Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Fissures begin emerging in Pakatan Rakyat

Fissures begin emerging in Pakatan Rakyat PDF Print
Monday, 03 November 2008 19:56

BARADAN KUPPUSAMY, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

Nine months into the March 8 general election the Pakatan Rakyat coalition remains a loose, opportunistic grouping whose three partners are beginning to show some serious differences even on such minor issues like the appointment of Madam Low Siew Moi as PKNS general manager.

This is the same Pakatan coalition that had announced that it would seize power through engineering defections from BN backbenchers and form a new egalitarian government minus race and discrimination.

But things are beginning to unravel differently with numerous disputes and differences emerging among PR political parties to the disappointment of civil society activists and ordinary people.

The "Madam Low incident" has exposed some Malaysians to the fact that Pas may not be as liberal as they thought the Islamist party had become.

Numerous comments on blogs and websites are beginning to lambast PR, especially PKR and PAS.

Even PR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is coming in for criticism for his "elegant silence" in the face of so many statements, even from his own MP Zulkifli Noordin, that Malays, Islam and ketuanan Melayu comes first and not Ketuanan Rakyat, the PR's political agenda.

"What's the difference between PR and BN," said one writer in the Peoples Parliament website. Another writer in the same website summed it up, "Underneath the scales, it's still fish."

As they increasingly wash dirty linen in public the people who had voted for them in overwhelming numbers, are getting disappointed and beginning to see the reality behind the rhetoric.

It was not always like this.

Guided by Anwar, PAS had willingly dropped its Islamic state demands and cleverly toned down its stringent views on other matters - from Hudud laws, religious conversion and freedom of religion - in the run up to the general election.

Anwar also cleverly got the DAP and PAS to work together at least to share seats and vote for each other's candidates, and after the election to help narrow differences and form the coalition governments in Penang, Perak and Selangor.

Since March 8 Anwar had also held the PR coalition together by tantalising their leaders with the dream of federal power, at becoming deputy prime minister and federal ministers and to be able to finally defeat Umno and rewrite the rules of the game.

But the failure to seize power is negatively impacting on the opposition coalition and is one reason why the differences are surfacing. There is nothing like "failure" to get the ugly questions to rise to the surface.

Anwar's reluctance up to now to turn the PR into a formal organisation like the BN with a fixed political agenda, rules and regulations build on a "common values" platform of democracy, equality and meritocracy is also partly responsible for the deep ideological division within PR.

Only the DAP remains focused both in Perak and Penang - on its promise to the voters to run a transparent and accountable government minus race and discrimination although without federal power the DAP's ability to sustain the momentum is questionable.

Its capacity on its own to build a new egalitarian society is hugely limited without federal power.

As for the PKR it is still smarting and listless from the Sept 16 fiasco.

But lately Anwar has began stepping into his shoes as opposition leader in parliament and speaking up for the Rakyat - a difficult fit for a man who has always wielded direct power while in government but now has to influence policy by opposition pressure tactics.

Increasingly the focus is on PAS which has returned to its old habits and is openly showing an intolerance that is counter to its post-March 8 image as a tolerant, moderate Islamic party that champions common values in a multi-ethnic party.

The increasingly Malay nationalistic and fundamentalist Islamic postures by PAS are not only worrying its Pakatan Rakyat colleagues but also civil society activists and ordinary people.

Although moderates abound in PAS the party as a whole is shifting to a hard-line position on numerous issues believing the time has arrived for PAS to lead the Malays and the country.

"PAS believes it is destined to lead the Malays and rule the country as a Islamic state that the time has finally arrived to exert itself," said a former PAS ideologue who declined to be named.

"The confidence is based on its strong and expanding grassroots support," he said adding without PAS grassroots support PKR and DAP would not have done so well.

Clearly PAS is caught between satisfying non-Muslim desire for equality and an end to discrimination on one side and defending Islam and Malay ground where "strength" is read as not "conceding" to non-Muslims.

