Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow It was just not Azalina's day

It was just not Azalina's day PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 04 November 2008 08:43

PROMISES made when heading other ministries sometimes come back to haunt ministers.

Tourism Minister Datuk Azalina Othman Said found this out the hard way yesterday when government and opposition backbenchers lambasted her over a promise made when she was the youth and sports minister.

Datuk Anifah Aman (BN-Kimanis) gave Azalina an earful over her promise to build a mini-stadium in every parliamentary constituency.

He said to date, nothing had come out of the promise in her earlier portfolio.

Anifah said he was sceptical about Azalina's statement that a homestay programme would be set up in every constituency as she had failed to fulfil her promise on the mini-stadiums.

"How can we then believe you when you say you will set up a homestay in every parliamentary constituency?"

He said it appeared as if Azalina was making empty promises.

In reply, Azalina said the homestay programme she announced earlier was regulated by procedure and could not be set up on a whim.

"We send every parliamentary constituency an invitation and they in turn have to reply. Following this, we will send them a form outlining what has to be done.

Azalina's reply irked Anifah, who shot back that the procedure outlined by Azalina was flawed.

"Why do we need to ask for the forms? Why not just send it to us? After all, you have announced it," he said.

Anifah then asked Azalina if she was engaging in rhetoric "as we identified the sites for the mini-stadiums, but nothing came of it".

"Is this a political gimmick on the ministry's part to fool the people?"

To this, Azalina replied that the ministry did not want to send forms to everyone and noted that not all members of parliaments were interested and some had not replied to the initial letter issued by the ministry.

To Anifah's question on whether the homestay programme would go the way of the "mini-stadium promise", she said any decision on the mini-stadium project would have to be determined by the Cabinet Committee on Sports and the Economic Planning Unit.

"They are the ones who decide. I can't decide on the number to be built. It is best to ask the Sports Ministry for the figure."

Anifah, who was not mollified by the answer, pressed on by taking Azalina to task for making the announcement on the mini-stadiums while knowing that the ultimate decision rested with another entity.

It was just not Azalina's day as she was also criticised by an opposition backbencher when she said that the homestay programme was only for BN parliamentary constituencies.

"We are starting with BN constituencies but under the next phase, will do it in the opposition constituencies."

Fong Po Kuan (DAP-Batu Gajah) attacked Azalina's approach in the matter, saying the programme should be extended to all constituencies.

"When there is a problem and we criticise, you say we only know how to criticise. Why not include everyone (in this programme) so we can all contribute?" she asked.

Azalina said opposition MPs were welcome to implement the programme in their constituencies if they wanted to by contacting the ministry.

On allegations that Tourism Malaysia subsidiaries practised bad management, she said the ministry would release the audit findings from PricewaterhouseCoopers on the matter.

The subsidiaries are Pempena Sdn Bhd, Malaysian Kitchen and Portal Malaysia My Destination.

- nst

written by krising1, November 04, 2008 08:55:00
Citizen Nades would have had an extra pint of beer after hearing about this. She was giving him a hard time over her misdeeds revealed in the SUn.

