Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Are These Ads Racist?

Are These Ads Racist? PDF Print
Monday, 03 November 2008 23:26
I note that a lot of the comments in the MT website criticize UMNO and the NEP and various other policies as racist. I wonder if the commenters would consider the following job ads as racist also:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Company Information

Company Name:Electplus Industry Sdn Bhd

Industry:Other

Job Description

An established cable distributor located in Bandar Sunway is looking for suitable candidates to fill the following position: 

Account cum Admin Assistant (Immediate Vacancy - 1 Position) 
Requirements:

• LCCI in Accounting or its equivalent/SPM with minimum 2-3 years relevant working experience

• Good command of spoken and written communication skills in English, Mandarin and B. Malaysia

• Self motivated and aggresive; able to work independently; positive attitude

• Good proficient in MS Word and Ms Excel; knowledge of Employment ACT (EPF , Socso)

• Female Chinese, below 27 years old

Responsibilities:

• Able to handle payroll; cash flow; issuing cheque; debtor ageing; payment collection; budget; petty cash; computation of sales commission and administrative duties.

Interested candidates, kindly fax or e-mail your resume and photo to be attached to the following:- 
Electplus Industry Sdn Bhd 
Fax: 03-7492 1849 
Email:  This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Location Selangor - Petaling Jaya,Malaysia

Job Description

In line with our business expansion, we wish to invite dedicated and self-motivated individual to apply the following position, based in Shah Alam : -

CUSTOMER SERVICE EXECUTIVE

(2 POSITIONS)

- Maintain existing and expand new buyer

- Organize, conduct sales and product presentation to buyer

- Work closely with buyer in the development of product range

- Proficiency in Mandarin, English and Bahasa Malaysia

- Computer literary in Microsoft Office application

Interested candidates, please email your CV to

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or

call Jane Fong at 016-2173695 for an interview appointment

NATIONWILL SDN BHD (824865-V) (Household product distributor) No.7,

Jalan Sejahtera 25/124,

Section 25,

40400 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are these recruiters racist or are there many jobs in the private sector justifiably suitable only for Malaysians of Chinese ethnic origin? What do these commenters think?

Just picking one web site and doing a keyword search ("mandarin" or "dialect" ) will result in a long list of similar job postings.Try the following link: Here

Regards

Mazlan Manaf

Comments (69)Add Comment
written by Hakim Joe, November 03, 2008 23:42:31
Ya, it is racist as hell but you can't get an old 70 year old cina apek to learn BM now, can u?
As for the female only jobs, it is not racist. More like sexist, agree?
Look at it this way, when the older generation passes us by, the newer generation will be more educated and there won't be a need for mandarin or chinese dialect requirement only.
As they say, "Time is of essence here!"

written by fan73, November 03, 2008 23:45:05
once, there is this add for an assist accountant saying 'Muslim need not apply"...
after a guy 'taruk' the company.. he came to know that the position is handling babi..
haiya no wonder lah...

this case, better call the number... maybe handling haram commodity...

otherwise... flip to next page lah... Rezeki datang dari Allah...
written by yipck, November 03, 2008 23:50:22
First ad is sexist. But to know whether it is racist or not, it depends. Show me any Non-Chinese that are good at figures and yet can speak mandarin, and willing to get low pay.. as the position clearly is very extremely underpaid with overwork.
Only Chinese able to fullfil the requirement.
Will Non-Chinese willing to do it? Lets remove the chinese wording.
Just on Good at figures, able to speak mandarin, overwork and underpay.
** I know many Malays and Indian able to speak fluent Mandarin.

For ad 2.
It is not racist. Its a requirement to speak mandarin, English and BM as part of the job.
Malaysia is multi language country. If to show it is not racist by removing mandadrin, then THAT is racist!
Anyone that can speak mandarin, English and BM will definately have the chance to get the job no matter be it Malay, Indian, Chinese or others.

Plus the companies might be dealing with China counterpart that don't speak good english, don't even speak Malay other than Mandarin.
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 03, 2008 23:50:44
Who says UMNO, or any other political party, or any other ethnic or racial group has a monopoly on racism? They don't. The old hoary cliche is right -- two wrongs do not make a right.

In the US, these sorts of classified ads would be illegal. Are they not illegal under Malaysian law?
written by DXB2008, November 03, 2008 23:54:05
It is even worse in places like Dubai...stated clearly for 'western educated' candidates only, or 'indian origin' only ..
http://1426.********.com/2008/...besar.html
written by Fido, November 03, 2008 23:58:05
1st ad

"Female Chinese, below 27 years old"

- Yes definately racist, and sexist.

2nd Ad

- No i dont see the racist bit. Will we still be calling it racist if the ad says :
"Proficiency in French, English and Bahasa Malaysia" ?

- Anyone can learn to speak mandarin, just like anyone can learn to speak french. I know many chinese who cant speak proper mandarin and on the same note, i know a few malays and indians who can put those chinese to shame with their mandarin skills

written by Tan Tan, November 03, 2008 23:59:35
I must admit the first ad is racist. Sorry if it anger my friends from other races.

The second one, it could be racist and it might not be. As everyone know, a lot of our companies in msia are dealing with Singapore, Taiwan, Hong Kong and most important China. So Mandarin is a must, just like English.

Even the American and British are learning Mandarin as a business language in order to be more competitive as they also view China will be a strong economy power hard to ignore.

Just like us, we learn BM and we can apply for goverment jobs. However, no many Malays in this country willing to learn Mandarin as they view it as being a traitor to their race.

