Nazrin: Do not discriminate against any segment of society PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 13:23

By M. Krishnamoorthy, The Star

Governments can no longer afford to formulate policies, laws and regulations on a discriminatory basis and in an ethical vacuum, said Perak Raja Muda Raja Nazrin Shah said.

“No segment of society must be disrespected, discredited and disenfranchised. No group should feel that their efforts and contributions go unrecognised and unwanted.

“We must abandon the ‘silo’ mentality where we only look up at what is happening and not beside us at what others are experiencing,” Raja Nazrin said at the 21st LawAsia Conference.

Bringing this about is one of the greatest challenges of governance today. For this reason, he said that there was case for empowering through the principle of inclusiveness.

“Only inclusive development through empowerment can societies become strong and we can achieve lasting outcomes,” he told lawyers, judges and students of law in his keynote address.

He said that not empowering citizens could lead to “a deep sense of alienantion and hostility” that could cause “ rash acts of violence that fracture societies.”

“We cannot morally turn our backs on the fundamental responsibility of ensuring that all stakeholders in our society, no matter how small or seemingly insignificant, have a place under the sun.”

“But by closing our two eyes to problems does help in building unity and integration required to face the economic and social turmoil that is likely to result. “Empowerment is a precondition for an integrated and progressive Asia. Interestingly enough, the forces that can connect Asia also have the potential to empower its people.”

He cited five areas that could empower Asia.

“The first prerequisite of empowerment must be to strengthen the rule of law. The law has the capacity to unite and enfranchise the people of Asia like no other.

“The second source of empowerment is greater political participation. One of the essential tasks of Asia’s leaders is to convert residents into citizens and citizens into stakeholders.

“It is only when citizens are also stakeholders will there be the widest sense of ownership of problems and challenges. In order for Asian countries to weather this storm, governance systems must be broadly based and consultative to minimise non-cooperative behaviour.”

A third prerequisite for empowerment is that values and beliefs need to be changed and this is never a straightforward task.

A fourth source of empowerment is technology, particularly information and communication technology.

A fifth source of empowerment is education that breaks the chains of oppressive traditions and extremism.

“Education has paved the way for many to find their way out of poverty and for countries to sharpen their competitive edge,” Raja Nazrin added.

Unfortunately, he said that good quality education was still a dream for many.

written by red door, October 30, 2008 13:32:41
God bless...Your Highness! Very enlightening but eventually it goes to deaf ears in our country....
written by DXB2008, October 30, 2008 13:32:50
For an oxford and harvward trained like HH Raja Nazrin, he can see and think, but no political power to really implement his thoughts. It is the real truth that good quality education was still a dream for many. esp rural students in Malaysia and our education system is no longer up to the current challenges. In this current turmoil, we have to embarce ourselves with the bigger storms ahead.
http://1426.********.com/2008/...st-as.html
written by NickChan, October 30, 2008 13:33:29
great thinking Raja Nazrin

now i just accept that i'm a foreigner, save up money, and prepare to leave the country. and not be borthered about malaysian political news anymore.

racism is getting worse. education is getting worse. crime is getting worse.
written by Anak_Asia, October 30, 2008 13:38:32
hold a seminar for those umno top guns on brilliant ideas. They need it badly ..
written by anak penang, October 30, 2008 13:46:54
its all yap yap yap.
your highness, you and your fellow rulers can make that change right here in malaysia before we talk about asia.

but you did not.
written by fireduck, October 30, 2008 13:55:42
Truly a voice of reason and a mind of great thoughts. I just hope the UMNO / BN fellas do give him the due respect and heed his advice. When is Perak's turn to be YDP Agong? If HH Raja Nazrin gets to be YDPA, I believe he will bring a lot of good to our nation, and restore faith in the systems.
written by SimpleSoul, October 30, 2008 14:11:59
Nazrin: Do not discriminate against any segment of society
by the Star?

Utusan? Berita Harian? tak tulis mengenai pesanan Raja Nazrin?
written by chiongguo, October 30, 2008 14:13:19
A third prerequisite for empowerment is that values and beliefs need to be changed and this is never a straightforward task.

