Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Malaysia Today censoring comments

Malaysia Today censoring comments PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 18:38

Several readers of Malaysia Today have informed WorldFutures that the opposition based web news media has started an unprecedented 'censorship' of comments posted by specific ID's on its website.

A WorldFuture reader told the editorial that her posting on Malaysia Today (MT) were being deleted for no reasons and lately none of her posting appeared on the 'free speech' website.

It is dejecting. They promote free speech, they promote hate against Islam and they allow non-Muslims to attack the Prophet of Islam and Islam altogether, yet they cannot take criticism,” said the reader, who was obviously frustrated with the censorship.

On the Malaysia Today website, there are readers who commented on the true nature of the 'freedom of speech' allowed on MT.The reader pointed out to WFOL that such comments are allowed on MT:

written by slimbrowser, October 27, 2008 01:43:40
Islam for justice????!!!!?????
Thinks again... Mohamad's lifetime is full of the so called islamic justice.....

The sarcasm is barely hidden since by 'islamic justice' the posting clearly mean 'injustices' said the reader to WFOL.

She also pointed out that other readers on MT were complaining that their posting 'mostly anti-PR and anti-PKR' were deleted as in this example:

written by fendyoasis, October 27, 2008 16:40:26
Right now where was my postings earlier Super Admin? may I know? There no trace and somehow there's no saying that u deleted it.

written by fendyoasis, October 27, 2008 16:43:17
Just in case U really delete them? What was wrong with it? I dont think it was offensive and seriously it was a really good argument from me to Pete.

On the other hand, Worldfutures advertise on MT too and has a link on the right hand corner under the topic URL ADS. However, almost none of the other articles published by WF gets into Malaysia Today these days.

“Other websites that does not even advertise on MT gets full coverage, even NST, Star and at times Malaysiakini or Malaysian Insider. Yet, WorldFutures advertise monthly and gets no other stories from its website published on MT,” said an Editor of WFOL.

He added that it was simply wrong by the current MT admin to 'padam' WFOL from the MT list of stories. “We carry a lot of great editorials, analysis and stories from our own sources on Malaysia, the PR and the PKR or on Umno and the BN. There is no reason for the current admin to banish us and on top of that we pay them for adverts. They should be less 'emotional' and more 'professional' said Abdel Jaber, one of the new editors at WFOL.

Since Raja Petra Kamaruddin is in ISA, things have changed at MT. They are more anti-people who do not agree with their views. "This shows the type of 'freedom' the opposition and its supporters are preparing for the Malaysians," argued one reader to WFOL.

He pointed out a posting on Malaysia Today which he says tells us the whole story:

written by kawaafi, October 27, 2008 17:47:59
Here we go again.. we are participating in this very forum where the talk about freedom of speech and rights will happen at will.. but when it comes to Muslims who suffers like in israel case. the general notion is we are suppose to close not only one eye but both eyes.
Muslims just deserve it.. hmm... so much about freedom of speech and human right ya..

but do not loose hope pete. at least now we know we are far apart than closer than what we might want to be.. we just have to start some place and sincerely express our thought and principle we stand for. Hopefully we can come to some form of concensus if not now, much later...

Source: http://www.worldfutures.info/News/Latest/Malaysia-Today-censoring-comments.html

Comments (58)Add Comment
written by vineeth menon, October 29, 2008 18:51:27
World Futures !! Did you check with those crying babies if they had mailed to MT Admin for the clarification on what was the reason for removing their comments? Why don't you ask them to rewrite those comments which was removed.

if those comments where removed and the above comments are left means, normal people with common sense can guess what would have been the intensity of those comments.

If World Futures got any complaints regarding the coverage, then send it to MT Admin for clarifications and corrections.Have you did that? if so when was it.. Not in last few months..

