Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid not going to apologise for Ketuanan Melayu statement

Zaid not going to apologise for Ketuanan Melayu statement PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 04 November 2008 00:19

Ian McIntyre, The Star

Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has hit back at three Umno supreme council members for asking him to apologise over remarks that he made about Ketuanan Melayu (Malay supremacy).

Stressing that he would never apologise, Zaid said it was because he loved his Malay race that he recommended open competition be allowed to ensure the race could compete with others in a globalised age.

“I am not surprised by the reaction of some Umno leaders especially since they have an ongoing party election,” he said in a statement on Monday.

“I am a village boy from a poor family, not an aristocrat or royalty. I want to see the Malays succeed in economy and education.”

Zaid said he was not questioning the special rights of Malays as enshrined in the Constitution.

He said the new model that he recommended was based on openness to ensure young Malays closed ranks and cooperated not only with other races in the country but also foreigners.

He named Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Syed Albar, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassin and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib as the three supreme council members.

Zaid had pointed out recently that the Malay supremacy concept had failed and distracted from the real issues confronting the country.

He said on Monday that he hoped Malays could differentiate between leaders who thought of their interests from those who only used the name of Malays for political mileage.

He said the concept of Malay supremacy had a negative element that was racist and implied that they only wanted to become masters without knowing how to struggle or be responsible.

He added it was not a clear reflection of the race and such an image weakened them.

Also Read: Apologise, Syed Hamid tells Zaid

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Kunta Kinte, November 04, 2008 00:26:01
Whack them Zaid! Who are these people to ask you to apologize? Culprits among the culprits. They are trying to put on a show in front of Najib so that they will hold important positions.
written by raven1958, November 04, 2008 00:27:30
UMNO doesnt realise that it is dying a horrible death......as Malays desert them......the frantic that grips the top lanuns in the party is more obvious by the day.....the country is falling apart....the financial storm has reached Malaysia.........it's free for all and grab whatever that is left....the final blow will be delivered when this charade of a government calls for the inevitable snap election.......this time round Sabah and Sarawak will be the first to fall........
written by Fuminari, November 04, 2008 00:29:12
that's right,great lad zaid;u are perfectly right to ask that arab posing as malay to go n fly kite!
written by DreamLady, November 04, 2008 00:33:12
Datuk Zaid, be steadfast in your committment as a people person. There is no need for you to say sorry to the low-life.

Throughout the campaign period, these goons are hungry for blood, more blood, the more the merrier, and now they are after yours, cos' yours is tastier and sweeter.

Be wary, Zaid, watch your back constantly. These creatures are capable of inflicting upon you the most despicable harm ....

We rakyat do not want you to get hurt on our account, because we love you for loving us so much...

May God stands by you..............
written by countryman, November 04, 2008 00:33:48
Zaid, you don't have to bother about them as they are just after political mileage for their own election benefit. As long as what you do is morally correct and in the best interests of the country, all these scumbags can go to hell! We'll all support you!!!
written by ASK4u, November 04, 2008 00:35:14
English illiterates couldn't understand your writing, Datuk Zaid. Next time must use 'Manglish' instead. Oh I forgot, one of the tri*** with a double M probably read your article without engaging a translator. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 00:44:38
Tan Sri Khalid too was in a similar position when he asked UiTM to open up 10% to non Bumis. Khalid just wanted the Malays to start competing with other races but some UMNOputras took it as an opportunity to score political points. They didn't care if scoring political points can be a disservice to the Malay race.
In Zaid's case all he wanted was for the Malays to reflect on a policy that has failed them. It proves these Putras are very inward looking people who do not like competition and have an ego bigger than their he***. It also proves their agendas is really not about uplifting the Malay race but something else.
written by michael chick, November 04, 2008 00:45:48
BRAVO !!! The world Celebrates with you.

written by The Hammer, November 04, 2008 01:00:24
Datuk Zaid, please remain in UMMo. You are like a durian among these rotten cucumbers. They will burst asunder when they try to whack you! Do not opologise to these 3 Stooges! Like the TV show our 3 BN will knock at each silly!
So be true to what you believed in, Datuk ZAid!
written by onnetline, November 04, 2008 01:02:40
Zaid Ibrahim,

You are to be praised for your beliefs in the right perspective of things !

The UMNO elites are nothing but a bunch of shithe*** living in denial.

