Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Back with a vengeance

Back with a vengeance PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 10:27

Mahathir is back in the limelight and could have a big say in next govt

Caroline Hong, The Straits Times

With a hit count reaching almost nine million in just one year, it would not be wrong to describe former premier Mahathir Mohamad as Malaysia's most successful blogger.

His blog, chedet.com, routinely attracts hundreds of comments, and is frequently quoted by the mainstream media. Ironically, he started the blog only because he was blacked out in the media for his harsh criticism of Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi.

Five years to the day since his retirement in 2003, Tun Dr Mahathir's influence seems to be growing steadily as Malaysia readies for a new prime minister by the end of March next year.

His every move is dissected for its significance. When he showed up at International Trade Minister Muhyiddin Yassin's Hari Raya open house last week, it stirred much excitement as it was perceived as an endorsement of the minister. This can count for a lot in the upcoming election in Umno, whose members still love him.

Is Dr Mahathir making a political comeback? Not exactly. But there is a strong belief that his influence is on the rise.

Observers suggest that he could have a big say in the next administration after he played a key role in securing the early retirement of Datuk Seri Abdullah, who was blamed for the poor showing of the Barisan Nasional (BN) in the March polls.

Many believe that Dr Mahathir's skilful manoeuvres behind the scenes were instrumental in getting Deputy Premier Najib Razak to persuade Mr Abdullah to retire earlier than his original plan of June 2010. The whiff of resurgent power has sent Umno leaders and the media flocking to Dr Mahathir again, and he is back in the limelight after five years of being out in the cold.

'His views are being reported more widely, precisely because many people think that he will make a comeback,' said political analyst Ong Kian Ming.

Professor Agus Yusoff, from the National University of Malaysia, agreed that this was one perception, but felt that the bigger reason was the weakness of the current leadership.

'His views are being heard now because people are looking for better leadership. They see Dr Mahathir as experienced, and his views relevant,' he said.

Things have come full circle for Dr Mahathir, 82. His star dimmed soon after his retirement when Mr Abdullah won a massive mandate in 2004. But the former premier soon sprang back into limelight after he began to give voice to public misgivings about Mr Abdullah's weak administration.

His attacks gripped Malaysians for months in 2005, but they soon wore thin - until the March election that saw the BN suffer heavy losses. His campaign to topple his successor gained unstoppable momentum, returning him to a position of influence. Dr Mahathir's recent blog entry criticising the reach of vote-buying, or 'money politics', in Umno was debated widely in Umno circles.

His most recent acerbic comments on Datuk Seri Najib's alleged young advisers sparked even more talk.

In a blog entry on Tuesday, he warned Mr Najib not to repeat the mistake of cloistering himself with young advisers as Mr Abdullah had, to the anger of Umno.

Dr Mahathir named consultancy firm Ethos as the Deputy Premier's adviser, and claimed that it also had links to Mr Abdullah's young advisers.

'They (Ethos) are interested in getting a portion of the EPF worth RM300 billion (S$127 billion), to manage its investments, apparently with returns of up to 40 per cent,' he wrote, referring to the retirement fund, Employees Provident Fund.

The management of Ethos was quoted in The Edge business weekly recently about their interest in managing part of EPF investments. Mr Najib has not responded.

Political observers believe that he will not marginalise the former premier, especially after seeing how Dr Mahathir's constant sniping damaged Mr Abdullah's reputation.

'Datuk Najib will certainly prefer to have Dr Mahathir inside as an adviser rather than outside lobbing criticism at him,' said Mr Ong.

This has led some people to predict a return of Mahathirism, suggesting a stronger hand on government than Mr Abdullah's looser style. But Mr Najib's supporters have denied this perception.

'Najib is not a puppet, he will have his own way and will want to make his own mark,' said Prof Agus.

Meanwhile, Dr Mahathir's every move and word will continue to be watched, and his blog can expect to hit the 10 million mark very soon.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Newkidonblog, October 30, 2008 10:35:38
If a Octogenarian can still call the shots in Malaysia, it goes to show how successful the NEP was.......that is creating more handicaps who needs crutches for their needs.

This Octogenarian past leader has successfully killed the competitive spirits of all Malays who feel that 30% equity was wrong, it should be 70%!!!

The Malay Dilemma or just one man's greed to defend his family aristocracy!?

written by HamChak, October 30, 2008 10:51:18
No la, Prof Agus Yusoff. Not many read Mahathir blog.
We all had enough of his Racist SHITs for 22 years.
Enough is ENOUGH lorr.
Don't la worry so much. Mahathir is no longer relevant
to the younger people. ONLY relevant to those living in
the PAST and those Corrupt Cronies of his.
Also his time is now very SHORT.
Prof Agus, tell me who do you know that do not die?
written by ctchoolaw, October 30, 2008 10:53:35
Yes, Dr M's re-ascendancy shows how small the intellect of his successors are. It also shows the feudal mindset that still pervades much of Malaysian politics. Dr M represents the immediate past. Is it necessary for him to represent the immediate future? http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by DreamLady, October 30, 2008 11:01:34
Najib should be a good PM if he is not dragging along the luggage full of scandals wherever he goes. With Mahathir as his advisor, he can handle the country the way he chooses fit, that also means he can continue to plunder rakyat's money without the feeling of guilt!!!

