Govt reviewing major projects PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 11:28

PUTRAJAYA: The government is reviewing projects with "smaller multiplier effects" so that the financial allocations could be used instead for economic development and other measures which would bring greater benefit to the people.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said: "During the recent executive council meeting of the National Economic Council, we discussed several projects with lumpy expenditures that should be reviewed.

"However, we will leave this to (be identified by) the relevant ministries, particularly the Defence Ministry and the Home Ministry.

"They should discuss this and whether we should postpone the implementation or carry out extended payments."

Najib, who is also finance minister, was speaking after the Malay Chamber of Commerce's Hari Raya Aidilfitri open house at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre last night.

On the purchase of helicopters Eurocopter, he said: "We will discuss with the Defence Ministry the most suitable methods (to be adopted) in view of the dire need for the force.

"Many Nuri (helicopters) have crashed and many officers have died. That was why the international tender was called to replace the Nuri. We should not forget the safety of our military personnel and passengers of Nuri helicopters. This should be considered in any decision we make."

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had announced earlier yesterday that the purchase of the 12 Eurocopter helicopters had been postponed until the economic situation improved.

Najib also clarified a Bloomberg TV Bloomberg Voices report which quoted him as saying that elements of the National Economic Policy would be removed.

"I want to explain that although the NEP has been replaced with the National Development Policy, there are still many elements reflecting the spirit of the NEP like the quota system, and certain considerations are still being implemented for equal distribution of wealth.

"During the (Bloomberg) interview, I did not mean that everything would be abolished at this time. I said this would be done only when the Malays have succeeded and are confident that they can compete, locally and abroad."

Earlier in his speech, Najib said more measures to tackle the economic crisis would be announced on Nov 4 in Parliament.

"There will be good news for all. The measures are needed to insulate our economy. If shares or stocks plunge, the impact is not that bad, but the real economy cannot be affected because the impact on Malay businessmen would be quite big."

- nst

written by RitchieLow, October 29, 2008 11:35:27
"There will be good news for all. The measures are needed to insulate our economy. If shares or stocks plunge, the impact is not that bad, but the real economy cannot be affected because the impact on Malay businessmen would be quite big."

Tokkok like this and dares to go on TV (as if not everyday on NTV) and to lead a nation!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 29, 2008 11:41:58
Sounds right but who has said anything about ensuring every Ringgit used goes into the economy?

Distribution of wealth is not the purpose of Government projects. It's to grow the economy so that there is real wealth obtain afterwards, not before. Government projects must stimulate wealth first. No repeats of Eurocopter please.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...al-crisis/
written by Jan, October 29, 2008 11:46:19
Najib said... "That was why the international tender was called to replace the Nuri"
---------------------------------
No doubt international tender was called but you chose the highest bidder which was twice the price Brazil paid for. Why tender in the first place? Isn't it a sandiwara and a complete waste of time?
When the opposition wanted to investigate you quickly call off the deal, something is very fishy don't you think?
written by MT682, October 29, 2008 11:50:35
During the (Bloomberg) interview, I did not mean that everything would be abolished at this time. I said this would be done only when the Malays have succeeded and are confident that they can compete, locally and abroad.

In which century do you expect the Malays to succeed? Being Malay such a statement really speaks volume as to where our so call leaders think we are.
written by clarity, October 29, 2008 11:53:42
If the lives of the servicemen was your main concern, you should have used the money for the submarines to buy the copters. It"s a question of priorities, isn't it? What happened to the submarines anyway?
And any later thoughts of buying the copters again should be based on new pricing and cut out the middleman. The people are not stupid anymore. If not for the huge outcry, you would have continue with the deal. Where is your concern for the economy and for the people???
written by Dongra Dude, October 29, 2008 11:53:43
Najib has not only going to inheritthe appointment of PEE EM but also the the art of Flip Flop action and statements from AAB. His twist and turn remarks on Eurocopter and NEP shows prrof.
written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2008 11:54:35
Projects with 'smaller multiplier effect' = project where they get to steal the most

Projects with 'larger multiplier effect' = projects where they get to steal the least
written by steviewonger, October 29, 2008 11:57:34
"During the (Bloomberg) interview, I did not mean that everything would be abolished at this time. I said this would be done only when the Malays have succeeded and are confident that they can compete, locally and abroad."

PROTON???
written by zandi, October 29, 2008 12:47:33
"...If shares or stocks plunge, the impact is not that bad, but the real economy cannot be affected because the impact on Malay businessmen would be quite big."

Can somebody explain this in simple economic terms.! I read this a thousand times and I still can't figure out the economic logic here. Nonsensical statement like this come out of the Minister And this dungu is going to lead Malaysia!
written by Desert Fox, October 29, 2008 12:57:02
To all politicians,esp those from BN,please read:-

"My money cannot help me now
All my power is gone.
Take him and tie him up
Then burn him in hell" Quran 69:28-31
written by amoker, October 29, 2008 13:28:16
"...If shares or stocks plunge, the impact is not that bad, but the real economy cannot be affected because the impact on Malay businessmen would be quite big."

Zandi, same here. What he said is illogical especially so when government continue to say that Malay only have 19% of the economy. So, is Najib saying that the 'real economy' means that Malays do have more than the 19% of the market share and thus the impact will be 'quite big?" Or his 'real economy' is that other races would not be affected but only the malays. Duh! Either way, he is double speaking and not telling the truth.
written by cheekymate, October 29, 2008 13:35:45
Najis, you are the laughing stock of the financial world. Keep up the good work. Soon you will be well known for all the wrong reasons. Finance minister indeed.LOL
written by sabade, October 29, 2008 13:55:58
YAB Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,

It is a well thought decision to delay the purchase of the Eurocopter EC 725. Perhaps this will give the Ministry of Defence more time to carry out flight test of potential helicopters who participated in the tender to confirm whether the Eurocopter is still the best deal.

YAB, in the same context, we request you review the appointment by your office and MoF of a local company as the Prime Contractor for the Sea Surveillance System for the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency(MMEA). To me it is a very unfair decision as 16 other companies were invited by MMEA in November/December 2007 to submit a technical proposal for the Sea Surveillance System.

We have been made to understand that the local company appointed by your office and MoF, did not even qualify in the top three of MMEA's evaluation.

YAB, i do not think that it is fair for your office and MoF to appoint Prime Contractors for requirement of Ministries, just because they write a proposal to you. What about the other 16 proposal, did your office or MoF bother to look at it before making a decision.

We hope that your office and MoF will cancel this appointment to this local company and allow the due process of tender by MMEA to proceed without further delay. This decision will also provide investor confidence to 16 other foreign manufacturers participating in this project together with local companies.

YAB I also wish to request that you do not entertain any further proposals and letters of this nature from local companies unless it is on a G to G basis.
written by penangboi, October 29, 2008 15:12:38
What did I tell you? NEP to be removed? Not a snowball's chance in hell!

I have made similar postings in the past in regard to this issue.

The NEP which is the embodiment of Ketuanan Melayu will never, I repeat never, be repealed. The NEP is the very foundation on which UMNO is based on for its very existence and survival. Remove it and UMNO is history.

Without NEP there will be no more UMNO members. Without NEP, malays might as well join PKR, Gerakan, DAP or other parties. (Sorry they won't be accepted by MCA or MIC as these racist parties don't accept Malays).

So for those who believe what our Najis said in Bloomberg, continue dreaming..... it's NOT going to happen.
written by Admiral Tojo, October 29, 2008 16:00:11
Dear Sabade,
The reason why we appointed the Prime Contractor in the MMEA tender was that it will be a convenient way to extract money into my crony's pocket. This is called Extreme Multiplier Effect. It will straight away multiply my wealth through my cronies. Hope you understand and give full support.

Yang Benar,
YAB Abdillah Ahmad Senawi
written by Tompios, October 29, 2008 16:17:25
Wise steps before step down. Review the mega projects. Abdullah, why don't you use your power to kick out Najib. Just ask Mahathir how to do some strategies. He has kicked out Anwar to stay in power. Kick out Najib so that you can bring new light to Malaysia. Najib is too handsome to be Malay's Prime Minister. Compare to Mahathir, Najib cannot be Prime Minister for all Malaysians.

written by teo siew chin, October 29, 2008 18:11:33
"...will be a convenient way to extract money into my crony's pocket.."
--------------------------------

So Admiral Tojo - who says we dont have a check-and-balance system? It is a "take out your CHECK book and BALANCE my account system" smilies/grin.gif