Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Kerismuddin, step aside. Behold, the new defender of UMNO & the NEP

Kerismuddin, step aside. Behold, the new defender of UMNO & the NEP PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 30 October 2008 09:10

Looks like a PAS man, sounds like a PAS man, but is this an UMNO wolf in PAS ‘clothing’?

Before 1969, the equity of the Malays was almost nil and after 40 years, it is only at 19 percent…If this continues, we need about 20 more years to achieve the 30 percent target…MCA as the main party for the Chinese, a community which controls the business sector in the country, now wants the bumiputera equity scrapped…We realise that MCA is seeking political mileage after a change of party leadership… they want to regain the lost support of the community and the best weapon to get the community back is the economy…The 30-percent equity implemented under the New Economic Policy is a social contract that must be respected not just for its economical aspects but also to preserve political stability” - Salahuddin Ayub, as reported in Malaysiakini today.

The same report has it that ‘Salahuddin insists that the 30 percent bumi equity in PLCs must be retained and defended even if the target has been reached.

Salahuddin is said to have been responding to a call by MCA VP Liow that the 30 percent bumi equity in PLCs be abolished so that these companies might be competitive.

Malaysiakini’s report continues :

Salahuddin said that Liow’s call was a form of political pressure exerted by MCA on Umno and can affect the political stability of the government.

It could also lead to racial tensions, he warned.

He added that Umno, in the aftermath of losing its two-thirds in the March general election, was being bullied by its coalition partners in making demands for their own races.

He said that Sapp, Upko, MIC and Gerakan have all given pressure to Umno and now it was MCA’s turn…

Salahuddin, who is also the member of parliament for Kubang Kerian, said the Chinese community had the control of the nation’s economy since independence and it was this which caused the racial riots in 1969.

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Hello Keithy, October 30, 2008 09:23:39
You can't make a cow to climb trees to pluck coconuts. A cow is good at ploughing the land. So leave it to the others who are capable of doing other jobs.
written by DreamLady, October 30, 2008 09:23:43
For those who have nothing else more factual to argue but hide behind religion and racial cards should be compartmentalized as the lowest of the low-life.

Anybody for the matter who wishes his or her message is heard loud and clear has got to have some solid reason and alibi to back up his or her statement, failing to do so is detrimental to his dignity and reputation as a man of honour, a man of substance, a man of God's creation....
written by Liberace, October 30, 2008 09:34:29
The problem with all our Malay supremacist politicians is that they're too dumb to understand the reason for the dismal progress of their ethnic group. 30% is not a big deal and I don't think any Chinese Malaysian begrudge them of that. And if those who have benefited from the NEP have been responsible citizens and go on to grow and multiply as all good stewards should, they would not only have met the 30% target. They would have far exceeded it. Instead, the BN government and its kind give them a blank check. I don't need to be a Malay, but if I have an endless supply of blank checks, I'd be quite happy to splurge several millions on sheer indulgence. Why should I work my butt off when I can play in the world's playground of the rich?

I have personally been involved in a corporate restructuring preparing a company for listing. 5 years before the proposed listing, the company had already complied with the NEP. By the time the company was ready to go public, 90% of the Bumi shareholders have sold out. Hey, they practically got the shares for free. Even if they sold it at book value, that's a windfall. Why wait 5 years? Or 10? Or perhaps the company will never get to the KLSE? Let's sell the shares to some Chinaman who's prepared to wait and take the money. Aesop's theory of a bird in hand is better than 2 in the bush.

As long as the government is prepared to sign blank checks, the Malays may call themselves supreme but they'll always be counted among the poor.
agree 115
written by ellyna, October 30, 2008 09:35:34
Now we have another moron, hiding behind the 1969 issue and making subtle (NOT!) threats. If the chinese control the business, it is not because it was handed to them on a silver platter. The super rich Malays who actually benefitted in the last 51 years are the cronies of UMNO not the ordinary Malays. What is wrong with healthy competition? Why can't the Malays work just as hard as the Chinese and Indians? In business, in education, etc. Why are the Malays given 8 or 10% discount when they want to purchase houses? How about the affluent Malays? Is it fair to give them the discount also? In fact, UMNO/BN is not bothered about any of these. They just want their filthy paws in the nation's coffer and keep bringing up 'Malay Equity' when they feel their financial security is threatened. The Malay rakyat must open their eyes!
written by 2edgedsword, October 30, 2008 09:41:19
The NEP is abused and enriches only the political elite and cronies. The silent majority of Malays are in fact marginalized by the NEP. They are not given the chance to compete with the best, as such will remain mediocre. This is UMNO's strategy all along to remain in power - " Your are weak, let me help you, but you must vote for me". Come the next election, their mantra is " You are still weak, let me still help you, but you must vote for me again."