A far more important source of empowerment is the intellectual space to hold different views and the freedom to articulate it - as long as such beliefs and articulation to harm anyone.

A single set of views or values, just as a set of genes found within in-breeding animal community, would only lead to decay, disease and corruption. At the height of islamic civilisation diverse views were allowed and cross-fertilisation of ideas and views made islam great. If islam greatness is measured by how many views it can forcibly suppressed then it is not true greatness. If islam is allowed to stand shoulder to shoulder with every other system of thoughts then people could see for themselves - without any fiery rhetoric or argumentation - that islam is truly great.

written by amoker, October 30, 2008 14:23:04
“No segment of society must be disrespected, discredited and disenfranchised. No group should feel that their efforts and contributions go unrecognised and unwanted.

Did I hear faint daulat Tuankus from the UMNO camp?

I want Raja Nazrin to be the new PM. Any supporters?
written by indianputra, October 30, 2008 14:30:20
YM Raja Nazrin is wasted in the palaces. For the sake of the Rakyat, YM Raja Nazrin should get involved in politics. He should spear head a political party and become an executive.
written by Nunudada, October 30, 2008 14:34:59
Malaysia is in fact supporting apartheid albeit in a scaled down way.Thats a big disgrace because I still remember how vociferous our government was against South Africa for perpetuating such a decadent manner of social injustice.It is like a pick pocket,who in the immediate mayhem points in some direction to mislead the crowd.
written by justinlian, October 30, 2008 14:36:15
Giving you a vote amoker.
There was a time a few of us were thinking who was the best Sultan in malaysia , we all agreed that it is Sultan of Perak cos he is humble, highly educated and well connecting with his people.
Now I believe we never nominated the wrong person and goodness is well connected to his generation.
written by oct, October 30, 2008 14:50:55
these are good guiding principles for the Govt to follow. However, with a HP6 govt, I don't think they understand them. If they do, then Bolehland won't be like today still separated by race, discrimination, marginalization, etc. The HP6 govt will continue to suppress the rakyat so that they can continue to rule. The HP6 govt don't heed the advices provided by you. They don't believe in unification, meritocracy, fairness and equality.

It is high time for us to choose a new Govt who practise what you have advocated. Bolehland will be a more happy place to live in by then!!!
written by rockli, October 30, 2008 15:13:05
NOTE: Comment removed in deference to status of institution referred to
written by ellyna, October 30, 2008 15:15:27
written by Navigator, October 30, 2008 15:22:03
Don't expect UMNO politicians to understand. It is just water off a duck's back. Their IQ is too low
written by Mitch Yusmar, October 30, 2008 18:00:11
written by krising1, October 30, 2008 18:16:25
Muhyuddin, the Rulers Conference issued a statement on the social contract. Since you, Salahudin and some still insist on the ketuanan model, here is YM Raja Nazrin passing you the message in easier to understand language telling you what the social contract means. Listen ok?
written by InEffective, October 30, 2008 19:39:42
appreciate the messages, and willingness to walk the talk.

In a nation where all strategic apparatus-of-state have been commandeered (laws, law-enforcement,judiciary, constitution, elections, military, media etc), its highly unlikely (near impossible) for a nation to self-correct or self-regulate or self-police, or steer into the right path.

There is no means to break-up a choke-hold on a nation's governing assets.
(only hope is the people - and for that to happen - the people would have simultaneously awaken and reject an illegitimate authority)

Its not helpful to falsely label Malaysia as a parliamentary democracy, when in effect, its a governance-by-coercion.

Rescue Malaysia... our children's futures depends on it.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, October 30, 2008 23:12:56
If His royal Highness, Raja Nazrin can voice it to UMNO? smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by tkahyap, October 30, 2008 23:36:31
hahahaah.....

stale news..same old story, i got nothing to say..talk is cheap
written by DreamLady, October 31, 2008 00:56:48
He is a great guy! If only half the UMNO/BN goons have his upright thinking and
unbiased judgment on major issues concerning rakyat's welfare, we would not be making so much noise at MT..and Malaysia shall become the paradise for all !!!

It is a wishful thinking, but I do wish it becomes reality...