Bravo, Datuk !
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 01:08:24
Datuk Zaid and Tan Sri Khalid are the new Malays who are forward looking and have their people at heart, for this they have our respect and understanding. But I can't say the same for Al Blur, M2M and Shahidan.
We need more of the Zaids and Khalids if this country is to be saved.
written by RumahPanjai, November 04, 2008 01:13:32
After 50 years, UMNO which professes to have millions of members can only produce one STAR in Zaid. He is for real and a leader whereas the rests are mere followers like blind sheep. UMNO does not help the malays but instead its own leaders and their cronies. Whats left over if any (the crumbs)are then thrown out to the malays.
written by fireduck, November 04, 2008 01:13:35
Yes, Zaid. No need to apologise. Definitely not to that one stupid minister of the home. He never did apologise to all of us rakyat for insulting our intelligence by saying that the ISA was used to protect Ms Tan as her life was in danger.

And the other fella has yet to apologise to the rakyat of Malaysia for smearing Malaysians' good name abroad when he was caught with tons of moolah of dubious origin and intended destination, and then claiming no speeka inglish.

And this Shahidan ..... I don't know what to say about this guy .... just go get a shave, will you. You look too much like a pimp.

And more for that Home Minister. You forgot Zaid is no longer a member of your crony Cabinet or a junior Minister to you. So don't try your bullying tactics on him.
written by Lim Lim, November 04, 2008 01:18:26
this might sound real hard to swallow irregardless of what is ur race;the fact n the reality remain that to support the umno be end orchestrated concept of 'ketuanan melayu' n the NEP is only as good in cohort with the devils, mortgaging away the future of this country n your children to this pack of wolves in sheep clothing posing as the champions of the race!
go after the fact n figure,n stay clear of racial sentiments...you would be able to see more n make the correct judgment on what's umno real agenda on their racist outcries!seems its the only capability from the pack of goons with respective to their doctrine to rule n govern!
written by onnetline, November 04, 2008 01:38:44
Thanks a lot Datuk Zaid for showing the rakyat that there are no less than 3 racist cavemen living in Malaysia !
written by onnetline, November 04, 2008 01:42:21
On second thought, I think that these healthy cavemen are no different from retards !
written by Wakeupmsia, November 04, 2008 01:58:31
Datuk Zaid, when you speak, the world lend you their ears.
Datuk Zaid, when you speak in forums, you get genuine standing ovations.

You are a true bred Malay, who have the interest and welfare of the Malay race at heart. We, the non-Malays Malaysians share the same philosophy with you.

RIGHTS or PRIVELEDGE? Let's just evaluate this scenario. If a rich well connected Malay (A) were to buy a property worth RM10mil and get a 7%. Amno says it's his RIGHTS. (A) saves RM700,000. Now, an ordinary Malay (B) buys a low cost flat for RM100,000. He, too gets 7% discount (RM7,000). Amno says it's his RIGHTS. The catch is : (B) will not get the loan cos the banks will demand this and that for colateral whereas (A) being well connected gets the loan with ease. So, the point is : what has Anmo done for the last 51 years to uplift the Malays standards........NONE! It only made the well connected rich Malays Richer.

If it has being Priveledge - (B) would be automatically qualified whereas (A) would be disqualified for the discount.

KETUANAN MELAYU has ONLY enriched the elite groups within the echelon of Amno.

The well connected Malays gets RICHER whereas the ordinary Malays gets POORER.

The message by Datuk Zaid Ibrahim is so clear - KETUANAN MELAYU HAS FAILED THE MALAYS COMMUNITY!

Let's pray and hope that, in the distant future, this will change.

God bless Malaysia.
written by Sandy, November 04, 2008 02:18:36
Datuk Zaid, saya memang kagum dengan kebolehan Datuk mengetengahkan pendirian yang bernas. Saya bukan orang Melayu, tetapi Datuk telah berjaya merapatkan perhubungan antara orang Melayu dengan bukan Melayu. Ucapan dan pendapat Datuk memaparkan pemikiran seorang pemimpin yang diperlukan oleh semua lapisan masyarakat dalam negara ini.

Namun demikian, apa yang merungsingkan saya ialah keselamatan Datuk. Datuk, kami rakyat Malaysia, memerlukan pemimpin seperti Datuk untuk menerajui semangat perpaduan dalam erti kata yang sebenar. Kami tidak boleh membiarkan seorang lagi wira seperti Datuk dihantar ke Kamunting.

Datuk, jaga diri baik-baik.
written by justinlian, November 04, 2008 02:26:52
Datuk Zaid,
You have all our respect for what you are doing but I recommend you not to join any political party at the moment as they will attack you even more .
Stay as where you are and we will see how much they will attack you.
Thank you for voicing out for all malays, chinese and indians.
May god always be at your side.
written by Limang, November 04, 2008 02:29:38
Zaid for PM, and Khalid for DPM!!!

Kich out all the UMNO foreigners and half-breeds who are ruling Malaysia and bringing her to ruin with their robbing and raping the country!!!