Anybody got complaints. email to labisman at yahoo dot com
written by ahmadneil, October 29, 2008 18:54:40
Truth written by ahmadneil were never deleted.It only incur suspicion and jealousy.
written by cheekymate, October 29, 2008 18:56:54
Dear All, We must be reminded that ALL our blogs/comments are screened and scrutinised by the BN without fail. I would not be in the least surprised if they have stationed someone round the clock to 'monitor' our MT movements.
As such, we are forced to exercise some discretion when we post our comments without touching on serious sensitive topics. Freedom of speech and human rights have gone to the dogs these days in Malaysia. I guess the admin of MT is just doing its duty to draw a line as to how far we can push our views without getting our beloved website banned. More importantly, MT is in fact protecting us from those who are just waiting to bare their claws at us.
written by Hello Keithy, October 29, 2008 19:06:18
It's true the Prophet of Islam and Islam as a religion are innocent and should NOT be used as a subject when commenting. But one can't help but sink its teeth into where it hurts most when making comments on MT. It seems everything is linked to Islam whenever the Muslims or for that matter, Malay Muslims felt threatened by the other races. The "Ketuanan Melayu", NEP and even when the Bar Council decided to discuss on laws protecting the non-Muslims. The comments are just natural reflex actions.
written by educationist, October 29, 2008 19:07:06
I do not know the true facts so I'll refrain from commenting on the allegations. However, I'll just like to say that in so far as my blogging experience at MT is concerned I have encountered no such problems.
But, I have to be honest, I'm on the side of change and I'm prepared to be patient rather than critical when DSAI misses his deadlines.
With regards the UMNOputras and the mosquito parties I have criticised and condemned them based on what have been revealed in the public domain via MT.
written by Thambidoorai, October 29, 2008 19:08:32
WERE the allegations of censorship true, I think we do not lose much, seeing as the opinions originated from a dubious society based in a neo-imperialist, violent interventionist, capitalistic nation.
written by Proarte, October 29, 2008 19:13:51
In defense of MT, I must laud this blog for allowing me express my views.

My style is deliberately hard hitting, polemical and no holds barred. However, I strive to be fair and logical and never to be gratuitously insulting.

Hidup Malaysia Today! Hidup RPK !
written by justinlian, October 29, 2008 19:15:45
hehehe...
They will do whatever cost to destroy this website...
Keep it up,,, one fine day we will see the light..
Im sure the people will support MT.
written by kent chong, October 29, 2008 19:24:45
Banned In The U.S.A. lyrics

[Government of the people]
[For the people]
[By the people]

News reporter:
Earlier today in Broward County, appalling court
judges upheld the previous
ruling to ban the sale of Miami rap group the 2 Live Crew's
double-platinum album, "Nasty As They Wanna Be," in Broward County.

"We think it's the banning of free speech. First Amendment protects
material, resultably."

Luke (being interviewed):
"We don't talk about, uh, harrassing and sexually brutalizing women in
my music, man!"
"We don't do that in my music, man! I'm tired of you saying that!"

Verse 1: Fresh Kid Ice
We've got white-collar people trying to grab our style
Saying we're too nasty and we're 2 Live
Corrupted politicians playing games
Bringing us down to boost their fame
They must be joking thinking we will fall
But they're like flies movin' the wall
We stand tall from beginning to end
With the help from fans and all our friends
Freedom of speech will never die
For us to help, our ancestors died
Don't keep thinking that we will quit
We'll always stand and never sit
We're 2 live, 2 black, 2 strong
Doing the right thing, and not the wrong
So listen up, y'all, to what we say
We won't be banned in the U.S.A.!

Reporter:
"Luke's concerts are for adults"
"If it's an adult show you have to be 18"
"Our record is a year old, but with all the publicity, there's a lot of
people ... curiosity is around!"
"We're selling records to a totally different audience."
"I take a precaution that nobody else has not stickered my album, I made

TWO versions"

Verse 2: Brother Marquis
The First Amendment gave us freedom of speech
So what you sayin'? It didn't include me?
I like to party and have a good time
There's nothin' but pleasure written in our rhyme
I know you don't think we'll ever quit
We've got some people on our side who won't take your lip
We're gonna do all the things we wanna do
You can't stand to see a brother get as rich as you
This is the 90s and we're conin' on strong
Sayin' things and doin' things that you're sayin's wrong
Wisen up, 'cause on Election Day,
We'll see who's banned in the U.S.A.!