An aweful and scary scenario !!
written by educationist, October 30, 2008 11:05:03
As a citizen, Dr M is entitled to blog his comments and advice. I'm no fan of his but the fact that he led our country for 22 years is an indication of his capability. But I believe that unless he's appointed as an official advisor he should hold his peace and not expect the new administration to bend over to please him. If he's still as venomous in his attacks as was he with Badawi, it won't be a surprise to find his tongue moving inhis mouth when he's dead.
written by magickriver, October 30, 2008 11:07:46
UMNO will be renamed ONMU and reset itself to the Year 0. The NEP and Social Contract will disappear along with the fictitious Malay race because it didn't exist before the 15th century when a Palembang prince claiming descent from Alexander fled across the Straits of Melaka and proclaimed himself king. Dr M will be promoted to Dr No, moving up two letters of the alphabet.
written by michael chick, October 30, 2008 11:22:45
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guidelines
written by Counterpointer, October 30, 2008 11:34:52
It's the eve of Halloween and IT LIVES! IT never seems to die and it forever feeds on the flesh of the NEP. IT is coming back with a vengeance. IT is MM and his living dead.

written by teo siew chin, October 30, 2008 11:45:05
I can almost imagine him jumping right in and yelling - "I'M BAAAAAAAACK!"
written by truthbespoken, October 30, 2008 11:54:17
Mahathir fights people and creates trouble for everyone his whole for his own survival. He especially thrives on the crisis he created. Look at how dead-looking he was 3 years ago and how spiritedly-looking he is now! Yet now, unfortunately, the Nation has still to suffer his nonsense!

I bet he'll be dead the moment he fails to create more disharmony for the people and divide the Nation further!

written by Tompios, October 30, 2008 12:03:25
Man cannot see his/her mistake is the man of C grade.
written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 12:11:50
Give him another 5 years and I'm sure everything is settled.When you are old,we do not have to challenge you,we just sit down or lie down and wait.He will be gone when his time is up.
written by densemy, October 30, 2008 12:25:49
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by Desert Fox, October 30, 2008 12:31:24
This Caroline Hong is following the footsteps of Brendan Pereira and brother who were infamous for singing praises of this dictator in The Straits Times and we all know they were later 'rewarded' by being employed over here to spin more garbage. They are journalist who choose to write rubbish about rubbish smilies/angry.gif
written by avj, October 30, 2008 12:41:14
'Najib is not a puppet, he will have his own way and will want to make his own mark,' said Prof Agus.

Come on Prof Agus,Najib will jump when TDM clears his throat.Najib is smooth and cunning operater,he knows what it takes to stay in office.Rule No.1 toe TDM's line(his little red book, simialar to Mao's) or you will go the way AAB will be going.
written by aimmsia, October 30, 2008 12:51:20
Old man, enough is enough. Don't you know when to shut up. You have already done too much damage to the country.
written by hellosunshine, October 30, 2008 13:28:15
Are Malaysians masochists who loved to be whipped into submission by an iron fisted hand? The last few years under a weak leader allowed the ultras to make a comeback. Be prepared!
written by temenggong, October 30, 2008 13:30:19
Mahathir, Najib and his whole team are day dreaming thinking that Najib will be PM. There is no way in hell that the Agong will appoint scandal ridden Najib as PM. They are in for a shock! Badawi knows this.
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 30, 2008 14:14:36
NOTE: Comment removed for violation of posting guideline
written by biggun129, October 30, 2008 14:28:50
Now, we have to eat the "Old ginger", until our eyes drop!!!Another miserable '20 years'!!!
written by KotaDamansara73, October 30, 2008 14:31:39
Mahathir,

THe old man that will die with his eyes open, because he did nothing to elevate the respect and progress level of the Malays.

Malays until today still can't stand on their own 2 feet.
written by fireduck, October 30, 2008 14:42:24
Looks like it is coming true. So many people have been telling me that the only way Malaysia can move forward and away from the influence of Mahathirism is when Mahathir himself checks into Hotel California. He seems to be going strong, so I think we rakyat, will have to tough it out till the next General Election. I remembered him specifically saying, just to spite Lee Kuan Yew, that when he resigns, he is out for good and will not hang around and meddle like LKY. Now we know how much crows he's willing to eat.
written by gorshan, October 30, 2008 15:08:57
written by teo siew chin, October 30, 2008 11:45:05
I can almost imagine him jumping right in and yelling - "I'M BAAAAAAAACK!"

yeah right. just like that freddy kruger character. this nightmare will never ends?
written by Limang, October 30, 2008 15:26:55
I don't care whether it is C4 or dictactorthir, or for that matter Bodohwi, I only know one clear thing: Fatso Mama is going to go after his skin once hubby C4 becomes officially the PM in just 2 month's time.

