Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Two down, one to go, Zaid

Two down, one to go, Zaid PDF Print
Sunday, 02 November 2008 10:39

The Ketuanan Melayu model has failed… The founders envisaged a government for all Malaysians… The creation of Bangsa Malaysia is the challenge of establishing a united Malaysian nation with a sense of a common and shared destiny. This must be a nation at peace with itself, territorially and ethnically integrated, living in harmony and full and fair partnership, made up of one Bangsa Malaysia with political loyalty to the nation…How do we bring unity to the people if we are not prepared to respect their dignity? …

The obsession with the Ketuanan Melayu dotrine has in fact destroyed something precious in us. It makes us lose our sense of balance and fairness…my parting message is this: The people of goodwill must continue to strive to bring about change, so that we can rebuild the trust of all Malaysians. From that trust, we can rebuild the country where we do not live in fear, but in freedom; that the rights of all Malaysians are acknowledged, respected and protected by the system of law that is just and fair. There is no quest more honourable and a struggle more worthy of sacrifice’ - excerpts from Zaid Ibrahim’s speech at the LawAsia 2008 conference yesterday.

These excerpts do not do justice to his speech, which deserves full reading. The full text, in pdf, is linked below.

zaid-speech

On 26th April, last year, I said this of Zaid Ibrahim in a post entitled ‘Zaid vs Nazri - The debate and my thoughts’ :

I think you have tried to bring about change in UMNO and BN so that it might begin to dismantle its race-based politics. I think you have tried to restore some semblance of constitutional order to this country. You have failed, not for want of trying, but because the politics of patronage so entrenched in BN cannot be broken simply because of the vested interests of its leadership…if you stood in my constituency in the next election as an independent candidate, you would get my vote. I think you have done enough to rightfully be addressed ‘Yang Berkhidmat” ‘.

READ MORE HERE: http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/11/01/two-down-one-to-go-zaid/

written by IbnAbdHalim, November 02, 2008 10:52:23
There's no future for such a person like Zaid in UMNO.
written by lamakawan, November 02, 2008 10:54:03
You are right Zaid. We need people like you in Malaysia to start to re structure the maze created by BN. It serves no purpose to be entrenched in the maze that see no light of day for the majority except to continue to fill up the coffers of the ruling elite, in this case mostly the BN UMNO dogs. We cannot continue to allow allegations of racial hatred being harped by people like Ahmad Ismail, Mohd. Toyo,the latest being Sri Ismail Sabri from Bera demanding Tan Lian Hoe be suspended from her party, similar to Ahmad Ismail suspended from Penang division for 3 years. Party members demanding tit for tat within BN? How do you see harmony and progress for our Malaysia?
written by cheekymate, November 02, 2008 11:01:24
YB Zaid Ibrahim,
You possess the qualities of a true statesman, integrity, steadfastness, righteousness, humility and a true love and concern for the wellfare of our people. I am only respect for you, sir.
written by cheekymate, November 02, 2008 11:02:54
Sorry, should read, 'I have only respect for you, sir' Thank you.
written by avj, November 02, 2008 11:04:32
Dato Zaid you are truely a honourable man,but I disagree with Haris that you have failed.You have sown the seeds,inculcated the spirit of diligence, and to stand up and be counted among those who persevere to right a wrong.It won't be long before the seeds you have sown take root and begin to bear fruits. History will hail you as reformer.
written by Msian Idol3, November 02, 2008 11:30:47
A true Msian. There are many more malays like Zaid who knows where the country is headed & how little the malays have benefited. Honestly the non malays have benefitted more than the malays. It makes the non malays work harder,sharoer and probably set up business & seek careers overseas at the expense of Msia. The well connected Malays & U have to be a rich UMNO member to benefit from govt contracts & the affirmative 30% equity. Zaid, U have set a fine example & U are not alone. I was talking to an old classmate(malay) who was our class top student but he got no where because he could not be bought & he told me the younger malays do not trust UMNO. He cited its dirty money leadership in UMNO.
written by kkselvam, November 02, 2008 12:14:43
but because the politics of patronage so entrenched in BN cannot be broken simply because of the vested interests of its leadership…