Another example, if anyone wanna to work for a Japanese company or work in Japan, we also need to learn Japanese or they won't hire u.

written by justice, November 04, 2008 00:12:10
1st ad "Female Chinese, below 27 years old"

It's not fair to say this is racist or sexist. For example, the boss could be a married woman, then would it be appropriate if she hires a male assistant who will spend most of the time with her during office hours?

2nd Ad "Proficiency in Mandarin, English and Bahasa Malaysia"

This is not racist at all. It only specifies the language requirements. No one stops you from learning any of these languages!
disagree 21
written by Wakeupmsia, November 04, 2008 00:14:53
I don't think it's racist, Mazlan. It's just a matter of choosing the 'preference candidate'. If you think otherwise, you should look at the roots of the racist problems started by Amno in particular and bn in general.

The civil service is dominated by a single race now.
The civil service was more multi-racial 40 years back.

The Military/Police is dominated by a single race now.
The Miltary/Police was more multi-racial 40 years ago.

Malaysians are more segregated by race today.
Malayan/Malaysians 40 years ago were more UNITED - as one.

Perhaps, as a Malay yourself, should write to Amno and demand them to drop off KETUANAN MELAYU. Today, in a highly competive and globalised world, we need our Malay, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asli, Kadasan/Dusun, Dayaks, Ibans etc, etc to work as ONE - MALAYSIANS. Yes, let's take on the world together.

disagree 16
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 00:17:06
I have on a few occasions met sales people who spoke Mandarin with me but I can't speak Mandarin and it embarasses me like hell. Obviously these people are already ahead of me with an additional skill.
However there are some people who tries to be heroes by putting up this article "Are these ads racist"
Grow up man, if you had that additional language skill you could have got the job instead of whinging about it.
written by wongsen, November 04, 2008 00:21:46
Nowaday, it seem everybody is looking at thing with a Racist Lens. Everybody have their own reason to hire the right person for themself. There are a lot of company out there that are outsourcing their work to company in China. I know for a fact , all the small gifts and souveniors like mug,cigar lighter,Pocket knife and etc are being manufactured in China thru local company who primary deal with design and material selection. With the growing Mainland China economy. Mandarin will become more prominent in hiring people for company that deal a lot with Company from mainland.
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 00:25:08
The sales people who spoke Mandarin to me were Malays and Indians. I am quite sure the boss(Chinese) hired them over other Chinese applicants because of their ethnicity with an additional language skill. Don't look at ads that looks racist, sometimes a Malay or Indian lady could be at an advantage there.
written by SiHangChai, November 04, 2008 00:32:13
Hey, these are china-ah pek companies where most of their customers are lowlychinese educated contractors or purchasers. I don't see a point of discimination. If you talk about discrimination, just look at the army and police forces. All high-ranking positions are given to 1 race. Don't talk bull-shit that non-malay did not want to join forces. It is the actions and results that caused people to stay away.
written by patriotic1994, November 04, 2008 00:34:06
I advertise before and put "Non-Smoker" as part of requirement. The result is everyone bombarding me for being "discriminating"! Well, I was actually thinking to promote healthy environment... and also I cannot stand the smoke, so as all my existing staffs.

Before you claim they are racists, you need to know why they are doing so. They may not even thought of being racist, but due to job requirement.

Most of the time it is due to lack of education. In school, we were taught to NOT TALKING about the race. As a result, we learned about races from our observation around. We see BN government put emphasis on races, so we thought that is THE PROPER WAY to do! So that's how we learn and follow suit.

It is important that Malaysian speak out about races with open mind and open heart. Don't just ignore it and wait for the bomb explode. The one that stop you from talking about races, is BN government. Change them. And we shall have true racial unity with solid foundation.
written by johntyc, November 04, 2008 00:34:48
No, it's not racist! If your customers/clients are mainly Chinese (people from China) and converse mainly in Mandarin, will you hire somebody who can't converse in Mandarin to be your sales person?

Female Chinese, below 27 years old

Dear Mazlan Manaf. You asked this: "Are these recruiters racist or are there many jobs in the private sector justifiably suitable only for Malaysians of Chinese ethnic origin?" Why didn't you ask why is it only female that's suitable for the job? Use your common sense. They're various reason why employer include certain criteria in their job ads.
disagree 17
written by countryman, November 04, 2008 00:40:00
I have also come across a lot of ads that clearly spell out that they are looking for bumiputras only. Is that considered racist?
written by The Hammer, November 04, 2008 00:45:05
There is nothing wrong with the ads; in fact the company have the right to choose whoever they want; So if this company wants a Chinese female it is their perogative because all their existing staff are Chinese. Just imagine a Malay or indian female staff working with hem. If they know or not the language they will eventually becone the butt of their bitchy jokes. Also they will eat pork using the comapny fork and spoon. Do you really think they can last long!
Now, we have some Malays dickie wanting ony their super duper race to be the head of everything under the sun.
So go ahead Chinese, Indian, Mat Salleh employers choose your own race first before hiring from others.
Don't worry about the Malays; the Govt. will be there to assist, guide them and finance them!
written by Jan, November 04, 2008 01:00:44
Many have of my business friends told me they rather have a multi racial staff for obvious reasons. Malaysia have too many ethnic holidays and the last thing they want is for the company to close shop because of that.
But they would only hire if you are competent and have skills they want even if you are an eskimo or a Jakun.
written by onnetline, November 04, 2008 01:15:22
This is to show that we have true talented Malaysians who can actually take up such positions.
And not like some who behaves like retards and expect to be spoon fed.