The party is in a quandary unable to resolve the deep ideological battle within itself between moderation and the demand for a theocratic state and at the same time having to speak up for Malay rights in a multi-ethnic society.

It's is for these reasons that in Kedah PAS want 50% of house ownership reserved for bumiputras and in Selangor it spoke up against a Chinese heading PKNS, the state development corporation.

PAS involvement in the mob that broke up a Bar Council inter-faith forum early this year is another example of the same dilemma.

It also announced it would not support a Pakatan Rakyat government that was not majority Malay and in addition said party president Datuk Seri Abdullah Hadi Awang is "best qualified" to be Prime Minister if Pakatan seizes power.

Despite the differences the PR coalition is holding together largely because of a common enemy and a common desire to topple the BN government.

"But their differences are surfacing as their dream of seizing Federal power diminishes," said a University Science Malaysia academic who declined to be identified.

"The public support for PR remains strong but their failures to work together would eventually impact on public perception," the academic said.

"Mostly middle class Malaysians are showing their unhappiness that PR is unable to overcome race politics, end discriminations and champion equality and meritocracy," he said.

The electorate believe they woke up to a new Malaysia on March 8 minus race, religion and discrimination and therefore it comes as a shock that the very same people who had preached "common human" values have fallen back on old habits.

written by picadilly, November 03, 2008 20:03:07
I didnt know Baradan Kuppusamy was a Rookie who depended on blog comments to write his Copywriting!!! Kah kah kah.. Give us NEWS baradan
written by asiana888, November 03, 2008 20:06:52
I hope the leaders of PR are serious about transforming Malaysia into a first world democracy. The issues some of them brings up (like Mdm Low's) appointment looked like a third class organisation. Please la .... this is 21st century - stop looking at race! Or Malaysia will turn the Zimbabwe of Asia.

So far only DAP has been consistent in setting up a Malaysian Malaysia. I don;t understand why PAS and some ultra-Malay PKR leaders are so scared of meritocracy.

Be careful lest GE13 come and PR gets defeated big time!
written by smokingsoldier, November 03, 2008 20:31:34
PAS indeed is a wolf in sheep skin. look at what they done in kedah; forcing the non-malays out of business is bad enough. now they quietly passed the law forbiding non-malays to buy property. not to forget that 80% of the land in kedah is bumiputra reserve land. EVIL EXTREMISTS. and the MB even had the cheek daring people who dont like his ruling to bring the kedah government to court.

coming soon in kedah:
banning of lottery outlets
segregated public assemblies/roadshows (male/female cannot mix)
its already in the pipeline that will be tabled in the EXCO meetings which will be implemented in the near future.
evil extremist pricks !
written by DreamLady, November 03, 2008 20:33:46
Baradan, it is impossible for a new family not to have teething problem considering the fact that the three adopted kids are from different genes.

Pakatan has come this far, they do not need people like you to pass sweeping statement. The three components of PR each consists of powerful voices; solid reasons to maintain their ideology; and strong commitments to maintain the combined forces. It is family member squabbles that need no outside interferance.

As for Zulkifli nordin, he is the left-behind highly decomposed garbage that PR accidentally picked up while screening under microscope for the cream of the creams. The most likelihood is the big lubang in the ayak the malay people used to sieve the flour where Zulkifli escape into the formation of coalition....a freak is forever a freak....