[The United States of America]
[Government of the people]
[For the people]
[By the people]

"The show in Hollywood, that was for 21-and-over people, they had police
out there, cars of the people coming in the club, and they still
arrested us for performing in front of adults!"

Luke's speech:
What is this?? Is this not America? This is not China! This is not
Russia! This is not the place where they brought down the wall, this is

America! We have the right to say what we want to say, we have the right
to do what we want to do, and what I do in my house,
you might not do in your house!
So what I do in my house is my business! And the simple fact
of it all is that we are BONDED by the First Amendment! We have the
freedom of EXPRESSION! We have the freedom of CHOICE! And you,
Chinese, black, green, purple, Jew,
YOU have the right to listen to whoever
you want to, and even the 2 Live Crew! So all you right-wingers, left-
wingers, bigots, Communists, there IS a place for you in this world!
Because this is the land of the FREE, the home of the BRAVE! And 2 Live

is what we are!
written by *********, October 29, 2008 19:26:10
Omanis here are asking The Scribe since when did Malaysia become a Theocratic State? PKNS is after all a Government owned corporation right? PKNS is like the PDC in Penang right? So where it says that the GM of PKNS must be a Muslim or even a Malay? Don't the racist, religious bigots from the 6 staff bodies of the PKNS know that their salaries are paid by the Rakyat (People) of all races and faith?...More http://*********.********.com
written by Kuku Burung, October 29, 2008 19:35:44
If we all keep level headed and refrain from insulting religious founders and prophets, or God, (excluding UMNOputras, BN goons) who is going to delete our comments? Remember that RPK got into all sort of trouble when we posted "seditious" comments on MT. This forum is for everyone to put forth their views; but theirs must stay in the domain of discussion and not throwing insults (religiously). Just my 3-cent thought.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 29, 2008 19:39:50
As a regular visitor and ocassional commentor of my personal views, I find some of the comments and views posted are really really nasty, tasteless, obnoxious, downright rude, vulgar.

So I can imagine those that are banned from this blog must be to the point that one would instantly puke or drop dead upon reading.

Therefore I completely agree that such a ban is JUSTIFIED.
written by Sabahfan, October 29, 2008 19:47:04
Doesnt worry me if all my comments are deteletd. In fact, i was shocked to discover that when i ****** my callsign, i got thousands of hits.. rrrrrkkk... shock shcok..

Because some of my comments that are backed with proofs and examples have been copied and pasted in other sites and blogs. No worries mate, please be free to copy and paste. what ever i write in internet is for the benefit of all my fella mankind. whoever likes it, take it. FREE mah.

Those that were deleted by MT are considered sensitive and i know are purposely sarcastic. Because only thru sarcasm i can make my point accross. So go ahead and delete, becos i know before you delete it, someone has at least seen it for the few minutes it is online, and i am sre someone already copied it and place in some other hardisk around the world. Sometimes i have a copy of them in my own blogsite, knowing it will be deleted. Write, delete, its a free world in internet.
written by biggun129, October 29, 2008 19:52:27
To post comments on MT, you must understand the norm of MT, This is the space for Pro Rakyat Malaysia, all the commentators of MT is here to Right the wrong doings of the Administrators of the Country, immaterial they are from the Opposition Camp or the Ruling Regime, they dont take side!!!
written by mikewang, October 29, 2008 20:15:37
Freedom of speech is simply this.

