Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAC clears Eurocopter deal, but decision not unanimous

PAC clears Eurocopter deal, but decision not unanimous PDF Print
Monday, 03 November 2008 19:54

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

After several meetings stretched out over the past one week, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) has cleared the federal government of scandal into the RM1.6 billion Eurocopter military deal.

However, the decision was not unanimous as some of the members felt that the deal to procure the Eurocopter EC725 Cougar to replace the Royal Malaysian Air Force's 42-year-old fleet of Nuri helicopters was not itself conducted properly.

"Our concern is that this deal, to put it in a way, is made for Eurocopter. None of the tenderers were called in for tender clarification of the tender document," noted one PAC member.

Seven helicopter manufacturers had made a bid for the RMAF tender, which was to equip the Defence Ministry with aircraft for search-and rescue missions primarily, and which could later on be used for military combat missions.

Chairman Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid concluded today that he was satisfied that there had been no misappropriation of funds into the federal government's procurement in the Eurocopter deal.

"PAC's responsibility is to see if procedure was followed. In the evaluation process, we found that the procedure has been followed," Azmi told reporters after wrapping up the meeting with officials from the Defence and Finance Ministries in Parliament this evening.

He added that the only aspect of the deal found to be dissatisfactory was the fact that no physical examination or flight test had been carried out specifically for this tender.

Azmi added that the PAC proposed for the Defence Ministry to conduct a proper physical evaluation on the air craft before the delivery if they decided to go ahead with the procurement, which is now deferred.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by miracle, November 03, 2008 20:30:00
Expected... ammo man ... in the same family ...
written by angkasawan bocor, November 03, 2008 20:32:16
As predictable as the outcome of the Altantuya murder trial. "Not enough evidence", "no irregularities", "no case".

Please no more inquiries, committees or commissions in future. The outcome is an insult to the rakyat's intelligence.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 03, 2008 20:45:17
Datuk Seri Azmi, your place in Hell is secured.
written by avj, November 03, 2008 20:53:48
Azmi Khalid,is the chairman,and from UMNO Bahru,what do expect? The decision is not unanimous, but it is still carried.Fail closed.Cherita habis.This is Bolehland ma semua pun boleh.
written by Kyle, November 03, 2008 21:11:55
With this decision, Azmi Khalid, the PAC-man, has secured
(a) a percentage of commission when the Eurocopter deal is on later.
(b) a Tan Sri-ship or higher, probably from Melaka.
(c) a higher position after March 2009.
(d) an immunity from ISA .

Can the other members of PAC give the other side of the story ?
Are they bound by OSA ?

written by future, November 03, 2008 22:01:45
The ACA will also noted there is no element of corruption on the Eurocopter deal and the case is close.This is UMNO BOLEH in fact anything under the sky.
written by savemalaysia, November 03, 2008 22:10:04
It is a joke that PAC Chairman Azmi Khalid has waste no time in concluded that there had been no misappropriation of funds into the federal government's procurement in the Eurocopter deal.Since he is from UMNO also, his swift conclusion clearly do not reflect the interest of all malaysians. It is better for him to resign or else dissolve this PAC if this is only a Wayang Kulit from UMNO.

written by Kopi37, November 03, 2008 22:17:33
It sounds like the pimp's hard sell tactic - "Halo brother, it's clean, first time, no aids, money back guarantee"! This is the bloody hogwash all from the same whole bunch of the pimps and the whores! Only gullible ah pek and nincompoop will believe! God damn shits!
written by PAKRAK, November 03, 2008 22:18:58
Azmi Khalid is hoping to be re-appointed into the Cabinet when Najis C4 takes over. If I were appointed Chairman PAC I would also do the same with the promise of a big reward!
written by ez24get, November 03, 2008 22:25:01
You mean to tell us that a screw driver purchased for RM 224 a set when the market price is only RM 40 is set is OK as long as the procedures are followed? You think the public are stupid?
written by Dongra Dude, November 03, 2008 22:33:14
Azmi Khalid needtra cash to maintain his celebrity spouse. His quick press statement without consulting the views of other commitee members of PAC, clearly indicates that he will be well rewarded for delivering such statement. Well done Azmi. Don't take us Malaysian for a ride.
written by MNor, November 03, 2008 22:35:44
Biasalah tu. Siapa nak mengaku berak tepi jalan. When it come to gomen deal and deliberated by gomen hanco, the verdict can always be on their side. Main wayang lah katakan. Bodoh benor benor orang m'sia ni ye!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ez24get, November 03, 2008 22:48:46
Below are the clever work done by PAC:-