I have confidence that PR members know their way to get rid of the garbage eventually ...
written by educationist, November 03, 2008 21:00:08
The rakyat will be the ultimate judge come the next general elections.
Yes, PAS has shown its true colours and behaviour unbecoming as partners in the PR.
And, then there's Anwar's elegant silence as those fissures open up!!
So, what's next?
Of course I'll like to hope the PR will yet perform well in good governance of the 5 states, so that in the next elections we'll see more voters coming to our side of the Malaysian dream.
written by godknows, November 03, 2008 21:13:57
I have had enough! I have decided that there is no way PR will take over anytime in the near future.I am going into hibernation.Wake me up before the next GE.I will try my best to support PR at that time. Till then , adios amigos.
written by avj, November 03, 2008 21:17:07
B.Kupusamy how much are you paid for this spin?Well that's your trade secret. For a seven month old coalition you have such harsh comments.What about the 51 years of abuse by the BN coalition? Don't remember you having said anything about their wrong doings.Is it that you wouldn't dare ruffle their feathers? I think so,because as mercenary,you go where the going is good,and the picking juicy isn't Kupu?
PR is experiencing problem,sure, and they find ways to fix it. They argue and disagree,because they are democratic parties.They each have their own views,and work out a compromise. But you can't say same for those you tactfully trying to dignify,the BN,because UMNO Bahru makes the rules and the rest say "Amen" to it. That's the democracy you are trying to dignify.Look for some idiots to peddle your piece of shit.
written by Kyle, November 03, 2008 21:17:58
PR is better than BN anytime.
Why criticize PR for their little mistakes (if any)
when BN has been doing the same mistakes plus other mega sins
for the past 51 years ?
In fact, BN is still committing sins at the federal level
and other BN states.

Unlike BN where the component parties are mere eunuchs,
members of PR are more vocal. The best part is their rights
are not denied.
written by Aming, November 03, 2008 21:22:29
It looks as if most if not all politicians are the same. Cheat the electorates at every opportunity. Sad case for Malaysians.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 03, 2008 21:38:21
I have not seen you being this critical when your beloved BN was squandering this country of ours. Expose all wrongdoings of the BN government la. I will still give PR a chance. Nine months since the elections is it? Donno how to count aa? It is just reaching 8 months lah! Aha, this is BN style of counting la.
written by cruzeiro, November 03, 2008 21:39:28
While hopes for a bright future may not exactly be fat, it is all we have, when everything else is lost. That hope will depend a great deal on the sincerity of politicians in PAS - that they will discard the hypocrisy practiced by their godmen, which has made them look bad thus far. PAS definitely plays a major role in determining the outcome of such an endeavor - they will determine the direction that Muslims (in their camp) take in achieving progress.

They need to shed their image of hypocrisy and admit that they are politicians first, and godmen second. PAS needs to realize that Islam is at once their strength and Achilles Heel – and are thus subject to manipulation, should they insist on their veil of religiosity. They should learn to differentiate between detrimental dogma and the positive "values" that would help nationhood.
While PKR and DAP can only work towards that end, ultimately it is Pas, and not Umno (and their 'allies') which will determine if sectarian politics in Malaysia will be put to an end.
It may be that I give too much credit to PAS as the "moral determinant", but I couldn't be too far from the truth.
-----------------------------------------
NEP & 'New Politics' : Delusion & Hope
http://cruzinthots.********.co...-hope.html
written by DontPlayGod, November 03, 2008 21:53:10
Sometimes I wonder why is it that the master race is so racist in the appointment of heads of Government bodies? Is it because they lack self-confidence and are worried that without special treatment and favouritism, the Malays will not be able to survive? Is that the reason why they are so afraid of basing everything on merit? UMNO must have, throughout the decades, brainwashed the Malays in thinking that they are useless and cannot compete with other races, and that without special rights and privileges, the Malays will fail?

UMNO has certainly done an excellent job in this respect, i.e. telling the Malays that they will fail and cannot compete with the other races without the crutches given by UMNO.
written by PAKRAK, November 03, 2008 22:07:47
Baradan Kuppusamy that's mean reporting. Appointing Mdm Low Siew Moi is not an issue. Why amplify the matter and show there is anomosity in PR.
written by Jit Dharma, November 03, 2008 22:07:53
Get real Baradan!! You say the issue is minor so why was the scum bag Toyol the first to make a great big hoo-hah about it.Shit stirrers like Toyol make life difficult with their racist outbursts. Say something about that. I know you also have to cari makan, that's why I don't give what you say much thought. Even with all these contradictions, we will still be behind the PR all the way because we no longer want the BN crooks and their dirty deals. It was them that made the situation we are in now and PR has to navigate through this shit without losing their way. You have to admit that it's a tangled mess and one that can't be undone overnight.
written by myke, November 03, 2008 22:11:22
KUPU KUPU, your article is loopsided. This article is not worth reading because you have not shown the same critical side when BN did far more worst than PR.