Don't say to others what you don't want others to say unto you.
Always respect the religious beliefs of others and the way of life of the ethnic community they belong.
written by looish, October 29, 2008 20:40:54
Looks like the work of a cyber trooper. (Quote) "This shows the type of 'freedom' the opposition and its supporters are preparing for the Malaysians," argued one reader to WFOL.
Thie fler is not talking about press but about the opposition!!!
written by teo siew chin, October 29, 2008 20:47:38
Dear Vineeth - in your fury at their accusations, you can only call them crying babies? smilies/grin.gif I'd hate to be anywhere near you when you are really really really angry! Next time anyone complain just tell them to ... to somewhere the tourist agent wont recommend lah!
written by teo siew chin, October 29, 2008 20:59:32
Dear Biggun129 - u got negative 500 ? wahhhhh ... must be a record! wat did you comment? can post again ah? smilies/grin.gif
written by shamadz72, October 29, 2008 20:59:41
The rule of thumbs when posting something online is to ask yourself whether you will end up with a fist fight should you utter the same wording in public or not. If the answer is yes, than you will need to rephrase the sentence and at the same time can still delivering the same message. It is sad that some of us abuse freedom of free speech due to anonymity provided by technology. Remember, Pete is under ISA not because of what he write but due to comment made by some of us here.

I would like to end by quoting a famous quote made by mr. Lim Kuang Yew which goes something like this "Your freedom to swing your fist stop where my nose begin" smilies/smiley.gif
written by lynn, October 29, 2008 21:00:01
Malaysia Today if free of charge - so if your comments are deleted, and you are not happy, go and start your own website. Yah, get lost. If you don't like the EFF words, you can EFF off.

My comments get deleted too & it's no big deal; be grateful to RPK that we have m2day while his freedom has been taken away from him.
written by gorshan, October 29, 2008 21:12:09
i have read MT all these years faithfully and MT allows posting both pro and against any views.everyone gets their say whether or not they are pro or anti islam,christianity,hinduism,etc,etc and those that are out of line or extremist or fanatical in their posting gets tons of hammering and put in their places by other matured commentators as recently happened to this one commentator character from Worldfutures who shows hysterical reaction to those he thinks opposed to his views and he automatically branded opposing views to his as anti Islam,anti Muslim. refer to RPK's No Holds Barred http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/14260/84/
written by teo siew chin, October 29, 2008 21:32:18
Shamadz72 - i absolutely totally agree with your comment! And for that, you get a bear-hug! smilies/grin.gif
written by Arubin, October 29, 2008 21:37:20
written by mikewang, October 29, 2008 20:15:37
Freedom of speech is simply this.

Don't say to others what you don't want others to say unto you.
Always respect the religious beliefs of others and the way of life of the ethnic community they belong.

Sorry, but I completely disagree with you on this. Freedom of speech means the freedom to say ANYTHING you like. No limitations, else it no longer is free speech. You have to take the bad along with the good. Anything else equates censorship. Its as simple as that.

Of course, this does not excuse you from the consequence of your actions. Say something libelous and you risk a lawsuit. Offend someone and you might end up being ignored, ostracized, or punched in the face.

I can actually understand if a certain amount of censorship occurs on MT. You can complain all you like if your comments are not posted, but you have to remember this - it is the site administrators who have to shoulder any responsibilities, not you. Therefore, they have a right to decide what is or isn't allowed on the site. You want your articles or comments published no matter what? Start your own blog or news aggregation site. Don't make a fuss on someone else's.
written by mob1900, October 29, 2008 21:37:25

Try and have your Say at PUTUSKAN and The Nasty Pee Paper, lol!
written by cruzeiro, October 29, 2008 21:49:32
This must be the same guy who asked admin/labisman to ban me ...
Could it have anything to do with "ali cordoba/Lilin" who always come up with links to crappy articles?
Cheapos - I definitely am sure that this guy's trying hard to win over hits from MT!

He's nothing but a whiner and a sore loser ...
These guys are working with "some people" to make MT lose its appeal/credibility or shut MT down on the pretext that it is "unIslamic".
Guess who charged RPK for being UnIslamic ....

Don't worry Vineeth/ Labisman - just do your job.
written by cruzeiro, October 29, 2008 21:52:57
written by timyang, October 29, 2008 20:01:18
The point is that if you post something like "Anwar sucks" or "MT is for morons" then those comments get quickly deleted.
=========================================

I'm sure you wouldn't shower if someone throws shit at you.
In fact you'd thank them for noticing you right?

That's freedom for you, huh?

