Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Irene Fernandez: The Best or Worst of Malaysia?

Irene Fernandez: The Best or Worst of Malaysia? PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 03 November 2008 23:30
It is a textbook case of laws being used to crush critics of governmental operations. Malaysia may be 9,296 miles from the United States, but the theme of authorities seeking to silence protest is a universal one. Thus when such a bell tolls, it can toll for thee.

The criminal appeal of Irene Fernandez, age 62, begins (Oct. 28-30) at the Criminal High Court in Kuala Lumpur. It is the longest running legal attempt in Malaysian history to punish a bearer of bad news. In August 1995, Fernandez made public her report, Abuses, Torture and Dehumanised Treatment of Migrant Workers at Detention Centres. It was based on interviews with 300 detainees, each of whom Fernandez spoke with in her role as director and co-founder of Tenaganita, a non-governmental organization (NGO) in Kuala Lumpur that has worked to protect the rights of foreign workers since 1991.

She gave voice to bloodied and abused immigrants held in centers pending deportation. Unspeakable filth, dehydration and rape of children were part of her documented report. In 2003 she was convicted of “maliciously publishing false news,” under Section 8A(2) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act (1984) - even though the Malaysian government did admit to 46 detention-center related deaths.

Released on bail pending her appeal, Fernandez continued her work on behalf of women, children, migrant workers and the poor in Malaysia. The PPPA gave absolute discretion and broad powers to the Minister of Home Affairs to ban or restrict “undesirable publications.” Later it was found to breach the fundamental right to freedom of expression by the UN Human Rights Committee and other constitutional courts around the world.

Now 13 years and 300 court appearances later, the legal wrangling may end. High Court Judge Yang Arif Hakim Dato’ Haji Mohamad Apandi Bin Haji Ali wants to resolve Fernandez’s case this year. Perhaps Judge Apandi’s call for resolution may signal a positive turning point. In a country struggling to fight against corruption, perhaps Judge Apandi’s court will see justice finally served. The facts in Fernandez’ favor are too overwhelming for revisionist history.

Read More Here

written by Hakim Joe, November 03, 2008 23:48:38
Facts are one thing. The gomen's requirements are yet another thing.
Can the gomen afford to own up to such vile accusations?
Is there such a thing as the separation of powers here in Boleh-land?
Maybe and just maybe our new PM will want to be seen as fair and prosecutes those involved.
Let us hope so!

written by DreamLady, November 03, 2008 23:53:04
Our government condemns US's treatment of prisoners, but fails to take notice of its insane ISA law used to shut the rakyat's mouth up.

The case of calling the kettle black............

Irene, we owe you for your tremendous effort and spirit in search for the truth that exposes the ugly side of the Malaysian government. 13 years of agony you endured in order to fight against injustice and cruelty is beyond any single soul's imagination...

We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your selfless spirit. May God be with you constantly, and shines the path you walk on......
written by DXB2008, November 03, 2008 23:58:52
Irene is the best of Malaysia that represents the real struggle to improve the situation among those unfortunate victims of circumtances and his case is the worst that the gomen can justify to shut up the voices of reasons.
http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...ce-to.html
written by Spear Bing, November 04, 2008 00:37:17
Let's dedicte this saying to Irene Fernadez:

"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent."

- Calvin Coolidge
written by Taufique, November 04, 2008 05:48:15
more like, the worst seems to happen to the best of Malaysia.
written by hamid, November 04, 2008 08:19:58
Why Malaysian CLING on to FALSE hope does baffle me.

Its always PERHAPS...IF.....WOULD....HOPE

Well we have been waiting for Agong Sultan to Intervene. What improvement have we seen apart from some songkok issues? Have the songkok Big Deal made Malaysia any better?

Hope Every New administration would improve things.

Yet we are still left with (after 51 years) a more Draconian admin UMNO-BN. No Freedom of Religion, Press and From ISA. Let alone freedom from Discrimination.

Is the Rakyat so weak and muted or Must Rakyat be encourage to ACT like Mat Kilau. Secretly doing its best to Undermine UMNO-BN.

Think Disruption, disruption, Boycott and being anonymous doing it. Be a hero, be seen and BE ended up like Raja Petra. Do it now but be an unknown. Disrupt all UMNO-BN tools all over Malaysia. Police, cawangan UMNO-BN, home of corrupt officials! Why wait in hope?? I am doing my little Kacau cos I think the Agong/Sultan will do nothing!! Its the People Stupid!! People have the Power and never forget that.
written by pixieface, November 04, 2008 12:38:37
This malaysian 'Joan of Arc' deserve to be vindicated. Her endless fight for
human dignity brings shame to the present regime.
SHE SHOULD BE AWARDED DAMAGES FOR THE INJUSTICE DONE TO HER.
WE NOW MUST VOICE OUT AGAINST THE INJUSTICE AND UNFAIR TREATMENT OF ALL NGOs.
Its time that we the rakyat not sit back and let only those who are brave
take the rap. Its typical of malaysians thinking and rational.
As long as it is not happening to us personally, we do nothing at all.
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL.
WAKE UP PEOPLE! WAKE UP! STAND UP AND BE COUNTED.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 05, 2008 00:38:33
tHIS HAPPENED DURING THE MOTHER OF ALL TMAMAK'S TIME...

THE BENDING OF THE JUDICIARY...CORRRRRECT, CORRRRRECT. CORRRRECT..

......AND NOW .. AN ALLEGED MURDERER OR MURDERESS IS FREE.....

WILL OUR COURTS...BE RESPECTED OH ALLAH???
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:54:00
i myself saw with my own eyes cops beating foreigners in front of a police station.

even thought i hate illegal immigrants, THIS DOES NOT GIVE THE FUKKKNG POLICE THE RIGHT TO INFLICT HARM to any prisoners... only the judiciary can prescribe the punishment... fukk you polis idiots..