, this day too would have a significance for all of us to celebrate and rejoice.

Many of us are pained to no end seeing you being in Kamunting with a debilitating back condition and to know that its a mega sacrifice on your part, Pn Marina and your Beloved Family for All of Us, it makes the pain all the more agonising. Rest assured that most of us are praying every of our waking hours for divine intervention to take place. Therefore, this Friday will ensure that those prayers are answered. With You amongst us, we will be greatly motivated to continue to hold the proverbial torch to free All the ISA Detainees and the ISA Abolished from the face of this land of Ours as you have most appropriately put. Take care Sir till we meet again this Friday. I have a Cuban Cigar just waiting for you for good measure.

written by SocratesI, November 04, 2008 11:50:00

Now that the Rakyat in the Peninsula have shown voters in Sabah & Sarawak the Way in the March 8th elections, and confirmed the gathering momentum at the Permatang Pauh by-election, we should expect Sabah & Sarawak to go the way of the Peninsula in the next GE, at least.

So much the better if the Barisan MPs cross-over before they sink with their ship by end of 2008, and then we can see the change in Govt. before that time. Najis Must NOT be PM of Malaysia, not Ever !!

written by KUMON, November 04, 2008 11:51:04
Thanks Pete,

You've done it again, always putting issues in the clearest perspective possible. You are the most respectable and the best revolutionary political analysis I have ever met. I still have hope that Pakatan will 'revolutionalise' Mslaysia and I hope that will happen as that will mean Freedom to you my firend! We have not forgotten your sacrifice and struggles. Keep sane and hope to see you out b4 Xmas! there would be the biggest Xmas bash you will ever see.
written by malsia1206, November 04, 2008 11:59:05
I spy with my little eye and saw they tried to imprison the Body. But the mind and sense of liberal spirit soar like a free eagle and spread the seed and good word across the Nation. Heads up. RPK, you're not alone.
written by ellyna, November 04, 2008 12:00:23

You have no idea what your words mean to me. I see light at the end of the tunnel now.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif By the way, how are you? Am keeping you in my prayers every day, specifically that you will be released real soon and the Almighty to keep you in good shape both in mind, spirit and body. Take care!
written by miwaki, November 04, 2008 12:04:36
Abdullah asked Malaysians to unite so that we can face the economic crisis together.I say unite my foot Abdullah ! We will unite not for your sake but to kick you people out of the government so that Malaysians could solve this problem togther without BN.

We will wait for the new PM from Pakatan Rakyat to take place.Merry Christmas.
written by Rozlan, November 04, 2008 12:11:51
RPK,to see you are writing consistently behind the wall over there.At least we know you are alright.Anyway back to the topic.What did the 191 UMNO division want? The Malay Right demand,ketuanan melayu are too noble for them say.What they want is anything in the country that they could plunder.Anything that they could fatten their pockets..They have non left on their mind for the malays interest,let alone Malaysian interest in general..

written by teo siew chin, November 04, 2008 12:14:58
this Man is gooooood! errr... there is christmas every year. which christmas you mean ah? undoubtedly it was you YM RPK who threw the pebble that started the ripple effect - and you are prepared to go the full nine-yards. Is the rakyat struggling to even keep pace? or worst - lose focus!
written by Sword of Justice, November 04, 2008 12:16:39
Tun Dr. Mahathir say that 90% of the income tax is paid by the Chinese This is strange because tax payers money pays the salaries of the government machineries, universities etc. But...
Only 10% non bumis allocated for Matriculations.
Only 30% allocated for non bumis in Public Universities.
All Government contracts awarded to bumi companies.

So I wonder why the Chinese are paying taxes to sustain this biased government.
agree 134
written by Jayvin, November 04, 2008 12:19:47
Dearest RPK,

You are the courage and inspiration for those yearning for a revolution. Your words have given us an extra mile for it.

We are deeply worried for you and the moment that your step out from Kemunting will be the day of revolution as well.
written by yellowwoman, November 04, 2008 12:23:44
Dear Raja Petra,
Thank you so much for your posting. I, like many, have begun to lose hope of a Pakatan leadership. Shame on me, I know, but there is so little to hope for, a a long while. Until now. I feel so bad for doubting when you, under ISA detention, continues to carry the torch. My faith is restored. Yes, I will carry on this hope and infect my friends with the same hope. I must do my part to fan the flame of hope among my friends and contacts.

Here's to a revolution!
Thank you Raja Petra, take care and hang on in there!
written by teo siew chin, November 04, 2008 12:28:45
btw YM RPK, did your better half tell you the rakyat has lit up sooooo many candles, the fire is enough to burn down kamunting?
written by thesaint, November 04, 2008 12:42:59
For 51 years we have tested and tried evolutionary steps to reengineer our society towards being citizens of a just and equitable nation. But it has brought us nothing but a long string of false steps, with the help of this club of 191 people. The 8th March revolution has to continue in Sabah and Sarawak. If the club of 191 makes peaceful revolution impossible, violent revolution maybe inevitable coupled by a rebellion from within BN component parties.
So...you 191 club members...read the writing on the wall.
written by biggun129, November 04, 2008 12:50:05
Calling all the BN component parties, let stand together with 'RPK', let's have a change, let's change this country, we need your 'No confidence vote', votes against the present ruling regime! Vote for the sake of the country and the people, and for you and your family!!!
written by cruzeiro, November 04, 2008 12:52:07
Remember the "Rahman Prophecy"?
It may just have been the prophecy of Umno's death ...
written by dumbfounded, November 04, 2008 12:54:02
Dear Santa,

We wish a good ruler for our country this Christmas. We also hope for the release of ISA detainees.

~Peace & joy to all~
written by BennyG, November 04, 2008 13:10:06
Once the "Rahman prophecy" had been fulfilled, that's the end of UMNO.

Good riddance!

It's good to hear RPK's "rumour" (90% accurate so far) again. There was a sense of losing hope of replacing BN in the near future. This hope is rekindled once more.
written by pixieface, November 04, 2008 13:12:00
BN means will B the eNd.
written by Jit Dharma, November 04, 2008 13:26:17
Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan, South Korea, and even Russia have had their revolutions to overthrow one-party tyranny, now it's our turn. The entrenched forces of repression can only maintain the illusion of control through their manipulation of the media which they own and the use of the security apparatus to intimidate the peeple. The pressure of dissent must be maintained.
written by palani, November 04, 2008 13:31:51
My Dear RPK, whenever I read your post my eyes swelled with tears thinking of you sacrificing yourself and your family for the well being of all Malaysians. And yet you never fail us when we are desperately worried and utterly disappointed over taking of government. Moreover the way things are happening around us make us to lose our HOPE.Yes, life is HOPE and only that HOPE makes life worth living for. Your words have reignited our HOPE Pakatan Rakyat will take over before Christmas Our prayers are with you and God Willing you will be freed this Friday. Your freedom will be the greatest GIFT for all peace loving Malaysians.
written by 2edgedsword, November 04, 2008 13:37:05
Umno screams "Ketuanan Melayu" and curse the Chinese each time they have internal power struggle. This distraction is so convenient especially when Umno still presumes that the kampung Malays are stupid. The reason why they do no want to advance secular education and the English language to the rural areas is simply because Umno wants the rural people to be remain stupid.

Does 8th March demonstrate that the rural Malays are still stupid? Your guess is as good as mine because 49% of voters voted against Umno. Umno is using recycled ideas which is best tossed into the trash bin.

The Aryans of Hiltler' time proclaimed the " Ketuanan Aryan " and millions died.
United States use the barrel of the gun to exert hegemonic suppression over countries which they have vested interests and many more died. Why is Umno using similar tactics to suppress Malaysians? Clearly, Umno is disqualified to critize the white supremacists and the United States.

If Malays are supreme as claimed by Umno, why do Malays still need crutches to survive? Can someone from Umno explain the paradox.