LOL!!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 29, 2008 22:00:33
Adakalanya , kami juga bersakah kerana terpesong jauh daripada objektif.
Kalau begitu , patutlah kami menerima hakikat daripada penaung blog MT.
Saya juga pernah terpesong dan terlanjak pendapat peribadi , saya juga harus menerima balasan saya atas kesilapan mahupun kesalahan sebegini.
Apa yang penting sekali , kami berpeluang belajar dan memperbaiki perantaraan diri dengan masyarakat siber.
Kebebasan tetap ada di sini , cuma kami sendiri hendaklah meletak satu garisan murni semasa berada di dunia MT.
MAri kami berusaha bersama .... Ini dunia MT kami ..
written by gene, October 29, 2008 22:33:06
"written by lynn, October 29, 2008 21:00:01
Malaysia Today if free of charge - so if your comments are deleted, and you are not happy, go and start your own website. Yah, get lost. If you don't like the EFF words, you can EFF off. "

honestly, i do believe some of the comments on MT are completely useless. they do not contribute anything to the discussion, other than to fan a flame. some are legitimate, but honestly, most just play to the gallery.

and by you saying, if you don't like it, you can EFF off? doesn't that remind you of certain politicians telling certain pendatang that they can balik kampung if they dont like it? how different are you from the people you are criticising?
written by biggun129, October 29, 2008 22:39:10
Tim yang, read my lst comment-See how I received the Positive Votes, and now you read my 2nd comment-Negative Votes, compare these two comments, and you can read the mentality of the readers/commentators of MT!!!I dont have to teach you what to do!!!
written by renoir, October 29, 2008 23:11:27
cheekymate wrote:
>I guess the admin of MT is just doing its duty to draw a line as to how far we can push our views without getting our beloved website banned.]]

I've earlier decided not to post here again until RPK comes back, but I'll make this an exception. Cheekymate, you guess wrong, for if you're right, then a certain poster's remarks might be censored, but not ALL the postings under that article. Yet I was surprised to find an entire article on the vigil, under which I posted some comments, missing. Someone - probably not the trusty Labisman - had probably seen fit to pull that article out, thus denying some of us the opportunity to see what others might have thought of our ramblings. I'd saved that page, and tried as I might, I couldn't see any comment that merited such a distasteful behavior. I'd thought of letting RPK know what's going on, but decided that, since most of the early posters have already decided to withdraw from this website, I'd better do the same.

Ciao,

written by Legion, October 29, 2008 23:41:07
Basket cry babies, comments kena edit pun nak nanggis, memang bengap. Learn lah what you wrote wrong or insensitive, if you post something civilize and still kena edited then confirm you are the enemy lah. Basket, want to make such a big hoohah.
written by FFT, October 29, 2008 23:47:36
Dear Kazi Mahmood and Ali Cordoba,

How much did UMNO and Najib pay you to spread those hairy butt cheeks?

Considering that Ali Cordoboa is still given the privilege of spamming the MT comments with links to unrelated WFOL articles, what manner of censorship are you howling about?
written by PublicStranger, October 29, 2008 23:56:02
To Whom It May Concern,
Like you claimed, everyone had their right to write or blogs. Then I assume you understand as well that you have the damn right NOT to comment or read MT if you think it is not useful to you. Just don't bark in MT where we think this is the only site that can gives us the real story of Malaysia Dirty Politic which is managed by these morons. RPK is just away for few days and now you start to turn back and kicking the admin ss. You dun like just go away and we always happy that you leave! Go join the morons (Najis & Bodohwi) which I think they pay you well to be here observing MT for sometimes. I guess it is time for you to go back into your dog cage under UMNO's custody. GO ! N don't disturb us here. You are not welcome
written by PublicStranger, October 29, 2008 23:58:35
AND WF... try to post some negetive and nasty comment into BN or BN component blog and see will they approve to post it on? they might allow after this blog being publish. I tried someone from MCA and my comment was not being posted. WHy? Can you comment on that ? you moron.
written by temenggong, October 30, 2008 00:46:55
Dear Admins,

I know you are shit scared of the ISA, but please-lah, be reasonable when you delete/tamper. I don't touch islam if you haven't noticed.

