Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia Protects Racial Harmony

Malaysia Protects Racial Harmony PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 10:30

By Syed Hamid Albar in The Wall Street Journal

Your Oct. 22 editorial "Malaysian Hindus" relating to the Malaysian Hindu Rights Actions Force (Hindraf) suggests that our government does not allow peaceful protests. We do. All Malaysians have freedom of speech and the right to protest peacefully. Peaceful protest, however, does not involve inciting racial and religious hatred or endangering the public. With rights come responsibilities, and this is the same in every democracy.

Ahead of demonstrations, Hindraf repeatedly did not inform police or get permits. Their rallies were illegal and turned violent, with significant damage occurring to property and serious injuries being inflicted on the public and police. Hindraf are an extremist organization. In an interview with Singapore's New Paper, one of Hindraf's leaders was reported as saying that violence may be used by some and civil war was unlikely but a possibility. The organization has incited racial and religious hatred, attempting to drive a wedge between Indians and other races. It is clear that if Hindraf's activities are not stopped, public safety and the cohesion of Malaysia's multiracial society will be at risk.

This action is against extremism, not against Hindus. We have and will take action against any individual or group that is inciting racial or religious hatred, regardless of their political affiliation. This is why we have banned many extremist Muslim groups in recent times. The top priority of any government is to protect the security of its citizens.

Hindraf does not represent all Malaysian Hindus or Indians. The Indian community is represented by legitimate, elected state assemblies and members of Parliament whom the government meets regularly. We will continue to work with them closely and listen to all communities in Malaysia as part of the normal democratic process. Malaysia's multiracial harmony is one of our country's great strengths and must be protected.

Syed Hamid Albar
Minister of Home Affairs
Putrajaya, Malaysia

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by Hello Keithy, October 30, 2008 10:38:24
As far as I know, UMNO practise extremism. They are sore losers and stick out like a sore thumb in BN. Their actions are downright extremism. So why not declare them as illegal and ISA should clamp down on them. What do you have to say about that, Botak ?
written by binarytan, October 30, 2008 10:42:09
As far as UMNO is gone, there is no racist issue.

Before that, PAS also must be gone with their "ketuanan islam" ideology.

Look at their idiot behavior on Low appointment as LKNS GM, almost want to vomit on disbelieve on such racist and narrow minded PAS.

Regret to vote for them.

written by Jan, October 30, 2008 10:43:07
Since our govt values racial harmony why don't you take action against Ahmad Ismail? Didn't he incite racial hatred among the Malays and Chinese? Why did you arrest the Sin Chew reporter who was just doing her job. Why did you arrest Teresa Kok who has nothing to do with the allegations and not the person who spread the rumours? Is it because he's a high ranking UMNO leader?
Whatever you said has no credibility unless you start arresting those men now.
written by Arubin, October 30, 2008 10:54:55
Whoa, my bullshit detector is showing a reading that's way off-scale...
written by Newkidonblog, October 30, 2008 10:55:11
While UMNO is busy trying to disunite the Malays, PAS is busy uniting them using Islam. Then PKR wants to stand up for all Malaysians together with DAP.

Eventually who wins? There is really no end to politics because it goes on and on........at the expense of hardworking rakyat. The learning curve (NEP),is an expensive process because new politicians will also demand a share of the pie. A never ending story.

Ketuanan Rakyat or Ketuanan UMNO?
Anwar or Najib?

The Malaysians' dilemma!

written by Jan, October 30, 2008 10:55:41
This govt gives one the perception that whatever wrongs prepetuated by BN leaders and in particular UMNO leaders will not be pursued and if pursued a slap on the wrist on the offender.
However whatever wrong no matter how small whether real or imagined even a rumour will be pursued until the "perpetrator" is arrested and even locked up under ISA. This govt has no credibility, no transparency and very poor governance. Nobody seems to be accountable for their actions.
It looks like we are on the path to fascism.
written by Mee Udang, October 30, 2008 11:05:02
I would like to share a story with MT fans,

This morning, I was feeding stray cats & dogs around my house, where dogs & cats share their food 2gether. A cleaner makcik & pakcik come to me & say "Tengok tu, zaman dah berubah, kucing & anjing boleh berkawan & makan sama-sama. Tapi manusia sekarang lain warna kulit sudah bergaduh". His words make me realise if dog willing to make peace with cat, they can share food 2gether....
written by cheekhiaw, October 30, 2008 11:05:32
Malaysia protects racial harmony but not quite as much as they protect certain thieves, liars and murderers...

written by Lembing, October 30, 2008 11:06:27
Do you really believe this SYED BOTAK when he said that:-

'We will continue to work with them closely and listen to all communities in Malaysia as part of the normal democratic process. Malaysia's multiracial harmony is one of our country's great strengths and must be protected.'