The truth is, the majority of Malays today are not stupid and they do not need the NEP. They want to compete with the best so that they can better themselves. Umno is only lying to itself.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 04, 2008 13:41:40
If Obama a black fellow can be the President of the USA..the most powerful country in the world( by this week we will know)then we still have hope that some Malays here are fed-up of sticking to the "kandang attitude" and will change for a better Malaysia. We are fed-up of UMNO BIGOTS who ask the chinese and indians to go back when they are shamelessly being paid with their tax money..
if the chinese and indians were not here in the place and the orang puteh set the system....I think UMNO will still be living on trees as still some people think...

It is time UMNO be buried and to allow all the 3 races mix freely...
practising..YOGA too!!!
written by Birdbrain, November 04, 2008 13:42:21
191 green bottles hanging on the wall! If the last one green bottle should accidentally fall, there will be no more green bottles hanging on the wall!

Let's start the revolution and ensure the extinction of UMNO Baru!
written by Sunnysoul5, November 04, 2008 13:48:01
There is this belief that politicians do not have conscience and are generally interested in acquiring wealth through their power and influence. This may be the case if the people of the nation are happy and contended.

The King of Thailand and a significant number of Thai people are not happy with former PM’s, and the court have found two of them guilty of some crimes by sentencing them to two years of imprisonment. Of course, these former PM’s can appeal in order to redeem their reputation, integrity and credibility. However, as it stands, they have been disgraced by the turn of the events. The people power revolution has been, by and far, a very peaceful one indeed. This revolution will not end because there is no good leader to take on from there yet. The King can always appoint a council to run the country rather than letting the army to take control of the government.

It is good to hear than RPK is hopeful of a “white Christmas” for Malaysia. It is not a miracle but maybe the wishes of the majority of the voters and Malaysians in general wanting a very subtle change for a better future for everybody. It is not easy to get a “white Christmas” in London either, but then the world is changing so we may witness the paradigm shift sooner than expected. Some say it is never too late to mend.

Malaysia is now at a crucial crossroad that requires very pragmatic approach to socio-economical developments in order for Malaysia to become a developed nation. The current scenario does not provide a solid foundation for the betterment of the nation to benefit everybody. The skewed development has been the key point of contention for the voters and people in general.

The two party system has been maturing, and the voters have to decide which party shall rule the nation. It is perfectly legitimate, but not necessary legal technically, to have lawmakers making their decision to switch party mid-term if they truly believe that their current party is not doing what needs to be done to ratify the socio-economic woos.

RPK, DSAI, LKS, TGNA, Zaid and many others may concur that a peaceful revolution may be timely to stop the rot in the systems, so long as the interests of the people are being addressed effectively. This is the beauty of the two party system.

Soon we will see whether Republican or Democrat shall lead the USA after the Presidential election. It is too close to call who will emerge as the winner at this juncture for sure. The voters shall decide the destiny of USA.

written by MalaysiaBaru, November 04, 2008 14:01:57

Thanks for your udying spirit in fighting for a new Malaysia. Despite the atrocious condition that the evil UMNO scumbags had put u in, u never lose hope and I can sensed that the flame of revolution is still burning within your heart.

Whatever strategies that Anwar might have shared with you. Please don't share it with us now. Otherwise PR might be sabotaged by BN yet again like what happened when Anwar announced he would take over the parliment on 16 Sept which resulted in BN flying away fourty over MPs to Taiwan for a last minute study of "agriculture". So keep your cards close to your chest and surprise the goons with a royal flush!
written by Bloodhound, November 04, 2008 14:03:36
extracted from Malaysiakini