This whole year my posts have been deleted/tampered with till they make no sense. Just today two of my posts have been altered till there is no sting!

Listen, no matter what you hear, Kamunting is not all that bad. Its the choice destination for celebrities! Besides, a whole nation will light up candles for you, sing kumbaya, and name roads after you! See!

So do look on the bright side. smilies/grin.gif
written by justinlian, October 30, 2008 00:53:03
Ai yo, why is the fuss of comments being deleted, everyone has his comments deleted once awhile.
Someone has to protect this site..
written by Apache3, October 30, 2008 01:43:27
At least at MT we get to post our comments before it is censored. Try posting at Najib's or Che Det's site and if your posting is critical of them it will never see the light of day.

Laws alone can not secure freedom of expression; in order that every man present his views without penalty there must be spirit of tolerance in the entire population. - Albert Einstein
written by kennyeu, October 30, 2008 01:44:47
I read the article mentioned here and many of the comments which followed. I have to say I felt I had to ***** on the "report abuse" icon on one of the comments and subsequently, that comment was deleted.

Why did I do that? Sometimes a great debate is triggered in MT where insults are hurled from one commenter to another. Sometimes it involves name calling or degrading a person's intelligence, physical appearance and stuff like this. Not pretty to listen to but still bearable.

The comment I reported abuse on threatened one of the regular commenters. It described how a group of people were going to gather, capture the guy, torture him horribly and cut off his head or something along those lines.

People disagree, argue and call each other awful things. It's all free speech right? But when someone comes along and promises to do horrific things and commit murder what do you think MT should do? I'm glad they took responsibility to weed out comments which cross the line. By the way, it's more work for them so they definitely don't delete comments for fun you know.
written by vineeth menon, October 30, 2008 02:22:43
renoir / LChuah ,
Your complaint might be genuine.But, if you have emailed us then, we would have provided you with the reasons. We dont know which article are you refering to. Please email to us with details, we will try to explain you. By all means please complaint to RPK when he come back. cheers to you.

temenggong,
You who hide under the nicknames are the cowards. I have seen the exodus of unsubscription from MT when they said that they are going to go after the Commentators. My id is in public domain and i use my actual name. Anything mail me. we will discuss. Nobody is editing your comments.. may be you are typing it wrong....

fendyoasis,
Sorry, i didnt receive any of your mails. am not mentioning anybody in specific here.The fact is that it is a web, server, program. Anything could go wrong. Must discuss with us first before creating a issue out of it..

NOTE : We dont unpublish or edit comments unless requested by commentators themselves.We will just delete the whole comment if not apt.
If anything such happens, its purely technical problem in our system or your PC. Notify us of such incidents.
written by densemy, October 30, 2008 04:51:09
Then Bring Back BUMI NON MALAY. If he/she is still alive. After all he/she have focus on Racism, Freedom on Religion and the coming Economic Crisis repeatedly to the point of boredom yet entertaining in its approach to even Raja Petra.

Yet MT prefer to publish Rubbish on Rosmah. That article to MT editor is more credible than people's feeling and opinion. Stay focus for goodness sake on Freedom of Religion, ISA, Freedom from Racism and Removal of UMNO-BN.
written by Catharsis, October 30, 2008 05:43:33
If your concerns are published in this site don't you think FREEDOM OF SPEECH is truly ROBUST and ALIVE here....................
written by Catharsis, October 30, 2008 05:47:38
That one Finger of yours is pointing at SUPER ADMIN for not subscribing to the Principle of FREEDOM of Speech- I wonder if those three fingers of yours are questioning if your comments were truly responsible and indeed fair comments. And that thumb points to GOD for JUDGEMENT- Judge lest you shall be judged
written by JC Tan, October 30, 2008 08:36:22
Freedom come at a price, usually blood, sweat and tears.

Those enjoying the fruits must not forget the former who planted the tree.

Please use your Freedom of Speech responsibly, our beloved Pete is in ISA in the struggle for our Freedom of Speech.

