Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow An open letter to the NFC

An open letter to the NFC PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 30 October 2008 15:25
I read with interest today that the highest Islamic body in the land is discussing about banning yoga the popular exercise routine, for Muslims. I must confess I don't know much about Yoga. I also don't consider myself as a deeply pious and knowledgeable Islamic cleric. Maybe there exist a few parts of Yoga that is indeed against Islamic teachings like reading the mantras or what not. If that's true then why not just skip that part?

After all, I think there's nothing wrong with exercising. With the increasing amount of obese people nowadays we should encourage exercising even more not ban them.

Anyway, I'm sure the members of the council is all men of deep knowledge and understanding on Islam. If not they won't be on the council in the first place. And for that I totally respect them. But before the members of the council go into meeting tomorrow, deciding whether Yoga is haram or not for Muslims all over, let me divulge my thoughts on several things that is openly haram but continued to be practised in Malaysia.

Smoking

Islam forbids its followers from hurting themselves and causing harm to others. That's why it is haram to consume alcoholic drinks or eat anything detrimental to one's health. Alcoholic drinks is medically proven to be hazardous to the human liver not to mention it's negative impact to society. Smoking (cigarettes, cigars and drugs) is also detrimental to one's health. I think I still remember once upon a time ago there was a near fatwa decreeing smoking is haram. Don't know what happened to that. But the important thing is, cigarettes is still freely available everywhere in the country and people young and old is still puffing away like there's no tomorrow. Why haven't the council done anything about this?

Gambling and SMS quizzes

Gambling is haram in Islam because it is simply wrong to gamble our hard-earned money to chance and because of the obvious social implications caused by it. SMS quizzes is no different from gambling. You gamble your money spent for the SMSs sent totally to chance. Sometimes you win, most of the time you don't (you loose). Might as well throw all your money at the poker table or the slot machines in Genting. I thought there's already a fatwa for this. Is it fully enforced? God knows.

Conventional banking, loans and interests

Riba means usury (excessive interest) and is explicitly forbidden in Islam. However, most major banks and financial institutions in this country offers banking and loan services to the people, Muslims included using that very same interest rates system to make profit. Yes maybe there's a lot of Islamic banking services offered nowadays but still the majority of loans offered, car, housing, business loans are still using the interest rate system. So generally speaking, this harampractice had been going on for decades and the religious authorities didn't do anything to stop it.

Hijab, tudung and the covering of woman's hair.

The Qur'an instructs the male believers (Muslims) to talk to wives of Muhammad behind a hijab (tudung). However, in later Muslim societies this instruction, specific to the wives of Muhammad, was generalized, leading to the segregation of the Muslim men and women. Today it is generally accepted by Muslim scholars worldwide that a Muslim women who had reached puberty should be covering their entire body except for the hands, the feet, and the face, hence the wearing of hijab (well unless you're anti-hadith that is). That is why you can see more than half of Muslims women in this country don the tudung. Then what about the rest of them? Are they not Muslims? True believers of the faith? You can see them everyday and everywhere. If they call themselves Muslims, why haven't they abide to God's words and the teachings of His prophet? Can I expect a fatwa decreeing those woman as deviant Muslims? I don't think so.

The sin tax

Every year the government collected millions of tax money from the sale of cigarettes and alcohols and also from the gambling business (like 4D and the casino in Genting). One is vaguely prohibited in Islam but the others is explicitly prohibited. So where do this tax money go? They're used to pay the wages of you my friends, the civil servants, teachers, policemen, ustaz, and also not forgetting the members of the council. Is this permissible in Islam? Shouldn't all our earning comes from a clean, unpolluted source?

Read More Here

written by michael chick, October 30, 2008 15:30:34
written by indianputra, October 30, 2008 15:33:25
Such narrow mentality. How to achieve Vision 2020 if one step forward is being pulled back by 3 steps?
written by NickChan, October 30, 2008 15:40:22
yup yoga is healthy. just skip any non-islamic parts.

no big issue. i hope fatwa council makes good decision.

fatwa council should issue fatwa on racism & discrimination instead. yoga is least urgent.
written by ellyna, October 30, 2008 15:41:32
How petty can you get??? Whatever next?????
written by educationist, October 30, 2008 15:52:33
Hmm.. very interesting perspectives from a Muslim.
Over to you, NFC!
.................don't hope for a response, though!
written by BORN FREE, October 30, 2008 16:17:28
Gosh ! Where are we to hide our faces laaaaa
Another "big thing" for the whole world to laugh at !
Really silly & backward mentality, this people are !
How to survive in the real world laaaaaaaa
written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 16:45:08
Which is sinful,corruption or yoga ? I bet yoga because corruption is practice daily but for yoga only once a week.
written by SamYap, October 30, 2008 16:53:22
Hmmm...how about banning silat for girls and women? Its not quite right for the girls and women to lift their legs high up when they execute a move or kick. Moreover, they don't wear the tudung when practicing. Anyway, why practice silat when they can't defend themselves while wearing the long flowing baju kurung?

