Anwar says Ketuanan Melayu only benefits a minority PDF Print
Monday, 03 November 2008 20:03

(The Malaysian Insider) The “ketuanan Melayu” or Malay supremacy concept as advocated by certain groups, benefits and enriches only a small group of Malays, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said.

“I believe that the Malays and Bumiputeras should not be sidelined,” he said.

“We should do all we can to help them together with the Chinese and Indians,” Anwar told reporters after a talk at the Bangunan Darul Ridzuan today.

He said, however, that fighting for Malay supremacy to enrich a small number of Malays while a larger section of the community were still in deplorable condition, was unacceptable.

On the remark by former Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim recently that the Malay supremacy concept had failed, Anwar said, the statement should be studied by all.

At the 21st LawAsia Conference in Kuala Lumpur last week, Zaid said the Malay supremacy concept had failed and distracted from the real issues confronting the country.

The remark irked several Umno leaders, including Perlis Umno liaison chief Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim who described Zaid’s statement as excessive, while Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar called on Zaid to apologise to the Malays.

Meanwhile, Anwar said that certain media had been manipulating the appointment of Low Siew Moi as the acting general manager of Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) and turned the matter into a racial issue.

He said the appointment was only temporary until a new one was made by the Pakatan Rakyat. — Bernama

written by ibabonma, November 03, 2008 20:09:37
Imagine, can become President and a Deputy President of political parties in Malaysia and we allow them to rule … a nation bestowed with a Head of State, a respectable King? They inculcate so much disgust in us, all at the expense of their political greeds. Tell me, how to respect them and not to be rude while “bapak kencing berdiri, anak kencing berlari’? (Father urinates while standing, his children urinate while running)

Thus, hancur, hancur … hancur Malaysia!
written by BUTEK, November 03, 2008 20:24:19
The malays, chinese or indians that vote for BN should be responsible for all the failure to improve the quality of living in this country NOT UMNO.
written by educationist, November 03, 2008 20:46:43
"He said the appointment was only temporary until a new one was made by the Pakatan Rakyat"
Whether the appointment is temporary or not shouldn't be the issue.
I'm disappointed that it looks like Anwar is also playing to the gallery here.
Isn't he implying that even if there be a non-Malay applicant who's more than qualified to hold the post, that person will not be considered on the basis of race?
written by JohnQ, November 03, 2008 20:47:04
He is right to the core. The masses, especially the poor never benefited from the nation wealth and policy, but are the contributor to the nation building.
written by DreamLady, November 03, 2008 20:51:52
The more UMNO and BN goons stir up racial shits, the deeper they are digging deeper into the mass graves for the likes of themselves. My dearest malaysians, don't you crack your heads further or cry your hearts' out when these filthy creatures hurl insulting thrash at you. be cool and keep very quiet. They shall get the shock of their lives.
written by Sabahfan, November 03, 2008 21:04:11
Well Anwar was in UMNO before, so he should know the whole truth about who got rich due to this KETUANAN. Perhaps he should give a full list of these minorities, mostly UMNO leaders and their cronies
1. Daim
2. mahathirs, sons and cronies
3. C4. fat mama and cronies
4. Top judges and their gifts of briefcases, handphones and soups

surely Anwar can complete this list for me. And yes in Sabah the ketuanan melayu gives them total immunity from prosecution for their crime
1. tun Mustapa. rob the country, bought 2 grumman jets for his personal use, and he got buried as a hero.
2. OSU SUKAM gambled sabahs wealth at the ritz to at tune of 7 million and yet he is asked to recontest in UMNOs election after staying low for a while in KL. Now he wanna be chief minister again. well what contribution has this corrupted malay umno done so far to this country apart from raping its wealth?

the list of examples of Ketuanan must go on an on even cyberspace cannot contain the facts.
written by avj, November 03, 2008 21:23:51
Sure, UMNO Bahru is always critical about their kekuatan,because it affects their lavish life style,and their ability to repay their financiers for the advances they taken to put on their lavish appetites.
written by Kyle, November 03, 2008 21:26:24
Despite everything that is said and not much done, Malaysia remains a very racist country. We need more people like Zaid and RPK that have real vision and dare to say it aloud. A vision for all Malaysians.