This is a reality in UMNO.Leaders ask followers to eat shit and they eat it without question.What a GREAT KETUANAN MELAYU. All the world's past great civilization pales in comparison with UMNO and its Malays supremacy! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Apache3, November 02, 2008 12:37:02
UMNO's brand of POLITICS - ALL CRAP AND NO VISION FOR THE FUTURE
written by clarity, November 02, 2008 15:29:06
That's why PR must prevail. With umno round there will be no national integration. Only corruption. History has proven this to be true. Give another 40 years and it will still be the same. umno must go.
written by justinlian, November 02, 2008 15:59:31
Datuk, You have the full support of all the new malaysian people.
Do whatever you feel is right for the people of malaysia.
written by Hello Keithy, November 02, 2008 17:15:09
He's one who will look back and says "No regret. I made the right decision". And that is echoed by Malaysians.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 02, 2008 17:19:10
The future of Bangsa Malaysia rest on the shoulders of towering Malaysians the like of Dato' Zaid and RPK and not the likes of Khir Toyol, Ali Rustum or Mahathir who actually have vested personal interest to oppose a genuine Bangsa Malaysia.
written by apa jadi, November 02, 2008 19:25:45
One end the ruling party is calling all Malaysians to unite. On the other end, they are want Ketuanan Melayu. Will it work?
written by ibabonma, November 02, 2008 20:27:10
An indication UMNO is about to be dead.
written by Sabahfan, November 02, 2008 20:37:08

Back in 1963, I think I was 8 or 9 years... OLD enough to understand what my parents were explaining about our State of Sabah agreeing to form Malaysia instead of being claimed by the bloody INDUNs and Polipins....

I was old enough to understand what i can read in my native language the messages from our local leaders about the better future in malaysia after the British leaves their colony of North Borneo.

We were full of hope...."self government" was our slogan.
It was also explained about the ketuanan Melayu and the freedom to follow your own choice of religion, or have no religion, the special position of Islam was to ensure no one trys to suppress this religion when the British left...

well, there is nothing wrong with that. we were happy and full of hope. Let the Malays have their sultan, since they already exist before the British and Japanese turned up on our shores....Now, 50 years later....all I have to tell are broken dreams, broken by the Ketuanan Previleged UMNO, far from what was promised to us...

I wont touch on Peninsula...RPK is here to tell on that.. BUT I am qualified to tell on Sabah..

Instead of the dreams given to us for helping form Malaysia.... the rewards OF LIES, BULLSHIT..., dictatorship are as follows..

1. Dato Donald Stephens (so called Huguan siou, half kadazan half australian became CM for short time....) the Malays pulled him down because he was not a moslem. They put in Tun Mustapha to rule like a dictator and sultan in Sabah, all with the help of UMNO.

what did MUSTAPha UMNO dog did?
a) Slowly slowly killed of the native languages from the RTM. Introduced all Melayu language on RTM. His purpose, to destroy all other language because these language were popular medium of instruction especially christianity.
b) He hated the priest so much that a few were arrested and others their workpasses or visa discontinued and the foreign missionary who sacrificed their lives educating us local sabahans were all deported. ( SEE? VIOLATION OF THE SOCIAL CONTRACT)
c) Once Tun Mustapa got his absolute power, with support from UMNO, he arrested and detained all opposition candidates and sent them to Kepayan prison.. like Sabahs own ISA. Relatives of the recently resigned Judge Ian Chin were the victims, and also activist, Consumer champ Joshua Kong etc. The federal election for Sabah during the dictatorship of Mustapah were all "menang tanpa bertanding" by the cronies of USNO.
d) It was during Mustapah time that rediculous things such as the COPS ordered to arrest all long haired youths in town and given a snip snip bad haircut by the police barbers !!! shameful part of history.
e) With the help of an UMNOputra called Syed Kecik, Mustapa RAPED the wealth of Sabah to support his mistress in England, and one well known "cinderella" a supermarket check out girl in Australia. ( favorite haunt of Muhammad X2)
f) Mustapha double grumman jet for his sole used were seen parked at Tg aru airport for a while until he was trounched by breakaways from USNO, namely Party Berjaya.

written by Sabahfan, November 02, 2008 20:38:53
2. When Party Berjaya finally threw out USNOs dictatorship, Sabahan again was filled with hope. Berjaya was the first multiracial party in malaysia to become a state govt. It was ok for a short time until the double six tragedy when the top Sabah leaders, Donald Stephens, Mojuntin, Chong Thian Vun and others, six of them were killed in one shot via a suspicious air crash when their VIP plane from Labuan crashed at Sembulan in KK. Even the memorial shrine on the spot where the crashed occured seems to be forgotten these days.