Ke mana Najib larikan RM5 bilion?
Hishamuddin Rais | Oct 30, 08 7:47pm

Hari ini telah dipastikan bahawa sistem ekonomi kapitalis neoliberal telah berakhir. Krisis ekonomi yang melanda sistem kapitalis neoliberal ini sedang nazak. Secara bengong, hanya Najib Razak sahaja yang cuba menafikannya dan berkata Malaysia “terselamat.”........
written by EUGTAN, November 04, 2008 14:12:59
What an amazing man. Even with all the psychological pressures of imprisonment, he churns out an essay which is a model of clear thinking. Countries like Japan and Korea have what they call 'national treasures'. We have one in our midst. If only the Bumnoputras can see it, it is men like RPK that will bring them into the 21st century.
written by ASK4u, November 04, 2008 14:46:22
Eye Eye sir, we will gather our scattered "troops", pick up our gears and fall back in line again.
written by educationist, November 04, 2008 14:52:21
Hooray to RPK!
Even from the position he's in he's giving us hope a PR change of government is possible.
Hearing it from him has lifted my spirits somewhat and, now, I believe again that maybe, somehow the PR people can pull off that feat.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 04, 2008 15:08:54
I'm definitely praying for a Christmas gift where all Malaysians can enjoy... smilies/smiley.gif
written by Mitch Yusmar, November 04, 2008 15:13:32
Malaysians are always hoping against all hope that there will be changes...and this new hope of a new Government by Christmas is something worth waiting for. If no...can we have RPK for PM?
written by Wisdom above, November 04, 2008 15:16:22
I have only this to say eversince 8-3-2008.

"It shall come to pass".

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's steadfastly continue to Pray for "RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!"

My salute to all Peacemakers in Malaysia.
written by Chimera, November 04, 2008 15:32:34
U set a hope for us!!!
We hope u come back n hv good lunch wid ur family soon !!
written by aeromaverick, November 04, 2008 15:39:13
Thank you RPK. It has been a while since I heard of any update on that aspect of the struggle. I too hope the Malaysian public will keep to the objective of a regime change. I belief ours a cross between a revolution and an evolution. Hence the time frame will be a bit longer, and with lasting effects.
I look forward to the new dawn!

Please release RPK.
written by honestlypls, November 04, 2008 15:42:14
Thk You...RPK....we all needed that....thk you for the sacrifices you and your family are making to give Msians a better tomorrow.

This boost is what we needed and we will keep hoping and working towards a new govt ....the recent news and events have made us worry whether the change can actually take place.

But now we know it can and must take place. A vision to be made a reality .

God bless you and your family RPK.
written by jargon, November 04, 2008 15:52:52
RPK....whether the change is before X'mas or after ....or even next GE ...I believe it will come. Because of you and others like you ( Zaid Ibrahim ) it will come.

Thank You for making us brave enough to see we make it...A New Govt.
written by Janaka, November 04, 2008 16:19:20
YAB Sir RPK, smilies/smiley.gif you reminded me of Saint Mother Teresa. YOU DID MORE than her the 'sacrifices' for our beloved country which been called 'MALAYSIA' I am proud of your great ACHIEVEMENT and glad that I can play a very small role by joining all the candle light on every SUNDAY NIGHT at PJ. WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD that YOU will ONE OF THE WAITING on THE LIST TO BE OUR FUTURE beloved PM AFTER YAB DSAI! We want and need leader like you to come forward to lead us to COME OUT FROM THE HELLY CAGE that we are in! WE also HOPE MORE RPK's KIND OF LEADERSHIP will come forward and make the same or better sacrifices for the RAKYAT! E.g. YAB Dato ZI, YAB DSAI, YAB all H5, etc Your present have made us realized (WOKE UP from the DREAM) now WE HAVE HOPE to look forward. No matter what happen to our beloved country, we will all the way will continue to SUPPORT you and your family members with NEVER ENDING SUPPORT! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Ben, November 04, 2008 16:41:35
I'll Be Home for Christmas
I'm dreamin' tonight of a place I love
Even more then I usually do
And although I know it's a long road back
I promise you

I'll be home for Christmas
You can count on me
Please have snow and mistletoe
And presents under the tree
Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love light beams
If only in my dreams

Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love light beams
If only in my dreams

Yep, that's my Christmas wish; that RPK will be home for Christmas. Yes, Marina we are still praying for RPK and you and family. Yes, PR may come through on their claims. Even if they do not, we will not give up this peaceful revolution.

May the early season glad tidings
cheer you and your families
May God bless Malaysia, releasing
RPK to Marina and family this Christmas
written by joric, November 04, 2008 16:43:13
What rights does Mahathir has to announce that the new prime minister will be guided by a Presidential Council? He is not even an UMNO member. This is blatantly telling us that he will be the power behind Najib. Go Pakatan Rakyat!!!
written by Hockchew, November 04, 2008 17:33:03
The fulfillment of the "Rahman" theory and the demise of BN-UMNO. Its time for all Malaysian to stand firm and conquer the World as one nation.

