Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Money politics under fire

Money politics under fire PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 11:25

Umno will lose next elections if graft is left unchecked, Dr Mahathir warns
By Carolyn Hong, Malaysia Bureau Chief, Singapore Straits Times 

KUALA LUMPUR - THE unusually long campaign period for this Umno election is churning up increasing allegations of money politics, but critics say the party is not taking it seriously enough.

Former premier Mahathir Mohamad recently weighed in with his strong views when he wrote in his blog that the party will lose the next general election if it does not check internal corruption that is becoming excessive.

'Corruption in Umno at all levels has become a talking point for everyone. They are sick and tired of Umno, its members and leaders. The hatred towards the party that is immoral has spread wide,' he wrote.

According to him, only division heads received money previously, but lower-level members have now wised up and will offer their support only if they are paid. Tun Dr Mahathir said they realised that those who win party elections will go on to receive government posts, directorships and contracts worth millions.

'The ordinary party member who voted for them, what do they get? With this realisation, they feel they should also benefit,' he wrote.

He penned this after the outspoken Foreign Minister Rais Yatim said that the top Umno posts might as well be tendered out to the highest bidder, given the widespread corruption in the party.

Mr Syed Nadzri, a senior editor of the New Straits Times, agrees.

'And sadly, he was not the first to use the analogy. Former deputy president Tun Ghafar Baba once even provided the quotations, saying tenders for division chief could start at a reserve price of RM50,000,' he wrote in a column yesterday.

He wrote that it always seemed impossible to get enough evidence to punish the guilty, but it was up to Umno to decide if the issue was serious, and added: 'But there has to be a strong will. Many in the party are getting cynical about the whole issue. But then who's to blame?'

Money politics, or political corruption, has become a hot topic as the Umno elections go into full swing. More than half of the party's 191 divisions have met to make nominations for the election of the top posts, to be held in March.

So far, Deputy Premier Najib Razak has taken all 105 nominations for the president's post, while Minister of International Trade and Industry Muhyiddin Yassin is the front runner for the deputy's position. No other contender has qualified to contest the deputy presidency yet.

By convention, these two posts also bring with them the positions of prime minister and deputy prime minister of Malaysia. The stakes are high because the imminent retirement of Premier Abdullah Badawi has opened up vacancies in top party ranks.

Dr Mahathir, whose son Mukhriz Mahathir is contesting the Youth Chief's post, wrote that he had received many reports on money politics.

He said people had given Datuk Seri Abdullah an overwhelming mandate in 2004, but saw that his administration had brought widespread corruption and economic troubles. They punished the Barisan Nasional in the March polls, he charged, and would now be very dismayed to see that money politics was rife.

He said there was talk that each of the 2,500 delegates to the Umno assembly - who hold the final vote - could get up to RM20,000 each for their vote.

Umno disciplinary board chairman Tengku Ahmad Rithaudeen recently said he had heard of some branch heads, for example in Kelantan, receiving enough to buy a new Kancil car - which costs RM30,000 to RM40,000.

He blamed this on the long campaign period, and the reluctance of party members to lodge reports with the disciplinary board.

'In fact, there are some who want more candidates to contest a certain post as it means that they would be able to collect more money,' he said.

The Umno election this time is unusually long as the nominations are being made now, but voting will take place only in March when the main assembly is held. It was originally scheduled to be held in December but was moved to March to allow a graceful retirement for Mr Abdullah.

There are now attempts to move it back to the original dates to prevent excessive campaigning, and the Umno Supreme Council will meet tomorrow to discuss this.

However, former Perak menteri besar Tajol Rosli Ghazali yesterday disagreed that a four-month campaign period would be detrimental.

'The longer the campaign period, the fewer chances there are for money politics as it is not easy to 'look after' people for months,' he said.

'This time around, people want to know the candidates personally. Hence, to say that a person can win because of money is not accurate.'

Dr Mahathir also wrote in his blog yesterday that Mr Najib should not repeat Mr Abdullah's mistake in hiring young advisers dubbed the Level Four, in reference to their offices on the fourth floor of the Prime Minister's Office.

