Beware! PDF Print
Saturday, 01 November 2008 16:31
For those of you “non-bumi” who choose to question the Malay rights (so called Bumiputera Law) as entrenched in the Malaysian Constitution [Article 153], beware! You could be sharing a prison cell with RPK at Kamunting on a permanent basis (or until DSAI releases you if he forms the next federal government).

Article 153 of the Malaysian Constitution deals with the “Reservation of quotas in respect of services, permits, etc., for Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak” and clause 1 states that, “It shall be the responsibility of the Yang di Pertuan Agong to safeguard the special position of the Malays and the legitimate interests of other communities in accordance with the provisions of this Article.”

Now, where does it specifically state that RPK would be expecting you if you were to question this constitutional article?

Well, Article 10 Clause (4) of the Malaysian Constitution permits Parliament to make it illegal to question, among others, Article 153 of the Constitution. It states, “In imposing restrictions in the interest of the security of the Federation or any part thereof or public order under Clause (2)(a), Parliament may pass law prohibiting the questioning of any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of Part III, Article 152,153 or 181 otherwise than in relation to the implementation thereof as may be specified in such law.”

So, not only can you forget about questioning Article 153, Articles 152 (which deals with the Bahasa Malaysia being the national language) and 181 (which deals with Rulers’ powers and prerogatives) are taboo as well. No touchee…no touchee.

In fact, under the Sedition Act, questioning Article 153 is indeed illegal. Clause (3)(1)(f) states that, “A ‘seditious tendency’ is a tendency to question any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of Part III of the Federal Constitution or Article 152, 153 or 181 of the Federal Constitution.”

We have presently determined that one can be arrested but it doesn’t mean Kamunting, right? It could be the Kajang Jail or Bukit Aman, right? Wrong! If the authorities say that your seditious remarks are meant to incite hatred against the Malays, it is therefore a national security matter dealing with racial issues. When the authorities present their arguments to the Interior Ministry and say that your words are a threat to the security of the nation, you are now official bait for the Internal Security Act. Whether you are going to be Corporal SAU’s cellmate (now that RB is acquitted) or RPK’s cellmate will depend entirely on the Home Minister’s “informed” decision.

Let us look at it from another angle. If they want you badly to be RPK’s cellmate, you are going to be RPK’s cellmate (unless of course if you decide to skip the country like the Double-SD aneh). How so? Let us assume that you threw a piece of tissue paper onto the ground. Littering? No problem. Probably a compound fine if you are really unlucky to be charged by a police officer. It so happens that there were no police officers around but the place that you littered belongs to a Bumiputera and he takes exception to your dirty habit. So, you picked up that tissue and place it into your pocket because there are no public trash bins on a private property. However, the Bumiputera owner is incensed that you have removed something from his property and calls you a thief. Heated words are exchanged along with the mandatory greetings to the respective parents (probably spoken in Cantonese). He calls the police and informs them that you have impinged upon his Malay rights when you asked about his mother’s bodily parts (questioning his ancestry). You are charged with disruption to the law.

End of story? No. What if this Bumiputera gentleman has a distant relative who happens to know a neighbor of his best friend whose fifth grandchild’s school friend’s father-in-law’s eldest niece’s husband’s second elder brother’s adopted son’s part time nanny’s boyfriend, who works at the Interior Ministry? Like I said, if they want you, they get you. Instead of getting a verbal reprimand from a magistrate (not for littering but for disrupting the peace), you are henceforth checking out the wattage of the slowly swinging light bulb (Philips brand) hung outside your dark and damp 6’ by 4’ detention cell in Kamunting because the Home Minister says that you cannot question this goodfella’s ancestry and that you are a critically dangerous psychopathic menace (and racist) to the security of the entire country owing to the fact that he is a Bumiputera and you are not, and henceforth there would automatically be racial tensions in an argument between members of different race. So, from wherever you are in Malaysia, you have suddenly become an accidental resident of Taiping for the next two years. Minimum.

Unfair, you scream! What of the Bumiputera gentleman, you ask! One cannot have an argument alone, you say! Well, do read Article 153 Clause 1 again. In fact you can memorize it if you so desire to, since you are not going to be “very busy” for the next 730 days (731 days if there is a leap year). Minimum.