Najib will be the last President of UMNO.

The drawn of the new dawn....................................Hidup Rakyat Malaysia!
written by Zapper, November 04, 2008 17:39:41
Dear RPK...you hot it spot on this matter. The Prime Minister is only for UMNO and no matter how he try to represent the other communities and non-UMNO malays..this is just political suicide. Like Zaid said the Malays should not fear because they have the numbers and if they can accept the other communities, then Malaysia will fly.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 04, 2008 17:53:38
Pakatan Rakyat works towards a Malaysian Malaysia, Umno/BN works towards an Umnoputra Malaysia.
written by zonefinder, November 04, 2008 18:07:13
can't wait for Xmas, man, now that you've perk up our hopes for Santa Claus. Stay cool coz we're going to give you the biggest welcome once you're out.
Had steak with your old mate Zorro today and all of us wish you the best..
written by Wave33, November 04, 2008 18:12:24
Now... I understand why money politic is so rampant in UMNO. Just pay RM100,000 for each division head (Ahmad Ismail lost his duit raya), it is only RM19.1 million to become a President. Small money to pay to become president and Prime Minister. I do not know the amount, someone else kind to share the amount?
written by shepherdvoyage, November 04, 2008 18:50:47
YM RPK

Just can't wait to have u back with us! Your articles bring us hope and cheer us up.

To stand firm on your belief and continue to write for the sake of a better country for us to live in given the curent debilitating and confined situation you are in is definitely not easy.

No way for us to repay you and your family for the huge sacrifices you have made for us all.

We pledge to fight alongside you til our goals are achieved, at all costs.
written by kksam, November 04, 2008 19:30:15
Great, all this while i still believe that it will happens. and i hope to see you RPK this Friday at the Shah Alam high Court, really hopes the Judge will do the right thing to FREE RPK!!! To think of it, i just can't miss the moment you'll be free!!!!
written by Fuminari, November 04, 2008 19:35:28
umno be end leaders always riding very low make use of the racist tones of their own orchestration to head for the highest office;n najis makes no difference but more to that,he is not riding there on his own n he could never ride there on his own with such a handful of scumbags n dirty baggages he is carrying from his past n present.as a matter of fact,he is being ridden there by the old lizard selfishly jus to continue his once all most lost legacy n for his own kid!
najis would be only a pM for umno n not all malaysian!!
najis would be there to take care of mahathir interest besides his own but not malaysia n malaysian!
change is definitely the word n the revolution we need!!!
written by miracle, November 04, 2008 19:45:03
so glad to read yr article again... well .. this only happen in bolehland .. 191 for the pm position ... i hope it might be before chirstmas too for the CHANGE we longing for ... the greatest gift of the century ...
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 04, 2008 20:38:32
ibabonma

Why are u so stupid? Petronas and the other local giant corporations don't pax income tax. They pay corporate tax!
written by Kyle, November 04, 2008 21:37:14
I am for a peaceful revolution.
A bloody revolution will not do in Malaysia.
Not when the army may be with shitty UMNO.
The ones that will suffer the most in a bloody revolution
will definitely the non-Bumis.
Been saying that to my friends since my secondary school days,
decades ago.

Hope your prediction comes true by Christmas 2009.
Long live RPK, Anwar and PR.
written by No nonsense, November 04, 2008 22:09:04
Well said RPK and thanks alot for the great news coming before Christmas. I think Malaysians dont need Evolution or Revolution but SOLUTION and that will only come from PR. Will the day come you will be set free and fight beside us once again. Long live RPK. Long live PR.
written by fromamovingtrain, November 04, 2008 22:28:09
The rahman theory?
To take a leaf out of rpk's book, n shall stand for 'Nurul Izzah's father'.
written by justice6, November 04, 2008 23:18:09
hope is the victim of disappointment...
written by ohie, November 04, 2008 23:34:43
to bew frank,i already give up the hope of new gov after all this waiting and dissapointment, however, after reading Pete 's, the fire is burning again..i really geram, with all those news especially the Mongol case..its like, the bully is taking your aiscream and say "what are u going to do??!!"
written by yy88, November 04, 2008 23:44:46

My guess is as good as yours. If I am not wrong, Bodohwi may have already made a secret deal with DSAI to hand over the PMship just to save his own skin.

