Justice Chin to quit on Dec 1 PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 13:44

(The Malaysian Insider) High Court judge Datuk Ian Chin, who dropped a bombshell earlier this year with his explosive claims that former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had threatened judges, has tendered his resignation.

Parliament was told today that Chin handed in his resignation to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a letter dated July 16.

“He will step down from Dec 1. At this time, he has started his leave from Aug 1 until Nov 30,” Malaysiakini quoted Deputy Minister in Prime Minister's Department T. Murugiah as telling the House.

Murugiah was replying to a question from Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir (BN-Jerlun) who wanted to know whether action would be taken against the judge for making claims of government interference in the judiciary. A similar question was also posed by Tian Chua (PKR-Batu).

According to Malaysiakini, Murugiah said that since Chin had tendered his resignation, there was no need to take any action against the Kota Kinabalu High Court judge.

Chin, 60, is the most senior judge in the High Court. His resignation comes six years before he is due to retire.

In July, Chin sent shock waves through the legal fraternity when he exposed incidents of executive interference dating back more than 10 years.

The revelations, where he implicated Dr Mahathir and former Chief Justice Tun Eusoff Chin, were made while he was hearing an election petition on July 9, according to the report in Malaysiakini.

Among Chin’s claims was that he and a few judges were sent to a “boot camp” for indoctrination purposes.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 30, 2008 13:49:52
Becos he have a six sense that the puppet will be instructed by his mentor to go after him.
written by fireduck, October 30, 2008 13:50:41
Murugiah was replying to a question from Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir (BN-Jerlun) who wanted to know whether action would be taken against the judge for making claims of government interference in the judiciary.

There you are! Mukhriz is only interested in covering up his daddy's ass. Why asked to know if action will be taken AGAINST the judge only, and not interested if those revelations would be investigated to verify the truth or otherwise. I'm giving your father the benefit of the doubts as to those claims by the learned judge. Why can't you grant the judg the same benefit of the doubt? Shameless!
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 30, 2008 14:01:54
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by Kunta Kinte, October 30, 2008 14:05:06
Have we all forgotten about "correct,correct,correct"?
written by indianputra, October 30, 2008 14:05:50
This is totally obnoxious and unacceptable to any society. There comes a very Senior Judge, Ian Chin who told the truth and this stupid Government wants to take action against him. Mukhriz is asking for action to be taken against Ian Chin. Why? Because he spoke the truth.

Ian Chin is 'forced' to resign. After what happened to RPK, Blasubramaniam and a host of others who spoke the truth, anything can happen to this Judge.

How sad for Malaysia!!!
written by biggun129, October 30, 2008 14:16:31
'Before I sacked you', it is advisable you tender 'resignation at your own accord',at least you still get your 'Pension'!!!
written by elmo world, October 30, 2008 14:19:09
this the reality & pain we have to live with the Malaysia government. no right of speech. what they do is to use their power to shut people up:

remember this:
source: http://home.clara.net/heureka/sunrise/lim-guan.htm

Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Tamby Chik was Chief Minister of the State of Malacca. He raped a 15-year old schoolgirl. Because of the rape accusation and pending corruption charges he was forced to resign. To date, no charges have been brought against him for the rape, the corruption charges have been dropped...

the same happen to raja petra & others poor people. pity chin. so, is the government going to pretend nothing happenned before. & thought we rakyat are stupid
written by BORN FREE, October 30, 2008 14:28:54
Smart Judge Chin, its better to resign than to get SACK !
The new batch of Gomen are all cronies of TDM.
written by amoker, October 30, 2008 14:36:24
He should stick around and get sacked. Am sure that the new CJ will do something according to Mukriz's leading question. He just cautioned to come down hard on a small group of people.