It looks like she is not going to win any post in UMNO. Does it mean her minister's post is going kaboom? Have an other extra pint Mr. Citizen.
written by loosecannon, November 04, 2008 09:12:25
As I said many times before, she's very incompetent. She talks nonsense and she has grandiose illusion. Remember the multi-million sports complex she was rooting for in London? She also spiteful by shutting off all funds to the rakyat just because they voted opposition. Someone kick her out please.
written by RumahPanjai, November 04, 2008 09:25:16
That's another of UMNO's minister who treats the rakyat and fellow MPs with contempt. Statistic shows that all her female cabinet ministers have been lying with inpunity too. All incompetent misfits!
written by Rundukon, November 04, 2008 09:36:13
Azalina is a lawyer. She knew how to use her words. She 'loyar buruk' to gain popularity. She knew that whenever she failed to do something she can always pass the bucks around.
written by BORN FREE, November 04, 2008 09:48:28
Projects here n there means more $$ into her bank accounts !
written by kislean, November 04, 2008 10:10:36
It'll really make my day and many others too if she ain't a minister no more.
written by JohnQ, November 04, 2008 10:11:20
Tried searching www.pornpromises.com to download highlights featuring "azalesbiana" but returned 404 error! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by hiro, November 04, 2008 10:14:10
It's end of the road for Azalina in UMNO politics, and for that matter, Malaysian politics. She's Badawi's niece.
written by wood, November 04, 2008 10:25:44
Hello Datuk Azalina, just in case you forgot, as a Minister you are supposed to implement any of your projects for all rakyat, irrespective of whether it is a BN constituency. Rakyat from the non BN constituencies also pay taxes and you also get your salary from them, so why there is a difference in the implementation.?
written by POTH, November 04, 2008 10:32:48
This is politics, they want you to pay your taxes no matter which states your are from. But when distrubuting the wealth of the country that time, it will be according to the who you are and ruling or non ruling states.
written by temenggong, November 04, 2008 10:54:48
No, rulling would be korek! Depends on which dialect of english! smilies/grin.gif
written by shamadz72, November 04, 2008 11:10:56
Can someone also grill this Anak Dara Tua on the need to have too many personal assistance under his ministry? In fact his ministry have the most number of personal assistance and it is way above the guideline circulation made by the Ministry Of Finance
written by shamadz72, November 04, 2008 11:11:29
Sorry.. in my earlier posting, it should be Her and Not his. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Toyolbuster, November 04, 2008 11:19:17
A LESBO shud stay as a LESBO and not try to play politics.
When the mentor has left the building, so would she. Sports in Malaysia is F'ed, youths are turning either Faggots or Rempits, and Tourism for Malaysia has become mainly outbound.
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 11:26:53
Twice in a row she didn't win her election fairly. For some unexplained reasons her opponents always backed out at the last minute. This is one minister I love to see dropped from the cabinet.
written by Kreator, November 04, 2008 12:05:34
Her marital status or sexual preference should not be the issue. Her incompetence is the main issue. Hope everyone understands that.
written by cllim123, November 04, 2008 12:13:43
There is a religious fatwa against women dressing up and looking like male. Wonder if the Jais guys are going to parliament to make an arrest?
written by justinlian, November 04, 2008 13:58:13
Get Fatwa to comment her...
written by pixieface, November 04, 2008 14:25:45
Azlina! Badawi niece???. Woh no wonder she always act 'cocky'.
Wasn't there a ruling by fatwa about tomboys recently.
Alamak!!! more and more dirty linen hanging out to dry!!!
WHATS NEXT???
Malaysia must be the laughing stock of the world.
So much trash happening non stop. One after another.
When will it end??? Till PR become govt ? Maybe.....
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 04, 2008 15:18:33
Nothing about Azalina makes sense....and nothing ever will...... smilies/tongue.gif
written by Nunudada, November 04, 2008 15:50:47
I think that we are all mis-judging this person.She is in fact building a stadium in an opposition strong-hold.Hence,if one goes to Wangsa Maju,one can see the stadium and sports complex being built.She deserves some credit for proceeding with this in an opposition area.Azalina has always been mis-judged.People tend to think that she is inclined in one direction but the truth is that she is inclined the other way.
written by carribeanking7, November 04, 2008 17:35:23
Citizen Nades related once how his microphone was taken away from him at a recent press conference when he posed tough questions at the sports minister.
Nades also said Azalina had challenged him to stand for election if he didn't agree with her.

The irony is she won her pengerang seat 2 times in a row unopposed due to technicalities.

She also incurred the wrath of bloggers when she accused them of being cowards and warned they are being monitored.

written by Aming, November 04, 2008 17:36:14
Congratulations Minister. You are performing excellently as a true blue UMNO minister. Bull-shiting, talking C**k, inept and delusionary. That is the hall-mark you displayed in Parliament.
written by Dongra Dude, November 04, 2008 18:40:20
Anyway even she loose the UMNO Wanita election, she is still the President of MAL (Malaysian Association of LESBO) smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by No nonsense, November 04, 2008 19:21:46
Whoever the Amno put there is for the rakyat to see only. Even if they can get mone from the Central Gorv., yet promises are not fulfill then why make noise and say that the oppositon cant fulfill their promises when they do not get any from the Gorv. BN know how to bluff the rakyat all the time by saying this and saying that but all empty words just like dogs barking but no bite. Tha is what you expect from the beginning when you choose BN. Why make noise now?
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 04, 2008 21:38:25
Take a look at the UMNO building in KL. almost half the building is filled with the staff of her Ministry ...you go there they are all touring..

what a waste of space and the people's money...

this woman has been playing the seducing the public with her games..now she is playing strip poker...the public will be surprised when she is completely stripped!!!! and maybe tomboys need to be fatwa-ed.
written by fromamovingtrain, November 04, 2008 23:12:48
She also promised to make public the sukom 98 accounts, during her tenure as sports minister. Habok pun tarak.
written by bn haramjadah, November 05, 2008 00:52:49
hai yah what want to talk some more, remember KARAMJIT SINGH, he couldn't even get a sponser for his rallying, wasn't he a world champion in his category, but because he is a non bumi, look how he was ignored, this was when indon passed away, even when padawi asked her to look into it, she made things so bloody difficult he basiclly said fock off and gave up rallying. that is AZALINA and umno for you. their ministries are for making money for their cronies through project. but all talk and bullshite walks/ no wonder malaysian sports dropped under her that preveous moron call mr krishammudin, and before that all the other clowns. DO YOU KNOW WHY MALAYSIAN SPORTS HAS FALLEN, LOOK AT SOCCER, instead of having a multi racial team, like the days of mokhtar soh chin ann, santokh singh, arumugam, what do we have now ony one horse race. this is called ketuanan, but tuan of what i ask? tuan of zero acccomplishments. hello where are our sports trophies, no use having big stadiums, when they are kosong. gaya mesti ada, kalah takpa! ptui. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif bloody haramjadahs
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:45:32
Aiiiyaaaa.... azxalina aaah...

better just open a lesbian centre...

but then again someone is going to issue another fatwah on lesbians.. uhuhuhhhhhuuuuu