Bodohwi knows very well that if Najis finally had his hand on the PM crown, and that evil Kerala Mamak got his puppet on the line, and if he starts pulling the strings, Bodohwi know his ass would be burnt and it would be his payback time.

He may end up in Sungei Buloh with his son and the infamous SIL. As that Kerala Mamak hate him to his core, he would make Bodohwi's live as miserable as possible. Najis would lost his PM crown, so near yet so far.

If my prediction is correct, DEC 08 would be a great day for liberalising Malaysia. Bodohwi would have achieved his last months reform in a single day. He would be remembered for liberalising MALAYSIA form the Evil Kerala Mamak .
written by guns head, November 05, 2008 00:47:35
I was listening to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r69aUCfDABk
about Puan Marina talking.

Then I quickly sent out emails to my friends.

Below pasted.

if you are those anti-ISA and support the move to abolish ISA
then help to surf malaysia today and also ***** on the advertisement
because that's how the money comes in to help the malaysa today websites to maintain the server.
http://mt.m2day.org/2008
written by archie, November 05, 2008 01:09:07
This year's X'mas message will be "A Merry X'mas & A Happy New Government".
written by magickriver, November 05, 2008 01:50:55
You certainly have my love and admiration, Pete. I know some of your buddies call you Pet - but ever since Saiful's Uncle Pet appeared on the scene, he has spoiled the name for me!

I can imagine no greater act of "subversion an terrorism" than for a man who has been detained under the ISA to continue blogging from behind bars like The Ghost That Walks smilies/grin.gif

The fact that you can not only keep talking perfect sense from inside Kamunting - but at the same time reassure and uplift so many of us qualifies you as a Divine Human of the first order.

THANK YOU, DEAREST RPK, FOR BEING A TOTAL BEACON OF HOPE, CLARITY & ABSOLUTE GRIT!

[Standing Ovation, folks... come on, give The Man his due... get off your bleating arses and APPLAUD!!!] smilies/cheesy.gif
written by borneoman, November 05, 2008 07:27:57
All Malaysians should sue the 191 umno idiots and self proclaimed representative of the citizenr for not complying to our nation democratic principles.who gave them the permission to choose the nation next prime minister on behalf of the Dayaks of Sarawak? Where is our freedom of choice?
written by nikko, November 05, 2008 08:20:44
I salute you RPK. You are Ghandi or Nehru of Malaysia. Let us all pray for a REVOLUTION. But let us not forget RPK who is a 'resident' of Kamunting. We pray that God will bless him with good health and mental strength. We also pray that the Almighty will protect him from the evils lurking in UMNO.

We may not be with you, RPK in person but we are united with you in spirit and in prayer. God bless.
written by mick_err_stan, November 05, 2008 11:51:08

Although you are under detention, you have indirectly influenced more and more Rakyat. My Brothers Sister and their friends are die hard BN supporters. Your detention has created much publicity and they now read MT which has opened their eyes to many issues.

Mine is just one example, but I'm sure with your detention, everyday more and more Rakyat detest the actions of the present government.

Therefore your detention is not all in vain but I truly wish for your early release. Your detention is a total sham, despicable act by people who are uncouth and has low moral standing.