3 Datuk Harris, a deputy CM in Berjaya took over the power and himself became a dictator...
With pressure from UMNO (something which he admitted recently) a mass conversion to islam were started for lots of interior native kadazan and dusun in return for promises of lands and subsidies...
(ANOTHER VIOLATION OF SOCIAL CONTRACT)
A local MP and still wet behind the ear even took the name of the Agung at that time...he did not become a federal minister but he was rewarded with lots of govt contracts....
(we understand that lots of these Dusun who converted have regrets, and still secretly consume their own coconut wine, and PUSAS with wild boar from the jungles.)

4. Finally Sabahans got fed up with Mahafiraun "sink and swim" with Berjaya Datuk harriss and despite the might of BN, even Datuk Harris lost in the election and PBS multiracial party came into power.... BUT NOT before Datuk Harris and Mustapha conspired to perform the SCANDALOUS Istana Power grab.

Christian Chief minster not welcomed. Istana gate was locked when Pairin came to be sworn CM after winning more than half of the state seats..
Then rakyats money wasted as they went to court challenging who is the right ful CM

Under PBS, our hopes for the future we though, but they became CORRUPT too.

Why? Because UMNO taught them how to be corrupted otherwise they can also be arrested under the ISA. so you can see, UMNOputras have a hand in every of our suffering in Sabah.

Mahatir stared Projeck IC because he didnt want a christian govt to hold on to power in Sabah. So they brought in UMNO into Sabah to overthrow PBS with votes from the illegal POLIPINOS.... which you can see running amok in Sabah right now.

Mahataik strategy was first to cheat Sabah leaders with rotation of CM. but when the turn for UMNO came, no more rotation. Its MUSA AMAN AL pushtuni to be CM for life because he is the tool and running dog for UMNO KL..
to make themselve rich....SAPU all the porjects even the bustop project also given to UMNO cronies, Even TNB owns coal fired project at east coast was stoppped because MUsa Pushtuni did not have a share.... we all know that...

5. Now with the hegemony of UMNO entrenched in Sabah which is their "Insurance" from Polipino votes.... rascist policies are at the peak...

Now every dept and GLC all controlled by UMNOputra moslems... you cant find any chinese or KDM top govt servants anymore....

ETHNIC CLEANSING has more or less being completed....

so we non moslem, anak tiri or slaves in our own country> what are we supposed to do? MUST WE START A REVOLUTION????
Better change federal govt and destroy UMNO otherwise, I can see a big revolution ahead.
written by archie, November 02, 2008 21:45:38
Actually mass conversion to Islam was started by USNO's Mustapha Harun in the late 1960s. And he didn't just try to convert the non-Muslim Kadazans/Muruts. He sent his people to coerce Chinese businessmen/senior civil servants and policemen to convert and many of them did.
written by amoker, November 02, 2008 22:08:26
Shahidan just ask Zaid to be barred from being a Malay, since he is not accepting the UMNO's ketuanan concept. He should explain how to be un-malay, or unchinese...etc. Zaid is just saying that it is more important to be Malaysians... We sure are having a lot of brain dead people lik Shahidan.

Of course, being Un-Malayed may mean Un-Muslimed... so good for converts loh. haha
written by DontPlayGod, November 02, 2008 22:09:01
Zaid, what are you doing in UMNO? In UMNO, you are like a fish out of water.
Now with your latest speech, you have made all the UMNO leaders and ultra's baying for you blood. I can recommend you to join another political party if you need. Just write in M-T.

Help to make Malaysia a better and more advanced, civilized and peaceful nation, Zaid. You can't do that in UMNO. That is a fact that I think you have come to realize.
written by DontPlayGod, November 02, 2008 22:13:37
archie, yes, mass conversion of Sabahans to Islam was started by USNO's Mustapha Harun in the late 60's after he promised those who converted land(in the hills and jungles). It continued during the rule of Harris Salleh. And now UMNO is continuing with this conversation. Wake up, you rightful bumis. of Sabah(Kadazandusun) before your race fades away to insignificance.

