Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid: Malay supremacy concept has failed

Zaid: Malay supremacy concept has failed PDF Print
Sunday, 02 November 2008 19:35
(Star) The Government should practise a more transparent form of democracy to accommodate the rights of all Malaysians. In making the call, former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim said the Government must embrace a fresh perspective based on discussions and agreements made in good faith with all the communities.

The ketuanan Melayu or Malay supremacy concept, he pointed out, had failed and distracted from the real issues confronting the country.

It is time for us all to practise a more transparent and egalitarian form of democracy and to recognise and respect the rights and dignity of all the citizens of this country,” he said in his address on “Malaysia – A Lost Democracy?” at the 21st LawAsia Conference 2008 here yesterday.

He said the “restructured social contract” marked the advent of ketuanan Melayu or Malay supremacy, resulting in the country’s current state of affairs.

Stating his stand: Zaid (left) acknowledging the applause after delivering his speech at the 21st LawAsia Conference 2008 in Kuala Lumpur yesterday. Looking on are conference organising committee chairman Christopher Leong (centre) and chairman Glenn Ferguson.

The non-Malay Barisan component parties were perceived by Umno to be weak and in no position to exert influence.

Bandied about by Umno ideologues, the social contract took on a different, more racialist tone.

Affirmative action and special status became a matter of privilege by reference to race rather than of need, and questioning of this new status quo was not to be tolerated,” he said.

Since Malays were effectively represented in government, there was no way the interest of the Malays could be taken away other than through their own weakness and folly, he stressed.

It was, and still is, impossible to reconcile the principles of equality and civil rights of the people of this country with the primacy of one group over all others,” he said.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, November 02, 2008 19:39:24
YB Zaid Ibrahim,
Words spoken by a true statesman; You are a true Anak Malaysia, sir.
agree 117
written by DreamLady, November 02, 2008 20:08:10
Zaid my dear, I fear for your life. You are outspoken, you fight for justice, you abhor irregularites, you are precise in your explanation about the social contract........

The UMNO goons hate your guts, please, for your rakyat, your family, and for yourself, please constantly watch your back. These demons will not hesitate to throw you behind bars for obstructing justice; for creating racial chaos...

We the rakyat love you for loving us. We do not want you to end up like the fate of our beloved Raja Petra, THE FREEDOM FIGHTER OF OUR TIME!!!!!

We constantly pray for your well-being, may God guide you on the journey to the battle field............
written by pixieface, November 02, 2008 20:09:42
YB ZAID IBRAHIM SHOULD JOIN PKR ASAP. We must have more honourable men like him
running the govt and do malaysia proud. Syabas YB. You are one of a kind.
Please remain in politics. WE need intellectuals like YOU.
written by No nonsense, November 02, 2008 20:09:45
Datuk Zaid what you are saying is totally correct. Supremacy of any race is irrelevant in the whole world . Look at America and see for yourself that white supremacy will be wipe-out there. The people are against supremacy of any race and do we want to follow the old unwanted thinking still? Be united as one than we are supreme and not under one race. Datuk Zaid , you have seen the future that race supremacy will only bring destruction to the Nation. Who will benefit if the Nation falls? NONE. If everyone will to only think we are only malaysians then we will progress. The only thing wrong with this country is the politicians are always breaking up the cooperations of all the races to their advantage. We are proud of you Datuk Zaid to be a malaysian and not only a malay. Keep up the good work for the whole nation than we are a proud race of being MALAYSIANS.
written by onnetline, November 02, 2008 20:23:28
' Malay supremacy ' concept is non-halal in Islam, I believe.
written by sydput, November 02, 2008 20:56:40
from now one, where ever Zaid goes, I follow.
written by kkselvam, November 02, 2008 21:00:56
Thank you Mr.Zaid. You are certainly one of my hero beside YM RPK and DSAI.Thank you again. smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, November 02, 2008 21:20:49
He tried to bring about change from within and failed.
On a matter of principle he has resigned both his ministership and senatorship.
On, those grounds alone, he is worthy of honour and respect.
Now, to come out so openly critical of the UMNOputras weapon of choice to keep power in their hands, Zaid must be truly commended.
But, sadly unless a change of government can be effected all those inspiring words will just fade into the background .
written by justinlian, November 02, 2008 21:27:30
Maybe we can see only one in our life time like Datuk Zaid.

