Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA backs Penang, Selangor governments on signboards, PKNS

MCA backs Penang, Selangor governments on signboards, PKNS PDF Print
Thursday, 30 October 2008 07:58
By Debra Chong

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 29 - In a surprising turn, the MCA today voiced its support for their political opponents over the use of multi-lingual signboards in the DAP-led Penang state and the appointment of Low Siew Moi as the acting General Manager of the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS).

The party's support for the Pakatan Rakyat governments in Penang and Selangor will certainly put it on a collision course with Umno. Party vice-president Liow Tiong Lai has already come under heavy fire for suggesting the scrapping of the 30 per cent bumiputera equity requirement.

Today, MCA Youth chief Datuk Wee Ka Siong expressed his disagreement with his Barisan Nasional (BN) colleagues, notably Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Utama Dr Rais Yatim who said that Penang only needs
signboards in the national language and in English.

He also criticised a University of Malaya professor, Datuk Dr Zainal Kling, who had urged the authorities to charge the state government under the Sedition Act for daring to put up signboards in other languages.

"If we still carry on with a conservative mindset in issuing such statements, it will not help the country in attracting foreign tourists," Wee said in a press statement today, drawing parallels between Penang's multi-lingual signboards and the multi-lingual signboards posted at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

In a separate press statement, Wanita MCA chief Chew Mei Fun urged Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim to remain steadfast in appointing Low as the acting General Manager of PKNS.

"Even though I share a different political ideology with Tan Sri Khalid, I believe in the Selangor Menteri Besar's trust and confidence in women's capabilities to helm PKNS," she said.

Chew took to task the former Selangor MB Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo and state Pas commissioner Datuk Dr Hassan Mohamed Ali for disparaging Low's qualification based on her gender and ethnicity.

"The behaviour of these two leaders, who questioned and prejudiced the capabilities of women, will not increase the country's competitiveness and encourage economic growth," she said.

"In this globalised world, the appointment of top government posts should not be based on skin colour or gender. Those with capabilities and who are able to perform should be given the opportunity to serve," she
emphasised.

"At the end of the day, Malaysia will experience a brain drain with more and more talented professionals leaving for other countries to seek work and pursue their ambitions."

- The Malaysian Insider

written by Hakim Joe, October 30, 2008 08:28:23
So, what else can MCA do?
This is merely a stunt to show all Chinese that they are still "supporting" them.
This is also a tactical move to divert attention from not signing the ISA petition.
As for the brain-drain statement, what are high positions as compared to civil rights?
Speaking purely for myself, I'd rather be free in my own country.

written by avj, October 30, 2008 08:37:28
MCA remenber you are on UMNO Bahru's leash,if you go beyond your limits you will be castrated. I have a strange feeling you are doing this with the tacit consent of your handlers,UMNO Bahru to stir shit, so that they can introduce even more draconian laws to further their agenda. MCA if you are really sincere just dump the Be eNd and be independent to voice your views.Please do us a favour and don't push the country into further shit,MCA
written by Ayoyo, October 30, 2008 08:43:15
This is what we mean by having the best of both worlds. MCA have no confidence of leaving BN coz that would mean having to be independent and losing their jobs and money but at the same time afraid of losing the next election. So, in order to protect themselves, they choose to stay with BN but not with BN...you know what christians call "I am from the world but not of the world" ? Hypocrites.....
written by justinlian, October 30, 2008 08:53:09
It is true, everyone has to support multi language sign board as it will do alot of goodness for malaysia to go one step further to success.
Those denied having multi langauge should be critize for being hypocrites..
written by CPY, October 30, 2008 09:30:34
MCA is trying to regain lost support. I'm sure they report this to UMNO beforehand.
written by binarytan, October 30, 2008 10:28:06
MCA starting to learn how to make Chinese society happy, but too little too late.

Ask the whole gang, who else has signed the anti-ISA? Answer is zero.

