Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Falling into the same old trap of race and religion

Falling into the same old trap of race and religion PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 19:04

OCT 30 — I never believed the results of the last general election marked the end of racism and racial politics in this country. Divisions sown over decades don't disappear easily. Historical baggage is heavy, and it has sadly passed on from generation to generation, leaving the next generation of Malaysians to inherit a country that continues to struggle to achieve its full potential.

Brian Yap is a journalist who writes from the place where politics, the arts and technology meet.

What March 8 represented, however, is that racial issues are no longer the defining concern of many Malaysians. A Chinese woman might vote for a Pas candidate, but that's not because she endorses the party's position on the role of religion in government. It's just that she has more important things to worry about, like not being a victim of crime.

Pakatan Rakyat must make sure all its elected representatives understand this. For instance, ISA detainee Manoharan wasn't voted in to further the Hindraf cause. Nor was Zulkifli Nordin elected so he can serve his narrow agenda. They were both voted in on a multiracial platform to serve the needs of their respective constituencies.

It is important for Pakatan Rakyat to remember this because its political rivals are desperate and out of ideas. So once again, they are pitting Malaysians against one another, hoping at the very least to make life difficult for the fledgling state governments.

Barely days after the elections, opportunistic politicians were already looking for racial issues to exploit, and this being Malaysia, there have been many. The danger is for Pakatan leaders to respond to these issues on the terms framed by their opponents, which very often centres around race and religion. Unfortunately, several have already fallen for the trap, leaving some voters wondering if politics in Malaysia will ever change.

With the Umno nominations going on, it's not surprising this week has already had its share of ugly racial politics. Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim's decision to appoint Low Siew Moi as PKNS interim general manager is being met by stiff opposition from the staff, members of his own government and, of course, Umno Proof, if ever it was needed, that there's a simple reason why non-Malays aren't keen on working for the government or corporations linked to it.

PKNS was formed in 1964 to develop Selangor. But this week, we discovered instead that it is "established for Malays and to fulfil the Malay agenda," as stated in a joint memorandum from staff against the appointment of Low. Disappointingly, the media failed to correct this blatant misrepresentation.

Khalid's rationale for picking Low, who has been in PKNS for more than three decades, is because he thinks she is the ideal person to help clean up the mess. "People are angry because we changed the people, but are they not angry about the billions lost? Which is better? Think about this," he was quoted as saying.

For this I think he deserves credit for taking his job as Menteri Besar seriously. If he was just fooling around like the past few MBs, then I think it would be much easier for him to make ethnicity a litmus test, as his detractors are calling him to do. Besides, as he points out, between 2004 and 2007, 75 per cent of all development projects were given to non-Malays. Where was the outrage then?

Up in Penang, Umno has chosen to take issue with the state government's addition of other languages on several road signs, even though the national language continues to be the main language used. Conveniently ignored is the fact that there are plenty of road signs in Kuala Lumpur that have English and Arabic. Evidently, these champions of the national language are merely trying to incite anger or fear from the Malay community for their own political gains.

Politicians like to behave as if issues of race and religion are a zero sum game. In other words, for one race or religion to succeed, another has to lose. For too long, Malaysians have bought into that lie, causing us to be suspicious of — or scheme against — one another. But the rejection of unfair or ill-conceived policies isn't always guided by self-interest. Sometimes it's about wanting this country we all love to progress, becoming more tolerant, confident and just.

Malaysians rejected the Barisan Nasional in record numbers in the past election. So why are some Pakatan representatives following a weakened Umno by going backwards, instead of being leaders themselves, and taking Malaysia forward?

written by Agahdemo, October 30, 2008 19:29:47
I am totally sad to hear and see the reactions to the appointment of Ms Low as the "interim" general manager. Eventhough it is a temporary position, the negative reactions from this particular group of "malays" were like they are losing their birth rights....how among us can exist such narrowed minded people who claim to be religious....

This group of "malay" will always manipulate issues using (1)the religion, (2)the racial rights and even bringing in (3)the Sultan as excuses to stay on power.....to dominate other minority groups...Is this what your religion taught YOU?????

Recently, the Cheras UMNO branch argued that to challenge Utusan Malaysia is to challenge Malay, to challenge Malay is to challenge Sultan, to challenge Sultan is to challenge Islam......same issues over and over again..They refuse to see the real issue on the misreporting on the part of Utusan Malaysia, but using these old tactics to gain cheap publicity and become instant "malay" hero.......The problem is there are too many of these cheap and "bangsat" politicians in UMNO....
written by educationist, October 30, 2008 19:30:19
Those so called Pakatan representatives -shall we be more precise- certain PAS leaders are racists! It is the ketuanan Melayu battle cry that had been used so often. I , too do not expect the March 8th elections to be the end of racial politics. But, I have expected that after the MB made the appointment[acting GM, only mind you] PAS as a member of the PR state government will follow the lead of this far-sighted leader. Far-sighted in that he has looked beyond gender, race and religion but to the person best suited at the moment to head PKNS. So, any hopes of a gradual move towards a more civil and democractic society is groundless!!
written by lynn, October 30, 2008 19:37:46
Malaysian policies are guided by race and religion, not merit, so Bodohland will be a failed state. Don't be fooled by twin towers, skyscrapers, BMWs on the roads, or whatever that blind you to the fact, inspite of it all, we are a third world country in practically every aspect.