So, beware of what you say and especially whom you say it to. That particular person might have a lot of influential friends or politically linked debtors, or closely (refer to above sample) related to someone working in the Interior Ministry.

The end.

By HAKIM JOE

Writers Note: Any similarities to any person(s) dead or alive are purely unintentional. The author would like to inform the readers that initials like RB and RPK are picked at random and are not meant to refer specifically to either Razak Baginda or Raja Petra Kamaruddin. Corporal SAU is not Koporal Sirul Azhar Umar of the Altantuya case either. The locations Kamunting and Taiping are also picked at random from a long list of Malaysian towns and cities, and do not suggest either the actual Kamunting or the actual Taiping respectively.

written by malgal, November 01, 2008 16:46:37
woo hoo... say nothing, don´t blink, don´t even breathe, might offend somebody.
written by OutsideLookingIn, November 01, 2008 17:03:18
And you guys say Malaysia is a democracy?

written by biggun129, November 01, 2008 17:06:31
If that is the case, I don't think there are enough cellrooms for all the commentators of MT!!!
written by teo siew chin, November 01, 2008 17:12:40
this would have been a real funny article if it were not for the fact that Yang Mulia Raja Petra who is a MUSLIM thru and thru is still languishing in jail becos he champions "AMAR MAARUF NAHI MUNKAR".
written by educationist, November 01, 2008 17:13:16
The writer means well.
Yes, I agree it is prudent to be careful as to who we voice our dissatisfaction with regards 'seditous topics' to.
Until the change of government that we hope for materialises, many of the issues dear to us will be seditous to the UMNOputras.
And we know who the police and the special branch take their orders from.
written by mikewang, November 01, 2008 18:50:46
I believe questioning the abuses in the implementation of Bumis/Malay rights in Article 153 of the federal constitution is not synonymous with questioning the special rights of the Bumis/Malays.
Tax payers like I have the right to question the government if my tax money have been abused and corruptly distributed to UMNO cronies.

Moreover, nowhere in the federal constitution is there any mention of NEP which is just an administrative vehicle.
written by Braino, November 01, 2008 18:54:11
Yeah, beware...if your fart to loud you may be charged for:
1. Noise pollution
2. Air pollution
3. Disturbing the peace
4. Scaring the cat
5. Causing distress to your neighbour
6. Infringing the "clean" air rights
7. Altering air quality
8. Being a health hazard to others
9. Public disorder
10. Endangering the survival of the human species.
11. Unlawful disposal of foul air!

Beware...before you fart...think twice or thrice or better still don't fart at all!
written by A MI, November 01, 2008 19:16:11
Thanks for the warning.
Did anyone notice that Astro has joined CNN i supporting McCain and Palin- just caught Awani showing a long feature extolling Palin.....not brain science to understand why right ? Why support McCain and not Obama? How can the son of an immigrant become President?

Guess we have to return to preGE12..just shut up and take whatever AMNO weaves.

Our is not to question why but just to do and die...

written by cruzeiro, November 01, 2008 19:29:34
ROTFLOL!!
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Fantastic!
Basically that's what you call "Law & Order" by the interpretation of the
Homey Minister!!

The Bolehsia Mantra for all ages until the NEP & BTN is wiped out is -
Don't Ask
Don't Think
Don't Talk
Don't Write
Care to add on any one?
written by Braino, November 01, 2008 19:40:28
Beware, if you are a non-bumi and fart in the public area, you can be charged with releasing toxic "un-halal" gas into the air and thereby endangering the life and health of the prince of the land.

Since it is life threatening offense you may qualify for an indefinite stay in Kemunting camp. But food and accomodations will be provided free of charge.
written by densemy, November 01, 2008 19:40:38
... another chapter in the UMNO textbook of "Government Through Fear"
written by cubi76, November 01, 2008 20:23:02
Perhaps it's the only constitution in this world that gives favors to one particular race. I cant find any other nation with such constitution.

Also, they didnt think of one day, the identity of Malays becomes so blur, that Indonesians, Thais, Filipinos, Pakistanis, Arabs, Yemenis, Indians, etc all of sudden can become Malays, despite the fact that they are really migrants to this nation for perhaps merely six months, or worse with fake documents.

