Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Hats off to Khalid Ibrahim

Hats off to Khalid Ibrahim PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 20:15
Amidst the hullabaloo surrounding the appointment of Low Siew Moi as the acting general manager of PKNS, I want to acknowledge Mentri Besar Khalid Ibrahim’s resolve in selecting Low on the grounds of her credentials. Isn’t it utterly refreshing indeed, for a change, to see a rather high profile appointment at the state level made on the basis of some rational and sensible criteria?

For those who read my column regularly enough will understand that I detest precisely the kind of sectarianism that was the basis of those six staff bodies within PKNS that objected to Low’s appointment. Apparently, among other things, in objecting to the appointment of Low their ‘The memorandum stated that, as PKNS conducts activities that are spiritual in nature, its leader must understand and practice Islamic values.’

This struck me as rather odd. As a matter of fact, it also did not correspond with what I had – albeit somewhat naively – understood to be PKNS’s mission. In fact, I was all the more confused as I did not see any reference to PKNS mission involving ‘spiritual’ work or its mission had any bearing on the understanding and ‘practice [of] Islamic values’ as highlighted in theMalaysiakini article

Furthermore, here’s what the ‘mission statement’ of PKNS essentially states:

Misi PKNS sebagai peneraju pembangunan negeri telah terus memperlihatkan PKNS memainkan peranannya sebagai pemangkin industri hartanah dan pembangunan di Negeri Selangor. Fokus PKNS adalah terhadap pembangunan hartanah mampu milik bertujuan untuk memberi peluang pemilikan harta kepada semua golongan masyarakat.

You see why I’m confused now? How exactly does a mission statement such as the kind so explicitly spelled out above have any resemblance or relevance to ‘activities that are spiritual in nature’?

Well, you don’t suppose this is another one of those ploys to infuse ‘spiritual’ matters in the mix in order to gain political traction, do you? And before you go on accusing me of being too cynical again, perhaps you’ll pause for a moment and take a look at the track record on this front. As a matter of fact, his episode is but another symptom of the culture of sectarianism we’ve been thoroughly indoctrinated by Umno through the years; such that a vast segment of our society cannot thing in any constructive faction beyond the sectarian blinders they’ve been accustomed to.   

I suspect the Mentri Besar had a keen awareness that in making this appointment, he’d be breaking the mold – and somewhat unsettling the Umnoputera apple cart. I also suspect that the aforementioned objections that became public did not come as much of a surprise to him. I think he quite understood what he was doing. Not to succumb to special interests that detracts from the central function and mission of the organization, and to try and peel off some of these layers of cronyism and sectarianism in our public and secular institutions is indeed something worthy of commendation.       

For that, hats off and cheers to Khalid Ibrahim.

- G. Krishnan

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, October 29, 2008 20:27:02
Freedom fighters, let the march to Putrajaya begin! The finish line is in sight, ANAKMALAYSIA, let's go forth with one heart, one race, victory is within our reach! Syabas, YAB Khalid Ibrahim!
agree 108
written by binarytan, October 29, 2008 20:30:50
since when we are going to c the non bumi as GLC boss? since when we are going to c the non bumi as university dean? wait for another 50 years and nothing will happen should BN or PAS rules. Syabas, Khalid, you gain my full respect. Just beware of the mad cow behind you.
written by educationist, October 29, 2008 20:32:48
Yes, for even daring to appoint Low as the acting GM, Khalid deserves the accolades.
Even, if it is an exercise in futility for even PAS is playing the racial card.
written by Hello Keithy, October 29, 2008 20:36:44
YAB Khalid Ibrahim is an example and proof of a new breed of Malay thinking. What is so wrong with appointing someone based on merits ? Unless those who opposed are not doing it for the country but only for themselves.
agree 110
written by kent chong, October 29, 2008 20:40:29
Good job Khalid... but now UMNO ppl will start fire again after the pig issue failed, azan failed.
written by thewayicit, October 29, 2008 20:43:26
Mentri Besar Khalid Ibrahim,You have extended the horizon by another mile. Without fear and favour. Putting the right person for the right job is what we are looking for.No racial biasness, right to the business.Bravo to you.
written by Jack Hui, October 29, 2008 20:51:48
Mentri Besar Khalid Ibrahim rakyat give you point, this is what BN forever can't DID IT !!!
written by Alice, October 29, 2008 21:02:23
Oh Khalid Ibrahim I love you. It is so refreshing to know that a man like you exist in Malaysia. You walk the talk. Greatttttt.

