Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 30 Per Cent Equity Shows The Malays Have Compromised A Lot

30 Per Cent Equity Shows The Malays Have Compromised A Lot PDF Print
Friday, 31 October 2008 09:31

Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin said the policy to have 30 per cent Bumiputera equity participation in public companies showed that the community had compromised a lot even though they form 70 per cent of the country's population.

"The question is, what is the appropriate percentage of Malay and Bumiputera participation in the economy?

"Should the Malays be left without any involvement in economic activities or let them remain at 20 per cent or should they be given 60 to 70 per cent instead?" he said at a news conference after visiting the Al-Madinah International University here.

He was commenting on a statement by MCA vice-president Datuk Liow Tiong Lai urging the government to do away with the 30 per cent Bumiputera equity participation in public listed companies.

Meanwhile the 4B Youth Movement expressed disappointment over the statement.

Its secretary Datuk Jamaluddin Abdul Rahim told reporters in Ipoh, Perak that the policy had been agreed upon by the country's past leaders to address economic imbalances between communities.

"We hope that young leaders in the country look back and study the history behind the 30 per cent equity policy, which was made following the May 13 incident," he said.

- BERNAMA

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by DatoSeri, October 31, 2008 09:35:37
It simply means the UMNO stil dragging all Malays by their noses, making them the paracites spoon-fed by the government policies and money from taxpayers, and tools that brainlessly supporting UMNOputras forever.
written by *********, October 31, 2008 09:36:39
The only hope left for Malaysia is for YB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Pakatan Rakyat to take power by setting up a new majority bloc in parliament. In the meantime, Malaysians especially the Malays must open their eyes and see that only in meritocracy and the spirit of comradeship with their non Malay brothers and sisters can Malaysia as a Nation take her place as an Asian success story.

Its time for the Malays to ditch Umno and move away from race and religion based politics. It's time for Malays to say TAK NAK to Ketuanan Melayu, NEP, and the Social Contract. BERSATU KITA TEGUH, BERCERAI KITA ROBOH!...More http://margeeamr.********.com
written by cta, October 31, 2008 09:40:35
pls take note.1st of all it was not Liow who say it. Utusan the evil who write it.the pontianak new paper is doing it again.Next the nonbumi hav to work double hard to get it,we do not hav gov help let alone know. most of the bumi also did not get it,then who is having the big fat cake?????????
written by smeagrooo, October 31, 2008 09:44:41
30% = compromised alot?

SO why dont we each adopt 2 umno fellas and support them financially so that they can continue to enjoy the laid back lifestyle whilst the rest work their arse off!
written by Wisdom above, October 31, 2008 09:51:03
For intent & purpose, "30 per cent Bumiputera equity " is given to Sabah & Sarawak only under Article 153 of Federal Constitution ?

Remember to campaign to " RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!"

Syabas to all Peace Loving Malaysians
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 31, 2008 10:09:50
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by Mark C, October 31, 2008 10:11:26
thinking about it, if they, the first class bumis take more than 70% and all "pendatangs" leave the country in droves...

I wonder what will happen economically and socially? would the country recessed back to the stone age? or would it continue to develop? I can bet my bottom dollar that, the disparity of the rich and poor will be too huge and a revolution ala soviet style will happen.
written by truthbespoken, October 31, 2008 10:14:29
The Malays must stay wake-up and get it right! They must realize that UMNO is not defending Malay rights. UMNO is defending UMNOputra rights! UMNOputras use UMNO to push Malays to the forefront to fight other people who are against their selfish objectives. UMNOputras always take the cream from the cake and only leave the crumbs to others!

Cunning and racist Mahathir had been using this underhand tactic during his PM years on the people. His UMNOputra students are now doing it on the double! Soon, the country’s wealth and resources will be depleted by them. God’s supply of oil to our country will be no more. Then there will be more social troubles for everyone. Malays must therefore continue with the lead to remove corrupt UMNO and UMNOputras from governing this good country! Change has begun during the last elections. The Malays must help finish the job on UMNO for the future good of everyone!
written by temenggong, October 31, 2008 10:17:14
The govt is muddling the issue. The 30% malay equity requirement is for initial issues when the company is first listed. This in itself is a burden for the company and discourages listing. For this reason several malaysian companies have decided to delist here and relist in Singapore or UK.