Btw the Silat Art is one of the last remaining Malay cultural identity which if it dies, will leave the Malays with less identity and the Malays will soon disappear over time. What we'd be left with are pseudo Polynesian- Arabs/Bedouins.
written by kkselvam, October 30, 2008 16:57:33
Fatwa this and that! OK lah.Fatwa all you want.After that go and live up the trees like you ancestors did.Abuse drugs and rempit all day long.Lepak at coffeeshop and talk co*k sing song.Marry young girls and give them babies and after that find younger girls to marry since you guys are entitled for a minimum 4!Take bribes.Take more bribes.Be lazy during work.Eat and chit chat during work.Play PSP games and listen to MP3 songs during work ** go to JB checkpoint to see for yourself**.After that when you about to die, go to the holy Mecca to wash all your so 'sin'.OMG!! I give up la.
written by mucking fuddled, October 30, 2008 17:10:05
jeeeez man, why bother posting such a big issue? let them fatwa what they want as long as they don't impinge or infringe on my rights and liberty to do yoga...let their own kind judge for themselves.... but i sure hate to let people tell me what i can do or can't.... besides, i love doing my yoga with just my thongs on...
written by mawi, October 30, 2008 17:21:24
As I had said earlier, , the NFC is not a body that regulates the Islamic legal jurisprudence but a body that guides Muslims on activities that are not adhering to Fardhu Ain and/or Farhdu Kifayah. Its just to categorise such practices as haram, harus, makruh or halal. Eating raw fish for instance has a fatwa attached to it and so are nitty gritty activities like silat, singing, dancing etc etc. In Islam, adherence to its requirements are not taken for granted and in due course of studying the littlest of things, our minds are expanded into the knowledge of things which are alien to us that forces us to study deeply into it for the sake of adherence. This, sadly, is not provided for in any other religion. Do you see any "fatwa" issued by the Hindu religion on trivial issues such as consuming morphines or other drugs? Is there any "fatwas" issued by the Buddhist on bicycle riding or owning a car?. In Islam , there are fatwas on every little things and thats the reason why it is a universal religion

But fatwas are just a guide to lead us Muslims on how to conduct ourselves in line with the requirement of the religion. It is not a Syariah unless enacted by Muslims( not by Allah). Not wearing a tudung is haram in Islam but you still see a sizeable Muslim women not wearing any nor will you see Muslims persecuting non Muslim women for not wearing one.It does not fall under the Islamic jurisprudence . Is a matter of adherence.
written by Lembing, October 30, 2008 17:30:49
Remember the newspaper reports of a casino from England instigating legal action for recovery of gambling debts against one Muslim woman amounting to a few million pounds.

Why wasn't she penalised by the MUSLIM body for gambling.

Go to any overseas casinos, you will definitely see some MUSLIM politicians gambling away in some VIP rooms. Maybe, the top MUSLIM BODY should obtain the security camera tapes from these casinos to view for themselves who are the offenders.
written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 17:43:11
Om Ah hung,Vajra Guru Pedma Siddhi Hung.This is mantra.I chant it daily.
written by Ben, October 30, 2008 18:15:32
I am praying that we see a fatwa against ISA. All the others seem somewhat trivial like dust to me if we cannot see this big log in our eyes.

No authority, whether in heaven or on earth, can condone what Malaysia gomen is doing. Incarcerating a fellow human being without proper investigations and evaluating their truth before pronouncing judgement.

Please fatwa ISA!

Wikipedia says, "According to the usul al-fiqh (principles of jurisprudence), the fatwa must meet the following conditions in order to be valid:

1. The fatwa is in line with relevant legal proofs, deduced from Qur'anic verses and hadiths; provided the ahadith was not later abrogated by Muhammad.
2. It is issued by a person (or a board) having due knowledge and sincerity of heart;
3. It is free from individual opportunism, and not depending on political servitude;
4. It is adequate with the needs of the contemporary world."