The gomen will listen and will in most instances just totally ignore our views and treat us like idiots or their servants. If the shit gomen does not like your views, they will ISA or C4 you. WHY doesn't this SYED BOTAK add this to his press released to The Wall Street Journal
written by avj, October 30, 2008 11:08:59
The same bullshit from shit head.
written by michael chick, October 30, 2008 11:09:51
Protect Racial Harmony by getting rid of Nabi Zul, Nabi Najis, Nabi Sly All-Blur.

May Allah give you three a Heart Attack tonight !!!
written by educationist, October 30, 2008 11:13:43
HINDRAF is the best body to respond to the allgeations of this minister.
But an obvious lie is his claim that the government allows peaceful protests.
The BERSIH rally came clearly to mind - the police were clearly the perpetrators of violence against peaceful protestors.
written by oct, October 30, 2008 11:20:52
Only stupid people will belief what Botak said. It is so clear cut that if you belong to UMNO you can say anything against the other races, demo with permit, draw out dangerous weapons and still get away with it.

When you belong to any opposition party and UMNO is criticized, the rule of the law will be thrown at you. Just look at the gathering in PM house to hand over a memo, you will be arrested. Even a 6 year old girl is not spared. How do the police identify that they are Hindraf members? Do they carry any membership card to identify themselves? Does it mean that no one is allowed to gather in front of PM house? If so, please put up signs so that the tourist can move on or else they will be arrested.

In Bolehland only one race matters most. The others are expandable. No one is allowed to question their actions, be it right or wrong. After 50 years, it is sad to note that race is a big issue although the Govt keeps on denying it. Our BN govt keeps on denying anything and don't speak the truth. Botak is one of them. We all are big time losers in the end.
written by Ben, October 30, 2008 11:27:06
Isn't it sad that we have to explain to a magazine and the rest of the world why we had to resort to ostracizing and outlawing a hindu common interest group called Hindraf. No wonder our freedom of press standing in the eyes of the world has plummeted to an all time low.

When will the gomen learn? All the best public relations in the world could not save this humpty dumpty who keep jumping off the wall thinking they are invincible. Still don't believe you are wrong? Keep on reading the feedback from Malaysians and beyond; the whispers have turned into roars demanding justice.

Wake up for the sake of Malaysia!
written by FFT, October 30, 2008 11:40:45
Ladies & Genltemen,

I present to you the soon-to-be Prime Minister of Malaysia, and Executive Chief of the Government that protects racial harmony.

written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 11:41:01
You can bluff the foreigners but you cannot cheat the locals.We all know that Hindraf is not terrorist or extremist but BN government is.Please do not spin your stories,we have enough of your nonsense.You stink !
written by cheekhiaw, October 30, 2008 11:42:37
If that fella has half the b*lls he claim to have, he should go and repeat that in Mongolia and see what the great khans would do to him...

written by hiro, October 30, 2008 11:45:22
Malaysia has an abysmal record of not giving permits even when asked. What Hindraf did equals civil disobedience, but that does not make them terrorists to be locked up under the ISA. Syed Hamid, you are defending the indefensible.
written by Engineer, October 30, 2008 12:14:16
In his context, only Bumiputra=Malaysians
written by DreamLady, October 30, 2008 12:18:10
hamid, you dah lupa to inform those people that the Hindraf people forgot to get permit before attending Badawi's open house....
written by anakwatanKL, October 30, 2008 12:23:49
What HINDRAF again???!!!! Has the issue not resolved? Susu pun sudah jadi masam.

Is this another bodoh sombong stand? Would you kindly please sort out YOUR own BN yard first before trying to admonish another. Irresponsible, ignorant and arrogant BN MPs have worried my mind more with their anti-Malaysian racial slurs. We don't teach our young ones to behave like the irresponsible, ignorant and arrogant MPs.

God Bless Malaysia.
written by Jan, October 30, 2008 12:31:12
For the first time in history people like Hindraf needs a permit to attend Badawi's Open House. Of course if you are Hindraf you are not going to get it, so they are going to get arrested anyway kids and all. Yes a six year old kid is a threat to the country's security as far as this Al Blur is concerned.
written by adan, October 30, 2008 12:35:39
NOTE: Comment removed due to violation of posting guidelines
written by ahmadneil, October 30, 2008 12:38:35
They protect crooks,thieves,murderers,prostitudes etc but throw honest people like RPK into Kamunting! Walk the talk!
written by M0nd0man, October 30, 2008 13:09:30
He is just ignorant and stoooopid!
written by Liberace, October 30, 2008 13:14:21
Your words are as good as those of a criminal who pleads "not guilty". And like a criminal, your word is no good. So you may vigorously defend yourself but your actions are there for the world to see. Save your breath. The judge and jury have decided: "Guilty".
written by oceanuz, October 30, 2008 13:21:58
I wanted to make some jokes out of this but I couldn't...
it itself already is a piece of great joke....
written by temenggong, October 30, 2008 13:22:24
Syed Albar has cultivated his image as a hard core malay ultra this last one year to shore up his position as he was eyeing the umno VP post.
written by truthbespoken, October 30, 2008 13:49:35
Ya, It's about the "Give-and-Take" NEP policy! UMNO has been TAKING so much from the people there is not much the people can GIVE anymore!

