Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M laments 'what's in it for me' culture in Umno

Dr M laments 'what's in it for me' culture in Umno PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 10:26

By Leslie Lau, Consultant Editor

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 28 - Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said tonight that the nationalistic struggle for race, religion and country has now been replaced by a culture of "what's in it for me?''

Dr M laments the whats in it for me attitude

Speaking on satellite television channel Astro Awani, the former Prime Minister also pointed out that younger, academically qualified Malays were now shunning Umno and choosing to join Pas instead.

"The younger generation is being blocked from rising up in the party. Branch leaders are blocking those who are more qualified," he said.

That, he said, was why there was not much of a choice in the slate of candidates for the upcoming party polls.

"There is only one candidate for the presidency. There is one other but he has not received any support.

"As for others, they are either not very capable or they have tainted backgrounds," said Dr Mahathir.

The former Umno president also lamented the prevailing culture of money politics in Umno.

He said Malays who have become sucessful in business clamour to join Umno so that they will gain a certain status, and that is why money is being used in securing positions.

"It used to be under the table, but now it is practised openly.

"The voters (in Umno) are also asking for money, so from the struggle of race, religion and country, it is now a 'what's in it for me' culture," he said.

He pointed out that if Umno does not get rid of the culture of money politics, it may one day find itself no longer in power.

Dr Mahathir also dismissed claims that the political landscape had changed as evidenced by the ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition losing its two-thirds majority in the general election.

He said BN's poor results were due to a weak leadership, in a pointed reference to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi.

"I feel not much has changed. People are just dissatisfied with the current leadership.

"People say that the voters are seeking more freedom or have a more liberal attitude. That is not true because most voters are from the rural areas and they are not clamouring for things like human rights."

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by avj, October 29, 2008 10:38:02
This guy never fails to amaze me.He is the one responsible for this culture,and in his tenure of office aggressively promoted it. Now he says it is wrong.Can someone explain to him that it is all his doing. In 22 years a new born baby matures to an adult,and is himself capable of producing children.
written by RitchieLow, October 29, 2008 10:39:38
How is this "blocking" different from the so called affirmative action and malay agenda in essence and modality propounded so fervently by all in the same said umno ?
written by densemy, October 29, 2008 10:50:27
The New Malaysia... where we have government by blog... this overrides any pretence of Democracy

Is Mahathir telling us that Najib is just his dildo??
written by loosecannon, October 29, 2008 10:54:34
Umno and corruption is like conjugal twins. Separate them and the die. Mahathir should know. He's the bapak of corruption.
written by arazak, October 29, 2008 10:58:11
"People say that the voters are seeking more freedom or have a more liberal attitude. That is not true because most voters are from the rural areas and they are not clamouring for things like human rights."

This old man is living in the past! Even in the remote kampungs, people reads the internet. if not the old kampung folks, their sons and daughters do! And they receive the latest information from their sons and daughters or the other younger generations. So, MM, if you don’t believe me, pick up an old fisherman from your Kuala Kedah area and ask him what does he know about the Eurocopter deal or the Najis-Altantuya case or the jailing of RPK under the draconian ISA. You will be surprised with their answers. This MM had always thought the majority Malaysian rakyaats are stupid like their UMNO members who could be intimidated into submission using their UMNO spin media. Once a dictator, always a dictator, he will never change his thoughts!
written by Taikohtai, October 29, 2008 10:59:09
By saying Malaysia needs to extend the Never Ending Policy, TDM has acknowledged that it has failed miserably to achieve its goal of elevating poverty amongst Malays. Crazy means doing the same thing but expecting different results. TDM must surely be as MAD as before, if not even more GILA today
written by DreamLady, October 29, 2008 11:00:41
mahathir, since you know the weakness of the UMNO politicians, and the corrupted practize the people choose to cultivate to promote personal agenda, how about brain-washing these goons who still reserve some respect for you as a former PM ?

Your expertize as a formere PM and a veteran of UMNO, would serve as priceless guidance to get rid of the 'sarang rasuah' that are stilling breeding and multiplying at an incredible speed..

Your consideration of shouldering the task to do spring-cleaning would be most appreciated by all!!!
written by Msian Idol3, October 29, 2008 11:06:54
Well, our ex is right. Such matters comes back to haunt him. He could have done everything in his tenure to stop it BUT ... Anyway, I just have to give him credit for having the guts to say it loud & louder and no one dare to take any action on him.
written by Proarte, October 29, 2008 11:27:16
Mahathir is not an idiot. He was responsible for encouraging the 'what's in it for me' culture in the Malay community. He is aware of his terrible legacy to the nation and is now shedding crocodile tears as if this can absolve him of responsibility.