Would all the Malays 45 years old and below still want to be given crutches year in and year out? The non-Malays did their job their job for a change of government in the last general election. Now it's up to the Malays to finish the job.

There is no pride and satisfaction being spoon-fed. Malays will glory in dignity when they can compete with the best. Competition breeds excellence, and this is what the country needs.

The Chinese Malaysian are treated as 2nd class citizens and deprived of so much rights like due promotions based on merits. Why do the Chinese still excel in many fields. It's simply because no one is going to help us, so we study and work hard. Deprivation brings out the best of man.

So, do the silent majority Malays still want to be enslaved by the UMNO and the NEP? Retain the NEP to benefit all who are weak regardless of race.
written by batsman, October 30, 2008 09:41:25
PAS must create its own economic agenda for helping Malays. PAS cannot follow behind UMNO's NEP. UMNO's NEP just helps maintain UMNO in power - this is obvious. PAS must demonstrate leadership of Malays not follow behind UMNO's leadership.
written by justinlian, October 30, 2008 09:46:28
Looks like a PAS man, sounds like a PAS man, but is this an UMNO wolf in PAS ‘clothing’?

Im sure he is...........
written by Mark C, October 30, 2008 09:48:11
it's surprising that even in the new millennium it's still "Them against Us"....what mentality. Eh Salah udder, we all have the same blood, we are all Malaysians... can't get that fact thru to the thick skull of yours?

PAS kah, UMNO kah? if any malays have that same mentality, we are doomed right from the start!
written by amoker, October 30, 2008 09:53:48
If all new companies that comes to malaysia gives 30% equity to Malay ( not even BUmi ) , what is stopping them from selling those shares for a profit? So, a few UMNO chaps are now millionnaires and then they turn around and say that it is still not fair to let go. Of course la, they will continue to earn easy money.

PAS wants to join?
written by krising1, October 30, 2008 09:57:51
Ayeya Salahuddin, ask Khir Toyo, ask the UMNOputras, what did they do in the last 40 years. They enriched themselves, enriched their cronies who were not necessarily Malays but got fat kick-backs and left the majority of the Malays behind. Read the the social contract. You should not deny equal treatment in employment opportunities to the non-Malays. Ask Khir Toyo, how Chinese he helped to make rich. Wait for the PKNS scandal to unravel.
written by BennyG, October 30, 2008 10:02:17
"Salahuddin, who is also the member of parliament for Kubang Kerian, said the Chinese community had the control of the nation’s economy since independence and it was this which caused the racial riots in 1969."

Again a typical case of not knowing/remembering your history could cause you to repeat the incident. So many articles/books had shown that the cause was by a "few" Umnoputras and illiterate/naive people.

It's good that the rotten eggs of PAS are beginning to show their faces. Please continue to speak up so that we know who they are and they will not get the votes in GE13.

Btw, this is not a call to not vote for PAS, just not vote for the rotten eggs as these buggers tend to forget that they would not exist if not for the support of the multiracial community.

written by KUMON, October 30, 2008 10:03:03
Why don't the defenders of the NEP and 30% equity come to their senses? If you can't see the all the mismanagement, abuses and racialism,you are a poor leader of your people. Right minded Malaysians should laud any attempts to make Malaysia a better place, not narrow-minded people who only think of their own reputation and pockets.These people should not be leaders..shame on you.

If you continue to spew lob-sided and racist sentiments, you are a discredit to your country and religion. For no religion teaches you to be bias and unfair. It's a real shame that these politicians bring shame and unstability to the country and stiffling our country's progress. They have no balls always using the 'Social Contract' , Malays Rights and all to defend your actions.I hope the Almighty gives you hell when the time comes for you to meet your maker.
written by JUST, October 30, 2008 10:07:00
"You assist an evil system by obeying its orders and decrees.
An evil system never deserves such allegiance.
Allegiance to it means collaboration with the evil.
A man of principles will resist an evil system with his whole soul.
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Nation!"