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 03, 2008 22:19:48
In religion, there are many common grounds if we want to look for them. And if Tok Guru Nik Aziz is helming PAS, really him and not the others, we would have no problems with his brand of Islam because you can see the man is "ikhlas".
We are all entitled to believe what we want and our rights to believe or not to believe should never be taken away. It is important to recognise other people's rights.

But when it comes to race, who put one race above the other? Who can say this race is better than the other? Who has the audacity to do that? Don't play God.

We should have a government who is for all races and for all poor and is just and fair no matter what they believe or not believe. No matter what skin colour they are. Is there blue blood, brown blood, yellow blood? We are the same underneath. Every citizen needs fair and just treatment. Merit is the way to rule a country.

But let me just bring up the theory of Darwin - the survival of the fittest and adaption. If it is applied in our context here. The ones who have it easy will become unadaptable. The ones who have many hindrances and are in hardship will find ways to survive and in the process become better, fitter and a better breed. The ones who have had no harsh environment because everything is conducive for them, becomes unable to survive once a serious calamity comes. Forget the calamity first, if any small hindrance comes, they give up.

So eventually, what ketuanan are we talking about? Can we talk Bangsa Malaysia and be a world power to reckon with due to our multi-culturalism or a country despised for our "enslaving" of people?
written by temenggong, November 03, 2008 22:45:39
Relax guys,

Baradan is just earning a living. He can't be taken seriously. The scum has been described as a journalistic prostitue.

But he has only till the end of the month to earn a living.
written by Apache3, November 03, 2008 23:08:48
B. Kuppusamy if you are indeed a journalist, I hereby challenge you to write an article as to HOW UMNO/BN RAPED MALAYSIA AND HER CITIZENS FOR HALF A CENTURY AND POST IT HERE ON MALAYSIA TODAY FOR ALL OF US TO READ. If you can't do just go take a hike and PLEASE CHANGE YOUR PROFESSION AND STOP INSULTING US WITH YOUR CRAP.

The Apache
written by BennyG, November 03, 2008 23:21:28
I had difficulty thinking that this article is not financed by UMNO since all the sources does not want to be known (guess who they all vote for on 8 Mar). The string of "evidence" seemed so loopsided.

PAS is still led by old dogs just as DAP. They are the ones most difficult to change. But if DAP is showing some signs of change, why not PAS by its new generation of leaders.

One thing though, PAS old style leaders are easily identifiable. The voters could easily decide their fate.

Please, people, be careful about making general statement like "I will never vote for PAS" but be more specific such as "if Hassan or Salahuddin or ... is in my constituency, I will not vote for them".

Rotten eggs can spoil the whole basket but if we pick out the rotten eggs, there are still a lot of good eggs in that basket.

Anyway, Malaysian Insider had more pro-BN writers than neutral ones. Why believe everything they write? Soon they will be more obvious like The Star & NST.
written by johntyc, November 04, 2008 00:14:31
Yes. There's power struggles in PR. But, it's far better than a united BN. So united that they systematically rob the 'Rakyat'.
written by Ron, November 04, 2008 00:16:36
Never take kupus articles seriously.He writes for BN money.His last article was about HINDRAF and it was all full CRAP!!!He tries to fool& SPIN by saying that there are 100,000 members in HINDRAF.Its MAKKAL SAKTHI and it is about uncle and aunties who have been victims of umnos 50 years of hard core racism.Take your crap and publish it in UTUSAN.Thats the right place for crap stories!!!
written by mucking fuddled, November 04, 2008 02:40:40
it worries me how some readers in mt fail or cannot sus out such an obvious spin doctor of the lowest caliber who is trying desperately to put a wedge between PR supporters.....