Justice Chin.. we support you.
written by truthbespoken, October 30, 2008 14:38:44
Justice Chin did the right and honourable thing to resign from the Bench. He shouldn't let those foul and filthy hands of Mahathir to touch him for speaking the truth! All the best in retirement.
written by Mark C, October 30, 2008 14:41:59
it has become increasing apparent that our country is going to be plundered and "raped" again by the offsprings of those that had walked the corridors of power...

history repeats itself, like lame dynasty......

i wonder if come GE13, we can do the needful and vote with our conscience?
written by elmo world, October 30, 2008 14:56:30
source: http://home.clara.net/heureka/sunrise/lim-guan.htm

December 1996, non-government organisations attempted to hold a forum to discuss abuses of police powers. The organisers of the forum were threatened with detention under the Internal Security Act, the forum has been suspended indefinitely. - sound familiar?

lets learn Sejarah Malaysia.. smilies/cry.gif
written by educationist, October 30, 2008 15:08:49
He's a High court judge so he ought to know the implications of his allegations. That he has resigned indicates, to me, he has given up the struggle. And so, we have again unsubstantiated allegations against Dr M and Eusoff Chin. No, there are not many like RPK willing to hit his head against the solid wall.
written by kkselvam, October 30, 2008 15:11:28
Mukhriz will carry on with what that great dictator Mahataik have left behind.Mukhriz is a mole in UMNO and will make sure his father's UMNO baru and the legacy will not die after him.

Both are rotten to the core!
written by ellyna, October 30, 2008 15:13:38
Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik, Najib Tun Razak, Rosmah Mansor - If there was no interference as claimed by Justice Chin, these people would have been in the witness stand today! Life is not fair Justice Chin. Good luck in your future endeavours. You stood up for justice, as did RPK. And you are paying the price, as with RPK. Tis bad and sad times in Malaysia.
written by Limang, October 30, 2008 15:51:14
Watch out, UMNO is back in full power.

With Zaki now as CJ, Anwar is screwed. Prepare for jail, sir, and admit your failure!
With C4 on the verge of premiership, stop all candlelights virgils, fellows, if you don't want to join RPK!
With Mukkriz as UMNO youth head, and Dictatorthir again back in power by proxy, oppositions and their supporters, BEWARE and tone down your criticisms, if you value your freedom.
Datuk Yong, prepare to face court trial and jail sentence.

To all who have hoped and fought for freedom and justice and believe in Anwar and PR, I wish you guys all the best. Be careful and don't expose your identity or the police will go after you.

For me, I want to live to fight another day, so I am packing my bags and leaving Malaysia till the next GE.

written by Kathy, October 30, 2008 18:10:43
Datuk Mukhriz wants to know if any action is to be taken against Datuk Chin for his charges against Mahathir. What I want to know is if any investigation has been made into these allegations. Mukhriz is the son of Mahathir so his interest is subjective. I am a member of the rakyat, and I'm sure like most fair-minded people, would like to see an independent judiciary.
written by elmo world, October 30, 2008 18:46:14
Bravo Mr Zaid , Bravo Mr Chin, Bravo Mr Anwar, Bravo Mr Lim Guan Eng. yo guys are really heroes
written by lynn, October 30, 2008 19:03:32
mukriz has got big cojones. mukriz, everyone knows yr family members are all very very very rich. frankly, if i have your billions, i would grow big cojones too. bigger than yours.

bodohland citizens: listen up: this man is asking for action to be taken against Ian Chin, the whistleblower. Ian Chin is a respected learned Judge, we trust his words any day, without hesitation, without the slightest doubt, we know he spoke the truth.

this is what is wrong with this country; if you tell the truth, you are fcuked!

i can't, for the life of me, comprehend the mentaliy of that 50% odd voters for bn; you want to support a corrupt government. you got to be so stupid & brain-dead; come next GE, i won't be shocked if the same bunch of mother-****ing idiots cast their votes for bn.
written by InEffective, October 30, 2008 19:05:17

My salutes and admiration to a man who refuses to perpetrate and propogate integrated judicial-political injustices on the rakyat. Noble deeds and real actions speaks silent volumes of a system that rewards oppressors, discriminator, coercers, racist cowards and bullies.

No faith and confidence in politicians or rulers that opaquely and secretly appoints CJ without clear debate and support from the rakyat (who will bear the risk and costs of such events)

Our cendol judiciary and prejudiced judicial system and process is tacitly supported by our leashed spineless lawyers by their continuation of our dysfunctional prejudiced judicial system.

They too are also absolutely accountable for selling out the rights, liberties of the rakyat. (and in my books, each deserves the rotan for propogating this tyranny on the peoples)