Is there more like Datuk in malaysia ?
Im sure all malaysian will hope to see more .
written by Fuminari, November 02, 2008 21:44:48
any individual of the caliber n quality as of zaid is too good for umno,this corrupted to core party does not deserves people like this great lad zaid in the first place!
written by Blacknight, November 02, 2008 21:58:40
The Malay Supremacy has not failed entirely. It has enriched the Malays in UMNO with tons of money and projects till they are drowning helplessly in it.
Their money is now their master and they now bow down and abide in it by lying, cheating, hating and killing in order to survive and to live side by side each day with it.
The average and noble Malay on the other hand will get to enjoy the Malay Supremacy when it comes to election, nomination and ass licking. They will be rewarded with the Malay Supremacy if they sell their soul and decide to follow and show support to these money crazed demons.
These demons will not for a moment leave the sinking ship withought picking up every sinful single dollar and their forbidden treasures even if the ship is in the middle of the deep, dark and cold ocean. They failed to realize that only the soul leaves the earth in the end. They totally ignore the fact that they came to this world with absolutely nothing but strongly believes that they will return with everything. They cant part withought a single dollar.
DAMN!! You BN guys are damn Funny..
So the Malay Supremacy is not entirely a FAILURE.. This bunch of Dumb Ass RETARDS are.. A NATION BIGGEST F.A.I.L.U.R.E
written by yy88, November 02, 2008 22:46:08
Datuk Zaid, you are only half correct when you said Malay Supremacy have failed.
Malay supremacy has never taken of from day one. UMNO has kidnapped and disguised UMNO supremacy as Malay supremacy. It was all the while UMNO supremacy that have caused all the harms and damages, not only in the livelihood of our Malay brethens, but to all others non-malays.
written by cheekhiaw, November 02, 2008 22:47:11
But Malay supremacy concept had succeeded in breeding supreme thieves amongst the Malays...

written by 1351, November 02, 2008 22:47:34
No worries Zaid, Malays at large know that 'Ketuanan' only applies to a select few. They now know UMNO has exploited the notion of 'Ketuanan Melayu' while the masses remain pawns and serfs to the Kingdom of UMNO.

UMNO President by all counts inherits the title King of all King's, a position made all mighty by Dr.M. Unfortunate for us, Badawi never put to good use the sway the position brings but instead made hay to enrich his immediate clan.

Report just out places Najib(bar a revival of Ku Li) on the hot seat by virtue of nominations received - a prognosis many saw coming the moment Altantuya verdict was dispense with but let take heart - the coffers of Bank Negara are fully stretched, revenue from Petronas no longer astronomical(crude prices way down. We now have Najib on the helm at a time when his stewardship demands all right action and all expenditure will be closely scrutinised as his reputation and that of Rosmah carries with it excess baggage from past.

World economies currently in turmoil will persist for the next 2-3 years(at the least) so being on the helm this moment is no walk in the park like it once was. The wanton days of plunder is all in the past and I forsee those welfare monkeys in UMNO being more vocal than usual with flow of corrupt riches curtailed. It would be quite a task for Najib to balance party interest and that of the nation.

Tough times ahead and by all counts the gravy train that long sustained UMNO's might would barely trickle so let's wait see if Najib makes or breaks UMNO.

Regards all,
written by Hello Keithy, November 02, 2008 23:16:54
Malay Supremacy - The only thing that comes to mind is the supremacy of Mat Rempit over the police. That's what it's all about.
written by ASK4u, November 02, 2008 23:55:06
For those who have missed Datuk Zaid's full speech, follow the link below: http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/92235. It's worth every minute of your precious time. It reminds me of another great man who lived more than two centuries ago,..George Washington. How humble and deeply spiritual in nature he was. His speech is still relevant today, and how I wish our leaders can emulate him, emm! Due to space constraints, allow me to quote some extracts from his speech made in the year 1789, below:

..By the article establishing the Executive Department, it is made the duty of the President "to recommend to your consideration, such measures as he shall judge necessary and expedient....In these honorable qualifications, I behold the surest pledges, that as on one side, no local prejudices, or attachments; no separate views, nor party animosities, will misdirect the comprehensive and equal eye which ought to watch over this great assemblage of communities and interests: so, on another, that the foundations of our National policy will be laid in the pure and immutable principles of private morality; and the pre-eminence of a free Government, be exemplified by all the attributes which can win the affections of its Citizens, and command the respect of the world.