The very notion of fighting for race and religion in a plural society like Malaysia is ultimately selfish as it excludes other races and religions. It is a philosophy which promotes selfishness and so Mahathir should not pretend to be unaware of the consequences of the UMNO mantra 'Demi Bangsa dan Agama' which is about selfishness, religious bigotry and racism.

The type of Malay which he despises is his very own creation, his own Frankenstein's Monster.
written by FFT, October 29, 2008 11:35:13
"what's in it for me"

A roti shop and a few billions stashed away in numbered Swiss accounts.
written by malsia1206, October 29, 2008 12:07:54
Dr M, you want the answer as to why this nationalistic struggle has since taken a new perspective? Answer - the end result of your NEP. Some made it real good with all the wealth. The majority of the mass did not get anything. So it's everyone for himself as the final end result. Examine your policies and the answer is out right there for everyone to see. Unequitabble distribution with all the corruption and abuses. Who cares for nationalism today? It's my pocket that does the talking. When the chips are down, the haves can afford to live luxuriously in Australia, England and elsewhere. Go ask all your clonies and goons. They problably have all the PR's but are still travelling with Malaysian passports. Please do not be naive. Your damage had been done. Just like our Education system.
written by justinlian, October 29, 2008 12:15:22
Pak Chik,
The reason that malay become successful when they join UMNO is becos they are spoon fed there with projects and cash.
If you ask them to go ot, they are dead.
Look at the baby you created,proton.
written by taufan, October 29, 2008 12:18:47
Mahashit! After having sowed the seeds of corruption and fear tactics in this country, he now talks about these same shit as though it's a new phenomenon. You have 'killed' this once great country!!!
written by Desert Fox, October 29, 2008 12:43:52
"My money cannot help me now.
All my power is gone.
Take him and tie him up
Then burn him in hell" - Quran 69:28-31
written by HamChak, October 29, 2008 13:01:58
Mahathir, do you know that you are the MOST hatred
Past PM of Boleh Land arr? Your evils for the past 22
years reign are more than the good you have done.
Take my advice, just keep your filty mouth shut and
wait for your final judgement. Don't la, create Racial
Disharmony.
written by Janaka, October 29, 2008 13:13:50
Caling Calling .. Dr Moron ..the retarded old bastard! You are very very very good somdomised Amno!

There is something for you ..since you lemented "what is in it for you?" please get the devil looking within, najis somdomised your "backside" hole! this is the culture you have created in Amno.
And this is the culture you deserve to have it in the end.. .. only for you.
This is the greatest last gift before you landed down in the six feet underground!
and last nail to your coffin just in case you do have one waiting for you.
written by KweN, October 29, 2008 13:41:13
"Cuz ive drawn regret, from the truth, by the thousand lies, so let mercy come and wash away, what I've done! i face myself, to cross out of what I become, erase myself, and let go of what I've done"
written by ellyna, October 29, 2008 14:55:15
Dr. M, I suggest you give it a rest. I am amazed at your endurance of weathering this incessant barrage insults. Could it be you are only reading www.chedet.com and is totally unaware of what people perceive of you? Perhaps that is why you seem to be 'asking for more'. You are nearing your end. Quality time spend with the Maker should be your first option, asking for forgiveness for all your wrong doings. You have done enough (damage) for the country. Now leave it to the Rakyat to decide who they want to run the country.
written by ellyna, October 29, 2008 14:56:10
barrage of insults
written by the saint, October 29, 2008 15:06:10
What is this old crow lamenting about ? He started this culture in the first place ! Real hypocrite !!!
written by Jit Dharma, October 29, 2008 15:37:13
To this old biawak the answer to all our prayers is tadaah...The one and only
Mucus son of kutty.
written by Fuminari, October 29, 2008 15:42:23
"There is only one candidate for the presidency. There is one other but he has not received any support.
"As for others, they are either not very capable or they have tainted backgrounds," said Dr Mahathir.

mahathir,oh mahathir!are u implying hereby that najis has not been tainted n he is fit to lead malaysia?? this is a mere super denial on ur road show talk or what?as a matter of fact,malaysian by en large including u most probably hav the correct answer deep in the heart!moreover u hav the complete 'file'.
written by Lembing, October 29, 2008 15:44:10
DIEU MAHAR said:-

"That, he said, was why there was not much of a choice in the slate of candidates for the upcoming party polls.