So, when the people in the form of HINDRAF and others start making noises through peaceful protests about the little there is left to GIVE, maybe not even enough to eat, UMNO declares them a national security threat!

The real threat to the nation and its people in fact is the continuing arrogance and governance of the country by the UMNOputras! They got to be voted out in the next Election by all Malaysia-loving-Malaysians!
written by biggun129, October 30, 2008 14:08:29
Albar of Malaysia awarded the Best Actor for 'Asian Junta Head Political Film Festival 2008'!!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 30, 2008 14:10:57
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by amoker, October 30, 2008 14:27:54
What is Syed Hamid and Najib trying to do by painting such colourful, nice-feel-good to the foreign press? The people get a different behaviour. Syed Hamid will not say this to Malaysian, nor Najib is willing to talk about NEP 'liberatization" here. But they try to be super good to the foreign press that makes us vomit blood.

"We do. All Malaysians have freedom of speech and the right to protest peacefully."
If it is organized by UMNO. IF by anybody else, even a 6 year old was put into jail and a 26 year old lady ISAed.
written by riversnail, October 30, 2008 15:07:32
the umno idiots still dont want to admit that Hindraf played a major role in giving the Indian votes to the pakatan govt. smilies/smiley.gif
written by kkselvam, October 30, 2008 15:47:36

Ahead of demonstrations, Hindraf repeatedly did not inform police or get permits

Wow! Since when Malaysian crooked police willing to issue permits? Hindraf had infact applied as many times for permit but was ignored.This Shit Hamid Al Blur Al Yemeni Al pendatang never fail to surprise me with his statement.Bodoh punya menteri! Baruah!
written by my oumrie, October 30, 2008 16:06:27
Everytime this 1st generation moron of hadrahmi arab descent opens his fat mouth, garbage pours out. No wonder it stinks..
written by walau, October 30, 2008 16:17:47
It seems that he's not "aware" of the illegal gathering by UMNO members in Penang after the GE outcome and the racial incitements during the by-election as well as during the UMNO conferences! If those are not outright violation of harmony, I doubt Hindraf's actions are no where near extremism.

If the government is listening to the majority concerned public, RPK and those Hindraf should have been released ages ago. In fact, ISA shouldn't have been used on them in the first place.

So, please don't call yourself a righteous person with clear conscience, Syed Hamid Albar. Your ignorance and blur-ness certainly define you and most MPs.
written by cllim123, October 30, 2008 18:38:47
UMNO incites racial hatred, NOT Hindraf! Look at Kerismudin and Najib, waving their keris and wanting to bath it in Chinese blood. Look at Ahmad Ismail calling us penumbpang and pendatang. Look at Khir Toyo accusing our beloved Teresa Kok of being anti-Islam. Then there is Ali Rustam saying UMNO does not need the others. He is still talking big as of yesterday about Umno being in the commanding position in BN. Of course there is the Botak Syed Hamid who says that Hindraf is violent and his predecessor who said Hindraf has connections with LTTE of Sri Lanka. Ban Umno if at all.
written by cllim123, October 30, 2008 18:40:45
I saw a book called "Thick Face Black Heart". Not that I read it but the title struck an image in my mind. Immediately I thought of Syed Botak Hamid.
written by InEffective, October 30, 2008 19:18:22

Its quite clear to pretty much all Malaysians of sound mind and judgment (and its not a small number that cover all races and religions), that regardless of how hard our Home-Minister tries to re-frame re-spin the truth and legitimacy of Hindraf's cause and grievance, nobody will ever ever believe an administration and politicians who inflicts force and pain on an verifiably defenseless set of peoples, women, and children.

One can't help but question the presence of intellect in the HomeMinister and his captain.

Truly humiliating to have such 3rd class governance.
written by budakindia, October 30, 2008 20:57:09
Look at that! A dirty liar! Liar! Liar! Since when we had a peaceful protest? With a police permit? What year was that? 1948? During the UMNO protest of Malayan Union? But you're not a government yet? Isn't that the British who approved it? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by sarawakian, October 30, 2008 22:22:19
In Bolehland only one race matters most.

and that race is UMNO.. sorry, Malays (Melayu) come a very far second.
written by timyang, October 31, 2008 03:37:10
Hindraf needs to write a response to Wall Street Journal immediately!!!

Syed Albar has just opened himself up to criticism in an open debate on an international newspaper. What an opportunity not to be missed!
written by Jit Dharma, November 01, 2008 14:06:38
Albozo the shameless liar.Violent ...property damaged.. where is the evidence,
if it existed you would definitely have used it in the media for propaganda. You can lie Albozo but Indians really hate you and guess what, people like me will make sure they keep on hating you.