- have the procedures followed? Yes

- have all detailed explanations from the ministry's top officials obtained? No

- have the ministry's top officials attended the inquiry session? No

- have all the tenderers called in for tender clarification of the tender document during the entire tender process? No

- has physical examination or flight test been carried out specifically for this tender? No

- has PAC inquired into the advantages Eurocopter possessed over the other bidders? No

- has PAC enquired into the glaring difference in the Eurocopter package price for Malaysia and Brazil? No

- has PAC enquired why the hasty decision to sign the deal a mere two days before Datuk Seri Najib Razak who was the Defence Minister swapped portfolios with Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi? No

- have the purchasers followed the standard norms in calling up each of the helicopter manufacturers to clarify the details of their tender? No

- has PAC checked whether there are commissions from the helicopter deal? No

Conclusion : The Eurochapter deal is in order. It followed procedures. Therefore Defense Ministry and Najib have been cleared from any wrongdoings!

Hoi, Azmi, apa accounts committee ni?

You mean to tell us that a screw driver purchased for RM 224 a set when the market price is only RM 40 is set is OK as long as the procedures are followed? You think the public are stupid and can be easily be taken for a ride by you?
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 03, 2008 22:51:34
One thing we should remember that PAC is led by an UMNO man. They have the "I scratch your back and you scratch mine attitude".
written by BennyG, November 03, 2008 22:52:23
Let's talk about procedures.

First, we need to know who are the committee members.

Second, the evaluation/scrutiny would be minuted.

Then the checklist of procedures will have to be tabled.

Lastly, since PAC is PUBLIC ACCOUNT COMMITTEE, then the minutes of meeting and whatever checking shall be revealed upon any request.

Well, as a member of the public, I'm asking for the minutes and checklist. Please do reveal in the relevant ministry website to be easily accessed. Then we will be the judge of PAC findings since we are the employers.
written by countryman, November 04, 2008 00:44:21
Even if they are legitimately cleared of any abuse ( which I doubt so),they cannot be excused for sheer stupidity and mismanagement by overpaying by so much! Oh i know, it's not a crime to be an idiot...
written by Wakeupmsia, November 04, 2008 00:51:47
The sooner the gomen is changed, the better. Otherwise, we, Malaysians, does not matter what race you are.........will suffer cos of the pilferage and robbing of the country's wealth. The rising cost of living vs the income is unbalanced! The rakyats suffer, not them.
written by bexe, November 04, 2008 03:16:28
The proper way even if you want to absolve the Government is to show us why the PAC decided to come to the conclusion that it was done properly.
Show us that tenders were called properly
Show us that the technical assessments were done properly
Show us the recommendations by the different experts
Show us the price justification
Then only then is this PAC review worth anything at all.

written by zonefinder, November 04, 2008 05:33:20
There is no prize in guessing who the dissenting vote belongs to.
Tony, lets hear from you on what bs went on during the inquiry. If there is a rule on members not divulging details otherwise will get sack, so be it if the PAC is a sham. Better if PR is not involved with these shenanigans.

What kind of statement is " Govt cleared of Scandal.." when the essence of the issue on price, selection process, tests criteria were left unanswered??

Azmi, you are a disgrace!
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 04, 2008 08:14:33
PAC clears Eurocopter deal, but decision not unanimous

SEE THE EXTENT OF UMNO'S INFLUENCE. WE THE RAKYAT NOW FULLY UNDERSTAND WHY WE HV TO KICK OUT BN IN THE NEXT ELECTION.
written by batsman, November 04, 2008 08:46:53
In Britain the SAS chief (elite forces) resigns to protest inadequate equipment supplied to his troops. In Malaysia PAC "clears" govt for failure to physically test equipment before purchase. Looks like in war, our armed forces are just required to refer to Jane's and compare paper strength. If we are weaker on paper, we will surrender forthwith. If we are stronger on paper, we will try to beat the crap out of the opposition. This sounds as if our armed forces have been told by PAC to be bullies and cowards. Looks like UMNO is already fully sinicised. If I am not wrong, this is called "kiasu" and kiasi"