By detaining you, the government has thrown a huge rock on their own feet....ouch!!! More and more Rakyat now find this present government distasteful!
written by RitchieLow, November 05, 2008 11:53:21
From Times Online
November 4, 2008
Chinese official sacked after web video triggers outrage over 'assault' on girl, 11

Internet outrage has triggered a police inquiry and the dismissal of a high ranking Chinese Communist official after video footage showing him shoving the father of an 11-year-old girl he allegedly assaulted was posted on the internet.
Armies of Netizens have taken part in numerous online manhunts in China in the past couple of years, but this appears to be the first time such a search has resulted in the dismissal of a senior government official and a police investigation.
The incident began last Thursday when a male diner at a seafood restaurant in the southern city of Shenzhen asked an 11-year-old girl walking past his table to direct him to the lavatories. Closed circuit television footage shows a pot-bellied man in a white shirt following a little girl with a pony tail across the room. A couple of minutes later the girl is seen running back alone.
Reports on the internet say the child told her parents the man grabbed her by the neck and tried to force her into the toilets. She ran for help.
The video shows her reappearing with her parents and her brother to look for the man. He returns to the dining room, and into the frame, where he can be seen shoving away the girl’s father when he challenges him to explain his behaviour.
The man reportedly shouted: “Yes, I did it, so what? How much to you want, just tell me. I’ll give you the money.”
The two men argue and the older man repeatedly points and tries to push away the father. He shouts: “Do you know who I am? I am from the Ministry of Transportation in Beijing. I have the same seniority as the mayor of your city. So what if I grabbed the neck of a small child. You people count for fart! If you dare challenge me, just wait and see how I will deal with you."
When the father calls the police, the man leaves with his female companion.
Chinese web sites reported that the police said the man had drunk too much, did not remember anything and, with no witnesses to the girl being grabbed by the neck, there was no evidence that he had behaved indecently.
But an online furore soon tracked down the man and identified him as Lin Jiaxiang, party secretary of the Shenzhen Maritime Bureau. Photos of the 58-year-old Mr Lin receiving various government awards, including a citation on behalf of his “Civilised Work Unit”, were soon plastered across the internet.
He was sacked on Monday. The Ministry of Transport party committee said his “wild words and behaviour have had an extremely negative impact on society.”
Abuse of power is widespread in China and the Communist Party has warned repeatedly that corruption poses the most serious threat to its rule. The government can be quick to react when incidents reach the public domain, however.
But many online commentators were enraged. One wrote on popular website sina.com: “It looks like organised crime and the government should swap places, in this case organised crime seems more righteous than the government."
See video: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=UFBu8wgnhHw
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
written by mick_err_stan, November 05, 2008 12:18:33
Chinese official sacked after web video triggers outrage over 'assault' on girl, 11

Even in communist China there is some form of accountability. However in Bolehland catastrophic mistakes and corruptions are swept under the carpet and not investigated (respectively. No one is held accountable. The Rakyat are partly to blame for it's their lackluster attitude that allows the guilty getting away with murder so to speak (pun intended).

Therefore in order to have true transparency,accountability and integrity we need to change the present government.
written by antiilluminati, November 05, 2008 12:27:15
RPK is god's gift to the RAKYAT. Hope the RAKYAT treasure it.
Actually, i have given up hope earlier but not anymore.. RPK's voice thru this article just charged me up. The RAKYAT needs RPK guiding light. Pls free RPK ..
written by Sunnysoul5, November 05, 2008 14:40:13
Now that Obama has won the Presidency of USA, it has proven to the world that nothing is impossible.

The USA is sliding into recession, but Obama has promised to pull out of Iraq making it a Christmas present for the peace loving Americans.

The world is definitely changing for the better.
written by pixieface, November 05, 2008 15:13:26
You are right sunnysoul5, you are right. nothing is impossible. For america
one of the most powerful nations of the world to have a black president, its
not impossible for change in our country.
Pray for this to happen.
written by rainmanpj, November 05, 2008 19:07:48
Saudara Anwar,
when you take over the govn, please reserve a suitable cabinet post for our beloved RPK
written by panca, November 06, 2008 13:30:28
It is worrying sick and just when will it happen but then my dear 'Bro' said to me, don't worry it will come as BN esp. umno is already caught in their own time warp.

"We will have Pete home by Christmas"

Yes we will then jubilate and fly the mightier "MALAYSIAN" FLAG higher all over places and cars.
written by Side Helmit Elba, November 06, 2008 16:17:57
KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 6 - MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said today it is time for Malaysians to free themselves from the shackles of racial issues.
Taking Barack Obama, the first African-American elected as the president of the United States, as an example, Ong said, "Sadly in Malaysia, we are still bickering over the appointment of a Chinese lady as acting general manager for the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS).