This is the way of everyone's GOD preference, I believe.
written by RumahPanjai, November 04, 2008 01:24:51
Both advs. be theyr acist or not is irrelevant as they are private corporations and can employ whoever they wish. Now, the goverment which uses tax payers money to pay civil servants uses advs. like " BUMI (Malays) applicants only " is racist! (Borneo island Malaysians are not ragarded as BUMI in Mlaya) Some taxpayers are more equal than others? The government is encouraging racism so there is nothing wrong with advs. as per your article.
written by yipck, November 04, 2008 01:30:01
written by temenggong, November 04, 2008 01:07:33

As everyone know, a lot of our companies in msia are dealing with Singapore, Taiwan, Hong Kong and most important China. So Mandarin is a must, just like English.

China business is always a (useful) excuse.

Let the Chinese, Taiwanese and Honkies learn english or malay! Or hire a translater in China for US1 per hour! That's what I do!

This excuse is just to get around the system lah!

----
That is fracking lame!! China, Taiwan and Hong Kong are economic power and we depend on them. Do you expect them to learn Malay and English so that they can let us do biz with them?

One day should Malaysia be economic power as in Vision 202057. Then we can expect and demand those China, Taiwan, Hong Kong or the rest of the world to learn Malay and communicate and write biz with us in MALAY!!

From the way BN doing now as government, That is NOT possible.
Unless BN is able to beat Singapore's PAP in terms of efficiency, CLEAN, Speed, VISION and optimization. Only then that day will POSSIBLY reachable.

Keep dreaming.....
written by Mee Udang, November 04, 2008 01:34:45
Most of the job today need their employee to speak in mandarin, bcoz most employer 2day is dealing with China on their daily basis. So, my fellows malay frens, better catch up, if not you are going to be left far behind....
We chinese can learn how to speak malay, and so can you learn to speak mandarin.... smilies/wink.gif
written by Mee Udang, November 04, 2008 01:37:31
DID YOU KNOW???

MANDARIN IS THE MOST SPOKEN LANGUAGE IN THE WORLD....
written by tkahyap, November 04, 2008 01:39:35
haiya..simply put la..some chinese employers are racist bastards. we all know why they want chinese employees: can speak chinese la, more hardworking la, blah blah..they are more comfortable with fellow chinese because lets face it, humans are racists. just like PKNS staff don't want to work under low siew moi.

I wish there will be a law preventing any description of race in the advertisement. it reflects badly on our country.

if want to put the mandarin requirement, then must state why (example: to communicate with clients from China)

I am a chinese. I can't read mandarin but can speak it lo (banana chinese). when i was looking for job, it became sort of a handicap too because some jobs really require you travel to china especially and you need a good command of chinese.

I don't have a clear answer to this problem but I doubt anyone does. I understand how Malays feel about this. However, like someone else said here, when a Japanese company requires japanese proficiency, how come nobody is screaming "racism!!" at the japanese? We are very selective in our criticism, don't you think?

Thank you Mazlan Manaf for bringing this up. We need to have a constructive discussion on this.
written by MasterYoda, November 04, 2008 01:40:29
Hoi people,

how about this:

1. Government contract.
Qualification : bumiputra

2. 7 percent house purchase discount.
Qualification : Bumiputra

3. University
Qualification ; Pass only , bumiputra (other races must score straight As)

4. Military promotion.
Qualification : bumiputra

5. Foreigners open company in Malaysia
Qualifiaction : bumiputra share

6. Petronal Petrol Station
Qualification : Bumiputra

and much much more....

number of bumputar who speak mandarine : 1 percent
number of bumiputra's who speak english fluently : minority
number of people who conduct business in English and Mandarin in this world: more than 5 billion.
number of bumiputra who are interested to study English and mandarine : less than 5 percent
number of bumiputra who enjoy watching Senario on TV : most

Not all of us as born priviledged to get bumiputra status. but all of us have the equal right to study differnt languages to excel in life.

I dislike whiners...
written by Maggie, November 04, 2008 01:40:55
The ads definitely biased towards Chinese candidates but I dont blamed them. The businesses are theirs and they pay taxes and dont owe anyone a living.
But if Malays and Malay NGOs can pressure the MB to only appoint Malay for the top post when PKNS belong to the State and thus the people of Selangor, I dont see why these private businesses cannot select its preferred candidates. Even UiTM protested the idea to admit 10% non bumis when it is paid for partly thru the taxes we paid , why cant the businessmen choose who they want? The GLCs or Khazanah would never appoint a non-bumi or foreigner for the CEO post, so why should the private sector recipocates?
The racial selection is practised by the Govt and State Govt and its companies, so what's wrong if the private sector "looked" after the non-malays?
If we all want to be fair, then the Govt should start the ball rolling by using meritocracy for selection of all staff.
The Govt looked after the malays, but who is looking after the poor and not much educated non-malays ?
written by yipck, November 04, 2008 01:44:02
BTW..

I have Malay, Indian, Chinese report to me in Singapore Government projects and we employ over 200 employess for this project and all the races are in the project;.

I can tell you fracking truth is that majority of the Attitude problem is caused by Malay!!! Malay can work, got skill and capabilities as with other Race. BUT its their TIDAK APA ATTITUDE that Kills everyone!!!
** There are some Malay that are good. Some only.

The bad attitude of : I don't know, too much work, Never teach me before, fall death ear on assiged role, I dont want to work hard,etc... Playing disappearance game. I cannot do OT. etc....

Its so fracking attitude problem until we have unofficially STOP hiring Malays!! Do you know how many we have to officially FIRE them as Singapore Government requested them to be out of the Agencies due to breach of Security, and Non performance??