Hey what spiritual mission in PKNS? The greatest problem with this country is spirituality all over the place and everyone so totally confused about what religion, work, politics . Go lah to Afganistan or Pakistan or Iran and do some real spiritual/mission work. Don't pretendlah you hypocrites with your supposed spirituality. Just brainwashing and controlling minds to achieve personal narrow minded agenda.
written by Mr Smith, October 29, 2008 21:02:51
While campaigning for Pakatan prior to the GE, Anwar Ibrahim kept repeating , "Anak melayu anak saya, anak Cina anak saya, anak India anak saya." He never said anak Cina, nak tiri saya.
He also promised that the best will be selected from amongst all the races to head government departments, agencies etc. He emphasised that appointment will be based on merit, not race.
Now I am surprised that Hassan Ali of PAS is singing the UMNO tune. Will he be admonished by Nik Aziz for his racist views which Islam and PAS abhors.
? Will Hassan resign as Selangor ex-co if he does not agree with the MBs choice? I hope he does and joins UMNO.
written by lamakawan, October 29, 2008 21:03:47
The action of Khalid in appointing a senior shows that the Pakatan gomen is sincere in advocating meritocracy in their administration.
written by hckit, October 29, 2008 21:11:43
Thank you PR for giving us, raykat Selangor, Khalid Ibrahim.

Pity to raykat Johor, Pahang, Melaka, NS , Terenggau, Perlis, Sarawak and, Sabah for continuous losing their taxpayers money to corrupted state government servants and politican.
written by Kathy, October 29, 2008 21:17:20
I echo what the author said: Hats off and cheers to Khalid Ibrahim! Organisations like PKNS in Selangor had better get used to the idea of meritocracy. This is an example of the govt. we would get when Anwar and his PKR form the next govt. However, I am concerned at the negative comments coming from the PAS man. Is he the odd man out in PAS and PKR?
written by mob1900, October 29, 2008 21:40:12
Actually Barisan Najis had been doing that too, same principle but different agenda:

Hire the Best Crooks for Best Loot!
lolx
written by Sudahlah tu, October 29, 2008 22:07:52
Jentera kerajaan negeri tidak semestinya diwarnakan lagi...
Kita rakyat negeri juga tidak lagi mengenali warna sebagai alat pengukur sesama diri .....
Apa yang penting dalam aspek jentera kerajaan negeri ialah mengemukakan sistem perantaraan yang cekap , bersih dan amanah demi semua lapisan rakyat negeri.
Aspek pembangunan sosial ekonomi setempat yang boleh memberi gaya sara hidup yang setimpal dengan kerjaya rakyat.
Jangan kita 'ditipu' oleh persefahaman umno yang memecahbelahkan perpaduan rakyat dengan ajaran sesat mereka selama 51 tahun. Cukuplah tu ...
written by raven1958, October 29, 2008 22:15:10
It’s basically mutiny..Captain Bligh...what will Khalid do.....ordinarily all 6 signatories of the protest letter should be hung or made to walk the plank....no need to be so harsh....this is a very good opportunity to set all six signatories adrift out in the open ocean....for they know not nor seem to care.....that the rakyat through Pakatan wants these changes.....in short they insult the rakyat.....and for that they must pay the price....Khalid should just keep applying the pressure irrespective of what Pas says.....the Selangor government is a government by and for the people.......it is not ther to pander a bunch of corrupt heads of departments who now even dare to query the MB.....
written by Semut Jantan, October 29, 2008 22:18:42
It is like playing a football game, if you take out the most qualified, best player simply because he (she) is non-bumi, Malaysia will remain where it is, forever.

Now go score your own goal.

