Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow As days dwindle down, Pak Lah's rhetoric grows stronger

As days dwindle down, Pak Lah's rhetoric grows stronger PDF Print
Sunday, 02 November 2008 18:14
By Leslie Lau, Consultant Editor 

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 2 - As the days dwindle down towards the end of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's administration there is a palpable sense of pent-up vindictiveness and desire among some senior Umno leaders to destroy his close associates.

At Friday's party supreme council meeting, the outgoing Umno president fought off attempts to bring his reign as Umno president to an end in December instead of next March by going on an uncharacteristic offence against his critics.

The Malaysian Insider understands that the party president ticked off leaders whom he heard were threatening to destroy his friends and those associated with him.

Abdullah started Friday's meeting by telling party leaders that in the time he has been Prime Minister he never once made a decision based on a desire to victimize or destroy anyone.

He also pointed out that he had always tried to be fair to everyone.

During Cabinet, Barisan Nasional (BN) or Umno supreme council meetings, Abdullah said he always allowed everyone a chance to speak.

"But now he has been hearing more and more reports of threats being made that when certain power come to power they wanted to destroy his friends and those associated with him.

"He did not name those who are allegedly making such threats but it is clear he was not referring to Najib," a source told The Malaysian Insider, referring to Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who is set to take over as Umno president and Prime Minister next March.
A host of leaders , with leading deputy presidential candidate Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Rais Yatim chief among them, have grown increasingly critical of Abdullah.

Some of these leaders have been openly defying the party president and have been pushing for the Umno elections to be held in December as planned, therefore bringing Abdullah's tenure as PM to an earlier end.

But during Friday's meeting the Prime Minister did not name the leaders he was accusing of planning to destroy his friends and associates.

However he pointed out that he did not consider himself a weakling for not using his power to destroy those who opposed him.
Instead he said those who wanted power to destroy others were "cowards and contemptible."

He told those at the meeting that he wanted to know "what kind of Islamic thinking prevailed among those who sought revenge and who wanted to destroy people for being loyal to him."

Abdullah also wondered aloud "how they can reconcile being Muslims and being so vindictive. 

Islam requires a leader to be fair to everyone - whether they share his views or not."

Singling out Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who is seen as a strong backer of Muhyidiin and whose son Mukhriz is taking on Abdullah's son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin for the Umno Youth Chief's position, he said the former premier had been running him down from the first day he took office.

"Yet Mahathir goes around saying he is not given a chance to speak and there are those among you here who support Mahathir's views publicly. Did I sack you for opposing me and supporting someone who is not even in Umno?" he asked the party leaders. 

Party leaders who attended the meeting kept quiet during Abdullah's tirade.

But some of Abdullah's supporters later criticized the PM's critics in the supreme council.
In the end the critics kept quiet, and the plan to pressure Abdullah during the meeting to bring forward party polls to December fizzled out.

All those present agreed to the March 24 date without any debate.

While many of Abdullah's supporters were happy that he showed his strength during the meeting, they felt that if he had been more aggressive and decisive previously, he would not be counting down the days today to his exit from power.

written by cheemengwong, November 02, 2008 18:22:34
All these crocodiles are there for one reason only- embazzle Raayats' money. Do you seriously think they are there to serve the raayat?

All same onelah.
written by Kyle, November 02, 2008 18:42:24
Hai Pak Lah..
why now ?
Seeing these shitty UMNO leaders really spoil my mood.

We need fresh blood in the govt now.
written by DreamLady, November 02, 2008 18:45:51
pak lah, sometimes i am so cross with you for your flip-flopping, but as days draw nearer to your exit, I would prefer you to retain some dignity and maruah.

You still have few months to thrash the pengkhianat-pengkhianat who bite you when they no longer need you. Maybe Khairy could help you out to get even with those who treat you with disrespect. Please, slam these so-called Muslims who are rotten to the core. These are the people who have been scheming behind your back all this while.

Do me a favour, ask forgiveness from the Hindraf people who did you no wrong and also, kiss and hug the little Indian girl who presented a teddy bear to you in good will. Bertaubatlah, I am sure Hindraf and the rest of the indians shall forgive you and they and their ISA DETAINEES shall pray for your retirement with peace-loving thoughts.............

God please bless our PM so that he has the strength to defy the demons in his circles of 'friends'.........
written by my oumrie, November 02, 2008 18:48:41
I watched that press conference. At one stage, bodowi was overwhelmed by the questions cos he had his mouth opened and his face looked like he didn't understand the question, he didn't know the answer or he'd just woken up from a nightmare! Ptui!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 02, 2008 18:56:17
It's the case of too little, too late and demonstrating that his openness to others holding an opposing view to his may have shown his naive side of politics to the point of being forced his hand to step down.

It's sad. His downfall affects all of us and we don't need more problems. His inability to handle his opponents internally means he has little time to work on our problems which are far bigger and more important.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com
written by onnetline, November 02, 2008 19:11:15
A bunch of shitheads, at any which way you look at them.

