Home arrow The Blogs arrow Mongolia! Mongolia! arrow What did he mean by ‘tentative charge but all is not lost’?

What did he mean by ‘tentative charge but all is not lost’? PDF Print
Friday, 31 October 2008 13:11

On 11th October, Malaysia Today carried a post entitled ‘Abuse of power by the Deputy Prime Minister’ that laid out a series of sms’es alleged to have passed between Najib and senior lawyer Shafee Abdullah in relation to Razak Baginda’s arrest and remand in the days before Baginda was charged.

Najib was publicly asked to comment about these sms’es and he never denied the authenticity of the same.

Now, there’s one other exchange of sms’es, this time allegedly between Razak Baginda and Najib. I do not recall Najib himself having ever addressed or denied or admitted the correctness or otherwise of these sms’es directly, as he did with the series of sms’es referred to in the MT posting.

I am referring to the 2 sms’es mentioned at paragraphs 51 and 52 of the first statutory declaration of private investigator Balasubramaniam. Let me reproduce below both paragraphs 51 and 52 of that first statutory declaration.

51. On the day Abdul Razak Baginda was arrested, I was with him at his lawyers office at 6.30am. Abdul Razak Baginda informed us that he had sent Najib Razak an SMS the evening before as he refused to believe he was to be arrested, but had not received a response.

52. Shortly thereafter, at about 7.30am, Abdul Razak Baginda received an SMS from Najib Razak and showed, this message to both myself and his lawyer. This message read as follows: “ I am seeing IGP at 11am today …  matter will be solved … be cool”.

Like all of you, I am aware of Bala’s second statutory declaration contradicting the first, but we also have to acknowledge that the circumstances surrounding the making and public announcement of the second statutory declaration, and the subsequent disappearance of the maker of both, might make it prudent for us to defer adjudging which of the two statutory declarations narrates the truth until such time that Bala is available to fully disclose and explain the circumstances surrounding the making of both statutory delcarations.

READ MORE HERE: http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/what-did-he-mean-by-tentative-charge-but-all-is-not-lost/

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by justice, October 31, 2008 13:21:02
agree 174
written by future, October 31, 2008 13:25:18
So what Judiciary Reform the Flip-flop is talking about?
For all we know an ex AMNO is the new Chief Justice and perhaps reform is meant to serve their personal and political interests.
written by sedan, October 31, 2008 13:25:43
Actually, it is a good thing that Abdul Razak Baginda is released. Now, the prosecution has to solve the murder. Hanging two cops out to dry will be ridiculous, as the motives for these two to pilfer C4s (leaving a record behind), and then murdering the Mongolian lady, is flimsy.

Cops just can't sign a requisition form for the release of C4s. Baginda does not have the clout either.

That narrows down the suspect to just one person - Najib.

I believe his days are numbered, and if he thinks he can take over the reins of government from March, he must be deluded.
agree 202
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:27:12
RPK got Kamunting while murderers got freedom.
agree 165
written by avj, October 31, 2008 13:28:10
Jengis Khan,araise from your grave and with vengence,seek retribution and restore the dignity of your people. The people of the world have forgoten history.
written by Question Mark, October 31, 2008 13:29:29
I can see that this Razak nearly pissed his pants when he refused to believe that he's gonna be arrested. Imagined how the late Altantuya felt when she KNOWS she's gonna die and how she must be thinking about her 2 sons whom she'll never had a chance to say good bye.

What turns around comes around... looked what happenned to the Thai ex-PM.. he's going to prison for all his wrongdoings and I am sure the late Altantuya's murderer/s will faced more severe faith. All will be revealed in time...
written by Thandal, October 31, 2008 13:30:54
There we go again. Another verdict that was very much expected by all of us, yet we bow our heads and accept this as the norm. How much more do we want to accept? Do we want our children to be scape goats for the Goons in time to come? Do we really believe in justice and equality? Is this the Islamic way?