The real majority Malays are the ones being played out by these foreign "Malays" and half-breeds, resulting in their being on the wheelchair today and depending on free handouts and government assistance, without which they are inerpt, helpless and weak.

In fact, their minds of the Malays are so brainwashed by these foreigners and half-breeds that they false think that they are mighty, towering and privileged.

Out in the real world, the overwhelming majority of the Malays can't survive, for they cannot compete, need to be spoon-fed, and do not understand the meaning of "Meritocracy".
written by Spear Bing, November 04, 2008 02:42:31
And as sure as the sun shines and the rain falls, the UMNO Mullahs will decree the spectre of fear and threat upon Datuk Zaid.

The UMNO Mullahs will provoke those UMNO ultras and mobilise their grassroot supporters to 'turun padang' to ostracise him.

And to follow up with the standard operating procedures, the JAKIM and the FATWA council will pass a decree that Datuk Zaid will be stripped off from his ethnic origin called 'Malay'

Such is the immensed power and the 'amok' boiling cauldron fury.

And the final blow that will silence the lonely voice of a true Malaysian will be the evocation of Section 8 of ISA and Datuk Zaid will join RPK ....

And the UMNO Mullahs live happily ever after in the state of utter denial.
written by justinlian, November 04, 2008 03:37:07
hehehehe....
Funny as it is.
One day the ultraMan will get cuckoo and say NO... Zaid is not malay,, he is a chinese then one will say, NO... Zaid is a Indian... then comes the third, NO.... He is not Malay ,,, he is Superman............ then we know why Superman become so famous than Ultraman is all becoms of the 3 stooges of malaysia
written by Msian Idol3, November 04, 2008 05:47:28
Bravo Datuk Zaid. You put it right for your race. For the truly handicapped or deserving they deserve all Msian help. For the able, they better get to work & earn the respects they want. We want Msia to move forward & to raise our kids to have mutual respect for all human beings. This is the kind of stuff we want our leaders to have, something Datuk Zaid have -- willng to be right humanly than politically right. What a shame the gomen cannot see & utilise such an immense talent to make Msia better. I know Datuk Zaid would be in their face trying to prevent their habitual traits in korek, korek.
written by Taufique, November 04, 2008 06:05:03
Now this is a real gem of a man, a man worthy of the Datukship.
written by asiseesit, November 04, 2008 06:05:09
You apologise to no one. It's a reality that UMNO is still in denial. They spoke of changing UMNO to take them thru and even now, with their election coming, still harping on race issues.

Imagine seeing those BN leaders making a stance on maintaining NEP, ketuanan melayu and all the laws and policies just to safeguard themselves.

I wouldn't be suprise if Syed Hamid wants to put you under ISA for insulting the malays. If that happens, but i don't think he's stupid enough to do that. just think of the international repercussion.
written by JUST, November 04, 2008 06:43:14
Syabas YB! Up-hold your principles!
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Nation!
written by ylcc, November 04, 2008 07:24:03
In the 60s, my best friends in class were Malays and Indians. I used to love going to my Malay aunties for lunch and Hari Rayas, and they in turn love my mum's love letters!

My Malay friends did better than the Chinese and Indians in class!!! They were so hardworking, always with their noses in the books, and would cry when they did not do well. The head prefect was a Malay - that means she had to be a leader and all-rounder. I remember how proud they were when they aced the 'O' and 'A' levels in English. Most of them then went on to the University and a good career - and I can vouch that it was through their own efforts as the NEP did not exist during that time!
written by liko, November 04, 2008 07:44:44
Right on track Sir! People like you should be the one in the fore-front. You are one of the rare gems amongst the so many so-called leaders. May God's grace be upon you always.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 04, 2008 08:06:50
He named Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Syed Albar, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassin and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib as the three supreme council members

YEP. THATS HOW SOURGRAPES WILL REACT. IT ALSO SHOWS THAT EMPTY VESSELS MAKE
THE MOST NOISE. ZAID, YOU WILL BE THE ENVY OF ALL THE CORRUPTED AMENO WHO CANNOT HV U UNDER THEIR CONTROL. HOW YR GEM OF JUSTICE SHINES AMONGST THEIR SO CALLED 2 MILLION MEMBERSHIP. WELL, OF COURSE THEY CAN BOAST OF SAIFUL, EZAM, AHMad ISMAIL, RAHIM, M2M....EAAUGHHHH
written by VIPER, November 04, 2008 08:07:11
Looks like there will be anoher short story by the famous local daily.
written by JJFoo, November 04, 2008 08:14:04
Zaid, you are one of those few ethnic Malay who is wise enough to see through the smokescreen, even fewer are brave enough to stand up and speak out against it. That itself speaks volume about your characters. I salute you.