Anwar ! For god's sake, Madam Low is a Malaysian first and foremost. So, why must her appointment is temporarily when she has the capability.

p/s: I hope OBAMA will win tomorrow simply because he is black.
written by HamChak, November 03, 2008 21:32:31
I demand that Syed Hamid Albar apologise to the RPK, Hindraf, and to those who are held illegally under the ISA. Bloody Botak tidak ada OTAK. He does looks like a CLOWN and speaks like one too.
written by drabdulwahid, November 03, 2008 21:38:13
Racial issue is as real as the hazards of WIFI in Penang

As much as you don't want to play with it, at the end of the day you have to use strategies. i don't see anythg wrong with saying anythg as long as he is doing the right thing. all people do that. we say somethg in front of others but we do somethg else at the back. the point is whether we do the right thing or the wrong thing.

so much for the "great" zaid, he can only talk now. talk all he want, he still can't change anythg.

well the word temporary is just publicity candy for the UMNO supremacist to swallow. at the end of the day I am convinced that Mdm Low will complete that 1 year contract given to her. whether it is said to be temporary or not is irrelevant. the reality is she is the boss.
written by justinlian, November 03, 2008 21:42:42
Most Malays, chinese , indians and others is still dreaming in their own home.
They have to crack their heads on the wall to function and see for themselves and what has to be done.
written by PAKRAK, November 03, 2008 21:45:17
Ketuanan Melayu to the UMNO Malay goons simply means immunity to any criminal offence irrespective of murder, corruption, racial slur etc. In their interpretation and mindset they claim that this is 'our country and we have the right to do what we want'.
written by New Malaysian, November 03, 2008 21:59:02
DSAI, why apologise for a Chinese appointment? Why temporary? It's the same beneficiaries of Ketuanan Melayu who are crying foul over this. The other Malays are perfectly ok with this. Don't we have Chinese Ministers already?

And surely we are heading towards a non-racial based appointment for the topmost post in the future? Based on merit?
written by Proarte, November 03, 2008 22:02:48
Anwar does not have the integrity or intellect of Zaid. 'Ketuanan Melayu only benefits a minority' What a pathetic statement coming from this 'Reformasi Icon' with a 'Jeffersonian Focus' ! What if it benefited a majority of Malays, does it make it morally tenable? That is the fundamental issue at stake here. 'Malays and Bumiputeras should not be sidelined'- another pathetic comment coming from this duplicitious character of Permatang Pauh. Who is sidelining the Malays? Anyway, Anwar is showing his Ketuanan mentality when he mentions Bumiputeras. Arent Indians and Chinese and for that matter any citizen who is born in Malaysia a 'Bumiputera' according to the new PKR paradigm? Anwar should desist from his duplictious and chameleon behaviour. He demeans Islam and is increasingly becoming a political liability for Pakatan.
written by Braino, November 03, 2008 22:05:09
I am happy for the Malay brothers that out of the mud emerge two shining "Towering Malays" in Zaid and RPK. We are proud of both of you though not many can rise to your level of integrity and honour!

We still have hope...at least just a little hope.
written by biggun129, November 03, 2008 22:07:59
'Fairly, Equality', a Malaysian Malaysia, as simple as that, nobody is to be sidelined.That is all the Malaysian wanted!!!
written by merchant222, November 03, 2008 22:21:57
Fed-up lah to hear all these Ketuanan thing over and over again. Go to Singapore, then our BUMIputra Malays will open their eyes and see what is the real meaning of Ketuanan Melayu lah! Ketuanan Melayu in Bolehland is meant for UMNOputras; not Melayus or any other BUMIputras. DSAI, can't you get the message across to those poor and poverty driven BUMIPUTRAS and Malays to understand that? They like to hear "KETUANAN" without realizing that they themselves are on the losing end in harbouring a false LORDSHIP!

For what? This is all mental attitude and extinction is coming their way, fast and furious!
written by Sam W, November 03, 2008 22:26:44
I am glad to note that people are becoming more discerning in realising that Anwar Ibrahim is not all that great. We give him far more respect and admiration than he really deserves.
written by DXB2008, November 03, 2008 22:40:01
The world is collapsing and still about ketuanan melayu...http://1426.********.com/2008/...lobal.html
written by temenggong, November 03, 2008 22:52:09
We are no longer interested in statements by political leaders. We are not interested in Low Siew Moi, PRS or copters.

Anwar has till Dec 12 to change this govt. That is the deadline!

Drum roll please!!
written by KotaDamansara73, November 03, 2008 23:27:55
We, non-malays are not interested in the Malays rights. We are not at all going to take it away from them. We don't want to become Malays. We just want to live our lifes. And we want to make a better life.