'I was told that Najib also has very influential young advisers. They have close ties to the son-in-law of Abdullah and Level Four. They are, in fact, from the same group,' he wrote.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by mamak, October 29, 2008 11:41:10
It doesn't matter now. We don't want UMNO anymore. Anwar will make his move soon.
written by clarity, October 29, 2008 12:08:23
What's the point of publicising this issue? Let them, let them. It's good for us. We already know all this because when TDM was PM he tried his best to curb this but of course failed. We should be encouraging them instead.
Nowadays money is hard to find in the economic slowdown. A seat in the supreme council should be worth much more then before what with yhe 27% inflation. They would be stupid to accept anything less. Bukan tiap tiap hari other chance ini.
written by Desert Fox, October 29, 2008 12:22:12
The old viper is singing all the right songs to ensure the young viper gets into position to carry on his evil,oppressive regime.
"Do not cheat the people out of their things and do not commit abuse on earth spreading corruption" Quran 26:183
"God does not guide anyone who is a transgressor and a liar" Quran 40:28
written by avj, October 29, 2008 12:27:59
'Corruption in Umno at all levels has become a talking point for everyone. They are sick and tired of Umno, its members and leaders. The hatred towards the party that is immoral has spread wide,' he wrote.

What is he lamenting about? Shouldn't he be pleased as a punch now that his efforts are paying dividends? I just can't understand him. Is he going senile? Is his memory failing him? Or is he at his crafty best,shedding crocodile tears? Whatever it is, nobody is buying.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 29, 2008 12:28:39
Mahathir, you have failed the Malays.
Mahathir, you have made the Malays more dependent on the goverment.
Mahathir, you have brought the Malays self esteem and self confidence to all time low.
Mahathir, you have made enemies throughtout the modern world on behalf of the Malays
Mahathir, you dislike Americans, British, Australians, Chinese, Indians and Jews and other white race people doesn't mean that the whole entire Malay race should follow suit.
Mahathir, you have self victimised the Malays, making them vulnerable to globalisation.
Mahathir, after helping the Malays for many years, the Malays are still not independent.
Mahathir, after giving so much money to the Malays, the Malays are complaining that they do not have enough.
Mahathir, after giving the Malays all the gas station license, teksi license, bus license, APs and all sorts of monopoly license, the Malays are still unable to progress.

Mahathir, you have inculcate dirty political games into the Malay mindset. Khairy, Ahmad Ismail and other racist politicians are the fruit of your brainwash propaganda.
Mahathir, you like to achieve numerical results without going through the genuine process.
Mahathir, you have taught the Malays the short cut way to success, but they will be vulnerable when the hard times hit them.
Mahathir, you have made the Malays artificially successful by making only a few Malays artificially successful like your son, Mokhzaini, Daim, Halim Saad, Taijuddin Ramli and etc.
Mahathir, you like to show the kampung Malays that Malay race is successful by doing circus trick that drain the nation's wealth such as sending a man for a vacation in the space.
Mahathir, so many Malays are unable to progress and the UMNO goverment is spending money here and there where the economic benefit does not trickle down to the poor masses.

Mahathir, no matter how many Mercedez Benz and Bungalow house that the Malays own, they will not earn any respect from the Global community because they have not earn it the right way.

Mahathir, today the Malays are more afraid and more likely to resort to violence because they have low self confidence, low self esteem, not equiped with any skills and are ill prepared to face globalisation.

Mahathir, it is education, integrity, strong character, hard work and deligence that will determine the survival and progress of the race and the majority of the Malays are lacking in this departments.

Mahathir, you are a liar and a thief who stole millions of ringgit worth of the nation's wealth.
Mahathir, you are the root cause of the Malay problem.
Mahathir, you will die with your eyes open, because you have failed the Malays.
written by Sam W, October 29, 2008 12:38:07
Mahathir, no matter how many Mercedez Benz and Bungalow house that the Malays own, they will not earn any respect from the Global community because they have not earn it the right way.