..I dwell on this prospect with every satisfaction which an ardent love for my Country can inspire: since there is no truth more thoroughly established, than that there exists in the economy and course of nature, an indissoluble union between virtue and happiness, between duty and advantage, between the genuine maxims of an honest and magnanimous policy, and the solid rewards of public prosperity and felicity: Since we ought to be no less persuaded that the propitious smiles of Heaven, can never be expected on a nation that disregards the eternal rules of order and right, which Heaven itself has ordained: And since the preservation of the sacred fire of liberty, and the destiny of the Republican model of Government, are justly considered as deeply, perhaps as finally staked, on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people.

..the light in which I contemplated my duty required that I should renounce every pecuniary compensation. From this resolution I have in no instance departed. And being still under the impressions which produced it, I must decline as inapplicable to myself, any share in the personal emoluments, which may be indispensably included in a permanent provision for the Executive Department; and must accordingly pray that the pecuniary estimates for the Station in which I am placed, may, during my continuance in it, be limited to such actual expenditures as the public good may be thought to require.

Compare those above with NEP, "ketuanan", helicopter deal, corruption, marginalization, discrimination..ad infinitum, here in bolehland. For complete reading, here is the link: http://www.archives.gov/exhibi...ugtxt.html
written by ASK4u, November 03, 2008 00:31:33
written by taishan, November 02, 2008 22:15:07
onnetline:
In fact you are quite mistaken. It quite halal on theological grounds. Verse below and similar verses explains.

“Fight those who believe not in Allah nor the Last Day, nor hold forbidden which hath been forbidden by Allah and His Messenger, nor acknowledge the religion of Truth, (even if they are) of the People of the Book, until they pay the Jizya with willing submission, and feel themselves subdued.” Qur'an 9:29.

Taishan sir, I think you're quite mistaken there. Islamic theology doesn't recognize the supremacy of any race, let alone "ketuanan Melayu". Nazi's did and they are gone now. So, how can it be "halal" then? As for your quote from a quran verse that has been taken out of context, I can clearly see you have a 'beef to pick' with Christians and/or the Jews. I suggest you consult an expert in hadith, otherwise the road which you have chosen to thread is very dangerous indeed.
written by 1351, November 03, 2008 00:40:38
I know you mean well ask4u but Zaid's conduct is far from that achieved by GW, one of the pillars that laid the foundation for a free America. Matter of fact, you should consider the role Raja Petra has played to influence the direction the nation is headed. By my estimates, what Raja Petra has set upon to do is more noble than anything Zaid has done thus far in his political career.

Once, I didn't half care but Raja Petra was such a persuasive and voracious writer that had me captivated. The man help me and all of us find our voices, and provided the platform at great expense and sacrifice.

We all owe that man a great debt of gratitude and he being his modest person, takes no credit for what MT is today. And the irony of it all, the foundation Raja Petra built goes a long way to help us all secure a better future - that happens to include the children and grandchildren of UMNO, the one's most responsible for having him detained under ISA.