Singapore government is damn strict in Quality, Service Level Agreement and KPI!!! Anyone that fails after were given few chances will be fined and ask to leave. No matter how high ur position are!! Almost Monthly news u can see Government Officers that breach of security being fined and fired.

Back in 70's or 80's, Even the MP that in-charge of Housing was found guilty of corruption charge and causes the Flat to be bad quality, the whole family was punish for permanent Exile out of Singapore!! ** This one heard from the ex singapore army that escorted the MP' and family to the Airfield.
written by Desolated Malaysian, November 04, 2008 01:54:56
Vineeth Menon,

I can understand that you are posting this to clarify. Hence My 2 cents worth says that it IS Racist. The company is www.electplus.com. It is doing business evolving around IT. And their target market maybe people whom is IT literate and hence has some relevant education in English and hence speaking mandarin is not a must. Maybe they wanted it because the management wants easier management style, i.e. speaking in mandarin during meetings.

BUT if their business, target market comes mainly from the mandarin speaking countries or segments, then it is not racist. It is not because they are economic superpower (as mentioned by ypck)or stuff like that, but more so on who is the customer.

If you are selling to the Japanese, of course, without fail, it is understood that if we have a Japanese speaking staff, it is more likely that we can secure the deal. If you are selling to India, a fair advantage will be on your side, if you can speak Tamil or Hindi.

Temenggong, Freedom, Hakim Joe
Just imagine if 2 russian, wanting to sell you the same thing, one expects you to speak Russian but another speaks malay, in terms of ease of negotiation and ease of understanding, with whom will you buy from? The answer, is but of course elementary.

Language is always an advantage. Because the beauty of language is that they allow you to communicate and understand each other. Once you understand each other then, only then we can see beyond what color skin that we have and begin to "know" the person beneath.
written by Daryl, November 04, 2008 02:13:19
Encik Mazlan Manaf
Ad. # 1
The first one yes because it mentioned race and gender. I don't think it is racist because it discriminate against male Chinese as well.

Ad. # 2
No it is not discrimination because it asked for Mandarin which is a type of language and consider skill set. So, no because it might be a requirement to communicate with customers that only speaks Mandarin.

both ar not racist if you think about it because the first one discriminate MALE CHINESE as well as their gender....

Just my two cents....
written by Kaneeneh, November 04, 2008 02:23:17
Are the Malays scrambling for clerical positions? Are they so desperate as to compete for lowly positions? I don't hear anyone complained when the positions stipulate "Bumiputra only need apply"? Malays I know, like the bottom feeder-me, only shake their heads at the NEP. I got a Malay friend who can't afford to send his sister to IKM because they can't scrape together the money to buy books, uniforms, money to kick off an education. Where is NEP?
written by AsamLaksa, November 04, 2008 03:59:20
The first ad is sexually and racially discriminatory. However the company should be given the opportunity to justify the race and sex. If there is no good reason then the company should be advised to practice more equal opportunities.

The second ad is not racially discriminatory. Language skill can be obtained by any person of any race.

The point is that being discriminatory itself is not necessarily wrong, it should be justified. It becomes wrong only if it cannot be soundly justified.
written by aeromaverick, November 04, 2008 04:01:53
Well, why bother about all this? The employers loose out in terms of diversity of markets. Maybe they only intend to conduct business with other Chinese language speakers. In a way, these attitudes will also contribute to their downfall over a couple more decades, in this fast integrating global space.
Now, if you are not having any opportunities at all, it will force you to use all your resources to be smarter and find your own niche. Eventually one will suceed, and it will definitely smell sweeter.
Sad though that there are many commentors here who has jumped to defend all this, almost UMNO manner. So where are the difference? Don't we all deserve each other after all these years for our own myopic views and prejudices?
written by Food Thought, November 04, 2008 04:22:18
Mazlan Manaf, like we're all stupid or what ? How about those adverts that put "Bumiputra only applicants" or some unwritten bumi requirements in our civil service ? Idiot.. my middle finger to you nah, racist. smilies/angry.gif
written by LFLee, November 04, 2008 06:49:40
Yes, both ads are racist.

We Malaysian, in order to show we are not racist, should ask company hire 3 persons (one speak Mandarin, one speak Malay, one speak English) to do one person job (one who can speak three languages) instead. If you own the company, will you do so? Yes, unless that 3 persons willing to accept 1/3 salary of that job.

No, this is NOT racist, but this is a person competency!
You go learn Chinese, English, and Malay if you want the job!

Can I say a company hiring ads that say "a bachelor degree" is needed discriminate all without a Bachelor Degree? NO! It is a job requirement, you want the job? Go get a degree!

If we have to argue over these simple logical thing, it is no wonder why our country human resource competency is so low... Get over it, prepare yourself to be competent, instead of blaming 'why others have more qualification?' 'why they discriminate non-degree holder?'.
written by Catharsis, November 04, 2008 06:57:15
Hello Mazlan Manaf your number two ad is off the mark le-
written by Catharsis, November 04, 2008 07:00:07
Mazlan, I suppose if you can address the BIGGER Chicken and Egg situations this would not and should not have been permitted.................and now you can tell those BIGGEST BIGOTS in the GOVERMENT
written by RitchieLow, November 04, 2008 07:11:27
How are these construed as racist when knowledge of languages are job requirements just like knowledge of MS Word and Ms Excel. Damn, I know only OpenOffice, these racist requirements ?

Openly talking and demanding the rights and privileges of a PARTICULAR race is being racist. Look up in the dictionary.
written by smalluncle, November 04, 2008 08:21:44
Idiot, STOP harping over racist issues. Move on.