Regards.
written by batsman, October 30, 2008 09:00:08
Shame on MT editorial board!
written by batsman, October 30, 2008 09:04:34
I am against censorship. As it is, we now don't have a clue as to what the beef is between WF and MT. Lots of accusations and justifications, but no idea of what the problem is all about. This is what censorship does. It blinds people. It encourages even more anger and hate. Nothing is for free - if you think you are reducing anger by censorship, think again.
written by batsman, October 30, 2008 09:08:22
Any site that claims freedom of speech must give both sides equal chance to air their views.
written by teo siew chin, October 30, 2008 09:15:52
Dear MT-Team

There used to be a little post at the top left corner informing who to contact (i.e. This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ) at MT but i notice it is no longer displayed. Many newbies probably are not aware of who to 'complain' to, not that I am encouraging complaints to you of course!

I had written to Labisman before about a complaint and he had been totally helpful and prompt in his replies ( i did carry on and on then smilies/grin.gif).

Human frailties are such that we are ever so quick to throw bricks but not bouquets.
written by CPY, October 30, 2008 09:16:35
Pls investigate such allegations ASAP admin.
written by renoir, October 30, 2008 10:14:30
vineeth menon wrote:
>By all means please complaint to RPK when he come back.]]

Vineeth: I don't "complain" - throughout my years here RPK knows I never do. We gray hairs are too old to do that kind of thing. I'm just stating an occurrence, and I decided not to trouble anyone but wait for RPK's return partly because, as some readers here know, I've a website elsewhere to moderate and need to spend time there.

Cheers
written by FFT, October 30, 2008 11:28:41
Hi LChuah....

Which website are you presently moderating? Is it something like a discussion group?
written by teo siew chin, October 30, 2008 11:31:13
Dear Renoir

At first instance, I was kinda shocked that you will ever "complain" cos I have always thought of you as cool and steady ! smilies/wink.gif
So there we are, first impressions are usually erroneous.
You meant only to make a statement but my first reaction was: "huh, super-cool Renoir also complain ah!!! aiyo, why the ole folks always nag wan!" smilies/grin.gif

But anyways, bygones. So, which website you moderating ah? Boleh kasi tau ah?
Thanks!

written by renoir, October 30, 2008 13:18:09
Hi FFT and Teo,

I do belong to a discussion group, but that's closed to a small group of old huaren.

I'm referring to another huaren site which I hope will eventually morph into a serious discussion group. I'd given that url here some months ago, when discussing the history of China's Great Leap and other events. Though invited to moderate around 2004, I'd left it to a dear friend to take care of it. When I returned to the forum, I found only a handful of participants, so I suggested some changes. Then I was again preoccupied with personal affairs (my elder brother had cancer and passed away just weeks ago - he was only 75), and left my friend to stimulate interest. Some time ago I received mail from a few readers that they were scared to participate partly because of the rather ferocious personal attacks by a participant. Yet, as a believer in Mill's treatise on free speech, I just couldn't delete that participant's epithets. But I'm crossing my fingers that things will turn for the better.

The website is huaren.org, and there're many items there for those interested in huaren affairs. My responsibility is to moderate the Forum. There are three sections, but I prefer to talk about the general state of huaren and the world - hence the heading "General." Spicing up the discussions are philosophical concepts from Lao Tzu to Hegel to Marx. Since I'd spent half my adult life in the states, I also write a lot on US history, politics, and the ideals of its Founding Fathers. You'd find me merciless in my attacks on the neocons and other hawks, but as a perceptive reader once said, hidden in the attacks is an undying love for the country and its people.

At present the website isn't satisfactory - too much talk about prophecies and whatnot. I try to move things to a more practical basis, but until I found my bearings I wouldn't openly invite everyone to ***** on it. Nevertheless, the other parts of the website ought to interest most overseas huaren, such as our e-magazine. Do give it a scan if that's your cup of tea.

My moniker there is "LarryLC"
You do have to register.
written by R020998, October 30, 2008 23:48:58
HEY vineeth,

MT HAVE DELETED MY COMMENTS JUST NOW. THE ARTICLE IS "IS PAS RUNNING WITH PAKATAN AND HUNTING WITH UMNO?". KINDLY EXPLAIN.