However malays can buy any amount from the stock exchange. Why restrict them to 30%? Go ahead and buy 100% of the shares in the market! Who is stopping? Listed companies would be more than happy. Today, share prices are below par values or initial listing values. So go ahead and buy, buy, buy!

Buying shares is still really a gamble in Malaysia's propped up economy and market. Go ahead and gamble. I'm sure gambling is not unislamic.

Buying shares is the worst financial advice one can give the malays. Now with the 30% equity target, which in any case is unrealistic, malays are doomed to financial ruin. Good job umno!
written by Ulan Benson, October 31, 2008 10:20:00
Malaysia is a beautiful country...an idiot can be become a Minister of Higher Education. One day, this idiot will abolish the necessity of a good education. As long as you are the son of 'ketuanan Melayu' you will be given 'free equity' and spoon-fed by the government till you die!

written by temenggong, October 31, 2008 10:20:27
Dear malays,Don't listen to these moronic umno leaders. They will lead you to ruin. Don't buy shares. Buy a house, shophouse or put it in fixed deposits!
written by Thinker, October 31, 2008 10:22:26
Totally agree with him! Let's drive out the foreigners who have invested in Malaysia and split the equity pie based on the percentage of each race.
written by ohuat, October 31, 2008 10:29:33
The biggest problem we have now is that the local Malays listen to these moron Umnoputra. It is these bastard UMnoputra that stole from commoner Malays, when can they realise this ? Stop robbing from us non-malay. We are the victims too.
written by Bosan, October 31, 2008 10:40:01
Mari mari Amano dan Pasislam, jangan menangis, mama bagi susu ni. Aduh sayang, sayang, anak kesayangan mak, engkau berdua ini masih kecil lagi, mesti pakai botol apabila minum susu,tau? Nanti bapa balik mak suruh dia beli 30 biji gula gula untuk berkongsi ya? Sebab engkau ialah adik beradik. Mari mari, tukar pampers.
written by justinlian, October 31, 2008 10:43:08
Abolish NEP and Im sure pakatan and others will help the malays to conquer rather than spoon fed all the time.
Malays will die becos of these and will drag the whole country with it.
written by Jan, October 31, 2008 10:43:25
Sometimes these UMNOputras talk as if the non Malays are restricting the Malays from holding equities in listed companies. If they want the equities just go into the market to buy them don't expect other people to work hard and hand them to you on silver platter.
After more than 3 decades of this policy who are the ones who benefit the most? It's pretty obvious isn't it, the ones who complain the loudest.
written by SocratesI, October 31, 2008 10:56:44

First things first. The 19% share of the market capitalization of the KLSE in bumi hands was measured at par value. It should be measured at market value which would bring it to far higher than 45%. Some professor from ASLi resigned over this issue some time back.

The 30% quota was the perfect "passport" and "camouflage" for the UMNOputras to take a huge share of the Malaysian stock market. If we analyze the people holding these shares, only a few UMNOputras have benefitted from this 30% quota initiative, not the general Malay population.

So the UMNOputras Must make sure the 30% quota is around for them to plunder Malaysia with impunity ! Where else in the world do Govt.s "reserve" 30% of the economic pie for such an Elite FEW ?? Only in Malaysia, under the guise of enriching the Malays !! The news is, many of these Malays are waking up to the fact that they have been duped all this while, and are now voting against these UMNOputras !

The economy and share market should be operated via free and open market principles and should not have any Govt. interference or even remote involvement, much less cheating all the Rakyat, in the name of Bumi special rights, so that the Lanun UMNOputras can plunder the country with carte blanche !!