Times ahead promise to be bad, for you may be out of job soon. So, go do something constructive and get prepared for the worst.

In order not to be left out, be like our En. Jamal and many others who is fluent in Mandarin. The Many Chinese who are fluent in Bahasa, Many Indians who have good command of Mandarin, Bahasa, English. So the issue here is : ARE YOU WILLING TO LEARN A 2ND OR 3RD LANGUAGE TO BETTER PREPARE YOURSELF?
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 04, 2008 08:27:54
Are These Ads Racist?

PERHAPS U CARE TO ASK THE COMPANY TO EXPLAIN THE REASON WHY THE AD
WAS POSTED IN THIS MANNER. ALSO, EXAMINE THE TYPES OF STAFFS NOW
IN THE COMPANY AND IN PARTICULAR THAT DEPT CONCERNED. IF U HV THE BRAINS,
ANALYSE THESE FIRST BEFORE POSTING
written by PenangHokkienKia, November 04, 2008 08:48:22
Wooit Mazlan, Wooit Temenggong...bila bumiputra dapat 30% shares - that's not racists - don't even questions our rights? Bila bumiputra beli rumah dapat 10-15% discounts for bumi only - that's not racists? - that's entitlement? Bila bumiputra masuk universiti - 70% bumi - that's not racist? - that's to help the melayu? Bila bumiputra gets 99% of goverment office jobs - that's not racists? Bila bumiputra gets all the pinjaman - that's not racists? Bila bumiputra got all the promotions - that's not racists? Bila bumiputra said all the rest are pendatang - that's not racists? Bila bumiputra gets all the contracts - that's not racists? Buka mata, sentuh hati, tengok betul betul baru cakap lah.....
written by PenangHokkienKia, November 04, 2008 09:00:40
And Temenggong said..."Chinese are selfish, Money is their God… They do anything for money…legal or illegal is not the issue."
You are not racists.. what if I said all Bumiputra's God are Rasuah.. dei, pakai otak lah..human natures..some bumiputra even kills for money lah..Why? You mean there's never a single thief, robbers, killers, rapists from Bumiputra? Alhamdulilah! Very alim. Go to Sports Toto, 4D, Magnum and all the judi outlets..you don't see Bumiputra huh? smilies/angry.gif
written by Malaysiaputra, November 04, 2008 09:12:24
written by The dragonheart, November 04, 2008 05:18:31

Since this topic is being discussed, I just want to say something about the Chinese…

=====

Dragonheart, let me ask you a simple question. After some 38 years and billions of ringgit in assistance, loans etc why have the Malays not make tremendous improvement in business ?.

Why are you blaming the Chinese ?. Before , one can say the Malays have no opportunities (all forms) , for the past 38 odd years and until today , it is no excuse that the Malays cannot create their own job opportunities ( there are very many Malay companies with all Malay staffs).

You are like the other Umnoputras , always blaming others. If you are good, I dare you to set up your own business and create more job opportunities for all, irrespective of race or religion.

Stop pointing fingers for there is always 3 other fingers pointing back at you.
written by c53k, November 04, 2008 09:38:56
temenggong / 01:41:53,

“Friend, I have two factories in China! I speako no mandarin. Sing hokkien songs though in karaokes.”

U r looking at a WRONG prospective!

Why?

Bcoz - U don’t run the floor operations – dealing with the production workers at the backgrounds & the casual regular customers at the shopfronts. AND most likely these upholders of yr ‘wealth’ need someone who can speak & understand them, ie be able to communicate with them on their levels.

Bloody ‘closet racist’ – U employ ‘non-Malaysians’ to handle yr foreign workers!

Why? Simply bcoz these non-Malaysians speak the languages to help up-keep yr ‘operations’ that yr ‘wealth’ depends on!

U’ve conveniently forget that these r the people that keep U speak like U do now!

Make one wonder HOW U run yr business – crony-style or AliBaba, take yr pick!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And for this known hole crawler, The dragonheart,

U’ve shown yr true BTN training! Welcome to the graduation!

For all that U’ve written – they only show yr true self – U don’t have a dragonheart, but a forked-tongue snakekind.

Just this one – ‘MPAJA was formed by the Chinese NOT to defend the country but their business and their survival from the anti Chinese Japs… Never were they patriotic over Malaya as it was not their mother land..”

Suffice to say that “sepuluh tahun sebelum Merdeka” will disproved what U’ve written. A typical BTN graduate that ALWAYS denial the contributions of other Malaysians, and yet conveniently forget that it was the Malay elites that helped the Jap to ‘prolong’ the great SE economic circle in Malaya!

Again - a true product of inferior complex, coupled with sieged mentality.

An advice – go crowed back to the hole under the tempurung & slumber while the collapse of the on slaughtering of the current economic tsunami hits yr ‘cosy’ tempurung roof.
written by Rhan, November 04, 2008 09:51:59
I worked in one western firm which have clear policy on discrimination but notice that 90% of the staff is Chinese. I worked with one Japanese manufacturer whose 80% of the staff is Malay including the whole HR but never fail to advertise to recruit Chinese only simply because this HR held the belief that only Chinese can speak and write mandarin. To recruit a English speaking is not discrimination but to hire one who able to speak mandarin is discrimination?

If you are a investor and wish to invest in China, speak whatever language you want lah be it Tamil or Malay, you are still welcome. What if you want to market your product in China? You hire a translator for your marketing manager or get one who could speak mandarin? But don’t argue this fact with a accountant, he is no different from a lawyer who could twist white into black. And yes, we don’t depend on China, we depend on USA who never cease to get the eastern and middle east world to subsidise their debts.