"It is time for us to break free from the orthodox way of doing things. In the US, it took more than 200 years for a black man to be elected president in a predominantly white country.
"Ironically, the very people in Malaysia, who cheer for Obama do not think that a Chinese lady is deemed fit to lead PKNS," Ong said in a statement.
Ong, who is Transport Minister, said the reaction from certain politicians from both sides of the divide on the appointment showed that they were still "stuck in their own racial cocoon." - Bernama

Everybody knows Malaysian r Mature enough for this xcept the UMNO leaders who is still trying ti fish for contract and plunder the treasure chest of Malaysia. So rakyat Malaysia please up. Datuk Ong time for u to shift camp
written by guns head, November 06, 2008 16:28:27
see this photo of hers.....so preety
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/92590
written by malaysianohope, November 07, 2008 12:51:52
Salam Abang,

GOD & everyone of us here have not foresaken you!
Pakatan cannot do it, Anwar cannot do it....
Our prayers have been answered!

Welcome back to Society!!!!
written by Abajawi, November 08, 2008 16:16:47
Well, even a Pakatan Rakyat PM is not going to be voted in by 11 million voters, is he? Our system of democracy is such that the PM will be chosen by the coalition of parties that have the most number of seats in parliament. These parties will sit down behind closed doors and negotiate as to which party chief will be most acceptable as PM by the people--in the opinions of those taking part in the negotiation.

We'll never be like the Americans, who elect a president directly (in a way--although under the College electoral system, it is the states that elect the president, since a candidate with a majority of the popular votes need not win the election!). The next US president is Obama, who is not the president of his Democratic party! He was nominated by his party in a party convention and he has to win that nomnation first, against fellow-Democrat, Hillary Clinton. After winning the primary battle, then only he goes and contest against the GOP (republican) nominee McCain--who is not the president of the Republican Party. In fact few people know who the president of the GOP is!!! Nobody cares!

Not in Malaysia. If you want to be PM in Malaysia you have to head a political party first. That's the way to go to Putrajaya. There will not be an Obama under our system. No party president will want anybody but himself to be nominated for PM! Period.

Only a revolution--in terms of system--- will create an Obama in Malaysia. Yes, I agree that a revolution is better than an evolution. But not a bloody one, of course. The entire constitution needs to be re-written if M'sians wan to see a Malaysian Obama rise up from the populace.
written by swordfish11, November 09, 2008 20:19:33

Raya culture too follow chinese new year culture, list them as below:

1. Wang Raya
2. Raya Celebration (Raya Hari pertama, Raya Hari Kedua.....)
3. A congregation before 1st of syawal

to name afew......
written by JaguhKampung, November 09, 2008 21:23:00
A very profound article indeed. What this means is that you may think you are voting for Chinese, Indians, Kadazan etc if you vote for the respective component parties. But in actual fact, you are only voting for UMNO. Because the leadership of the nation is not determined by any of these component parties, the leadership of this nation is determined by the 191 UMNO division heads.

Most of these division heads are ultras. You can see them rearing their ugly face in Penang recently.
written by kclim2, November 10, 2008 21:10:11
Prayers answered. Thanks God. Please be careful Pete, they are out for your blood this time round!
written by penangite, November 11, 2008 21:41:23
I have always believed. Change, we can.

I dream of sleeping tonight and waking up tomorrow to a new administration promising a better and brighter future.

It is about time.

Just like how Americans welcome the Obama administration, Malaysians should welcome the Anwar administration.
written by ksra, November 15, 2008 09:02:38
The last thing should happen to have Mahatir back in power. Sounds very much like Putin (Russia), who basically refuse to relingush his power put his puppet in there. I think that is exactly what the old man trying to do.

Time to look forward Malaysia. We all should vote for PKR in the next election. Totally change the face of the government. Time to treat every citizen as individual. Spread the wealth to the poor NOT to a particular race. I like the fact that Malaysia the motto Malaysia BOLEH but at the moment it is more like Malaysia BODOH