written by us marshall, October 31, 2008 11:07:00
by keeping the 30% quota for the malays the gov is only making the malays weaker not competetive. what happens if they were to go out of malaysia? thats it..they will b squashed cos they have never been brought up in a competetive maner whereby only the best survice. instead they have been spoon fed n will continue to be spoonfed i guess by the way our moron leaders r shooting their mouths off. im sure most malays dont wana be spoon fed, they want to stand along other races n achive thier wealth n success with thier own strenghts and merits. this just goes to show that ummmph-no just wana keep raking in the big buck by using the excuse of helping the malays e.g 30% bumi quota. well go figure. malaysia boleh. cme 2020 we will still be in the drain while singapore will be millions of miles ahead of us.
written by Liberace, October 31, 2008 11:07:44
Obviously you don't need much brains to be the Higher Education Minister. Fancy title, as always, but clearly nothing behind it. The minute he opened his mouth he demonstrated his lack of grey matter to the world. He's spouting numbers like they mean something in and of itself. No critical analysis. It's like Ali weighs twice as much as Ahmad. Since they're both of the same age, that must mean Ali eats twice as much as Ahmad. Simple deduction. Now you know why our universities produce unemployable graduates. They can't think. All they can do is answer exam questions, provided that they're pretty straight forward.
written by Msian Idol3, October 31, 2008 11:08:15
This is the problem of our inept leaders. Who are these 30% bumis -- are they the same ones who benefit from someone's hardwork. No wonder the malays are left behind as such benefits hardly filter down to the deserving. My parents taught me good values & hard work. What I am today is achieved via hard work & because of such traits I am well accepted & welcome by all in foreign countries. If we continue to have such policies, I bet Msia will pay the price & the malays will regress as why should investors come to Msia & why should a successful businessman continue to stay in Msia. Our current bunch of leaders lack foresight & not willing to be right. A nation's foundation if not build on solid ground will crumble like a pack of cards. So if we want the malays including all Msians to suffer then by all means continue with such politics. I know for sure I won't be around.
written by Apache3, October 31, 2008 11:09:46
Khaled Nordin then why don't these bumiputras form their own companies and compete with the non bumis on a level playing field with out the "tongkat ali" from the govt and we see what happens. Fool
written by alpha100, October 31, 2008 11:12:00
Frankly, tell me i am wrong! Bumi has been given many times over 30% but problem is short term profit was more attractive to them! They sold the allocation they were given! 'Easy come easy go! So end of age also they can never achieve the 30% unless they rob others!
My apology to those who may feel hurt!
written by kingelvis, October 31, 2008 12:01:33
What about the Orang Asal? You are not. Malays are not.
The orang asal have made the biggest sacrifice. Your people have made no sacrifice.
written by Sean E, October 31, 2008 12:02:44
How to achieve 30% Bumi equity if the moment the shares are alloted, they are sold for a quick gain.

What puzzled me is why must luxury houses costing more than 1 million is also entitled to a 5% Bumi discount?
written by Arubin, October 31, 2008 12:16:27
I have to say that we non-bumis have compromised a lot more by putting up with all this bullshit from UMNO for so long.
written by A MI, October 31, 2008 12:21:08
so Minister of Higher Education..why don't you do a head count of all students in public universities. Maybe you will find 80% Malay participation and that should make you happy for now.

Don't worry about the economy lah..pay attention to your own portfolio!

There are among your Bumiputera Equity Profs, Assoc Profs with PhDs under your ministry who can't construct error free exam questions in English. Perhaps this could be a compromise for you!

written by thor, October 31, 2008 12:26:53
99% of an item value equating to ZERO, caused mismanagement arising from incompetent,corruption and greed IS still ZERO. So more important is to not create ZERO value for that item but diligently, honestly, fairly and with humility work for ALL MALAYSIANS. Don't leech on others, and take ALL and don't even give to the other brothers and sisters requiring genuine assistance. Genuine Malays, and the orang asli. WHY SO GREEDY, when we leave this world and that is a certainty do we take our bank book along? Insaf lah

Wat is the number of AMENO members compared to the real MALAYS, and then figure out whether the 30% THAT they have been given since 1971, actually used to elevate the real MALAYS or to only selected elite members of AMENO members, while the others get sarong and sagu uang?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by mikewang, October 31, 2008 12:27:58
YB Mohamed Khaled,

Wealth should be continuously earned after the inheritance is split.
You don't eye the inheritance of your siblings and demand them to give you another split of their inheritance just because you squander away your portion.
If you do that, you are nothing but a criminal bully.

Doesn't anyone teach you that ?
written by Zapper, October 31, 2008 13:04:34
Why don't the UMNO gangsters come to a realization that there is no free lunches in this world. Not all Malays are as shameless as those in UMNO which time and time again asked for freebies from the other communities. No work no gain...this is the maxim. Got it... UMNO!!??