written by DontPlayGod, October 30, 2008 18:19:52
I am sick and puked by people who has nothing else to do other than spend their time playing God. These self-appointed agents of God will decide what you should wear, eat, and even how you should pray, that you should not wish "happy deepavali" to the Hindus, what social activities you cannot partake in(like Yoga). Next on line to be banned is Tai-chi, or even Taekwondo, going to the movies(as in Iran). Then they may make fatwas that Muslims should not read certain books, listen to some types of music, or be friends of non-Muslims, as non-Muslims are haram.
written by LukeJr, October 30, 2008 18:50:17
Typical Malay-sian style. havent u guys get used to it?

let's not be angry, let's enjoy the puppet show :-)
written by arazak, October 30, 2008 18:55:11
NOTE: Comment remove due to repeat posting
written by sarawakian, October 30, 2008 21:58:23
Maybe there exist a few parts of Yoga that is indeed against Islamic teachings like reading the mantras or what not. If that's true then why not just skip that part?

i don't practice yoga but someone once told me that the humming and the chanting of the mantras assist to "massage" the internal organs and help the mind concentrate on achieving some form of bliss. to modify yoga simply to remove Hindu aspects defeat the purpose of yoga.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 30, 2008 23:06:59
Yoga is universal lah. These Fatwa fellas are still behaving like "katak di bawah tempurung". F***ing hypocrites! No fatwa on corruption? No fatwa on ISA? I am getting sick of this fatwa word. Go FART la.
written by DreamLady, October 30, 2008 23:14:40
Vineeth, BRAVO!!!This is indeed a good trashing for the distorted view on Yoga.

I thank you for your bravery to voice forth your sound arguments, and for taking risk that you might be reprimanded by those in power. Not many of us dare to confront the high and mighty, cos' they have all of us veiled under various kind of jungle law.

These supposedly learned and pius men never failed to hide behind religion to hit out at the innocence, their reluctance to get involve with petition against ISA; and their abnormal craving to single out tomboys instead of tomgirls for inappropriate code of dressing

....a very pathetic state indeed....
written by bumiputeri, October 31, 2008 00:04:54
I too heard the news and was speechless for a moment!!!

I think the danger with a lot of authorities in Malaysia is that the very people holding power in particular offices, departments, ministries, etc, are ignorant about a lot of things that are dealing with, absolutely deplorable. It is not strange in Malaysia to see an education minister who is not a Ph.D in EDUCATION OR IN ANY OTHER FIELD for that matter, or a health minister who is not even a doctor. But, then again, these are the people empowered to make crucial and important decisions that would affects daily lives of every single Malaysian. How strange, hence this NFC deciding on YOGA, excellent ancient form of exercise to balance the mind and body of a person.

I am just wondering how much do these NFC members know about YOGA to first, talk about it, and next, to decide whether it is HARAM or HALAL? I have no doubt about their knowledge in Islam, but in YOGA and ....in Hindusim????(since they think it has Hindu influence???)

All in all, I think it is a very shallow decision to ban Yoga for the said reason. Like rightly highlighted by Vineeth, what about millions of other issues that beg immediate attention from the council / authorities??? Cigarette, drug, alcohol, prostitution, GROs/PROs..., acting, singing(including gelek Dangdut) and sports and martial arts.....I remember not long ago, I think it was a Commonwealth games, where a Muslim woman won a particular race and in Malaysian TVs' it was hugely highlighted as a symbol of succes for all Muslim woman around the world, not HARAM??????
written by mawi, October 31, 2008 09:30:46
If the NFC decides that Yoga is not in line with the practices in Islam, it only effects the Muslims. So why the hell are these people bickering about? Are you people being forced into abiding it when even some Muslims, despite the NFC's disapproval of the Yoga, will continue practising it?

WHAT IS SO DIFFICULT FOR YOU PEOPLE NOT TO UNDERSTAND THAT THE NFC'S DECISION IS A MATTER OF adHERENCE FOR US MUSLIMS AND NOT LAW!!
written by Xerxes, October 31, 2008 11:11:57
Just occurred to me. Credit cards carry an element of interest. I am no Islamic expert but would this interest factor then make it haram for Muslims to carry credit cards?

Perhaps the NFC should look into this as well. Might solve the problems of all those Muslims who could be bankrupted by poor credit cards spending discipline.
written by mucking fuddled, October 31, 2008 14:35:27
come on folks, what MAWI said is right, "WHAT IS SO DIFFICULT FOR YOU PEOPLE NOT TO UNDERSTAND THAT THE NFC'S DECISION IS A MATTER OF adHERENCE FOR US MUSLIMS AND NOT LAW!! "
lets respect each other and try to understand each other instead of ridiculing and criticising one another, it will only make matters worst....
its those corrupted people we want to go against and not among ourselves....