What to apologize? If you spoken only the truth? Those who are asking the “speaker of truth” to apologize manage only to prove their own malicious character.

It is those who are frothing at their mouth, demanding Zaid6 to apologize are the ones the RAKYAT must take note and remember, those are the dangerous elements of the society.

written by Taikohtai, November 04, 2008 08:21:19
Datuk Zaid should apologise:
He should apologise for calling a spade a spade.
He should apologise for speaking the truth.
He should also apologise for trying to wake up more Malays that they have been hookwinked all these years by their leaders.
And he should say sorry for his push for a united Malaysian front, for a Bangsa Malaysia.
Now I dare the three stooges to accept his above apologies........ smilies/wink.gif
written by Mark C, November 04, 2008 09:57:47
Zaid needs to apologize but Ahmad Ismail doesn't need to? Wtf is this country heading to I wonder?
written by shepherdvoyage, November 04, 2008 10:19:11
YAB Datuk Zaid

I really appreciate what you are trying very hard to do to create a strong, prosperous and harmonious pluralistic Malaysia.

I am deeply impressed by your fearlessness in calling for judicial reform, in championing racial equality and the protection of the rights and dignity of all races, in standing up for the oppressed, in voicing differences, in condemning the government for the unfair policies and in criticising the people of your race for spreading racism.

All these make you a great person!
written by CPY, November 04, 2008 10:39:33
Wow! If all Malay leader thinks like you, we don't need to migrate @ all!
written by truthbespoken, November 04, 2008 11:01:13
If there is going to be any APOLOGY from anyone, it should come from Syed Hamid and the likes of him to the Nation for their short-sightedness and stupidity!
written by wood, November 04, 2008 11:37:19
Some like coffee and some like tea. I prefer to like Datuk Zaid , the rest "you" can have !
written by miwaki, November 04, 2008 12:13:32
I give up on these 3 chaps,if they can be ministers in Malaysia,I should be the PM then.By the way,Shahidan is Mr 10% in Perlis,even shop keepers in Kangar know about it.
written by adan, November 04, 2008 13:34:07
As usual, with his one-track mind ,Syed is confused. Apology should come from people who abuse and misuse their power to be cruel and wicked to others .. and NOT from people who respect and value human rights and human dignity... and above all, self -concept and self-worth.
written by Wahyu, November 04, 2008 13:35:10
Syed hamidd perlu baca Ucapan yang diberikan oleh Zaid sekali lagi,
dan berasa kesal bahawa pemikiran seperti dirinya bersama shahidan dan taib
yang telah menyebabkan kebanyakan Orang Melayu kini mundur kerana tidak dapat bersaing dalam Era Globalisasi ini yang kian mencabar. Inilah maksudnya Sakit tua di kalangan pemimpin umno.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 04, 2008 23:58:05
Here comes the "KANDANG MENTALITY" Where got Malay Supremacy ONE?
You pakai kot sama tie, sama kelvin klyne punya cawat..kasut gucci.
jam tangan tag heur..makan dihotel macam orang puteh...you kata Malay Supremacy..ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
Orang bincang tentang ekonomi dunia turn naik dan nak ke Marikh..(dah jejak bulan)..(Melayu hanya jadi penumpang ke angkasa..bau kuntut orang Rusia)
depa dah Malay Supremacy cakap tentang "tomboys" dan " Yoga halal haam"..ka ka ka --ka ka ka ka ka ka..(Ayoh Mentality Orang baru keluar dari Hutan")

Hello bodoh UMNO don't make the Malays loose their self-esteem some more lah!!!
Dunia sudah berlangkah 300 tahun dengan macam2 rekaan baru..Malay Supremacy ikut saja..pinjam idea..beli dengan dana minyak dan wang cukai rakyat ..dia dah Malay supremacy..Manalah oi UMNO awak buat satu titik rekaan baru untuk dunia yang boleh di contohi sedangkan semua dari kereta proton hingga TWIN TOWERS, tandas dan alat cuci pant**t direka orang lain??? ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka ka
ORANG JEPUN YANG KITA IKUT "LOOK WEST" PUN TAK BISEK "JAPANESE SUPREMACY!!!!

KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA ..AYOH SAYA PAKSA BERHENTI..KALAU TIDAK SAYA AKAN PENGSAN KETAWA...BETAPA BODOH ORANG TUA UMNO!!!!

JANGAN LAH AWAK BODOH DAN KERANA KAMU KANAK2 KAMU LABEL BODOH JUGA!!!!

KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA KA....alat cuci pant**t pun tak boleh reka!!!