Will this YB willing to share some of his wealth to his fellow malays with any questions?? If he is NOT going to do it, why should other communities do.
written by rockli, October 31, 2008 13:26:26
Might as well give the bumis 90% equity and the Chinese and others keep 10% as salary.
After all they are the supreme - Malay supremacy.
And wait another 10 years and see what happens to our economy.
written by avj, October 31, 2008 13:44:11
Any ammount of legislation will not achieve any targets.Like the saying goes you can only bring the donkey to the pool,but it is up to the donkey to drink. All these theroies and justifications will not bear results.The mind if not set and focused in achieving with consistent action,will by default will find ample excusese to justify the failure. After more than 30 years of so called afermative action and you are still are not getting ahead,who is to be blamed? In the animal world only the fittest and the best get to mate and pass on their genes to the next generation.
written by Tan Tan, October 31, 2008 13:56:43
Does anyone realize that this 30% equity rule only helps the rich malays and not Malays in general?

All public listed companies (whether Chinese, Indian or forgeiners) have a Malays director inside to satisfied this rule. The problem is that most of these Malays director are just sleeping partner and get money in order for the non Malays ppls in the company to become public listed.

They got money from the actual hardwork of the non-Malays by doing nothing but appears in AGM and give the right to use their name. They learn nothing from the business. And who are these non-malays? There are all the elite Malays (mainly associated with government) and not the kampung Malays which need to be help.

So tat is why until today, the 30% equity is not being reach. Because our Malays brothers are not getting the benefit or even have the experience to runs business. But years after years, all of them supporting this NEP so that there is some Malays who is rich. Why some and not all?

NEP should be revamp and 30% equity should be abolish. Goverment instead can use goverment reserve (30% of it) to do more training for the bumis, to give out good loans and good interest rate to start out a business.

written by cllim123, October 31, 2008 14:03:55
Even 100% will not be enough. Look at Gabungan Kontraktor-kontraktor Melayu with their big projects. All 100% failed. Ever heard of Ali Baba?

The important thing is not to give hand out 30% or whatever percent. It is to remove the tongkat and for the Malays to feel some pride of achievement and gain confidence. The only way to to encourage hard work not easy Ali Baba money.
written by yellowwoman, October 31, 2008 14:39:47
You want 30% equity? Take lah. You want 50% equity? Take lah. Wait, you want more? You want 100%? Take lah, what are you waiting for?

You want to be the Chancellor, Vice-chancellor, Professors, lecturers, even the whole student population of all the country's universities? Be lah...

You want to be become the specialists and doctors in the hospitals? You want to run all the companies listed on Bursa? You want the Bursa as well? Take lah...

You want to own all the plush houses of the city's finest suburbs? You want to drive the most luxurious imported car? Go on...

No one is stopping you. Everyone in Malaysia gives you his/her full blessings.
So there, I hope this makes you happy today.

What? You don't want to study or work for it? Can! In Malaysia, of course can!
Take a look at yourself in the mirror. If you have the kulitfication, you are set for life. You, your children and your children's children.

The rest of you, who asks you to be born here in this blessed country? It is your fault, your father's fault and your father's father's fault. So shut up.
written by cheekhiaw, October 31, 2008 14:59:47
What compromising thieves...

written by SeriousLy, October 31, 2008 15:02:02
All these 30% did not help the poor Malays, Chinese nor any race in Malaysia! 30% helped who??????? 30% helped UMNO members only and not anybody else!
written by smalluncle, October 31, 2008 15:35:31
Wow, great man. If your argument goes, then Chinese should have 25% of equity in Bumi company. (ok lah, we also compromise a bit, 10% OK?) But now Chinese compromise a lot, they get 0?

So, now, in Malaysia, you buy a house with 4 rooms, you need to give out 1 room to they bumi??? uummmm. If awek lawah I don't mind.

Go uncle Mac buy fries, must share 30% with the bumi sittin nxt to you (or 70%)

Buy cars, properties must also have 30 (or 70%) bumi partnership?

But come to pay tax, you idiot, you pay all the 100% tax lah.
written by Xerxes, October 31, 2008 15:50:37
I fail to see the logic of this argument. How could you have "compromised" when you were "given" the 30%? The worth and value of a company was built by the blood and sweat of a non bumi who not only toiled to build up the company but also took all the financial risks to get the company to where it is and he now has to "give" 30% to a bumi? So dear minister, are you saying that "what is yours is mine" and since I took only 30% you should be thankful because I did not take more?