Is it flawed? Dont you think so?
written by MsiaCTzen, November 01, 2008 20:52:11
When was these Article Passed/////what year and who was the Prime Monster.
written by Jack Hui, November 01, 2008 21:23:43
If this gov can't listen to rakyat, why we need this type of gov??? Change It simple as that.....Bye BN.
written by johanssm, November 01, 2008 21:50:50
The moon and the stars are already up there in the sky well before the arrival of any religion and "melayu".
People still questions why we have the moon and the stars.
written by mara koman, November 01, 2008 22:27:01

'' Beware ''

Thank you very much wise man , not so wise though..

You may choose to become as ostrich,, bury you head, leave you arse,, backside for the umnoputras to lambast ha,,,

There are still human beings who is still living on the surface of the earth la, who wants to have a simple decent life la, if this is any difficult to understand ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"lets see, it fine nn one say a word,,,

the conclusion is semua jadi monyet, jangan cakap. Macam westernese say orang malaysia go back to live on trees ha,, lebih bagus
written by Sabahfan, November 01, 2008 22:41:44
Dear fella commenters at MT...

of course the UMNO govt has more than enough cellroom for us, if they catch who you are. If not enought room at Kamunting, they can easily built new ones or ask US govt to keep you at Guantanamo. Anyway there is no problem with the original social contract. why should there be? If the racial forefathers who came together and agreed on it, well, even with the previleges of the Malays to be the rulers and TYT, thats not painful, as long as every citizen can live.

and whats wrong with giving quotas to the Malays to help them better improve their lives. No problem. the special previleged of the Malays has become the PREVILEGES OF UMNO LEADERS ONLY. cant you understand this? cant you see the proof? and for the non malays does giving some quotas for the malays mean ZERO to the rest of us? If there must be 30 percent, or OKAY give the malays 70 percent OKAY. but look at TNB, no indian, no kadazan, no dayak, no chinese etc. and all other departments and GLC so what are the rest of us NON malays gonna do in MALAZUTLAND? Eat shit? eat rocks? eat grass? Instead of providing facilities and contracts for Malays to gain equal foothold in Malaautland, what happens now is 100 percent monopoly by the UMNO leaders. Take for example contracts... Tell me how much contracts are open to NON malays? so conclusion UMNO and their BN shit partners have violated the social contract and they should all be arrested, thrown into the ISA and throw away the keys
written by cheekhiaw, November 01, 2008 22:45:27
Well, all that means is that it is a constitution heaven made for thieves...

written by Msian Idol3, November 01, 2008 23:50:24
What I am in total disagreement is the implementation of rights -- rights for the few well connected UMNO malays & their cronies to use to get richer,richer.. Even my malay friends are telling me 'corruption, corruption". I have no problems with malay rights but it has got to a point where everything is a right & when U see how far the benefits trickle down, one tend to ask how much resources we have & are we going to continually raise our kids like that to face the world?? Why not teach our people to not just do better but resilent. If we were to check this issue, I can say for sure UMNO will disappear as UMNO uses it to hoodwink the people to benefit themselves. Isn't it true that unless U are connected to UMNO U stand no chance of contracts. So where is malay rights. Only UMNO's version.
written by Kopi37, November 02, 2008 00:08:28
Errrrr, these laws are like leprosy so contagious and untouchable or it is fatal!

Leprosy is the special privilege of lepers and we better avoid those many lepers in this Bolehland who walk with crutches with pea heads! There is another law of bonker you should not touched or you be bonked! It sounded like we are still staying in the era when our houses were built on top of the coconut trees and that people are wearing sarong without underwear! What a shame and insult to civilization!
written by temenggong, November 02, 2008 01:03:44
Right from Day One on 1st Sept 1957 the Constitution had inconsistencies in law, which was due to changes made to the recommendations of the Reid Commission, resulting in conflicting laws. Subsequent to that many, many laws have been passed that are ultra vires to the constitution. These need to be decided upon in the courts of law! Until such time, those laws are ineffective. Just ask this question, when was this Amendment passed?

"Article 10 Clause (4) of the Malaysian Constitution permits Parliament to make it illegal to question, among others, Article 153 of the Constitution."