Don't look forward to being helped by your present kadazandusun leaders, who have been bought over by UMNO.
written by Sabahfan, November 02, 2008 23:58:19
Archie and dontplaygod.... THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT...

AND U R both 1000% corrrect correct correct...

and some KDM leaders have just sucked the assrsses of these UMNO shitleaders.

One example is the latest formed Kadazan Society Sabah.
Purpose supposed to be a self help welfare group for the race KONON..

TURNS OUT the leader some has been YB by the name of MARCEL LEIKING just used the society to be a vehicle for getting his cheap Datukship by helping MUSA PUSHTUNI in the last election by announcing that the society he is leading has fully ENDORSED the BN govt...
apart from this, his society has yet to show something solid to improve the welfare of the KDM.... NOTHING really.... just a big fat decoration... and ego glamouring amongst themselves... kek kek kek kek kek ekk..
written by Sabahfan, November 03, 2008 00:09:22
Another thing about Mustapha of USNO-UMNOshitputra...

Even with all the corruption that was proven in his regime, he was buried at some hero's graveyard which is lighted all night by taxpayers money.. HMMM i presume his relatives are afraid his "Hantu Bangkit" will come if they dont put the lights on....

And the archives run by some Datuk Tigabelas..(hic hick what a name) continue to declare what a hero this fukker is.. Tun mustapah, a hero taik kucing.

And his children all become bankrupt dont know how to maintain papa's wealth once the family have no more political powers.. even Mustapahs ole home at Tg Aru pun KENA LELONG.... kena sial punya...kekayaan.
And one grandson died mysteriously suspected drug addict..while his girlfren initially got arrested for suspicion of murder.... ha hah a ha... bikin malu betul. Of course she was released later, even though the drug addicts mother says cannot accept....INI LAH KETULAHAN mustapah...
written by ASK4u, November 03, 2008 00:42:47
Datuk Zaid reminds me of another great man who lived more than two centuries ago,..George Washington. How humble and deeply spiritual in nature he was. His speech is still relevant today, and how I wish our leaders can emulate him, emm! Due to space constraints, allow me to quote from his speech made in the year 1789, below:

..By the article establishing the Executive Department, it is made the duty of the President "to recommend to your consideration, such measures as he shall judge necessary and expedient....In these honorable qualifications, I behold the surest pledges, that as on one side, no local prejudices, or attachments; no separate views, nor party animosities, will misdirect the comprehensive and equal eye which ought to watch over this great assemblage of communities and interests: so, on another, that the foundations of our National policy will be laid in the pure and immutable principles of private morality; and the pre-eminence of a free Government, be exemplified by all the attributes which can win the affections of its Citizens, and command the respect of the world.

..I dwell on this prospect with every satisfaction which an ardent love for my Country can inspire: since there is no truth more thoroughly established, than that there exists in the economy and course of nature, an indissoluble union between virtue and happiness, between duty and advantage, between the genuine maxims of an honest and magnanimous policy, and the solid rewards of public prosperity and felicity: Since we ought to be no less persuaded that the propitious smiles of Heaven, can never be expected on a nation that disregards the eternal rules of order and right, which Heaven itself has ordained: And since the preservation of the sacred fire of liberty, and the destiny of the Republican model of Government, are justly considered as deeply, perhaps as finally staked, on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people.

..the light in which I contemplated my duty required that I should renounce every pecuniary compensation. From this resolution I have in no instance departed. And being still under the impressions which produced it, I must decline as inapplicable to myself, any share in the personal emoluments, which may be indispensably included in a permanent provision for the Executive Department; and must accordingly pray that the pecuniary estimates for the Station in which I am placed, may, during my continuance in it, be limited to such actual expenditures as the public good may be thought to require.

Compare those above with NEP, "ketuanan", helicopter deal, corruption, marginalization, discrimination..ad infinitum, in bolehland. For complete reading, here is the link: http://www.archives.gov/exhibi...ugtxt.html
written by Malaysiaputra, November 03, 2008 18:08:05
Dato' Zaid Ibrahim is akin to the boy in the fable "The King Who wear no Clothes". He is telling the Malays the truth of what he sees that is good for the Malays in particular and for Malaysia in general.

Syed Hamid and those like him are like the courtiers who tell the King that his "new" clothes is really really fabulous.