written by Daryl, November 03, 2008 00:55:25
Majority of Malay need to realise that just because these politicians are the same skin color or give you few hundreds ringgit they will protect you. Look at that LGE case and I think there are a lot more. Be smart and don't get behind because of these snakes. Look at China they want to earn from the best that try to do it on its own... Don't learn from second best if you can learn from the best because the snake politicians told you so.
written by ED_PG, November 03, 2008 00:57:45
well said, 1351. Raja Petra has indeed done more to shape this nation in the last 2 years than anyone I know.
While we heap praises on Zaid for his stand, which he truly deserved, let's not forget how he managed to build the largest law firm in M'sia. He is one of those who benefitted from Malay's supremacy.
While Zaid still enjoy the fruits of his past association, Pete sits in prison for helping us see the light. Therefore, Zaid should do more and be the champion of what he preaches, just like Pete does.
written by thegodfather, November 03, 2008 01:00:40
Datuk Zaid, you are one true anak Bangsa Malaysia. I salute you, sir. We need more people like you to lead this beautiful nation of ours.
written by Davy McChester, November 03, 2008 01:39:43
It was a great speech coming from an ex UMNO minister,a person truly concerned for the future of Malaysia.If UMNOputras stubbornly continue with their status quo for their personal survival, Malaysia 's standard of living will be behind Bangladesh, Burma,Indonesia, Laos,Cambodia,Vietnam,Thailand.
written by ASK4u, November 03, 2008 01:47:06
I agree with you 1351. Due to the "law of association"(refers to the ability to recall one fact by relating it to another fact which has been firmly fixed in the mind)Datuk Zaid's speech enabled me to recall GW's speech from the deep recesses of my memory. I am not attempting a one-to-one comparison between both men and their speeches. YM RPK is surely the indisputable champion and a martyr because he has sacrificed his freedom in order that future generations will have their freedom and a better country here to call their home. It's a sin even to think of any comparison with YM RPK. And to be fair to Datuk Zaid, the man has just started. We must give him time. His hands were tight when he was with the ruling govt. Nevertheless, his conscience couldn't allow him to serve his evil masters anymore, hence he opted for truth and shunned position and power. Tell me how many BN people can do that? More will surely come from him soon.
Cheers to you smilies/smiley.gif
written by 1351, November 03, 2008 02:41:22
Fully in agreement with you ask4u, Zaid's work has just started and I look forward to all positives for the future. I'm just glad I didn't rub you the wrong way when essence may be lost due to economy of words.

Cheers likewise bud and have a good productive week and never fail to realise the potential that your voice can carry.
written by taishan, November 03, 2008 03:22:14
ASK4u:
You would want us to think so.
Here's what the boss of CAIR says:

Islam isn't in America to be equal to any other faith, but to become dominant. The Quran should be the highest authority in America, and Islam the only accepted religion on earth.

And from Bukhari:
Islam is to dominate and not to be dominated.
written by Kreator, November 03, 2008 05:12:10
One thing i have learned about Malaysia since i was born 24 years ago is that the most qualified people for the job are not necessarily the best person suited for the job. Race and affiliation has become the major credential. Luckily there are some people like Zaid Ibrahim who gives us a glitter of hope that all is not lost.
written by bexe, November 03, 2008 06:15:50
Every once in a while in history a champion comes along to lift people who have been unfairly disenfranchised out of their predicament. Zaid Ibrahim is one of them. We are fortunate to have 2 champions, the other being RPK.
Together I am confident we will rise up and rid those who have worked to disenfranchise us.
Shabas Zaid!
written by Stupid me, November 03, 2008 07:19:25
There is a warning from the HM to Zaid about this very matter. Is it possible that the HM may put Zaid under ISA, and who is more Malay, the HM or Zaid? The mad HM is capable of doing anything and he can claim that it is for Zaid's safety that he is roped in if at all he is roped in as the HM is a very kind person.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 03, 2008 07:46:55
Zaid: Malay supremacy concept has failed

TO ALL MALAYSIANS YOU REPRESENT THE HOPE AND FUTURE. TO ALL AMENO, YOU ARE BRANDED A TRAITOR TO THEIR CAUSE.
written by batsman, November 03, 2008 09:46:47
History is full of examples and lessons that anything based on force or fear cannot last. Time for Malays to earn real respect through talent and capability. Zaid is one of the many Malays who qualify. UMNO unfortunately has many Malays who don't. Ketuanan Melayu is based on force and is meant only to keep UMNO in power. Malaysians have been fooled for too long.

Malays on the other hand should get rid of the contradiction that Ketuanan Melayu which is based on superiority and mastery is also paralysed by the fear of Chinese. Such contradiction can only be covered up by manipulation and lies and forcing people who speak up against lies to suffer. RPK is one such example. Free RPK.
written by ASK4u, November 03, 2008 10:59:19
written by taishan, November 03, 2008 03:22:14
ASK4u:
You would want us to think so.
Here's what the boss of CAIR says:

Islam isn't in America to be equal to any other faith, but to become dominant. The Quran should be the highest authority in America, and Islam the only accepted religion on earth.

And from Bukhari:
Islam is to dominate and not to be dominated.

taishan sir, I know about CAIR. Please don't drag MT into another Islam bashing portal. Enough is enough...I'm sick and tired. Are you an implanted saboteur? Do you know that CAIR has been branded a terrorist organization by some factions in America? I don't wish to provide links to anti CAIR organizations in America to rebut your claims and Bukhari was right when he said that Islam should dominate your life and not the other way round. smilies/smiley.gif