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by kislean, October 30, 2008 10:26:29
As sure as the sun rises each morning, the mother (umno) will eventually die. The baby (those who depends on handouts .. read nep) will have no one to feed them and they too will die (a painful death). 'Nuff Said !
written by magickriver, October 30, 2008 10:27:29
Salah salah salah, Salah Hood-in, Ayuuuuuuub! You defler who immediately agreed to secret talks with Umno arranged by Khir Toyo, Romeli Musa & Saiful's dad ke? Not too surprising. One of the PASmen who can't wait to become a big shot but couldn't quite hack it in Umno? Well, PKR has its Zul Not-in and PAS its Salah Hudud-in! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cheekhiaw, October 30, 2008 10:31:31
For sure their share would never reach the 'limit' they set. When they are below limit, they force others to hand over the shares to them on the cheap. When the prices go up, those thieves sell their shares, take the money and go to some foreign exhibitions, have fun with whatever they find there incl. models and translators, and blow them and their money away.Then they come back and say their share is not enough and force others to hand over to them on the cheap again and the whole cycle repeats itself.Only an idiot cannot see how such thieves recycle things.
written by Caramel, October 30, 2008 10:33:09
Some Malays are demanding for 30% share in equity. I will be happy to see my Malays friends having 50% equity but WORK for it lah! and everybody will be happy for you - No jealousy!If prices of production have to go up because of simply giving in to those who doesn't work for it, and we will ALL suffer. NEP means Malaysia becoming less competitive because production will shoot up & foreign investors will stay away. Foreigners who wanted to buy house in Malaysia changed their mind when they found out that Bumiputras are getting special discounts. Their reasoning is simple - their purchase cost has gone up because of the discount!! My rich Portuguese friend is getting discount for buying house just becos he is a Bumiputra!!!He might as well buy & sell & buy & sell & make lots of profit just doing that .no need to work. How nice!
written by JohnQ, October 30, 2008 10:36:03
Rahman-Razak-hussain-mahatiru-aps then follow by

najis-hisappussy-mukshit-kera jantan ? Hey, no no no , the order should be RPK first, he is a prince! God Willing, Rahman's legacy thru RPK........
written by ohuat, October 30, 2008 10:38:06
lies and more lies. By equility count, the Malays are much richer than non-malays now. THis is Fact. Only that the wealth own by the Malays are in the hand of the few. The gap between rich and poor in Malay are wide. The non-malays keep their money in the country because they are running their business here. The wealthy Malays keep their money in Singapore,Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom because these are their corruptted money..
written by murali, October 30, 2008 10:51:46
I take lunch nearly everyday during working days at an open restaurant infront of Menara AM at the Jalan Yap Kwan Seng.That area also is where some foreign dignitaries have their embassy! Nearly everyday also i can see some people begging in that restaurant. I must mention here nearly all of them begging are 'bumiputeras'. Yesterday i saw two Malay ladies, one of them is blind doing the same. Atleast these two were selling tissues but at the same time were asking for 'donations'. I dont know what you call this if not begging.

My question is after nearly 50 yrs of independent, special privilages to the bumiputeras and nearly 40 yrs of NEP why there are still people begging and why there are still 'bumiputeras'asking for donations on the streets? Those who make all kind of noises and political statement answer this first! Salah Hudin answer please. There are other 'bumiputeras'come for their lunch there also and most of them just ignore the beggars! Khir Toyo answer please! And those 'mad cows from where you all know' answer please!
written by Caramel, October 30, 2008 10:51:57
NEP should be continued to achieve 30% equity for not RICH UMNOPUTRAS. Cannot give blanket discounts to ALL based on race .What is the rationale of giving discount to a rich guy staying in posh Taman Tun to buy an expensive bungalow? Someone please explain!
written by Zapper, October 30, 2008 11:10:42
With more than 30 years of NEP and yet the target is not achieved...please tell the world what is wrong. Do not put the blame on other races for the non avhievement. Look inward and STOP pointing fingers.
written by cheekhiaw, October 30, 2008 11:11:31
Murali,

Those bumis you see begging are the ones with enough dignity not to rob. They are not 'saved' because they are very different from the PERKASA thieves.
written by sisa, October 30, 2008 11:22:04
I am ashamed to comment on this -especially when someone who does not know GLC owned company and equity(MISC etc), PLC and equity(UEM etc), Independent Equity(petronas), Sponsored Equity(Felda etc), Coorporate Funds(ASB etc),Government Salaried Jobs, Independent Investment by the above.