How true and how tragic for the few who do make it on their own.
written by cheekymate, October 29, 2008 13:13:12
You sly fox, of course you know the ins and outs of how the system works. After all, you orchestrated and fanned money politics to its height during your days, father of all corruption.
written by hckit, October 29, 2008 13:46:13
Invest 1m to party to get a MT, earn back 100m from taxpayers. Thank you NEP !
written by justinlian, October 29, 2008 14:12:47
Old Man, What can and have UMNO do for the rakyat beside currupting?

written by Lyon, October 29, 2008 14:28:46
Wow, if what the former PM says is true then RM 50 million in total will be offered to solicit for votes. So the Malays do have a large amounts of money, so much so that they can spare a cool RM 50 mil just to buy votes. How then can they be classified as "poor" and need assistance under the NEP ? My mind is going bonkers trying to understand all of this.
written by Steven Tan, October 29, 2008 14:49:04
Dear Lyon,

That's the "PASSWORD" or the "PIN NUMBER" for their "ATM" card. They will be using this password and create the image that they're "poor", "still far behind" but will be driving Mercedez Benz and BMW. Some of them will be in the B.O.D in few companies BUT whenever open their mouth they will keep on saying that they're poor and still far behind BUT still can effort to get 2nd, 3rd and 4th wives. Of course there are genuine poor Malays BUT there are also genuine poor Chinese, Indians, Kadazan, Iban, Dayak, Orang Asli and others. So the word POOR and RICH is not match with any particular race but it's apply to all the races smilies/wink.gif
written by asguard, October 29, 2008 15:34:50
What the mamak want is his share of money and power... and doesn't change any neither nor for benefit of the nation... better for Pakatan to take over asap!
written by Lembing, October 29, 2008 15:34:55
Given that money politics have been rampant in UMNO, so what we have in place are CORRUPT UMNO delegates who SADLY gets to pick the PM of Malaysia.

WHAT a NGHTMARE !!!
written by kksam, October 29, 2008 16:01:29
DrM is a senile old man, he forgot that he is the one who created the mess. He put ACA under PM, and in turn ACA can only act with the directive from PM, this is the destructive cycle. I don't care if ACA can't act against UMNO coz in turn corruption will made BN collapse. so i'm a happy man. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by DXB2008, October 29, 2008 17:20:46
Mahathir has failed in lots of things...yes, he was successful in certain projects but not in the important matters like education. FInland has best education system that we should emulate http://1426.********.com/2008/...s-and.html
written by Old Man, October 29, 2008 20:25:25
Politics will always involve money and vice-versa. What does Mahatir got to worry? After all, he got more than enough money to burn even to the level of making his son the PM. Everyone comes to this world without a dime and shall die without a dime. BUT you shall die with a shattered name and legacy! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jack Hui, October 29, 2008 21:00:21
father of all corruption the UMNO goondo is learn from U !!!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 29, 2008 22:20:26
wang ..... kejahatan manusia bermula darinya.
umno ..... tanpa wang maka parti ini sudah lama disejarahkan.
Stevie Wonder pun boleh baca akan segalanya dalam konteks umnolah.
BPR itu sebuta SWlah ...
written by anakmalaysia777, October 30, 2008 04:16:48
Tun Mahathir

Thank you for telling the nation about the evils of corruption at the party level. People are not paying huge amounts of money for the pleasure of being a Branch or Division Chief. They think in terms of how much more they can reap from the government from that investment. This process was institutionlised during your long tenure as PM. Did you not get Daim to do the same to beat Tengku Razaligh? In any case, you are quite likely to argue that this is UMNO internal matter.

But please tell us, how did you give SPORTS TOTO to Vincent Tan, who was not heard of until that time. Why did you not call for Public Tender. After all you were giving it to a non-bumiputra. He got Central Corporate Bank (CCB)to finance the deal. He destroyed that bank together with the deposits of millions of wage earners and one institution on which they could rely on for their small needs.

Tell the whole world waht was the benefit you did not receive in creating Vincent Tan.

We will leave Ananda Krishnan for another day!