And I fail to see the logic that because you had 70% of the population you must have more of the equity. If after more than 40 years of this NEP policy you still find that 30% of the population is more successful than the other 70% as you claim, then you must ask why.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 31, 2008 16:40:29
What did those stupid MCA people did to this country? When they negotiate the social contract, they didn't make sure that the goverment position and the GLCs should have at least 40% non-malays.
written by joeawk, October 31, 2008 16:43:35
Khaled, sit still and wait for me to share my meagre wage with you la. Give me your bank account and I will bank-in 30% of my salary into your account.

That is worse than daylight robbery. At least robbers show great courage and take great risk. These blokes in UMNOare nothing but vultures, lowly vultures, to whom malaysians should throw to them trapped dead rats.
written by charli88, October 31, 2008 16:52:43
Since NEP only achieve 19% of equity, let's talk about this 19%. Who are the bumiputras that have benefited from this 19% ? Are you one of them ? Your buddies manipulated and are laughing to the banks all over the world. The truth is not about bumi or non-bumi, the truth about this self-serving-own-kind can be found under the OSA, if it can be abolished.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 31, 2008 17:11:25
It is so sad to read that they are still shamelessly demanding 30% this, 50% that, 100% this etc, etc. I will feel so ashamed even if I harbor merely the thought that I might need to BORROW from a friend or relative let alone TAKE without repaying. Here we have shameless people who comes to you and tell you it is their right to take your money and tells you to your face that you are lucky they didn't take more!

So, I suppose next time if a gang of robbers that come into our home in the middle of the night to rob us, the newspaper should report as follows:
"Last night a gang of robbers broke into Mr. Ong's house in Taman Cheras and compulsorily toke away 30% of his family's wealth".

I SO HAPPY TO BE MALAYSIAN
written by MalaysianFirst, October 31, 2008 17:31:06
If in my family of brothers and sisters, I am the only one who is poor while all my brothers and sisters are rich because of whatever reasons, I will not be jealous of them. In fact I'll be proud of them. Most importantly, I will not blame them for being rich because I believe that whatever I be or make in life entirely depends on me and me alone. I will understand and accept that opportunities does not necessarily come to me even if I work hard or work smart. I will also understand that there are millions more out there who are equally smart and work equally hard like me but still remain poor. I accept that this is beauty of life - some make it and some don't.

If I went to compete in a 100meter race with 10 others and come out last, I will not tell the others to slow down so that I may catch up. I'll just have to tell myself that those other guys are simply better than me. I should just try my best to beat them and if my best is not good enough I should not be ashamed of myself because I have tried my very best.

In life we should reap what we sow and not reap what others sow.
written by miwaki, October 31, 2008 17:39:53
If 30% is given FOC of course it is unacceptable,however if you are going to pay for it,then 100% is okay with me.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 31, 2008 17:53:41
What if the population of Malaysia is 95% Malays? Will some learned guru out there please share your wisdom as to how you are going to share the "economic cake". I can assure you 95% of the populations is not a fantasy. At the rate of child birth among Malays against "others" plus the rate of migration among "others", the 95% will come sooner than you expect, maybe before 2020.

Let's further assume that none among the 5% requires government support. They all went to private schools and universities, graduate and find work in companies owned by the "others".

Let's also assume the "others" are no longer interested in taking their companies public because of this 30% bullshit.

Let's finally assume that most of the Malay companies are no longer doing well and are now dependent completely on the government for assistance because the government never told them that in business or in education they must strive to do their best and not depend on "others".

What would you do then? I'm curious to know.
written by overseaMas, October 31, 2008 18:06:18
Well ! Very soon ... 2011 Malaysia will become bankrupt when country transfer from oil exporter to importer. Why ! This is because when become oil importer .... Malaysia will losing 40% of income tax from Petronas. How to survive without tax money from Petronas ... are you sure within 3 years Malaysia able to change the current tax portfolio 40% of Petronas to other fields ... sad ... too late ... no hope .... but with Malaysia Boleh Spirit our UMNO MP still talk about 30% or 70% equity Bumi issues ........ they should think how to help the country to get more income in order to pay government staff salary.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 31, 2008 18:42:54
This is the most ridiculous excuse by this Khaled Nordin fella. Tak malu kah? Minta sedekah macam ini. Get off ur lazy arse and work your way up lah. Everything you UMNO fellas want free aa? If cannot you turn it into a racial thingy. You don't deserve even 1% of it if you just sit there and demand it. Abolish this and let every citizen of this country have equal chances and opportunities. If you still insist on this 30% then get yourself a begging bowl and go sit at Puduraya.
written by Shimshon, October 31, 2008 18:43:37

The nonMalays are a highly productive lot - esp. the Chinese.