I hang my head in shame!
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 31, 2008 13:32:21
Can someone please post the passport numbers and date of births for Najis and Altantuya? Need it for some investigation work.
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:32:31
Bala first SD should overrule the second SD.
written by mikefonz, October 31, 2008 13:36:53
The Chief Justice 1st Judicial Reform. That's is why he's appointed.
The "hole" truth and nutting but the toot.
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:38:04
Now the mongolians knows about how the malaysian judiciary works.Good muslim are thrown into jail while murderers are free to roam the streets.
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 31, 2008 13:38:48
What happened to the military intelligence report that was lodged with one of our Sultans? Your Royal Highness, it is high time you come out and present us with the military intelligence report to ensure justice is served. Otherwise, the sins of this gross injustice will be borne by you when you meet the maker in the afterlife!
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:41:16
MalaysianBaru,
They both left on the same date to Paris but on a different airline.Aminah boyfriend flew on MAS from KLIA,while Aminah flew from HK on Cathay Pacific.
written by educationist, October 31, 2008 13:41:51
Perhaps the all is not lost refers to the fact that RB has been acquitted today.
Yes, there are those who know but they are not telling the truth,
So we'll just have to deduce the facts of the case as best as we can based on the evidence obtained.
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:43:57
NOTE: Comment removed as irrelevant
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 31, 2008 13:46:39
ahmadneil,

It is not good to just claim they both happened to be in Paris on the same day. You need to show the evidence of their rendezvous. Until then, it holds no water.
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 31, 2008 13:51:15
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by ahmadneil, October 31, 2008 13:56:57
MalaysiaBaru,
One gold medal for you.Well said!
written by AuntyG, October 31, 2008 14:00:25
It appears that this character's lifestyle was akin to "living by the sword". He better believe he had a close call with God during the past 2 years. He should be "reborn" and do the right thing now by telling the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help him God ... lest he may eventually - "live by the sword die by the sword".
(btw, this character referred to is not imported from a TVB series ....)
written by taishan, October 31, 2008 14:10:04
What about the two ninja turtle, policemen ?
What do they look like ? Anyone can post their pictures ?
written by justinlian, October 31, 2008 14:14:32
This morning all god went to take a nap so no justice for time being.
Im sure there is some loop holes still lying around if we see properly cos no matter how perfect a crime is, there is something miss.
written by MalaysiaBaru, October 31, 2008 14:19:44
Razak Baginda,

You MUST NOT forget the contributions of Tun M to the Korek,Korek,Korek court that eventually set you free!
written by biggun129, October 31, 2008 14:22:16
Now, you see it, you read it, believe it or not???This is 'Justice' means by the ruling regime, Razak Baginda is applying for UK PR status, He is leaving for London with his family to settle down for good, so, bye, bye, to all the Malaysian, keep struggling, join me if you can for Christmas Party in London!!!
written by biggun129, October 31, 2008 14:25:54
Razak Baginda to Najib, 'I knew I can count on you!!!',Thank you very much, my brother!!!
written by angkasawan bocor, October 31, 2008 14:30:50
Judiciary reform? Where is the reform which the sleepyhead has promised?
written by Rundukon, October 31, 2008 14:53:13
If the alleged conspiracy to cover up the Altantuya's case really exist, I am sure the conspirators were not happy that only Razak was freed. They had hoped for a no case to answer. Some people will now be having nightmares now that the Judge had ordered Azilah and Sirul to enter their defence. I just hope these two people gets proper protection lest they be blown up by C4.
written by Fuminari, October 31, 2008 15:01:48
the MOQI thus far got the matter solved??n the best part of the joke is this MOQI would be leading this country soon!
written by Question Mark, October 31, 2008 15:10:50
Our judiciary system is a "JOKE"..R... our "BATMAN" is detained... for now..

Where's "ROBIN"?? We all are...
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 31, 2008 15:12:09
What did he mean by ‘tentative charge but all is not lost?

As for the other 2 blokes - they will eventually also either be acquitted after another lengthy process or they will be the sacrificial lambs. Either way, the path to claim the throne in Putrajaya is now clear for Najis. It is Ameno's will when he was unanimously nominated, so the whole country has to accept it
[Excessive use of Capital Letters - edited by st low]
written by my oumrie, October 31, 2008 16:15:49
In Bolehland Malaysia, we have all sorts of agencies for "checks & balances" and Laws for every eventuality of crime. All for show only to the world at large, that Malaysia is indeed a "Democracy", BUT at the end of the day, the decision to prosecute or dismiss is the sole decision of gomen of the day Perikatan melayu nasional organisasi or amno. This disease is easily curable - new gomen called PAKATAN RAKYAT. HIDUP DSAI! HIDUP BANGSA MALAYSIA!
written by miwaki, October 31, 2008 17:28:02
This type of verdict has been expected even before the trial but our kangaroo court takes months to come up with such verdict.Do we really need to have law schools in Malaysia.Even Muttu,Ali and Ah beng can solve this case.
written by Limang, October 31, 2008 19:31:38
I think the two special force personnels should be freed NOW instead of wasting the taxpayers' money. It is all a sandiwara right from day one. If PR forms the next government, I suggest it opens the case against the current batch of prosecutors and the judge, for it is very obvious that they are all in league with C4 and defence team to play along and eventually acquit all the accursed men.