Most Chinese send their kid to Chinese school because all Malay sends their kid to Malay school, and trying very hard to tell the Chinese that Malay school is a national school. The exist of Tar college is the proven facts of discrimination and only one with shallow knowledge dare to talk about “majority of student in Tar college is Chinese”. I don’t know what MPAJA did but unlike Japanese or the west, both Kuointang and CCP didn’t send in their troops into Malaysia shore. LKY is not Chinese, you can ask the Mainland Chinese, Taiwan Chinese, Hong Kong Chinese and Malaysian Chinese, we all see Singaporean as Singaporean.

There may be some truth when someone says we Chinese are racist but I see most Chinese could embrace the foreign culture or custom in country they choose to stay including those who discriminate against us. We do complain and being a bit noisy once a while but never run amok or bomb here and there.
written by Daryl, November 04, 2008 11:22:11
One of the ad in US about English and Spanish knowledge required. Is this racist? I believe there are a lot of ads that we can perceive as sexist or discrimination or racist. But, this people will lost out on varieties not the Malay or Chinese or Indian.

Overview:
The vocational nurse provides direct nursing care to an assigned group of patients, under the supervision of a Registered Nurse, Licensed Vocational Nurse Supervisor, or Licensed Vocational Nurse Coordinator, by applying clinical nursing knowledge and skills, and for ensuring the safety and comfort of patients and families according to legal, organizational and professional standards.
Qualifications:
Basic:
Graduate from an approved vocational nursing program
6 months in a clinical area. May consider a new grad if hiring department can provide direct supervision for 6 months, and space is available in new grad preceptoring program.
Current and valid Texas LVN license
Able to use equipment and related supplies for selected patient population
CRT experience
Current BCLS
Preferred:
Windows based computer skills
Prefer English and Spanish speaking
written by truthbespoken, November 04, 2008 11:56:37
Dragonheart,

You can be as hard-hitting and direct as you can be about all races, about their languages, the economy and characteristics of each race, but you have failed to bring out the root cause for the differences between them. Did all of us feel this way about ourselves in this awful manner in the 1960s especially? NO? Why?

It is because of the medium of instruction in schools then and earlier was in English!. Looking back with hindsight, those were the most beautiful years as Malaysians in Malaysia!

We do not talk or argue about which system was better than the other on Malay education, Chinese education or Tamil education at all! We play and work as one Nation. We did not boil over and criticize each other the way we are doing now!

The real reason the Nation has now gone awry is because of the changing of the medium and system of instruction in our multi-racial country! It is the root cause for all of our woes today! And the truth, unfortunately, is we may never succeed in capturing back those good old times for the future generations of Malaysians.. I can only hope and pray some leaders along the way will soon have the political will and strength to change the course of the country for the better through good education in schools!
written by megahyper, November 04, 2008 12:06:10
What if my ads sounds like these?

- Japanese speaking required!
- Proficiency in korean advantages
- Ability to speak in French a necessity!

Is it still racist?

What about this....?

- Only Bumiputera needs apply.
written by PenangHokkienKia, November 04, 2008 12:49:30
Mawi? Ha ha ha...boh tak chak, boh nao. Malau lah lu. Over your dead body? You can jump into the lake lah (together with Drago). I've bundles of Malay friends in Singapore holding high positions earning better salaries than Chinese. And why compare Singapore when you are referring to Malaysian Chinese? Are you one of those desperado from UM..pukitra? 1st class infrastructures with 4th class mentality! Dragon..heart my foot!!!
written by PenangHokkienKia, November 04, 2008 12:55:38
Aaiiyah....I've to confess, I'm not going to argue with this fellas...wasting time. Just like helping other peoples mother to teach their sons. Go back to school lah!!!
written by cruzeiro, November 04, 2008 14:37:18
MasterYoda,
"number of bumputar who speak mandarine : 1 percent"

Was that deliberate or was it a Freudian slip?

Kinda sounds cool to describe some Umno guys with that word ....
written by aeromaverick, November 04, 2008 14:40:09
Guys & girls, almost all nations on the planet do business with the Chinese Govt and citizens. Most of them do not speak mandarin or have chinese personnel on board, in a big manner atleast. So the popular concept put forward herewithin is a misconception, born out of a necessity to defend a racist stand, or a genuine lack of knowledge. In any case, our top trading partners are Singapore, China, India and USA. I only see one major country that requires mandarin as a prop up for doing business.
On the other hand, chinese will probably feel a lot better with their own kind within their businesses. Now either admit that (in that case, I personally feel it is the right thing, because end of the day it is a democracy that we try and follow here), or admit there is a skewed mentality at play for a long time that needs to be genuinely corrected.
Personally, I run a business and hire who ever is smart and has the right attitude. English is a must, because I deal in the world of aviation. There has never been a recruit who came in because of his/her racial profile. I belief our policy is good, and is a Universal Selling Proposition (USP), while the rest of the companies that practice a more language or racial selection process has a natural handicap to grow for the long.
Now, most of these small companies may not have an ambition to grow to dizzy heights. They might just want to make a couple of millions and retire comfortably. One cannot blame them for such a thinking. I personally call it the "Kedai Runcit" mentality. There is absolutely no issues with such a mentality, but a nation with too many of such mentality will eventually become a "Kedai Runcit" too!
End of the day, look at the most successful companies in Malaysia; almost all of them recruit the best candidate for the best jobs! and do well, through thick and thin.
Too all the chauvinistic characters out there, please try and think a bit more broadly, for it takes all to tango, not just you alone!
I rest my case....
written by cruzeiro, November 04, 2008 14:53:19
People are Racist.
These ads are "racist".
Most parents are "racist".
Businesses and working environments can be racist.
They can be "racist" for various reasons, depending on the definition of Racist. For one thing, knowing a working environment well, sometimes it is best they they are allowed to be so - as long as they pay their own bills.