And we nonMalay-nonMuslims are minority races - who have to work our asses off - and then pass it on to the Melayu-Islam - who in turn, (quoting someone), like giving back only 5% petroleum royalty (to petroleum producing states); out of our very own 100% we get back 5% - as the 95% siphoned off by the Melayu-Islam.

As we know the actual profits made by Petronas is classified -- and so the states like Sabah, Terengganu, etc - actually get below 5%!

So there we have it:-

1) we nonMalay-nonMuslim minorities - highly productive, pay more taxes -- to subsidize the PARASITE (can't survive on their own; survival/living comes from sucking out others' life) Melayu-Islam who're the majority. --- And after sucking our rights and fruits of our labour - what do we get - more death threats - ref. "Remember May 1969 - We'll kill you!", "Balik China, Balik India, etc"

2) Just because the socalled Malays or Bumiputras make up 65% - doesn't mean their productivity is around 65% too!!

3) Of our productivity of 100% to nation-building, our rights of 100% -- but we nonMalay-Muslims get only 5% back! -- for decades and decades. - Surely this is Malay-Muslim APARTHEID!!!

4) Even RPK did mention that - no Muslim nation is rich, wealthy (on their own). -- Just look across the world, and you'd see Muslim nations backward, Muslim regions (like Muslim Thailand south and the Philippines south are much poorer than their nonMuslim counterpart on the north), Muslim communities (like in India, generally, the Muslims are poorer than the Hindus),...
"Being Muslim and Islamic - means also, not being productive and being good at creating wealth -on your own."

5) Since we nonMalay-nonMuslims are the ones actually productive and the actual nation-builder - that would make the Kafir/nonMuslim and the nonMalay - the true/actual TUANs, the MASTERS & LORDS; we are the PROVIDERS, the CREATORS, the PRODUCERS .
But in Malay-Muslim Malaysia - everything is in the opposite - where the productive ones are the slaves and (lazy/less productive) ones the master; the majority gets priviledges, protectionism, special assistance/aid, affirmitive action, etc - while the minority gets ripped off, denied these basic rights.

6) The NEP/Dasar Ekonomi Baru - is a pure case of stealing from the Chinese to enrich the Malays. Yes!! That's ROBBERY! THEFT!
Tunku Abdul Rahman did say he didn't want to steal from the Chinese to enrich the Malays -- (but Mahathir wanted this easy, immoral way) - so in the 1960s, the Tunku came up with various companies, enterprises, businesses, etc for the Malays to do business, enterprising on their own. But still the Malays can't deliver - and so ended with the 1969 racial riots & killings - with the Malay-Muslims of course being the aggressor(till today).

7) Singapore became a Developed State/Economy) in 1996 (along with Taiwan, South Korea, Hong Kong). Who helped Singapore develop so fast? - Mostly nonMalay-Malaysian, ie the Chinese - who moved over there during the 1970s-1980s -- ie during the NEP period (1971-1991).
If it weren't for the stealing the high productivity psyche of the Chinese (and Indians, and etc) under the NEP period,-- or even if the Melayu-Islam govt had kept their end of the bargain - to end the overwhelmingly favouring the Malay-Muslims during the 1971-91 period policy -- Malaysia would have been to a certain degree a developed nation too - maybe on par or just below with South Korea - by now (late 2000s)
written by lynn, October 31, 2008 19:20:52
Shimshon,

Brilliant piece you wrote - key word is productivity. Also meritocracy.

This man, dunno how he qualified to be a Higher Education Minister, he has the hide of a rhinoceros, he doesn't have the IQ & training to be a leader, and I think he is a Minister by virtue of his race and religion... but this is Malaysia, a pathetic third world nation, it's already end 2008, this mother-fcuker is still talking shit on behalf of his race. Come on, let's face it. This country is going to hell because of umno's racist policies.