This is the real UMNO world - where justice is what they dictate and say is right, not what others want. And UMNO men is free to rape, rob, kill, slander, etc. against anyone except UMNO members and they will not and cannot be touched. Ahmad Ismail, toyol, Zakaria, etc. are all classic examples of such a power and there's nothing anyone can do
written by Apache3, October 31, 2008 20:06:37
I agree with you Limang.

I'll bet my last dollar that "calling these two cops to make their defense is a farce". In the end they would be acquitted. The phrase "tentative charge but all is not lost" says it all. Just guess when this case ends who will be in charge of this regime? My guess is as good as yours.

"Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one." - Thomas Paine
written by mob1900, October 31, 2008 20:08:20

Let's hasten the process of making this dream come true!
written by malsia1206, October 31, 2008 20:48:41
1. Defence would say it's all in the evidence. Let the laws take their course.
2. The Judiciary would say they are above Board and cannot make public comments.
3. The rakyat says it's all politics and a big farce.
4. The Mongolians would say there's no justice in Malaysia.
5. The 2 other co-accused would say they take the rap for someone else?
6. The incoming First Lady would enjoy more of her shopping with delight.
7. The incoming PM would continue to have nightmares and sleep uneasy.
8. RPK would probably have an updated write-up sooner than later.
9. Ian Chin has no comment because he's resigning.
10.And the former loud-mouth PM? Yes, he never play any active role.
These are all the salients points of 'Justice At Work' in Malaysia.
malsia1206
written by Changes, October 31, 2008 20:57:35
You really think this 2 cops are going to admit, even though they do they have families. Can RM buy everything, even if it's billions. Will this kind of cops survive in there? Will their families survive OUT here?
written by cheekymate, October 31, 2008 21:25:35
I am not a defeatist by nature and I will stand my ground to remain stubborn and even obstinate in my fight for justice. However, I have of late been battling with a voice within me coercing me softly that our obstacles are just becoming too insurmountable. The boundaries and constrains that limit our investigations into alleged crimes of the government or individuals within the ruling party have resulted in all our painstaking efforts being dessimated by them.
Without a fair and honest judiciary system in place, it would be foolhardy to think that justice will be served to the perperators of these crimes. We must realise that the whole government machinery is totally at their mercy to manipulate at their whims and fancy. It is a bitter pill to swallow; heck, a damned bitter pill at that.
Nonetheless, we shall remain united in our fight for justice with one heart, one mind, one soul. One day soon, I know the truth shall prevail through the power of our most potent weapon...our vote.
written by cheekhiaw, November 01, 2008 00:34:55
What did he mean by ‘tentative charge but all is not lost’?

----

That means he had told the judge 'screw it or I blow you up'?

written by onnetline, November 01, 2008 00:38:53
Corruption of the Barisan Najis government at it's best !!!!!
written by No nonsense, November 01, 2008 00:49:44
We have expected this verdict from day one since Najis is involved. Lets hope that RPK will be out soon. What do you expect?

This is the real UMNO world - where justice is what they dictate and say is right, not what others want. And UMNO men is free to rape, rob, kill, slander, etc. against anyone except UMNO members and they will not and cannot be touched. Ahmad Ismail, toyol, Zakaria, etc. are all classic examples of such a power and there's nothing anyone can do

Dear Limang
Now only one person can save us from these cruel morons and murderers and that is DSAI. Sorry, not forgetting RPK too. DSAI please do something now before it is too late for Malaysia.
written by anak penang, November 01, 2008 09:02:12
Malaysia Baru,

its no point having hopes on the royalty.
they don't give a shit.

they are still sleeping after their sumptuous dinner last night
didn't you hear their big burp
written by fromamovingtrain, November 03, 2008 11:26:48
Hopes on the royalty? Out of the 9 royal families we have, I would say only one, or possibly two who can openly and consistently disagree with all that have been done by this pathetic umno-led government.

The rest are in these bastards' pockets.

Sorry tunaku, raja adil raja disembah...