Can an amendment override the entire Constitution?
written by The Hammer, November 02, 2008 01:26:00
I am a non bumi and yet I totally agree with this Article 153 and provision because it was already done by some Malays and White Mens! But the there is one thing that i wish to highligh - how do you classify a Malay! ( please note the word "bumiputra" was not mentioned then!)
Now some questions: Are full Indian/Chinese Muslim - Malay people?
What if any of the races married a Malay - does this mean his children are Malays? heck some of them look more like Indian or Chinese! What about the Indonesian - are they Malay? They look like Malay but if they are considered as Malay then you must also accept the fact that Indonesian Christan are also Malay! This includes Arabs, Yemeni etc etc
So can the dickie who prepared this Article, please define the word - Malay!

written by mob1900, November 02, 2008 02:24:02
written by DreamLady, November 02, 2008 04:21:49
Beware.......when the sky is raining stones...
Beware.......when you are robbed by those whom you have rendered help...
Beware.......when your best friend buys your wife...

Beware.......least the words you uttered shall land you in the dungeon...
Beware...... when the OMNO goons strip you dry with not a single dime in your
EPF...
Beware.......of all the woes of mankind created by those wolves' under sheep's
clothing...
Beware.......All Malaysians, of the impending tzunami the moment the demon sits
on the throne...
written by Tompios, November 02, 2008 06:42:44
Just eat your Malay rights! How about Sabah and Sarawak? The Bumis non-Islam are the worst then non-Malay. Natives rights for Sabahans and Sarawakians? You must define carefully what Natives rights for these two East Malaysia countries! Only Natives Islam get the whole benefits. Discriminations among Natives/Bumi non-Islam are the highest in Sabah and Sarawak.

Bahasa Melayu? Sorry, I prefer using my broken English than using Bahasa Melayu. It was so disgusting to hear those Sabahan using Malaya slang. What bahasa jiwa bangsa apply to all Malaysians? Bahasa Melayu? With all slangs of Malaya bahasa Melayu, can it becomes an instrument as a symbol of Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa? Touch wood!!

Anyway, bahasa jiwa bangsa for Sabah and Sarawak countries is English. But, the crook leaders from Malaya Federation rape all 'declarations' of Sabah and Sarawak to join in Malaysia formation. Malaysia has different meaning for East compare to West Malaysia. East Malaysians define Malaysia start from September 16, but West Malaysians started August 31. East Malaysians consider themselves as sovereign countries but West Malaysians think that Sabah and Sarawak as States of Malaysia. East Malaysians have "Perkara 20" but West Malaysians trying to abolish these scared deals. So, do not talk Bangsa Malaysia before consider the background of Malaya States Federation and Sabah-Sarawak COUNTRIES.

So, Malaysia gives different meanings to different people both West and East Malaysia. Soon or later RPK becomes Legend of all Malaysians.
written by devious17, November 02, 2008 10:19:23
I wonder if kamunting and all the Ikut Syok Aku (ISA) detention camp is big enough to hold all the bumi-less if they ALL question the contract?

Use ISA and be sure to loose ALL your votes in the next general election smilies/wink.gif
written by gorshan, November 02, 2008 12:35:00
to solve problem of social contract so simple one.get all non malay one side and banished them all to sabah & sarawak and get all malay out of sabah & sarawak and gives them red carpeted welcome to semenanjung. that way no one will question the social contract ever again.that way all you serumpun burgers can live together and enjoy 100% equity of everything. apa macam mahu cuba? saya setuju seratus peratus.
written by devious17, November 02, 2008 14:31:42
gorshan, I second your suggestion ! smilies/grin.gif

I would love to see the two "countries" develope in their own way. The " bumi umnoputra country" and the " bumi-less country".

The umnoputra country will have it all their way, their 100% equity, their 100% umnoputra headcount on all private sectors, 100% participation of umnoputra students in all their unis......100% umnoputra country smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Tompios, November 02, 2008 21:22:22
Gorsan...!! that is good idea. If Sabah and Sarawak become Non-Umnoputera land than Malaya will die (except Terengganu). These two countries full of all petroleum and timber including mines.

Think about Singapore, Penang and many countries where no UMNOPUTRA around--they are far 'Maju' then UMNOPUTERA crook majority. Try! You can see no petroleum will enter Malaya.