If you ppl want 100%, what is stopping you? Go ahead & buy up all the companies on KLSE. Who is stopping you? You made the rules & break them, skewed them to enrich yourselves.

You talk as if the Chinese & Indians owe you people a living. We owe you nothing. You are all govt servants, so work for your pay. And please, all of us including the Malays are pendatangs, all of us are immigrants. You already give preferential treatment to Malays for decades, and still do, and we are expect to give, give, and give ???

No wonder my wealthy friends hv moved their money out permanently. They did the right thing. Forget abt patriotism if we are continuously bullied by these corrupt bastards!
written by nubie, October 31, 2008 19:39:50
the mentality of these politicians are very simple - the non malays were never Malaysian to begin with. we were always considered as penumpang who were supposed to pay 30% rent(inset your own versions and percentage) to the malays because they allowed us to live in this country. All this NEP is pure bullshit to begin with. They were never used to help the poor. But you always reap what you sow - this is evidenced by the flow of migration out of malaysia which is a total disaster as the most precious infinite resource of a country is its people(ie educated productive people not those that seat on their backside and receive handouts)Treat them bad and they will find a way out.
written by Sabahfan, October 31, 2008 20:39:04
HERE WE GO AGAIN... UMNOshitputra youths claiming his ketuanan and social contract again.. and threatening May 13... These guys have really run out of capital to bullshit us....

Hey all U uMNO bassturds.... YOU can have 100% Melayu equity participation.. but thru their hard work and merits.... not via stealing all our tax money and spoonfeeding.... TIADA MALU KE???
written by Changes, October 31, 2008 21:18:07
What's the guarantee % that they will SUCCEED? Have they ever did. You spoon feed them, they will also eat the spoon and when they shit FORK comes out.
written by palani, October 31, 2008 21:22:58
MALAYS BEWARE! Malays have been taken for a ride by your own so called leaders for the past umpteen years, like the leaders of other communities, for example, MIC leader Samy Velu who has sodomized the Indians. In the name of uplifting the Malays the UMNO politicians actually are stunting the growth and development of Malays, not only intellectually, which they have done through the education system, but also depriving them of working hard on their own for self development to create and instill a spirit of competitiveness. NEP is just for a selected few cronies to enrich themselves and it is not helping the rural Malays in anyway to improve their livelihood. I would be very happy to see our Malays make greater strides in all aspects of life and contribute meaningfully together with other races for development and well being of our country. The Malays must take pride in their own success but not through handovers of government. Yes, they have been doing this for so long but what's the rate of success and who is benefiting the most? In the name of NEP, they are trying to hoodwink you all by stirring your emotions as though other communities are usurping what is rightfully yours. Please wake up and don't allow yourself to be used by politicians for their own enrichment at the expense of majority Malays. Let us strive together as Malaysians for a better Malaysia.
written by ASK4u, October 31, 2008 22:12:19
So much for 2020, ha!ha!ha! If we can even maintain our 3rd world status come 2020, it would be a great achievement. Unfortunately, the way things are happening, we will regress into a "4th" world country. I even took a bet with a friend when our former PM made the announcement of vision 2020. I told him M'si@ will never be a first world country. He asked me why? I told him that as long as the fundamental issues are not addressed, i.e., NEP, quota, corruption, "free lunch" etc, we will never smell vision 2020. So my prediction may turn out to be true after all.(I honestly said this to my friend many years back). smilies/angry.gif
written by BukitBeruntung, October 31, 2008 23:42:20
Haha, no need to compromise nor pity the the non-malay, go ahead set 100% for your Umnoputera lot.
written by agadam magadam, November 01, 2008 01:27:31
Please don't argue... Everything belongs to the Malays, ok.. Don't question that... To All Non-Malays : Stop paying your taxes from now on.. Or form our own clans to collect taxes and use it back for us.....
Next..: Plan your migration -EXODUS...The rest will be History-DOWNFALL OF MALAYSIA..Many smart, decent Malays who got fed up of this System of Today has left M'sia and settled overseas - Go, ask them why they left.. Or better still, ask them if they'd like to return...
Let's face it-Malaysia is going downhill....With Najis' ascencion, it's confirmed...
Anwar's Plans..???? SAVE MALAYSIA>>!! .. We'll pray and wait...