Corrupted racists and hypocrites, If I might add.
written by sydput, November 02, 2008 19:17:18
abdullah tried to be fair to everyone, chose some of the old cabinet members into his cabinet, and now, these very same guys are going for his jugular.
While it is ok to tolerate free speech, it is not ok to include those who made racist remarks in the cabinet as it reflects on the leaders.
One of the reason for his downfall was that he did not sack hishamudin after the keris remark.
Thus the whole nation thought that his thoughts were similar to that of hishamuddin.
written by Liberace, November 02, 2008 20:21:09
UMNO Malays are the best examples of fair weather friends. That's why they'll never want to let go cos they know their friends will pursue them no end.
written by justinlian, November 02, 2008 21:08:14
All I know is that Pak Lah fails in every effort was given .
He fail all the malaysian even though he might have been the best PM.
written by educationist, November 02, 2008 21:31:10
It really does not matter that he won this battle for he had already lost the war.
I can forsee no legacy worth mentioning even as he finally managed to get his way to stay until March 2009.
written by RumahPanjai, November 03, 2008 00:40:46
In UMNO, you trust no one. They practise treachery to the highest level. The minute you stop looking over your shoulder they stab you. That's exactly what they did to Pak lah. He's surrounded by wolves in sheep's clothing. UMNO breeds corruption, money politics and treachery, hand in glove, a means to gain power at the expense of all Malaysian.
written by ASK4u, November 03, 2008 02:09:43
Abdullah also wondered aloud "how they can reconcile being Muslims and being so vindictive.

Islam requires a leader to be fair to everyone - whether they share his views or not."

It's pay back time...divine retribution. Where was all those talk when the peaceful poor Indians tried to see you to address their grievances. You humiliated and insulted them. You were so vindictive and arrested them later when they came in droves to your "Raya Open House". Were you fair then? Now it's too late laa. smilies/tongue.gif
written by cheekymate, November 03, 2008 07:06:53
YAB Prime Minister, You finally feel the pressure of your world closing in on you now. Perhaps you should ponder on these wise sayings which sum up your experiences while you sit as PM.
1.What goes around, comes around.
2.Biting the hand that feeds you.
3.When he is down, put him into the ground.
4.Do unto others as you would them do unto you.
You can still make good any wrong doings of the past. Allah forgives those who truly are repentant. You can save our beloved country from hell.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 03, 2008 07:44:38
As days dwindle down, Pak Lah's rhetoric grows stronger

WOW. NEXT HE WILL BE SLEEP WALKING. STILL BELIEVE YR SUCCESSOR IS
CLEAN, JUST AND HONEST???
written by Old Man, November 03, 2008 10:21:11
Intimidating other people is in your blood and culture. How do you feel being intimidated? smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by sonofman0, November 03, 2008 11:03:43
Too late!

One of the greatest lessons in history is to know how to use power when you have it!

An even greater lesson is to know how to use power when you DON'T HAVE IT!

TDM knows these lessons very well and capitalized on them. He even has the uncanny ability to make people think he has made a mistake when he actually did not! The results of this ability are now unfolding.

written by Frankie,BSD, November 03, 2008 11:47:49
Dear Prime Minister,
I know its tough all the way trying to do a good job and failing, not because of lack of will but unable to 'shed' yourself of the "baggage" of the hegemony of warlords, shylocks and shysters that has been deeply embedded.
I don't understand why you couldn't have handled the BERSIH and HINDRAF demos DIFFERENTLY ie to face the demonstrators face on and telling them, "I am with you and I HEAR you".
The RPK affair - release him and " I will want the truth, my Govt. is transparent".
The SODOMY ISSUE - "History is not going to repeat itself, Justice will prevail, so let's get to the bottom of this. Malaysia will not be the rag-bag of the world".
Hindraf, RPK and ISA - " I am not a proponent of such archaic Law, let us repeal it and bring Malaysia to the forefront of democracy".
That's all Mr. Prime Minister, already the VULTURES are waiting, so be YOURSELF and stamp your foot down, 'ENOUGH IS ENOUGH', do what is necessary to leave us a pleasant LEGACY "
Good Luck and thank you!
written by mahendra5, November 03, 2008 12:06:20
Malaysians are fed up with the UMNO Led Barisan Government. It is a daily Cofeeshop Talk amonst the Malayians(Malays,Chinese,Indians) re the on going Alatantuyas Case, The Lingam Tape, Judicial Mockery and many-many more cases which is being side-lined. Malayasians get the first hand news vide the many Blogs and the UMNO Led Govt.cannot fool the rakyat any more vide the Govt.owned Papaers and Electronic Media(TV). The coming 13th.General Election will easily be a smooth take over by the Pakatan Rakyat as they are doing very well in the 5 states, inspite of all the obstacles and problems being created to de-popularize them - THE RAKYATS KNOW BEST. With or without Anwar but with his wife Dr.Wan Azizah and daughter Nurrul around (hope they don't go missing ) the PAKATAN RAKYAT WOULD SWEEP ALL THE STATES EASILY in the coming General Election.

Justice and Fair Play

written by Wudan, November 03, 2008 13:38:27
"But now he has been hearing more and more reports of threats being made that when certain power come to power they wanted to destroy his friends and those associated with him.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Pak Lah! Pak Lah! You ain't see nothing yet. Wait till you are no longer in power.
That's UMNO Baru after all these years. Kah Kah Kah!