The former Umno president also lamented the prevailing culture of money politics in Umno."

NOW LET's wait and see whether any UMNO members will blast DIEU MAHAR for making these comments. Will there be a huge demonstration by the UMNO members or will they just say "What is in it for me???
written by Ashleigh, October 29, 2008 15:51:44

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is that why UMNO see it fit to trample, suppress, oppress,and bully the rural folks... like leaving Sabahan to continue struggling in destitution while you eat out of your silver platter?? Does that make good reason for BN to continue its discriminative policies that befit only the rich and the powerful umnoputeras? Does that mean that rural people who know nothing about human rights deserve none??

Please retire and RETIRE.
written by miwaki, October 29, 2008 16:14:15
This is something I like about Mahathir,he is ourdated and a dead wood.He lives in the 80s where most voters looked up on him for direction.He was the smartest among the masses but only himself knows he is as naive as his friends.

He forgets that he promoted corruption while he was the PM and now he complains about money politics.I really respect this old man,he has very thick skin to utter such a statement.How can UMNO survives without corruption ? mahathir,how come you never cease to amuze Malaysians.
written by KotaDamansara73, October 29, 2008 16:19:22
Mahathir,

You block anwar from coming up. You corrupt the entire goverment system to remain in power. So what have you got to say for yourself.
written by Zapper, October 29, 2008 16:41:28
Long Live MONEY POLITICS.
written by JJFoo, October 29, 2008 17:03:49
Crying foul?

These are the roots of evil planted and nursed by MAHATIR and it’s in full blossom. The “King of Hypocrite” was at the helm for 22 years, acting like an innocent weeping angel, trying to hoodwink the Rakyat in to believing that he got part in all these evil deeds. He is the evil one, who condones exploit and develops it into an art form.

These are the words he used and it’s self-incriminating,
“It used to be under the table, but now it is practiced openly”.
"The voters (in Umno) are also asking for money, so from the struggle of race, religion and country, it is now a 'what's in it for me' culture,"

To know Mahatir is to understand the true meaning of “disgust”.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 29, 2008 17:04:30
TDM, why are you lamenting ?. All these people learn from your examples didn't they ?. Every thing you lament about were the very things you have practiced or advocated during your reign as "Emperor" of Malaysia . Think about it , isn't it true ?.
written by JJFoo, October 29, 2008 17:11:54
Crying foul?

These are the roots of evil planted and nursed by MAHATIR and it’s in full blossom. The “King of Hypocrite” was at the helm for 22 years, acting like an innocent weeping angel, trying to hoodwink the Rakyat in to believing that he got no part in all these evil deeds. He is the corruptor, who condones, exploit and develops it into an evil art form for UMNO, these illness is dangerously creeping into the society.

These are the words he used and it’s self-incriminating,
“It used to be under the table, but now it is practiced openly”.
"The voters (in Umno) are also asking for money, so from the struggle of race, religion and country, it is now a 'what's in it for me' culture,"

To know Mahatir is to understand the true meaning of “disgust”.

written by Oyster, October 29, 2008 17:26:18
“It used to be under the table, but now it is practiced openly”. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Hilarious.

Mahathir,my advice to you is, "Smell it, smell it....now take it."
written by PASOK, October 29, 2008 17:40:58

Is that why your son is listed in Malaysia's top 20 richest men.

Better you try and speak with your anus Mahathir bin Mohammad - maybe more truth than what come out of your mouth.
written by Old Man, October 29, 2008 19:44:56
Mahatir, you're still brainwashing and trying to control the ordinary Malays with your Race & Religion politics. Soon globalized recession is about to hit our country real hard and they are going to be caught off-guard! Today, you are still talking, "What's in it for me?" Nothing for them ( the ordinary and peace loving Malays ) during your 22 years in power! Money politics is your very own creation but can you bring your MONEY into your grave??? Disgusting!!! smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by asguard, October 29, 2008 20:38:18
Whatever he says now is already stale news... for years he has been doing all the corruption and now followed practice by his students.... within UMNO...
written by sonofmalaysia, October 30, 2008 02:11:15

written by sonofmalaysia, October 30, 2008 02:12:54
sorry testing above