Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Doubts over Valuecap due to lack of detail from government, say MPs

Doubts over Valuecap due to lack of detail from government, say MPs PDF Print
Monday, 03 November 2008 23:58

Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Legislators from across the political divide agreed that the lack of information concerning the proposed RM5 billion loan to ValueCap from the Employees Provident Fund raised questions over the move.

However, there was no consensus over the implications of the state investment company still owing RM5.1 billion in interest-bearing unsecured bonds.

The Malaysian Insider had today broken the news that ValueCap Sdn Bhd still owed the sum in bonds which were due to mature in Feb 2006 but was then extended to Feb 2009.

The debt was incurred in March 2003, when ValueCap borrowed the amount from shareholders Khazanah Nasional, Kumpulan Wang Amanah Pencen and Permodalan Nasional Bhd to invest in the stock market.

Chua Tee Yong (BN-Labis) said that he understood the "public sentiment" that "they are taking my money and screwing around" due to the coincidental timing and amounts involved.

DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang concurred, saying that the revelation that the bonds are due to mature soon raised  "valid questions over a lack of proper accountability and transparency in the running of ValueCap."

"The credibility of the government is at stake as there are already reasons for suspicions over this proposal, the root of which is the crisis of confidence in our government."

DAP publicity chief Tony Pua also released a statement on behalf of the party, asking if Finance Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak has "misled Malaysians with regards to the purpose of the RM5 billion loan from EPF to ValueCap?"

"The purpose of the RM5 billion load from EPF to ValueCap as instructed by the Finance Minister is a clear case of a mega bail-out of Valuecap whose investment lifespan has already ended nearly 3 years ago.," the statement from the Petaling Jaya Utara MP said.

DAP further called on Najib, who is also Deputy Prime Minister, to immediately cancel the injection into ValueCap, as it "has failed to even protect the principal value of the stocks despite the fact that the market has enjoyed a spectacular bull run till early this year."

It also demanded a full disclosure of ValueCap investment since 2003 to explain its inability to repay the initial loans.

BN MPs however, said that it could not be concluded that EPF funds would be used to bail Valuecap out from its outstanding debt.

"Without further details, I cannot speculate on how the funds will be utilised. But I hope the government releases more information, then question marks can be answered," Chua told The Malaysian Insider.

Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak) also insisted that there were many ways for businesses to restructure loans and the extension of the bonds' maturity did not mean that the EPF money would be squandered.

"Valuecap is an investment company run by professionals and the government would have considered the pros and cons of the move. After all, the funds are guaranteed by the government," Tajuddin added.

"EPF is meant to provide funds to earn profits from such investments. Valuecap is just the vehicle. What is wrong with buying undervalued stocks?"

The Umno MP also said that the government was not covering up details but it was standard practice in the business world to keep strategies and plans close to one's chest insteaf of "declaring everything to the whole world."

When contacted, Khazanah Nasional said it would respond to the issue tomorrow.

written by binarytan, November 04, 2008 00:03:02
from a normal citizen, our EPF should not be wrongly used.

I have no confident that umno is using the money wisely, may be just to save those GLCs and a small group of umno cronies.

how could them survive without gomen interference? typical adat tongkat and ketuanan melayu.

written by red door, November 04, 2008 00:04:53
Seems like another gimmick in using people's money for a damn cronies bailout! Perhaps it's another transaction for buying ONMU presidential nomination votes!!!

written by HamChak, November 04, 2008 00:10:25
Who do you think you guys are?
You dare to question Najis and Cronies?
Have you not heard of C4 into your Arse.

Maybe Botak Syed will ISA you for causing so much interference.
written by Tan Tan, November 04, 2008 00:20:15
r u guys nut!!!! since when did government can use our money and let someone buy share...wat happen if the investment gone!!! who paying us back!
written by Spear Bing, November 04, 2008 00:31:12
Dear Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak),

This RM 5 Billion loan is taxpayers' money. It is their right to demand full transparency and accountability.

Investment strategies and 'keeping close to one's chest' are another issue altogether.
written by wongsen, November 04, 2008 00:40:14
what a load crap from this Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak), I wonder where did he graduate from.

"The Umno MP also said that the government was not covering up details but it was standard practice in the business world to keep strategies and plans close to one's chest insteaf of "declaring everything to the whole world"

Nobody is interested in Valuecap's strategy. We are only interested in their account , are they making or losing money. All Trust Fund Management in the market publish their acoount balance annually.

Another one of those UMNO MP from BolehLand. IS there any hope left in Malaysia.
written by wongsen, November 04, 2008 00:45:51
"Valuecap is an investment company run by professionals and the government would have considered the pros and cons of the move. After all, the funds are guaranteed by the government," Tajuddin added

So are all the Trust Fund all over the world (managed by so called professional), all of them are losing money. I have Bond fund in US and UK that are losing money for the past three month.

In essence ,nobody in the world can guarantee an investment will alway make money, you could lost some serious money. That's why all investment scheme involve a risk profile to evaluate how many % of the principal you can afford to lost.
written by onnetline, November 04, 2008 01:18:31
Tajuddin,

Don't try to show us that you're some kind of idiot with your kind of comments, please !
written by michael chick, November 04, 2008 02:08:26
Najib Sees Valuecap like this...

Malaysians, you will watch your EPF go into his pocket right before your eyes.
You will not be able to do anything about it unless

YOU GET RID OF NAJIB TODAY !!!

written by michael chick, November 04, 2008 02:09:05
Sorry. Wrong Image

written by ManOnTheStreet, November 04, 2008 02:57:07
"Valuecap is an investment company run by professionals and the government would have considered the pros and cons of the move"
And these are the so-called 'professionals' who are unable to repay the bonds to its shareholders even back when the markets were bullish. I'm sure the majority of us 'un-professional' casual stock market investors made some profit during those times. And yes, I'm also sure the government considered the pros and cons of the move - pros for the companies being invested in (or bailed out, if you prefer) and cons for the EPF contributors.

"After all, the funds are guaranteed by the government," Tajuddin added"
So if ValueCap defaults on the loan from EPF, the liability will be shouldered by the government. Sounds awesome. Except that the government deals in public funds. Contributed by tax payers. Who contributed to EPF in the first place.

"What is wrong with buying undervalued stocks?"
Nothing, if the company is financially viable, fundamentally sound, has an experienced and well-qualified management team, and transparent in its disclosures to the public. But the worry is that this exercise is instead just to boost the lagging share price so that its well-connected shareholders can conveniently cash out with some profit while ValueCap is left holding the bag.
written by gundohing, November 04, 2008 06:18:19
Valuecap is nothing more than just a suicide vehicle to bail out the UMNO elites.
written by Bloodhound, November 04, 2008 08:08:23
Regardless of whatever had been said, the ability of the management of an organisation can always be reliably ascertained by looking at their past performances.

When you have a capable manager/leader or team, the company should always be operating at maximum capacity/value for shareholders with corresponding profitable results arising from adoption of well thought out strategies and action plans.

When times are goood, their profitability should be solid and when times are bad, their strategies should change accordingly to manage a reasonable outcome of either a smaller profit or minimising any potential losses.

History is always a correct record of what had occured (failures and successes) in the past and as such should serve as an indicator of what can happen in the future if nothing changes! It's a reflection of the management capability and effectiveness in good times and in bad.

A history of losses, even when times are good, should be a major concern about the capabilities of the management of an organisation. Having losses which can or has wiped out a significant portion of its capital is an indication of the horrendous lack of capability of its management.

These incapabilities and thus, losses could have been contained immediately but because of lack of monitoring or indifference by those charged with overseeing its activities and because of the continuing resistance against disclosure of more details on its activities and performance, the losses naturally keeps piling up - until the current stage of decay!

Lack of capability, accountability and transparency ..(C.A.T.????), has lead to a stage where unnecessary thumping losses of hard earned funds had to be revealed because when the cash dries up......they come calling again - for more and more money.

This time, we are told that the money was to invest in investments with high returns! With such a track record, will you want to be part of such a "rewarding" investment concept? For me, it's very simple....even if they promised a 100% returns on such investments, I will not even touch them with a long, long pole. Promises are easy to give - they are mere words. Most likely, looking at the historical performances, such 100% returns promised would most likely result in 100% of such investments going down the drain.

What happens then??...especially if the funds are already gone and a new set of leaders (whether BN or PR) are at the helm of the government? Promises and guarantees are only as good as the ability and willingness(of those who offers them) to fulfill them. Nothing can be done - not even the Court option would be of any use!

Protect your lifestyle in retirement. Give notice to those currently in charge of your money - say no to such blatant attempt to abuse and misuse your hard earned savings! The records of these organisations must be thoroughly exposed.
written by bn haramjadah, November 05, 2008 08:36:02
Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak) also insisted that there were many ways for businesses to restructure loans and the extension of the bonds' maturity did not mean that the EPF money would be squandered.

YES WE KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN MORON TAJUDDIN, ALL PROFITS PRIVATISED AND ALL LOSSES SOCIALISED

"Valuecap is an investment company run by professionals and the government would have considered the pros and cons of the move. After all, the funds are guaranteed by the government," Tajuddin added.
WHY IS IT WHEN YOUR SO CALLED PROFESSIONALS RUN COMPANIES ALL LOSE MONEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?????? WHAT PROFESSIONALS MORON?

"EPF is meant to provide funds to earn profits from such investments. Valuecap is just the vehicle. What is wrong with buying undervalued stocks?"

HOI MORON ALL STOCKS DROPPING LIKE A TON OF SHIT, WHY SHOULD OUR EPF MONEY BE USED, HAVEN'T YOU BASTARDS LOST ENOUGH OF OUR SAVING SO MUCH SO THAT WE GET VERY LOW INTEREST OF 4%, WHEN BEFORE WE WERE GETTING 8%, DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH I LOSE EVERY YEAR BLOODY BLOOD-SUCKING B**T**D...
JUST SAY I HAVE SAVINGS OF RM 100,000 X 4% = rm 4,000 interest when i should be getting RM 8,000 per year, from 10 years ago the interest has been low, I have loss of income due from my savings close to RM 40,000, SO I PAID RM 40,000 FOR YOUR FOCKING LOSSES?? MANA BOLIH, I COME TO YOUR HAOUSE AND COLLECT THIS CAN OR NOT.????

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif