Fatwa on yoga out soon PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 16:34

PENANG, 29 Oct 2008: The National Fatwa Council will come out with a ruling related to yoga exercise soon.

The announcement would be made by the council's chairperson, Prof Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin, said Department of Islamic Development Malaysia deputy director-general (operations), Othman Mustapha.

He told reporters this after opening the two-day seminar on Islamic Jurisprudence and Eternal Islamic Thinking at Universiti Sains Malaysia.

Yesterday, lecturer Prof Zakaria Stapa of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia's Islamic Studies Centre advised Muslims who have taken up yoga to stop practising it for fear that it could deviate their beliefs.

- Bernama

Comments (82)Add Comment
written by Oyster, October 29, 2008 16:42:54
Have many Muslims really changed their beliefs because of yoga? I think the NFC may be twisting itself into knots by doing this.
written by JC Tan, October 29, 2008 16:42:59
Remove politic out of religion.

Remove religion out of everything else.

And we will have a better world.
written by Mitch Yusmar, October 29, 2008 16:48:20
I think NFC has got no better things to do....as they have to reach their quota of Fatwa by the end of the year....this is the time for them to come up with all the nonsense.

Yes...please....leave religion out of politics.
written by teo siew chin, October 29, 2008 16:48:26
hmmmmm...will there be a Fatwa on mat rempit-ism?
written by PASOK, October 29, 2008 16:52:22

after this can we have a fatwa on aerobics too.
written by Garend, October 29, 2008 17:02:15
smilies/cry.gif ... Personally, i feel this Has totally nothing to do with Religion. It is the PPL.. they try to do this to satisfy their own Felt & Perverted need to extend control to others... to fulfill their own EGO.. that they are "RIGHT" & "JUST"...

If they really want to do good to the Muslim culture.. they should start by making sure those stuff like Slacking in work... Rasuah... Murder... Fitnah .. Injustice & ISA be taken away first.. I nvr see anywhere is the QURAN say that YOGA is not good.. but i did see that RASUAH.. and INJUSTICE should be combat everywhere... Fight for RPK first.. then we will talk abt Yoga.
written by Foong, October 29, 2008 17:03:53
Nice to see them create one for "swimming" also.
written by blackpea, October 29, 2008 17:09:53
Why no Fatwa on BN govt officials regarding corruptions, abuse of power, against the use of C4, issue fatwa that those stole or commit crimes while in power to be stone in public by the ppl of Malaysia.
written by mob1900, October 29, 2008 17:13:09
Eh, Football are created by Kaffirs also. Ban?
written by born2reign, October 29, 2008 17:18:14
Sex will be the only approved exercise, be fruitful and multiply. And try not to queue up for IJN.
written by avj, October 29, 2008 17:21:36
Yoga is not the problem.It is your lack of faith,knowledge and understanding. Only the TRUTH will set you free,not any rulings by man.Since he is man,he is liable to err.

On a lighter vein,all those hell bent on going to heaven log on to http://sjsandteam.*********.com/
written by Kathy, October 29, 2008 17:22:16
I don't believe what I'm reading. I practise yoga and have never treated it as a religion. The yoga exercises have done me nothing but good. How on earth can yoga deviate Muslims from the practise of Islam?
written by fairnessforall, October 29, 2008 17:30:45
NFC is really stupid and showing the world how stupid they are. They probably think stupidity is an asset. Firstly they cant control the bad things being done by muslims and they want to issue a fatwa on something that is good. Look at the number of muslim women working as prostitutes and escorts, what is NFC doing about this. These muslim women even advertise openly on the net about their services. Is being a prostitute allow in islam? What about the number of muslim women drinking and throwing themselves at foreigners, take a walk in bangsar and you will see all these. All these they let go, i guess maybe they think they can also benefit from the prostitutes services thats why they allow it and no fatwa issued on that. Also the dressing of those muslim women who hang out in pubs and night spots, some half naked. I have nothing against all these as I believe that everyone has a right to live their life the way they want to, but this is really rediculous. Yoga has become a worldwide practice for good health, and this is what they go after.
written by fairnessforall, October 29, 2008 17:31:46
Why not totally ban muslims from even going to the gym and living a healty lifestyle. Gyms are unisex right, isnt that against islam.
written by Nunudada, October 29, 2008 17:33:18
This is sad,but it is the truth.I like everyone else perhaps, in this country ,had a very negative impression of Indonesia.However,my perception has since changed after just one visit to Java.They are a country where ninety percent of the population are muslims,yet they have officially adopted ideas that would clearly put us to shame.
written by fairnessforall, October 29, 2008 17:34:04
Obviously the NFC has very little faith in Islam that they think muslims can get so easily influenced by doing exercise. How stupid. Hello, not all muslims are stupid and weak like you to be so easily influenced
written by Gargamel, October 29, 2008 17:40:08
Malays already have the highest rates of diabetes in Malaysia. Now they want to prohibit exercise? I guess Darwin was right. The fittest will survive and the stupid will die early and young.
written by beijing, October 29, 2008 17:43:10
Bodoh Nya. FATWA on TV, radio, Astro, newspaper, internet,out soon.
written by advocatusdiaboli, October 29, 2008 17:45:47
Wei, u fellas no other work aa? Fatwa here and Fatwa there. Get a life la.
written by hellosunshine, October 29, 2008 17:52:05
Aiyoyo....some people claimed that MT readers are Muslim bashers. With fatwas like these issued by idiots, how not to?
written by AuntyG, October 29, 2008 18:12:04
Yoga is 'naughty'
But plundering and abuse of power is okidoki
And Altantuya's murderer(s) still walking free
This is bodohland 'priority'
cheers, from AuntyG (it rhymes mah !!!)
written by HeeHaw, October 29, 2008 18:12:33
Don't forget Tai Chi, Taekwondo and Karate too...all these very sinister also.

And homeopathic medicine....definitely makes guys think of homos smilies/cheesy.gif
written by temenggong, October 29, 2008 18:17:13
No one can escape the conclusion, that malaysia have morons as leaders! Even in the universities! Truly unbelievable!
written by A MI, October 29, 2008 18:25:38
you know what they say about jobless poeple and idle minds; .....
in Malaysia they come up with new Fatwas and DNA acts
written by Proarte, October 29, 2008 18:25:46
Let is us face it. These pronouncements are political in nature. The Fatwa council and Jakim are instruments of control, to keep Malays in line and also to divide the races. It is part of the age old divide and rule strategy, the modus operandi of UMNO. To call this Islam is blasphemy.

UMNO cannot countenance having races cooperating and learning from each other. It cares 2 hoots about the well being of Malays, be it in economic, moral or physical upliftment. This latest Yoga issue is utterly synthetic and a pure charade. It is also so demeaning to Malays and to Muslims in that it presupposes that Malays are not discerning in matters of their faith and have a low IQ.

Yoga consists of physical exercise, meditation and mental discipline which has been in practice for millenia. Various communities and cultures have adapted it and modified it to suit their needs.

Muslims , Christians, Bhuddists, Atheists will have different concepts of what is spiritual. It is a personal interaction which no fatwa council can ultimately influence.

When a Muslim performs Yoga, his connection with the spiritual is through Allah. With the Hindus it is through Brahma in all His myriad forms. I cannot stress enough that it is a personal interaction.

Yoga classes in a modern urban setting ( where it is predominantly practised )has neutral 'spiritual' elements which the individual tunes in to according to his own personal belief.

Mind, body and soul are intertwined in Yogic philosophy. How does this conflict with Islam? The idea that it is a prosletying exercise is a childish and wicked figment of imgination of the Fatwa Council.

In fact I would go as far as to say Muslims should be encouraged to attend Yoga classes as it will discipline the mind, stengthen the body and keep them in touch with Allah.
written by ASK4u, October 29, 2008 18:30:23
Yesterday, lecturer Prof Zakaria Stapa of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia's Islamic Studies Centre advised Muslims who have taken up yoga to stop practising it for fear that it could deviate their beliefs.

Ha!Ha!Ha! First Zulkiflee got it. RPK is going to have a field day whacking this fellow, apanama, Prof Zakaria Stupa. Just you wait Z@k@r and apanama Prof Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin. How come an academician be so naive. How true was Einstein when he said: "Two things are infinite the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the former". We are already a laughing stock to the world and we are keeping them entertained by the supply of new jokes every now and then. Keep it up badut! smilies/grin.gif
written by Hello Keithy, October 29, 2008 18:35:23
They should have a fatwa on breathing for the Muslims as well. That should stop all the idiots from taking up space on this Earth. Then this will be a better place for all.
written by A MI, October 29, 2008 18:35:47
written by Proarte, October 29, 2008 18:25:46

Mind, body and soul are intertwined in Yogic philosophy. How does this conflict with Islam? The idea that it is a prosletying exercise is a childish and wicked figment of imgination of the Fatwa Council.

Precisely.

And what seems apparent is that this council really insults the intelligence of Muslims in this country. They are literally saying Muslims in Malaysia are not intelligent enough to be able to judge for themselves: what will and what will not contravene with Islam. It is like they have to come up with Fatwas every now and then.

In the old days most people were not educated. Everything was through and oral culture and there were a group of learned elders- I repeat learned elders not myopic, skewed mind- guiding the common folk. Now that most of us are literate and highly educated. do we need a fatwa for even exercise?
written by jdoe, October 29, 2008 19:39:03
Prof Zakaria Stapa really syiok sendiri.
Nothing else better to do.

Go issue fatwa against violence towards women, fatwa against corruption, fatwa against crime....
written by gee_lady, October 29, 2008 19:39:48
Oh dear, surely malaysian muslims are not this ignorant! Seriously, the Fatwa Council is treating the muslims like they're 5 year olds! It's so pitiful,it's not even funny! smilies/wink.gif
written by educationist, October 29, 2008 19:56:00
Well, this goes to show that not all who carries a title of Professor deserves respect.
Yes, a digression I see a businessman proudly advertising his Prof title but heaven knows he's no academician and his only link is that his company is involved in the private education sector. Well, if he talks about making money, ..
But, well, who are we to interfere? If their religion allows the religous authorities to impose on their personal liberties, so be it.
written by Taikohtai, October 29, 2008 19:59:01
Goodness Gracious Me! So NFC thinks that ISLAM is a weak religion and its followers are all weak and can easily succumbed to other practices.
I think NFC is the weakest link here to think that they can continue to hijack Islam for their own agenda.
GODS do not kill people, people who believe in GOD do.
written by Old Man, October 29, 2008 20:01:34
Yoga is just a form of exercise in breathing and got nothing to do with religion. Just keep religion out of politics and politics out of religion. Is your professorship given by AAB who married the ex-wife of his brother-in-law?
written by Sabahfan, October 29, 2008 20:13:18
Can we have a FAT--- waaaaaah.....

one jogging, biking, hiking, scuba diving, gymnastic... yes yes, especially gymnastic with the girls wearing skin tight sexy outfits...

yeah yeah yea...... he he he heh e he
written by miracle, October 29, 2008 20:16:11
these creatures are getting more and more "gila babi" ... nothing else to do .. protest a qualified experienced staff to head PKNS and now yoga , next ?? cant eat at "fast food" that's from the Christianity country , Kopitiam originaly from CHinese .. fatwa to eat there??? what the heck???
written by Joe, October 29, 2008 20:16:53
Is Yoga allowed in Islam?

Yes it is allowed as a form of excercise and to have better health.

Yoga originally stems from polytheist beliefs and worship rituals. I think it is Hinduism. However, many martial arts, languages, foods and other cultural acts have some sort of background to them. This doesnt mean that they are forbidden to Muslims. Just like we use words even in the English language that originate from the Greeks or from Sanskrit (the ancient language of the Indian polytheists) i.e. the word thug, originates from words used by Hindus in Sanskrit.

Likewise Yoga is done by many people all over the world regardless of their beliefs. It is done as a form of excercise and is very beneficial for that. As long as you do not compromise any of your own beliefs and also you seperate any of the nonsensical meanings to some of the forms then it is ok.

http://www.turntoislam.com/forum/sho...highlight=yoga
http://www.turntoislam.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3852
written by Kopi37, October 29, 2008 20:27:04
Corruption is more serious sin than yoga and is 'boleh' but yoga 'tak boleh' because it deviates Muslim belief! Corruption is as sacrosanct as the tenets and therefore semuanya boleh?!........

What a suck! Blow job tak boleh, sodomy tak boleh, yoga tak boleh, tomboy tak boleh......! Malaysia Corruption Boleh! A land for the suckers?!

written by lynn, October 29, 2008 21:07:56
kopi37 aiyoyo, lu cakap betul. a country - got no substance, no quality, got quantity - can kill ppl with C4 - anyone out here is shocked to learn that Altantuya was blown off without clothes on to make sure her bones are in smithereens. good job. this is what they are good at. at least they are good in something-lor.
written by cylee, October 29, 2008 21:11:52
This Head of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia's Islamic Studies Centre are really make an insult to the Islam and Muslim. This head must be the product of another Big Head who them self had no faith on what they preach to others. That's why they are uncontrollable up at no where. Please la I knew your reading this MT, Please don't insult Islam and Muslim like you...?
written by Shiva, October 29, 2008 21:21:08
Dear readers, why are there so much hula-baloo about Y.O.G.A being ridiculed, or banned or deemed to be forbidden for a particular faith or believers.
let it be...those who questions these will not find any answers, but those who analyze the reasons behind the a particular call, may get the answer.( please note - that i do not intent to use the term "fatwa" here, as it may be associated with a particular set of believers)

NOTE: Shouting in the form of block letters is discouraged. --Admin
written by DreamLady, October 29, 2008 21:23:13
There is some madness going on with Fatwa Council. First they are going after the tomboys, (but they love the tomgirls)

Now these crazy nuts are going after Yoga, what are driving at? If they implement certain rules, they must back up with some facts and reason to convince the public. (oops, these are for Muslims) the non-muslims are not supposed to interfere as suggested by one commentator in the article, 'tomboys'...
written by cruzeiro, October 29, 2008 21:23:33
Guys,
There'll be a Fatwa on the internet soon ... maybe even MT!
This is the new Bolehsia Cool .... with fatwas, all problems also can kow-tim!

But whatever happens, the gravy trains must roll ...
written by cruzeiro, October 29, 2008 21:34:31
A weak mind is like a microscope, which magnifies trifling things but cannot receive great ones.
written by johanssm, October 29, 2008 21:41:19
Dear all MT commentators. Better to leave this subject alone. Suspected such topic here in MT is in bad faith. We all know that umno wants the head of RPK.
If we keeps on bashing Islam , this wont be good for MT. As they (umno) are waiting for the right time to close down MT for good. Temporary ignore such topic until situation improves. Let us shoots something else.
written by Fairminded, October 29, 2008 21:56:19
Tell this dumb prof that the handphone he is using or the computer that he type his Fatwa are all invented by Christians, Hindus and atheist Chinese. Muslims used to be great scientist and astromers but when the dumb mullahs took over it started the long decline of Muslim intelligensia. If this continues, muslims should go back to live their stone age lives. Dont these extremist power crazy muslims realize that they live in a world of convenience because non Muslims rack their brains and work their asses off to invent and produce goods to benefit mankind? If he is afraid to be influence by non muslim religion, just switch off his airconditioner and walk to work. What a frog in a well. It is not muslim bashing, it is dumb muslims that disgrace all enlightened muslims.
written by Sudahlah tu, October 29, 2008 22:28:09
Kalau begitu penting hingga ke tahap ini ....
kami sepatutnya bermula dengan kepolisan ...
mereka lebih memerlukan satu pendekatan baharu dalam melaksanakan tugasan mereka setiap hari ...
lepas kehakiman ....
merekalah yang sepatutnya memerhatikan ajaranNya selari dengan gaya hidup umatNya..
dan .. perbadanan kerajaan lain ..
kebanyakan mereka ini orang Melayu Islam .... yang harus menerima persefahaman yang terkini agar dapat mengharungi segala godaan hidup yang mungkin akan memesongkan kejatian mereka kehadapNya...
written by thumb, October 29, 2008 23:34:27
Better get rid of all the modern mode of transportation as they are the invention of infidels, import camels and that not from Australia but from Saudi Arabia for
transportation in Malaysia. What a load of scumbags we have for for Islamic motivation and that being a professor.Don't underestimated the intelligence of Malaysian Muslims.
written by Kunta Kinte, October 29, 2008 23:35:33
They can't get any stupider, can they?
written by SiHangChai, October 29, 2008 23:40:24
Tell those fellas who wanted to ban yoga for Muslim to fly kite. Anyone has the rights to do whatever they want. If you guys that YOGA is unIslamic, then you guys do your jobs to arrest those Muslim yogaists. See how many of you will be whack by them. Tak ada otak langsung. Pls arrest those who practice tai chi, reiki, as well. What about those wayang kulit, kuda kepang etc. These are started from Hinduism.
written by miwaki, October 29, 2008 23:45:51
Another joke by our Religious body,how can you stop something when you yourself don't even understand what is that something.I personally do not know what is yoga unless you practice it.May be closing you eyes for a few minutes is also not encouraged by the body.This is the biggest joke of the century.
written by temenggong, October 29, 2008 23:46:25
They can't get any stupider, can they?

No.

But then again, theynever fail to impress me time and again.
written by The Hammer, October 29, 2008 23:49:32
For once i have to agree, yes, Yoga should be made 'haram' because:
1. It is an excercise created by Indian
2. It involves concentration on -"God alone know what".
3. Shedding off some clothes which means "aurat" for you.
So go ahead and passed Fatwa on all excercise, activities that involves concentration, mind control, Zen, Om, semi naked and what not!
Football should be next! Just look at the fan faces -red green orange blue! Ah the players especially the Muslim/Malays absolutely no shame at all to cover their tights and arms! Next time you people must visit some these mad mad events before and your committee make stupid fatwas on what not! Oh yeah this include your own version of Kungfu - silat! Go check out how they can survive the stabbing and kicking! Lot and lots of black magic involve.
Please ensure there should be no Malays or Muslims involve in any of these events- Olympics, Commonwealth games, Asian etc. Let the Chinese, the Indians the Orang Asli take part. They will definitely bring in more gold or silver as they have already discpline their body and mind through concentration, excercsie and a Yoga!
If you do not agree to above comments, please STAPLE your tongue and lips!
written by FFT, October 29, 2008 23:50:46
There should a Fatwa against issuing Fatwas.

We shall call it the Mother Of All Fatwas.
written by FFT, October 30, 2008 00:00:59
A “modern” Malay couple, preparing for a religious wedding meets with their friendly neighbourhood National Fatwa Council for counseling. Prof Zakaria Stapa, self-elected Council member, Muslim savior and defender of hairy camel's posteriors, asks if they have any last questions before they leave. The groom asks “We realize it’s tradition in Islam for men to dance with men, and women to dance with women. But, at our wedding reception, we’d like your permission to dance together.”

“Absolutely not” says Zakaria Stapa. “It’s immoral. Men and women always dance separately.”
“So after the ceremony I can’t even dance with my own wife?” says the man.
“No” answered Zakaria Stapa, “It’s forbidden in Islam“.
“Well, okay” says the man, “What about sex? Can we finally have sex?”
“Of course!” replies Zakaria Stapa, “Allah ho Akber! Sex is OK within marriage, to have children!”
“What about different positions?” asks the man.
“Allah ho Akber! No problem” says Zakaria Stapa.
“Woman on top?” the man asks. “Sure” says Zakaria Stapa. “Allah ho Akber. Go for it!”
“Doggy style?”
“Sure! Allah ho Akber!”
“On the kitchen table?”
“Yes, yes! Allah ho Akber!”
“Can we I do it with all my four wives together on rubber sheets with a bottle of hot oil, a couple of vibrators, leather harnesses, a bucket of honey and a porno video?”
“You may indeed. Allah ho Akber!”
“Can we do it standing up?”
“No!” says Zakaria Stapa.
“Why not?” asks the man. “Because that could lead to dancing“…
written by temenggong, October 30, 2008 00:03:46
This site is becoming more and more censored. My posts are being tampered with, for no good reason, although I do not mention islam.

I think our admins are jittery.
written by kennyeu, October 30, 2008 00:06:26
You guys do realise this little story was picked up by the foreign press too. I guess we can say goodbye to Malaysia's credibility now.

It looks like the National Fatwa Council believe with all their hearts that muslims are extremely easily deviated from Islam. For me it's a lack of faith in the religion and they should be reprimanded by other muslims for assuming something so simple as yoga has the ability to shatter their commitment to Islam. If you let this paranoia continue the National Fatwa Council will eventually be afraid of their own shadow and they will make life very unpleasant for all muslims.
written by PublicStranger, October 30, 2008 00:16:36
NFC... NFC... why u keep on making yourself look stupid? Aiya okla... go on ban everything la... as long you dun ban those non-muslim. Honestly the more you ban the more nasty and suffer the muslim will be. Prof; which Uni you from? Its time to take a review on the Uni.
written by Tlau, October 30, 2008 00:27:39
Dr Amir Farid is a sifu in qigong, need fatwa also?
written by cheekhiaw, October 30, 2008 00:39:23
pronouncement soon from a bunch of hare-brained morons in man bodies, long dresses and skull caps...

written by smeagrooo, October 30, 2008 00:50:52
What the FAT, wahhh!!!
written by smeagrooo, October 30, 2008 00:55:58
fatwa on corruption la. see how many umno fellas will go out of job.
written by arazak, October 30, 2008 01:35:04
SiHangChai wrote:
"Tell those fellas who wanted to ban yoga for Muslim to fly kite."

Do you know that during the Taliban days in Afgahnistan they even ban "kite flying".

Soon there will also be a fatwa to ban "kite flying"!
written by steve, October 30, 2008 02:55:34
"Prof Zakaria Stapa of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia's Islamic Studies Centre advised Muslims who have taken up yoga to stop practising it for fear that it could deviate their beliefs."

Is this guy for real?? Wow! given his comments, he must not rate high on the IQ stakes - yet was made Professor. I guess I should enrol there (UKM) as I might make VC even.
Yoga has NOTHING to do with the HINDU religion.
Let me give an analogy:- The word algebra comes from the Arabic al-jabr, "restoration". The field of algebra was developed by Muslim mathematicians in the Middle East and India.
So what this idiot Professor is suggesting is equivalent to telling those who have a problems with muslims or their religion not to study algebra. How dumb is that?? Perhaps dragonheart has the ability to understand this??
written by Shiva, October 30, 2008 02:59:08
when will a decree issue upon terms of sanskrit or english or pany other language for the matter in origin etc :
example - in how we address our beloved perdana menteri, komunikasi (communication), bumi, cakera, etc - the list might be endless.

written by Spear Bing, October 30, 2008 03:03:04
Temenggong said "This site is becoming more and more censored"

Don't be surprised not only the site will get censored, but it will disappear from the cyberspace - banned and bannished, and ISAed by the BN government for inciting hatred and racial disharmony.

You just take a look at some of the MT comments, especially the recent bloggers who just sign up. Their level of vulgarities and profanities does not speak well of their level of sobriety and maturity in understanding the freedom of speech.

MT will be tarnished to the hilt with this kind of filthy commentaries. And don't blame the MT Admin to be more cautious because they don't want MT to be "ISAed".

MT readers and bloggers need to do some self-regulating and self-censorship exercises themselves if they don't want their so-called freedom of speech to be nipped.
written by Desert Fox, October 30, 2008 03:15:55
Shame on these two who call themselves professors.
" Who is more evil than those who invent lies,then attribute them to GOD? They will face their Lord and the witnesses will testify 'These are the one who lied about their Lord' Indeed God's curse befalls the wicked.
They have repelled from the path of God and seek to distort it,and they do not believe in the hereafter "
- The Holy Koran 11:18-19
written by Desert Fox, October 30, 2008 03:35:20
God Almighty never forbade yoga.

" Indeed,the wicked follow their own opinions without knowledge " - The Koran 30:29
" God never guides the wicked people " - the Koran 46:10
written by Desert Fox, October 30, 2008 03:43:59
How many who profess to follow Islam know that:

" Those who make up religious regulations do not believe God's revelations;they are the real liars " - The Koran 16:105
written by Taufique, October 30, 2008 05:55:22
Oh DEAR GOD!!!, now I must tell my elderly father who prays 5 times a day and is going off to Haji soon insyaAllah to not do yoga as one of the exercises he does!!
Dad, some fat blokes with beards n white hats say u cant do yoga no more dad! Some Stapa llama fellow thinks you ought not to take care of your body in the few ways ur capable of.

f*ckin bullshit.
written by Tompios, October 30, 2008 06:31:17
written by The dragonheart, October 30, 2008 02:07:48
I cannot understand why the non-Muslims in here felt so humiliated when Islam says something that is against their religion. If you don't know what is Islam is, then just keep your mouth shut. Non-Muslim ,can carry on with the yoga, gambling, making idols from stone and pray to it, drinking till you sit bricks etc etc...

Dear Dragonheart,

You are right! Unfortunetly, you forget that every time fatwas have been made it will effect the Non-Moslem lives too. You cannot say to non-Moslem "just shut out your mouth." In the same time, our government keep insist through many media instruments and even in school that Islam is the best and truest religion of the world. So, it creates a desire force to know what is Islam all about.

Just shut up your mouth will not stop non-Moslem to think about Islam. This fatwa is kinda weird for non-Moslem. Yoga is Yoga. Ban Yoga means we should also banning Silat, Kuda Kepang, and all kind of hypnotic dancing in Malay's culture.
written by Namaste, October 30, 2008 07:15:00
Prof Zakaria Stapa's level is within his perimeters of his belief. This ancient exercise is for the spiritual and not for the religious level. No harm or loss to the Yogist if NFC issues fatwas forbidding Muslims from practicing Yoga or other exercises.
written by Namaste, October 30, 2008 07:31:34
Folks, please leave Dragonhead alone as he is moulded to his beliefs. Yoga is for the intellect. It is simple as that. Dont worry or bother about NFC's fatwa as it is no loss to the gifted one.
written by Namaste, October 30, 2008 08:01:19
Ban on yoga for Muslims? Sinapore Edition of STP
KUALA LUMPUR - MUSLIMS in Malaysia may be barred from the ancient practice of yoga if they engage in Hindu 'religious elements' during the exercise, a top Islamic cleric said on Wednesday.
Mr Harussani Zakaria, a controversial cleric from the northern Perak state, said the government-backed National Fatwa Council would soon release a decree, or 'fatwa', which would decide if Muslims were allowed to practise yoga.
'If it involves any faith or religious elements it is definitely not permissible but if it is just a form of exercise that is all right,' Mr Harussani said.
'Muslims cannot practice yoga in its original form because it involves another religion,' he said in response to a call to ban Muslims from engaging in yoga.
Islam is the official religion of Malaysia, where more than 60 percent of the population of 27 million are Muslim Malays who practice a conservative brand of the religion.
The practice of yoga, a popular stress-buster in Kuala Lumpur, dates back thousands of years in India, where it was a favorite of holy men before becoming hugely popular internationally, especially among western celebrities.
Prof Zakaria Stapa, a professor in the Islamic faculty of the National University of Malaysia, had called on Muslims to stop practising yoga, saying it could cause them to 'deviate from their faith', news reports said on Wednesday.
Muslims in Malaysia practised yoga not just for exercise but also as part of the growing urban lifestyle and involved 'chanting mantras while in various positions', he said.
'Why should we look for other alternatives to exercise and search for peace? Yoga could cause (Muslims) to stray from their faith because its movements are according to the style and traditions of Hinduism,' he said.
The fatwa council, one of Malaysia's highest Islamic bodies, last Friday banned women from dressing or behaving like men and engaging in lesbian sex, saying it was forbidden by the religion. --
written by temenggong, October 30, 2008 10:14:29
What I said yesterday and was deleted is that, "the malays are in such mediocrity because they have morons for leaders".
written by quietguy, October 30, 2008 10:47:33
Firstly, Yoga indeed have origins in Hinduism. Traditionally, Yoga involves spiritual as well as physical exercises with the objective of bringing practitioners closer to Hindu spiritual enlightenment.

That being said, in modern times, yoga as an exercise have been disassociated from the Hindu origins. In this case, people would practise yoga exercises with focus purely on the phisical aspect without reference to Hindu spirituality.

If the NFC takes into account of the fact in the above paragraph, then it would be prudent for them to rule that yoga as an exercise is not haram. If the ruling is otherwise, then I would say that the NFC are ignorant, self-righteous idiots.

In any case, for Zakaria Stapa to advise Muslims to stop practicisng yoga, preempting the impending ruling of the NFC, is irresponsible, and I can coclude that Zakaria Stapa is an ignorant, self-righteous idiot.
written by gorshan, October 30, 2008 11:10:20
parliament is located in jalan mahameru. mahameru? now where and in which religious scripture have i read about mahameru before? was it the Ramayana .was it about Hanuman? Hanuman??? oh no...already i can see ulamas shrieking with disgust at the thoughts of monkeys. so, jalan mahameru will be renamed in the future too?

ok lets try this next one. mahathir...now where have i came across that name before? which religious scriptures? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by oneofthesedays, October 30, 2008 11:52:57
Muslim issue. Let our Muslim Bros and Sisters handle it.

You ain't helping folks. You know you're not.

Quit venting. Go take up yoga if you need to have an outlet for your stress. smilies/wink.gif
written by Cyber DNA, October 30, 2008 13:43:52
Yoga is about doing stretching exercises so that blockages are removed with the sole idea o f circulating the Prana or Chi so as ones health improves and more important, for spiritual advancement through meditation.

The question of Prana or Chi relates to the Universal Energy which all humans use and need!

A banning of yoga should also see the banning of Chi Qong, Reiki, Shiatsu. Acupressure, Acupuncture and most importantly Breathing.
written by Davy McChester, October 30, 2008 23:38:51
The people of the Indus valley knew thousands of years ago, long before the emergence of Arab Marxism that humans needed to synergies their physical body and mind to keep away stress, evil thoughts, materialism and most of all the human mind's preoccupation with sex. The medicine was called Yoga.
The sex ravenous desert dwellers, on the other hand, expounded and incorporated into their Marxist manifesto that the basic animal (only animals have no qualms in their mating bravado) desire by sanctioning the possession of multiple wives, 4 at any one time and limitless attrition as long as the male partner utter "cerai" three times, even through SMS is perfectly okaylah.
As long as it is Arab in nature and culture and clothed in heavenly edicts of Arabian myth it got to be the right stuff and perfectly okay.
Hello, learnt professoria, please investigate how to bring about a fatwa against the corrupted politicians, fatwa against the "powerful" responsible for the brutal murder of Alutulay and also, if you have the time, which I guess you have otherwise you would not be indulging in trivialities, study the income system and who the main contributors are, and like a gentleman, return a portion of your salary if you track down the source to be someone or businesses engaged in activities deemed "haram"
written by Sabahfan, October 31, 2008 01:53:26
the commenter here who said Fatwah does not concern the nonmoslem... well...SCREW YOU..

all fatwahs and any islamic ruling in Malazut land will eventually affect everyone... so it is you who should beat it!! as a stupid moron....
!!