It's time we stop envying the Singaporeans & stop condemning them. Let's face it. They are better managed than we are a million ways, a million times over. Once a while, one shld take a trip down to Singapore and back. The moment you enter Woodlands, feel the difference & then turn around go back to Johor Bahru, watch out for yr purse, look at the "city" - it's like it has been bombed out by a mini asteroid with huge portholes every other metre. See the difference??? Still don't? Still want to insist on race & religion basis?

Singaporeans take their jobs seriously; in bodohland, you got to scold, threaten to lodge a complaint b4 some of these ass-swipes do their jobs. Yr attitude determines your altitude.

this divide & rule thingy is intended that way to ensure the bn govt remain in power forever or until the country is bankrupt, whichever comes first. and since most people are blissfully ignorant, the govt would always win them over with rhetorics such as ketuanan melayu, non-malays questioning the rights of the malays, the same shit we hear over and over again, and it works, like religions, brainwashing. over and over again. over and over again. it works great.... most people never learn. They don't have their priorities right. They are too emotional. too bad for Malaysia.
written by asiseesit, October 30, 2008 19:45:36
the long road to success or victory is filled with many obstacles humanly created by losers who left behind so much dirt that's mountain high which no one dare question until now.

it will be a test for the opposition to prove themselves to tackle all these now that they are there. but compare to the older administration, i've seen better management here with more positive outlook in progress.
written by justinlian, October 30, 2008 20:03:36
I agreed what was written but how many people would understand between missing a few billions than a non malay as their head ?
written by macakmy, October 30, 2008 20:42:35
Sad, isn't it? Well... PKR is infested with frustrated UMNO goons who supported the wrong camp. DAP still harbours racist dinosaurs of bygone eras. PAS is filled with religious bigots with their 'holier than thou' attitude. So, is it really them who is out of date or is it us who is ahead of time?
written by Joelim, October 30, 2008 20:50:27
The Star today reported a 17 year old boy named Mustakim Minsawi fell off his motorbike and died trying to apprenhend 2 snatch thieves near Dataran Merdeka. He was thrown off his bike after it was kicked by the thieves' accomplices who came out of nowhere. He died of head injuries. For his courageous act and thoughtfulness who put others above himself, Mustakim Minsawi is undoubtedly a HERO.

May I ask Malaysia Today to organise an urgent donation to help the family of Mustakim Minsawi who are in bereavement as I write this message. Bloggers please donate generously to our HERO.

Joe Lim
written by pixieface, October 31, 2008 00:52:45
It is so obvious that BN REGIME is playing along racial lines again. I hope the Opposition is well prepared for the garbage in parliament. instead of discusing important matters like global recession, they are talking crap again. Complaining about road names!!! This shows how competent our law makers or rather law buruks in the corridors of power are. This morning is D Day for the judgement of Altantunya case. Please pray for the family of Altantuya. My heart bleeds for her dad. Lets hope justice will prevail. Let her soul rest in peace.
written by chiongguo, October 31, 2008 09:39:17
PKNS had been losing a lot of money and as anyone who had ever dealt with government departments and government-linked cooperation kick-backs are commonplace. When someone outside the "race and religion" came a long that they could not buddied up to or corrupt they raised a ruckus - mainly because their "mangkok cari makan" will soon be broken. Let us all be very clear - it had nothing to do with "race or religion".

The PAS youth got suckered into the issue mainly because they know no better - still wet behind the ears-lah. They will grow up and hopefully they will discover the dirty hands of pak dallang.

written by mawi, October 31, 2008 09:49:01
Did it ever occur to anyone that the disapproval of this Low lady is NOT because she is a Chinese as what we are maneouvered to believe? Is she qualified in the very first place to be the No:1 boss there. From her reputation amongst people in PKNS itself and through personal experience, I can validate that she is amongst those who does not qualify. Probe further into some of the business dealings, especially those that involve joint development projects and you would probably agree why. Greed and corruption does not recognise race and religion and she is also not immune to it.
written by mawi, October 31, 2008 10:08:58
Chiongguo,

When it is difficult to get kick backs from a genuine non UMNO bumi company probably due to its religious commitments , giving bribes amongst Chinese companies is a norm and is an " accepted form of business etiquette" . Probably that explains why 70% of business dealings with PKNS involves Chinese companies and the remaining 30% goes to crony bumi companies. This is where the theory of good environment of typical bribe givers and bribe takers applies.

And how does MsLow play her part? . Well that is for me (and a whole lot of people in PKNS to know and for you to find out.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 31, 2008 19:29:53
written by mawi, October 31, 2008 09:49:01
Did it ever occur to anyone that the disapproval of this Low lady is NOT because she is a Chinese as what we are maneouvered to believe? Is she qualified in the very first place to be the No:1 boss there

=====

I believe what are saying is that she is dishonest at the very least, if what you say is true, then the other Malay officers there must be worse.

Maybe, just maybe, someone should forward your name for consideration to stand in as a stop gap CEO at PKNS till a suitable bumiputra is found.

From your posting I think you are a "clean" chap.