MCA is still like before, talk rock sing song.

written by Braino, October 30, 2008 10:30:08
Its a good start for MCA. Finally, they have gathered some courage to say something sensible. But they must press on and do not give way to unreasonable people who try to continue their unfair and lopsided policies in stealing from the Rakyat's hard earn money and reserves(if we still have any)

MCA must reject all forms of unfair and lopsided policies that the interested parties are trying to protect and in so doing continue to suck the nation's wealth dry. Before our country goes bankrupt, responsible Malysians should stand up and make the change, be it from the non-bumi or bumiputras!

Reject all unfair policies that fill up the pockets of the cronies instead of helping those who are really in need. No longer the Rakyat can be fooled again as shown by the sentiments of the people in the recent general elections.

Reject "divide and rule" policies that only benefit those cronies and no one else. Time for meritoracy to rule and move the country to a greater height of success. It is painful decision but if we delay the end will be even more painful!

Time to move as one Malaysian!
written by budakindia, October 30, 2008 10:32:38
Oh please lar, why not have a 3 languages sign? smilies/grin.gif What's that got to do with social contract, Malay supremacy? It's just a 3 languages signage! This people are really stupid! smilies/angry.gif
written by joric, October 30, 2008 10:42:49
It is time for us to be progressive and tourist friendly like singapore. their signages are in all the major ethnic languages. Opps... we are not supposed to compare with a tiny island who values multi racial rights, even if it is seemingly on the surface.
written by Braino, October 30, 2008 11:12:05
Isn't it funny that in Malaysia the majority needs protection while the minority goes without? What does this speak of? You arrive at your own conclusion!

One thing I can say is if you have it good for so many years why sweat now? It is the result of unfair policies made in the past that breeds paracites intead of citizens wih integrity and honour.
written by michael chick, October 30, 2008 11:27:39
Dear MT readers, it is not the Language of the signboards that is the Problem.
The real problem is that, the bloody signboards are planted behind trees and posted AFTER the turning/ junction !!!

It might as well have been translated in Aramic, or Hebrew !!!

Truly Asia, missing the point completely....
written by Susanna, October 30, 2008 11:34:43
What's wrong with multilingual signages. Malaysia is famous for its multi racial make up. And that is what attracts the tourists and people to comment about the uniqueness of Malaysia. In fact Malaysians' multi lingual abilities make them the preferred workers abroad. They make the best service industry workers in foreign countries. Since India and China tourists are the growing force, the multi lingual signages will make them feel very at home!
written by hiro, October 30, 2008 11:46:49
This kind of support is inconsequential. Why don't MCA try something more substantive like abolishing the ISA?
written by miwaki, October 30, 2008 12:03:29
Now even signboards become an issue with BN MPs,this is the mentality of third world politicians.For me you can put up Myanmar language signbord,i don't care.I'm more concerned about how much to pay my Myanmar workers this month.

Hey,don't forget to put up signbords in french as well.Merci puku !
written by yipck, October 30, 2008 13:20:19
"At the end of the day, Malaysia will experience a brain drain with more and more talented professionals leaving for other countries to seek work and pursue their ambitions."

I am one of the brain drain that left Malaysia to Singapore and now i am in Government Agencies projects... smilies/tongue.gif

Many of my schoolmate and classmate now in US, Europe and other part of the countries.

And we are from KEDAH..... why we left? cos appreciated and well paid in oversea.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 30, 2008 15:12:42
It's a sign of INFERIORITY COMPLEX.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 30, 2008 15:23:15
I do not want to do it, because I don't know how
I do not want to learn because I'm afraid of failing
I do not want mix with you because I'm afraid to being rejected
I do not want to talk to you because I cannot understand you
I do not want to compete because I'm afraid of losing
Just leave me alone before I get angry!

These are all signs of an Inferiority Complex.
written by riversnail, October 30, 2008 15:32:45
this is the mentality of the UMNO ministers!!!
PURE FANATICS!!!
Malaysia Boleh!!!
written by macaufan, October 30, 2008 23:24:14
Signages & PKNS issues has open d eyes to d world abt d real corrupted rejim racist umno on their RACIST oppression >50years ruled in m'sia !! smilies/angry.gif
written by schizonoid, October 31, 2008 01:50:35
Just get out of BN.Stupid MCA:Slaves of UMNO.Too much money , wine & women.SCUMS of M'sia.