Stupid to the core.
written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2008 22:21:09
Those idiots had been doing very spiritual things all along. You people just do not see it.

They had been spiriting money off the state and going to the mosques to thank the good heaven for those easy money they spirited!

written by Sam W, October 29, 2008 22:26:11
I am just wondering. If a Malay guy is having a heart attack and about to die on the operating table, will he insist that 30% of the operating team be made up of bumiputras, and the head surgeon must be a bumiputra? Or if his child is critically injured in a car accident and taken to the emergency room, will he insist also that the ER be staffed with 30% (or more) of bumiputras and that the ER head must be a bumiputra? And if it is not according to the NEP, will the guy having a heart attack walk out of the OT and protest? Will the father of the accident case child take his kid out of the hospital and go to one that meets the NEP specs?
written by Semut Jantan, October 29, 2008 22:29:03
Sam w,

You hit the head of the nail, right on!
written by Sam W, October 29, 2008 22:45:50
And one other thing. There's no need to lavish a mountain of praise on Khalid. He made a decision, but can he make it stick? If he backs down, he should resign as MB. Then we praise him a mountain and an ocean. Good intentions count for nothing if they are not realised.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 29, 2008 22:50:32
Seems that when PKR does something that is good for everybody, there's always somebody who will want to oppose and insists status quo remains.

MB Khalid must stick by his guns and he will knowing how he is. He's just being nice to the rest but in business, his decision is final and let Low do her job.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com
written by chanatak, October 29, 2008 22:57:42

Why are these UMNO Malays so full of inferiority complex that they must ensure that top jobs are reserved for their kind? To these low quality minded Malays, it doesn't matter if an red-assed monkey sits on the top branch - they just want a monkey so that everytime they look up, they can see the red-ass and feel comforted by it. Just look at the UMNO leadership, they are full of red-ass-ed monkeys who make stupid remarks and irrational statements.

written by Spear Bing, October 29, 2008 23:00:42
PKNS management and staff have been enjoying in their comfort zone during the BN's reign and now the resistance to change is obviously an excrutiating pain on their necks!

PKNS can not survive on fresh air, sunshine and spiritual mission and religious allegiance.

Their salaries come from the tax-payers and they come from all Malaysians, Muslims and non-Muslims alike.

Much as we like to believe that Islam is a great religion, Malaysian Muslims are not doing great justice as long as they continue to feel inferior, weak, pampered, fearful, and never wanting to shed off the clutches that they have been leaning on for the past 51 years of UMNO rule.

Stand up and be counted. The'cheese' has moved.
written by Sunnysoul5, October 29, 2008 23:15:37
It is time to allow the best Malaysian to lead or manage a corporation to achieve global competitiveness. Tan Sri Khalid was instrumental in doing the dawn raid of Guthrie and made it a Malaysian corporation. He knows who is best in the job to run a successful corporation.

When Perodua was first started in Malaysia, the Managing Director was a Chinese Malaysian who had in-depth hands-on experience with Ford and Toyota. That was when Perodua was a GLC then.

MAS is another GLC headed by a Christian Bumiputra from Sarawak.

Barrach Husein Obama may be a born Muslim turns born-again Christian African-American wno may become the next President of the USA.

For Malaysia to move forward, meritocracy may well be the name of the game.
written by SiHangChai, October 29, 2008 23:27:02
This clearly shows how racist and discriminating against non-Malay/Muslim by the Khir Toyo BN govt. Those who uphold the bloody mentality should resign and disgrace to the nation. If those PKNS fellas thinks they are smart and trying to be play 'stupid' and spend more time missing from work and at up at teh tarik, then they are wrong now.
written by miwaki, October 29, 2008 23:41:13
Luckily US presidencial candidate Barrack Obama is not a Malaysian,otherwise,he can't even qualify to be a Pos Master in Paya Terubong Branch.those who oppose the lady to be the GM of PKNS have to be shot.
written by Kunta Kinte, October 29, 2008 23:45:29
Khalid must stand firm. Those who are unhappy should just resign in protest. Like they are going to find themselves a new job at these economic times.
written by KUMON, October 29, 2008 23:54:51
Yes Kunta Kinte, we wish Khalid is firm, but there are daggers in his own yard. PAS, you should really think before you speak. So whatis NIk Aziz's stand on this as well as DSAI?