Anwar and PR have failed us, for all their promises!Sigh! In 4 years, with UMNO full of tricks, it can wrerst power from PR and jail Anwar again now with Zaki as the Chief judge.Guys, the light at the end of the tunnel has disappeared. I suggest you guys tone down your criticism if you don't want to join RPK! For me, I will wait patiently for 4 more years of suffering to cast my vote again for whoever will be the opposition that can truly and honestly take over the entire gomen, state and Federal.
written by MSIABOLEH, October 30, 2008 18:56:16
'His views are being heard now because people are looking for better leadership. They see Dr Mahathir as experienced, and his views relevant,' he said.

We should not forget that he is also responsible for the mess we're in. Abdullah was chosen by him as his successors. Surely when you choose someone to take over your place you should have known that person well and he/she is a capable person. Not an idiot who flip-flop and lie big time to the people who trusted him. Even with the experience of 22 years, he fail big time by choosing this idiot. Mahashithead, you are no longer relevant.

written by Malaysiaputra, October 30, 2008 23:00:02
Finally Mahathir will get what he had planned for before his retirement (if he did not die before that happens) , the puppeteer behind the PM. He will be the defacto PM when Najib takes over though he may deny it.

Being addicted to power, Mahathir will not be able to accept his loss of control of the govt even though he has "retired". AAB spolis his plan so AAB must go !.

Najib being younger has been nutured all these while to kow tow to Mahathir unlike AAB , so it is obvious that it will be easier to control Najib.

Should Mukhriz win the youth chief post (which is very likely) , he will help his father tame Najib if he step out of line with Mahathir's ideas.
written by peter, October 30, 2008 23:15:14
I wonder when will this mahafiraun and mahazalim will shut up for good.

All the ill of this bolehland originates from him. He is the source of all the problem that plagues this bolehland.
written by razzwill, October 31, 2008 07:23:44
What an injustice. Hemingway ran out of stories to tell and shot himself. Dr. M just keeps on going!
written by DontPlayGod, October 31, 2008 10:36:31
TDM wrote on The Malay Dilemma, but now he has created another dilemma for the Malays, and which is whether the Malays should throw away the crutches, or depend on UMNO for life to feed and clothe them.

Of course, UMNO wants the Malays to continue to use UMNO's crutches and continue to spoonfeed them for life, otherwise how to ensure UMNO will continue to rule the country forever.
written by nangkarajah, October 31, 2008 16:06:57
So, it's not for nothing that people will try to CONTROL judiciary, even if the points for establishment of MALAYSIA cannot just be amended just by the executive with help from supporting legislative body. The THREE (legislative, executive and ROYALTY) are by itself SOVEREIGN! I can understand the TOTAL frustration of a certain father! I read in papers that Ian Chin already resigned as far back as June. Don't tell me we've progressed to so much to about a few thousand years BACK when news was transported by a MARATHON-runner (in ancient Greece) who ran about ten miles (km) and relayed by another until the news reached desired destination. BETTER BE ADVISED THAT AFTER MARCH 8 POWER IN MALAYSIA HAS SHIFTED ACROSS 300 km of South China Sea to billionaires warlord Taib and Musa and their ever-powerful and highly-priced and forever precious 58 MP commandos (who can now naturally call the shots) in Parliament at Yap Ah Loy City!
written by Jit Dharma, October 31, 2008 23:32:30
Caroline Wong , your 'reporting' is a waste of time. Let one unbiased analysis
be written of this man, and the tale told would be that of another third world leader with an empty space in his heart, unable to care for or inspire his people. Whose real basis of power is the application of violence and terror.For
this reason, since his kind are dime a dozen, he is decidedly third rate.
written by R020998, November 03, 2008 04:33:31
written by HamChak, October 30, 2008 10:51:18

No la, Prof Agus Yusoff. Not many read Mahathir blog.
We all had enough of his Racist SHITs for 22 years.
Enough is ENOUGH lorr.
Don't la worry so much. Mahathir is no longer relevant
to the younger people. ONLY relevant to those living in
the PAST and those Corrupt Cronies of his.
Also his time is now very SHORT.
Prof Agus, tell me who do you know that do not die?

Hi HamChak,

You may be wrong you know. I know many young malay professionals who were regulars at MT have now switched to chedet.com due to MT comment censorship policy. The last thing we want is these group go back to UMNO.