I will be a sisa if i acknowledge his inteligence.
written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 11:53:07
Ayub ah,you do not have to worry about MCA,what they do will not gain our support because we have given up on them.You do not have to criticize MCA for your own political gain,MCA is not your target,they are worthless.If you are good enough,take on UMNO,your big brother.I have quite a bit of shares under my portfolio,if you have say RM300,000.00,come I sell it to you.If you are poor,stop asking for 30% equity.
written by Wisdom above, October 30, 2008 12:16:16
I did not vote for Salahuddin Ayub of PAS. I only voted for PKR,DAP,PAS. I voted for Pakatan Rakyat.
written by lamakawan, October 30, 2008 12:28:29
Who is this Salahuddin, by the way. Never heard from him before in MT? If UMNO couldn't achieve NEP after 50 years of rule, I say, Salahuddin go ask your boss in UMNO. Your boss runs the country for so long and now you come out to pick on a particular race, in this case Chinese, to blame for all the wrongdoings of your boss, UMNO. What a shame on you, Salahuddin. You couldn't fight your boss in UMNO, and now you take the chinese as a scapegoat to air your frustrations in these 50 years of rule by your own boss, in this case UMNO.
written by SimpleSoul, October 30, 2008 13:41:28
Chinese controls the economy? Indians are doing better than malays? Where is the fact and figures? Can someone check and see, the type and race of buyers for Merc's, BM's and AP's these days. Then perhaps we could see who has the money to spend!
written by Diz, October 30, 2008 14:32:59
We're all missing the point here. Bumi corporate equity, depending on how you count it, is already at 36% (or 45% if you go with last year's Asli study). It's ironic that UMNO is claiming that their very own NEP has been a dismal failure in this regard (equity was already 18% by the early Mahathir years but it is now 19% after 25 years of government largesse- come on, lah) yet insist that the only solution is to carry on regardless!!
written by panca, October 30, 2008 17:52:07
I believe we have read the story somewhere about cows and how it multiplies.

In Malaysia, the same cows are milked, yes until it is dried and drop dead. The NEP ala umno style. Ever wonder where the money from the taxes comes from?
written by benny loh, October 30, 2008 18:54:18
NEW KID!
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...w-kid.html
written by sarawakian, October 30, 2008 22:31:08
Before 1969, the equity of the Malays was almost nil and after 40 years, it is only at 19 percent…If this continues, we need about 20 more years to achieve the 30 percent target .... The 30-percent equity implemented under the New Economic Policy is a social contract that must be respected not just for its economical aspects but also to preserve political stability” - Salahuddin Ayub

what an insult to the Malays. what he is saying is that Malays still need CRUTCHES for the next 30 years and more..
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, October 30, 2008 22:50:39
Oh God, have mercy on us. Why are we still harping on issues as Malays and Chinese? Our economy is down, all of us are suffering. Prices of everything has increased and we can't get jobs because foreigners are getting the jobs - mostly Indonesians who have been "allowed" here in more ways than one.

If this continues, then all Chinese will migrate ( aren't the Indonesians migrating ? And to our country? ) somewhere and not necessarily China. They will contribute their ethics of hard work to the country just as they have done here. The Indians too who have worked their way up and have contributed good minds such as surgeons, doctors, lawyers and academicians; all move out and what have we left ? 99% equity for Malays and 1% for orang asli bumiputras.

Perhaps then, the country can rise up and become an economic world force to be reckoned with etc. Perhaps but it may take another 100 years for that to happen since it has taken 50 years of NEP and it still does not seem to make it - but if I understand the figures right - it is actually 45% equity already.

Hey, saudara Salah Hoodwinked, it is our country - we are in this together. So let us not blame one another - we go by hard work and merit. What is so wrong with it?

Do you want me to tell you how my saudara friends do business? Certainly not through hard work. Through grants given by the government. Through loans not paid. Through many loop-holes one finds in a corrupted government because of cronyism. They still drive big cars, live in big houses, but owe lots of people, owe the government agencies, owe banks and rob from people like me. And those of us who do genuine business, we work 24 hours a day. We don't bite cheroots and drink vintage wine in certain places and tarik kabel besar. We may not pray 5 times a day. But we love our families, pay our taxes, obey the goverment, do not cheat the government and .... What do you want us to do? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif Let us live as Malaysians and make our nation a good place for everyone to be proud of. Please let go of all the crap of racism and religion.
written by Heaven8402, October 31, 2008 01:28:35
Chinese Malaysians worked real hard to have come where we are today. We know we can survive without any special privileges from the goverment and it is time for the Malays to learn the hard way. No Pain No Gain!!!
written by Sabahfan, October 31, 2008 01:41:15
AND i have every right to comment on this NEP bullshit

as a bumi from Sabah, i should be the beneficiary of NEP...instead this NEP has been used to discriminate me just becos I am a non moslem...

deprived of licence to be an F class contractor, dicriminated from promotion in public service...etc....
!!