No racialism here, just great food!!
http://kuchaispace.********.com
written by cheemengwong, October 30, 2008 00:16:03
What kind of thinking...

The PKNS staff wants a weak leader so that they are not push to work hard... that is all they want! PKNS is not a profit centered organization. For a long time it is like a mini government organization.

The reason is clear but the thinking among the PKNS staff is absolutely stupid.

written by JohnQ, October 30, 2008 00:24:50
Me Too, Hats off to YOU SiR KI, for not cowtou to bn goons and crony. For Being brave and principally wise to answer to Rakyat needs.
written by Apache3, October 30, 2008 00:57:56
YAB TS Khalid,

The people of Selangor gave YOU and your team a mandate to rule Selangor. How you rule Selangor is your collective prerogative with your team. Go to hell with these half past six "instigated ketua jabatans" telling you what to do. If they can't work with you then you may have to axe them and get someone else to get the job done. For what you have done up till now my hats off for the wonderful job your administration have done and the people of Selangor are behind you.

May GOD bless you.
written by captmarco ramius, October 30, 2008 01:15:41
Dear Brothers and Sisters of MAKKAL SAKTHI & MALAYSIA TODAY,

‘The memorandum stated that, as PKNS conducts activities that are spiritual in nature, its leader must understand and practice Islamic values.’

Points to ponder on the above statement.....

1. Since when PKNS became a spiritual organization ?.
2. If all the previous leaders and staffs of PKNS were true to the teachings of the 'religious' practise as claimed,why is CORRUPTION AND ABUSE OF POWER SO RAMPANT IN PKNS all this while.Or is it that this sort of UNRELIGOUS PRACTICES ARE ALLOWED IN A A PARTCULAR RELIGION ?.

I am a HINDU,yet I respect the SANCTITY and appreciate the BEAUTY of ISLAM.

Yet there are some who claim to be 'devout MUSLIMS' who abuse their power and break every rule in the book and still claim that they practise ISLAMIC values.I am not saying this out of thin air.Just look at PKNS' track records.

Now I am really confused...And please don't tarnish the image of a great religion by your narrow minded statements and justification to continue with these corrupt practises,saying that it is sanctioned by the religion.That would be the greatest disgrace to the religion of ISLAM.

Till the day we learn not be hide behind the SHIELD of RELIGION in justification of the evil deed that we do,WE OURSELVES ARE DISGRACING OUR OWN RELIGION.

P/S : I have not intention whatsoever in belittling the religion of ISLAM with my comments here.I am just saying the facts of matter,as it is,for us all to ponder upon.If at all my comments hurt the feelings of any of my dear MUSLIM BROTHERS and SISTERS,I hereby tender my humble and sincere apologies.

VALGHE MAKKAL SAKTHI !!! LONG LIVE PEOPLE POWER !!!

capt marco a ramius
written by Sinewy, October 30, 2008 01:30:25
Some retired high ranking staff from PKNS are surprised by the claim that the objective in the formation of PKNS is to solely in helping the malays. It is never in the Articles of PKNS during its establishment decades ago. Afterall PKNS is using the state government funding and this is taxpayers' money from all the people.
written by JUST, October 30, 2008 03:34:39
Syabas YAB! Up-hold your principles!
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized
in this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Great Nation!
written by JUST, October 30, 2008 03:46:05
Justice Bao? Father Of Reforms? Equal Say? Defender of ALL Malaysians? Dream on ........ smilies/grin.gif
written by c53k, October 30, 2008 09:21:00
The dragonheart,

Don't try to be a racist!

This is a case of meritocracy rather than u-know-who.

Since U bring up the case of able Malays in non-govt setups, pls tell why r there so few these able Malays?

R the non-govt (esp Chinese companies like U said) resist in employing them bcoz of skin colour or bcoz of ability?

Let me show U some leads;

1) There r not many '1st class' able Malays who make the cuts in a competitive outside world. The number is very small but the demand is huge, thus the poor statistics.