But governments cannot be racist - they collect taxes from all and sundry, whether the business is halal or haram in any culture or ethnic group!
We should dismantle institutionalised racism at the tax-payer's expense, before commenting on "Private Enterprise"!!

So, before anyone decides to criticize an employer for being "racist", they should ask themselves - who pays the Bills?
written by deekay, November 04, 2008 15:55:09
The first one is racist and not to mention, sexist.

2nd one is in grey area.

If these ads are racist then it's the job of the government voted in by the people to put a stop into it. Put on an Equal Opportunity Act. The problem is the government is not exercising it themselves at all to justify and to enforce equal opportunity act on all Malaysian private companies. Start with the government & GLCs and the rest will fall in place.

written by c53k, November 04, 2008 16:51:40
aeromaverick,

There r many racists out there! Some r by circumstances, others r by choice. It’s those of the later category that I despise most.

“recruit the best candidate for the best jobs! and do well, through thick and thin.”

Agreed 100%!

But then

“Personally, I run a business and hire who ever is smart and has the right attitude. English is a must, because I deal in the world of aviation.”

There r many Malaysian SME out there, who by choice &/or by force, have to find a living. And trading with the Chinese China is one of the choicest pick available to them. Moreover, due to NO fault of theirs, the common racial trace does help to foster the businesses. That means speak/write with the same kind with yr business partners. In this case – Mandarin!

Similarly in yr case, if U happened to deal with a French/German in yr aviation project then speaking/writing French/German helps a lot.

In the worst case U don’t need to C4’ed yr translator for fear of ‘blackmailing’ U!

So in those cases of trading with the Chinese China, yr word - “recruit the best candidate for the best jobs! and do well, through thick and thin.” – holds many pints of water!

Many of these Chinese M’sian SME have moved out to China long before U count 123. Reasons r plenty – the main one is of course the ketuanan policy of the unmo govt.

If U cannot survive within yr country then look outside to where the opportunities r. And these Chinese M’sian SME do just that. And FYI, asked any Chinese M’sian SME, U will find them to have some kind of dealings with the Chinese China!

So can U failed them to recruit the best candidate for the best jobs? Survival is the game, & out there is a cruel jungle. U can only live if U used all yr wits. There is no sugardaddy to look for help, too.

Before someone shot off & say what has been mentioned above apply only to those Chinese M’sian SME that have businesses with China.

Well! surprises & surprises, most of the ‘studies’, whether govt/private censored, have indicated that the main LOCAL workers manning the halal shop fronts &/or work floors in the Chinese M’sian SME r the Joe Ahmad & the Minna Karan! In fact these can be proven easily if one cared to take a casual survey when one strolls through the ‘business districts’ of the Chinese M’sian SME.

It’s the Chinese M’sian SME that provide most of the jobs for the Malays, though not with many fancy titles!

Perhaps there lies the TRUE problem – Malay in management! & this is the case for another day!
written by Tan Tan, November 04, 2008 19:01:50
written by temenggong, November 04, 2008 01:07:33

China business is always a (useful) excuse.

Let the Chinese, Taiwanese and Honkies learn english or malay! Or hire a translater in China for US1 per hour! That's what I do!

This excuse is just to get around the system lah!

Temenggong pal,

They are hiring Customer Service Executive. How can you expect a customers to hire a translator to talk to a customer service executive? Why not give the business to Singapore instead.

This about competiveness.

Ask yourself, why are you angry because the requirement is Mandarin and why don't u angry at the other requirement English? Malays, Chinese and Indians in this country are not from UK or America, so it is also racist that require us to speak in English.
It is because US is the world number 1 economy for the past 50 years that "force" everyone to learn English to do business with them. So it become the official business language.
Now China is the upcoming economy power, so it is not surprising more companies wanna do business with China and Mandarin is a must.

If u think I am finding excuse, why don't ask yourself this question. If the ad said must able to speak in mandarin, you angry because u think chinese dun wanna hire malays or because u never bother to learn? How come when they ask whether u can speak english, you dun get angry. Remember that you are not a caucasian, why need to speak english?

So when it require you to speak in Mandarin (which is a language of one of your msian brother), you get angry. But when it require u to speak a English whereby you don't even have an Englishman friend, it is OK.

Who is racist here?
written by Tan Tan, November 04, 2008 19:20:43
For ad looking for shareroom or share house, I must admit it is always racist.

First of all, a Malays try not to find a non-malays. Reasons are:
1) if the tenant is a chinese man and the owner is a Malays woman. Can you imagine what hell will break lose by JAIS.
2) Second, the issue of halal food.

visa versa for non-malays try not to find a muslim tenant.

Chinese are rasict when come to rent out room to indian man or malays man. However, this mainly due to the raising crime of murder and rape that Chinese fears.

Most high profile rape case are done by indian or malays. (here is a bit unfair to malays because most of the time maybe done by indo but again it is hard to differenciate indo and malay)
Most high profile robbing and killing case are done by indian and malays (or indo)

Yes u must be asking then, chinese le! dun rape (actually hardly rape as we don't mind finding prositute) or kill....yes we also as bad...but mostly we kill or rape ppls we know....out of greed or revenge. So that why is Chinese are more worry about renting room to other races.

Imagine, if the case of Canny Ong is reversed. A malays woman got raped, abducted and burned by a Chinese man. I guess the whole malays community will have the same perception on chinese as well.

Therefore, don't blame each other. Blame the goverment. What did they do?

The crime rate are so high. why?

Robbing and killing - poor economy force ppls to do such acts. Too many illegal workers from indo...force them to do this....did the government do enough to prevent such problems?

Raping - lack of sex education and good education at school plus unwanted extremist Islamic comments that oppressed man sexually with woman...contributed to rape.

Even wearing white blouse in school can unwanted sexual attention claimed by SIS. The more you wanna hide, the more ppls want to see. and when u wanna punish ppls for wanting to see when u force them not to see....then rape happen... look at 50s, the malaysian women wearing tight fitting clothes and it is a safe country. NOW, all must woman must cover up and rape case is rising year by year.

So where is government role ???
written by Tan Tan, November 04, 2008 19:37:49
Chinese worships money! Hell man! Of course we do!

Don't be stupid over here. Everyone in this world, one way or another, worship MONEY!

Wanna know why. Easy.

Money cannot buy you happiness but without money you are as good as dead.

Tell me what is free in Malaysia? Even use public toilet, someone still wanna collect 20 cents from u. No money, wanna shit also hard!

Of course we chinese worship money in Malaysia. Do you know how many policeman try to catch you for all sort of funny driving offences and wanna collect duit kopi from us? Trust me a lot! It is because only with money, we can settle all unwanted problem created by ppls who demand money from us (malays 99% of police force).

If u are me and u wanna live a normal life in msia, don't u worship money?

Chinese buy house, pay 5% more than bumi
If chinese wanna bring their business to become public listed, must give money to a malays director to use his name or else cannot become public listed
Chinese wanna to send children to study, need money. But when ask scholarships, 90% need to help Bumis. And when ask the give us higher percentage, hell break loose.
Chinese wanna to send children to study, don't have enough university in msia. Then ask can entrol in UTM, hell breaks loose. SO need to send to Australia, UK and US. that need money
Crime rate so bad, need to protect family, need to buy security alarm, hire security guard or buy house at a better area. all needs money

So tell me, if u r chinese, don't u wanna worship money?
written by Jit Dharma, November 04, 2008 23:23:59
Wow, the level of the discourse is incredible.Are the ads racist? Not the ads,
but the people who place them.But let's face it, you don't really want to work with people who have this kind of mentality, do you? They are just comfortable being among their own kind, it requires less of an effort.And with all their moronic preconceived notions, it isn't worth the effort.One moron wrote, as an
example, that most rapists are Indians. You want to argue with that kind of moron? You can, just generalize eg. most baby poisoners are Chinese...melamine etc. Business and money will never bring the communities of this world together.That is the work of Art.And there is such a lack of creative Art in this World that can do this. Bob Marley says, One Love, One Heart, hear the
children crying? Top this if you can you myopic slaves.
written by aeromaverick, November 05, 2008 02:37:46
Ladies & Gentlemen,
With due respect, the verdict, I belief, is out.
Indians & Malays are well know for rape.
Chinese only rape people known to them out of greed et la (almost sounds as if it is ok with the commentor)
Language discrimination is alright because its got to do with business with China.
Now lets us look at another angle on these issues.
Can we really classify rape along the lines of race (from an exclusive point of view)?
As I mentioned earlier, the whole world is doing business with the Chinese in mainland, with or without Mandarin proficiency.
In fact the Chinese are also learning english as we speak, and will definitely overtake the Malaysian Chinese in its proficiency very soon.
Does all this make the majority of the commentors in MT racist, deep down inside?
Is the very idea of being here, supporting RPK, for a unified Malaysia for all, a smoke screen to profess your own version of racism?
Are these group of commentors actually making the "right statements", hoping the current "checks" are removed for them to operate in a free for all environment where they harbour a secret wish to dominate through non-meritorious manners?
Do these commentors secretly harbour the glorious idea that only they know how to run commerce?
Well chaps, I have news for you....
China and India combined are not as strong as the US economy.
Hence, the world is still becoming into a connected Global Village.
We all need to grow up, and leave our grandfather/grandmother stories and tales behind and move forward.
All those who think that PR and RPK is going to set you free to practice your version of racism will be sadly mistaken, because, this struggle is by all for all!
And last of all, I am impressed with the number of justifications mouthed here, but can never find the same in a more universal problem or even one that concerns another race as such.
Are all of us still with our own nice little agenda?
In that case, do you all frankly speaking expect to have any future at all in the new dawn that is being dreamed of right now?

Please release RPK.
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2008 19:59:32
yeeeaa...

i know a few companies who wont take any malays...

WHY? BECOS THEY SAY, THIS KETUANAN RACE ALREADY monopolise the public service.

dont tell me their bosses says, they they will become my TUAN in my own company..

THEREFORE... IF UMNO GOVT IS A RASCIST GOVT, OTHERS WILL ALSO BECOME RASCIST AS A REPUCCUSSION.... when will malazutland ever learn????
written by dassky2000, November 05, 2008 21:11:30
Asolutely not. I am an Indian, I speak mandarin, bahasa english and tamil. So why so difficult for you to learn mandarin and get this job. Stop complaining. This is a democratic country with many religion and cultures.

Education is aplenty, stop grambling and go enrol yourself in any of the chinese schools or tuition to be able to know other languages.

written by joeawk, November 06, 2008 16:14:19
The advertiser could have chosen to be totally inclusive and then waste applicants' time and money.

The advertiser is just being truthful and caring, listimng down the exact requirement desired.

It is still better than PSD advert which may well show that PSD is inclusive but the fact is that the PSD only waste our time and money.