But they are people who are in power who just talking shit about this Malay rights. And they can hoodwink the Malays that their rights will be lesser and lesser and all this shits. But the fact is that, majority of the Malays are still poor and they don't see what shit this UMNO farkers are talking about. what Malay right. They just can't see it.

Only those who are already in power can see it. But 90% of those Malays are not in power and they can't see the Malay rights.

You so call Malay leaders who propagate Malay rights, are just for yourself. YOu so called Malay leaders fighting for Malay rights are all bullshit and full of shit. TALK AND TALK IS WHAT THEY DO. THEY CAN'T REALLY DO ANYTHING IF GIVEN A TASK.
written by sararaj, November 04, 2008 00:35:19
the people in malaysia...have a problem... this whole issue of ketuanan melayu and race and religion... i do not deny religion and culture is not important... i for one do not believe in religion for it has been misused and abused over the history of man for the profiteering of a few rich old men... culture on the other hand... doesn't necessarily have to mean the malay culture or indian culture or chine culture... what happen to human culture and being just plain and simple human beings... or have come to a point where we are past that... we are the product of our society... we learn what we know today through various means... we are not born into a religion we learn it throughout our life... so whats the difference between you and me... we in society have made so many distinctions between us... fair, dark, tall short, beautiful, ugly, rich, poor, celebrity, not a celebrity, blue collar, white collar... each and every distinction a means of oppression... if i'm short i can't be a basketball player, if i'm not good looking enough i can't be a model on a billboard, if i'm not rich enough i can't get what i want... if i'm blue collar i'm lower than white collar... the list goes on and on... so not only us malaysians.... but the entire human race needs to sit down and think... why all these distinctions... why the segregation... why all the oppression and hate... i have my own answers to this... we should all come up with our own conclusions... coz at least this will give us a different outlook to the ppl we see on the street everyday and show them respect as they to are made from the same flesh and blood we are...
cheers, peace, and keep on rockin in the free world....
written by Limang, November 04, 2008 02:13:22
Agreed with some of you, especially Proarte, that Anwar is not SINCERE in his fight for equality and justice. It seems that his call for Ketuanan Rakyat is just a guise for buying votes.

How dare he mentioned that "Malays and other bumiputeras should not be sidelined"! Let me ask you, Mr. Anwar, Malays are the overwhelming majority, they hold practically every god-damned posts in public service and now even private sectors are forced to put them on the highest positions! They virtually formed the soldiers and police. They completely controlled this country for the last goddamn 51! 95% of university students, scholarships, professorships, etc. are all Malays. How can and dare you still say that they should not be sidelined! Do you honestly believe that even after PR forms the government, Malays and other bumis will be sidelined, given their power based and majority numbers? Who would sideline them, pray tell us? Has DAP in Penang sideline the Malays?
The real people who are sidelined at the Chinese and Indians especially, and perhaps some other natives. In fact, we have all been sidelined all these years by UMNO and Malay management everywhere, that we have no choice but either to migrate or seek other means of survival!

So be careful, Mr. Anwar. Much as we would support you, we are also watching your words and deeds. So far, I must honestly say that I still don't trust you after what you have done during the years you were an UMNO Minster, especially when you are the education minsiter.

I agree that Zaid and Khalid make better PM than you at this moment. You are still an UMNO person and an ultra-Malay, even though your wife is pure Chinese and your children are half-half.

I am disappointed in you and losing my faith in you.

I sense in you a great hypocrisy.

written by Proarte, November 04, 2008 04:32:45
Limang wrote:

'I agree that Zaid and Khalid make better PM than you at this moment. You are still an UMNO person and an ultra-Malay, even though your wife is pure Chinese and your children are half-half.'

In actual fact Azizah is not 'pure Chinese'. Her mother is a Chinese convert and her father a Malay.

Of course, in the Malaysian context that makes her a 'pure Malay' and a Bumiputera!
written by PASOK, November 04, 2008 06:00:02
Proarte & Limang

Take your BN mouth and BN smell somewhere else.
written by ibabonma, November 04, 2008 07:43:05
educationist, learn my friend. The above article is from BERNAMA! Anwar might have said something else. Don't ever trust our news papers & TV, they are liars, just like UMNO.
written by ckw, November 04, 2008 08:42:05
zaid ibrahim for opposition leader