2) Most of the '2nd best' r only willing to sit with the GLCs as pays r good & responsibilities almost naught. Just look at those failed projects promoted by the GLCs & how many times the CEOs get kicked in the butts for failing!

3) Only cronies need Ali to be the front man. There r many hardworking non-govt companies don't buy that, as such practice only incurred additional high costs. AND most of the companies OUT THERE r just that - surviving on their abilities of major efforts with minimum returns.

So go crawl back to where U come from. The tempurung will not last any longer if the current world economics hold up.

written by Skyjuice, October 30, 2008 09:24:20
Dragonheart
You and your sarcasms cock talking again. Always say that the Chinese monopolized the corporate industry. Let’s do a count. Out of the 6 big banks in Malaysia, how many really have a Chinese boss? Tey Hong Piow, Public Bank boss? How bout Am Bank, Maybank and the rest. How bout KFC Holdings? Do a scan on the hotels, construction companies, marine industries, aviation industries, and importantly, the GLCs. All are actually by the so called Bumiputra (actually ONLY a certain race). Anway, I m sure you’ll rebuff me and say that if it’s not for the government policies, the BUMIPUTRA will never made it there.
Chinese who really made it up there, that’s becoz they really fight for it. It was never spoon fed to them. And did the Chinese really discriminate the Malays or other races? It’s definitely NO. It’s not rocket science anyway. In Corporate world, we always engage the best. Come on, think of it logically, who will not want to make the best out of their employees? You want to engage someone who can’t even perform during the interview process? Someone, who during the interview process, even asked if they are allowed to speak in Malays. If we are a closed economy, then it shouldn’t be a problem. But it’s a global economy out there now.
PS: Sorry for my low command of English, please bear with it for I am educated in Malaysia
written by ROBERTNGTG, October 30, 2008 09:57:42
Amidst the hullabaloo surrounding the appointment of Low Siew Moi as the acting general manager of PKNS, I want to acknowledge Mentri Besar Khalid Ibrahim’s resolve in selecting Low on the grounds of her credentials. Isn’t it utterly refreshing indeed, for a change, to see a rather high profile appointment at the state level made on the basis of some rational and sensible criteria?

SYABAS KHALID. I WISH TO STATE THAT IF TOMORROW, YOU ARE FORCED BY YR OWN KIND TO RESCIND THIS DECISION, YOU WILL STILL HV MY SUPPORT AND VOTE AS A POLITICAL AND CORPORATE LEADER WHO DID HIS BEST TO RISE ABOVE RACE, COLOUR AND RELIGION IN MAKING DECISIONS FOR THE GOOD OF THE PEOPLE, STATE AND COUNTRY. TO BEEND, LET THIS BE A CLARION CALL THAT THE PR HAS PROVEN ITSELF IN THE EYES OF THE RAKYAT AND WE WILL KNOW WHAT TO DO COME GE 13.
written by hiro, October 30, 2008 11:54:34
Those associations under PKNS could have been incited by third parties. Otherwise, they have been indoctrinated with dangerous doses of Malay Supremacy so much that they are not really seeing the world for what it is.

PKNS' namesake is development. There may well be an aspect of Islam involved, since the majority population of Selangor are Malay/Muslims, but it is not the only thing PKNS is about. In developing Selangor, there are also non-Malay/Muslim citizens involved.

Why can't the chief work hand in hand with someone who has Islamic credentials? And by saying the chief has to be of the same colour, is PKNS staffers suggesting that all these while, they have not understood the needs of the non-Malay/Muslim community since their Malay/Muslim boss could not have possibly related to these folks?

The reasoning for PKNS staffers are a sad reminder that UMNO led BN has been polarising racial politics in this country in perpetuity, led by ultras in the light of TDM. It's time for us to seriously move on as we grapple with more external than internal problems. We don't need this kind of juvenile distraction from the bigger picture of rescuing the whole of Malaysia, not just any particular race.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 03, 2008 12:00:54
Hats off to all the MBs of Pakatan Rakyat states smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif