Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MB Khalid defends non-bumi PKNS appointment

MB Khalid defends non-bumi PKNS appointment PDF Print
Wednesday, 29 October 2008 10:10

SHAH ALAM: Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim has defended the appointment of a non-bumiputra as the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) acting general manager, saying that she is a senior officer who has served for 33 years.

The Selangor Mentri Besar said that Low Siew Moi, who was due for retirement, had served the

44-year-old organisation as its deputy general manager (for corporate development) for the last 11 years.

Low was picked from within

the PKNS and not “out of nowhere,” he said, adding that she was

fully aware of the organisation’s affairs.

“Low is fully aware of the fact that she will have to relinquish the position as soon as the right candidate has been identified,” he told a press conference after the State Assembly sitting here yesterday.

Khalid expressed surprise that some quarters had used her being a non-bumiputra as grounds to oppose her appointment.

Meanwhile, the Selangor Malays Residents Action Body held a small demonstration outside the state secretariat building here to protest against the appointment.

The group, led by its chairman Kamaruddin Raja Ab Wahid, said the move infringed Malay rights and insulted the Sultans.

Selangor PAS commissioner Da-tuk Dr Hassan Mohamed Ali said that after meeting Khalid, it

was agreed that Low’s appoint-ment would be a short-term measure.

“The Mentri Besar has agreed to this proposal and therefore Low’s appointment will be on day-to-day or weekly basis,” Dr Hassan told reporters yesterday.

“Now it will depend on PAS to nominate a candidate. After that, a suitable person fills up the post.

“The candidate chosen must be experienced in property, accounting and auditing.”

Former Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo said it was the Mentri Besar’s prerogative to choose a candidate but that it should have been done in consultation with officers.

“Usually for a high post like this, the person must be a Malay. If I had done this (without consultation), then I would have been labelled as arrogant,” he said.

- The Star

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, October 29, 2008 10:20:04
Don't politicize the appointment. MB decided and so be it.

Those who complain are really not doing PKNS any good to operate as a business unless they are not run like a business.

If Low's appointment is on a day-to-day or weekly basis, she should just quit now and retire and let PKNS go on auto-pilot! She is not appreciated for her magnanimity so why work? She doesn't even need the job, she's retiring.

So, Toyo, PAS, Selangor Malays Residents Action body, shut up and let PKNS be managed professionally and let the MB do the job. Politics cannot be in the business of running PKNS properly. Any insubordination must be treated professionally - fire them!

Best person for the job please!
written by chrisyong, October 29, 2008 10:27:28
This is the Selangor State Development Organisation. I am sure the organisation wants to hire people to run efficiently! Regardless of religion, race and colour! I fully support Tan Sri Khalid's explanation
written by avj, October 29, 2008 10:29:44
Can someone explain what this fuss is all about? Does it really matter if the cat is black or white? The question should be can it catch the those rats.If it does it should not matter if the cat is red, black,blue.
written by lamakawan, October 29, 2008 10:30:50
Good on you, MB Khalid. Malaysia needs more leaders like you. We believe you had consultations with your colleagues before you decided who is the best for the post. Even though this might not be the best, but at least she is the most senior and most experienced for the job. Stick to your principles of meritocracy. Fear not whatever the opposition says. Please do not compromise for the sake of compromising. This was what kohsookoon did to his UMNO colleagues when he was chief minister in Penang. He was a good man and obliged to everybody. He was so nice that the very people he helped had come back to bite him when he lost the last elections. Remember Ahmad Ismail of Penang division? He gave him all the contracts when he was chief minister. he appointed him councillor for a maximum term and that was not enough. Ahmad wanted an extra term again. He refused him because the law does not allow for another term. Ahmad has a grudge aginst him and see how he treated Koh when he lost the last elections. He yelled and climbed over his head, short of fighting head on. See how ungrateful This UMNO dog is towards Koh.
Be a leader, be firm to what you say and practise what you preach.
written by jgerard, October 29, 2008 10:35:08
Now do you see why we have so many cases of brain drain in the country? Appointments are not based on merits! This is an example of "open secret" when comes to appointments and promotions in the government sector. They can blatantly tell you the position is reserved for a certain race and religion! What dinosaur age we are living in? No wonder our rakyat and country can't go very far. On the contrary, we are moving backwards in certain aspects.

I salute MB Tan Sri Khalid for his farsightedness, sincerity in fighting corruption and true concerns for the Selangor rakyat. This is one true leader to emulate.

I just can't understand, after 51 years of independence and we are actually far worst than during our forefathers' era when comes to racial integration. Just imagine what the plastic racist Toyol said, “Usually for a high post like this, the person must be a Malay." Thank God he's not the MB of Selangor now. This creature and his likes e.g Ahmad should be sent back to the cave or a deserted island.

written by Tan Tan, October 29, 2008 10:39:24
Oh come on! She is just the temporary caretaker. Furthermore, in any large corporation, if the GM is not found, the only logical solution is to find the most senior staff with the best capabilities to look after the company until a new GM is found.

She had been deputy GM for years, so it is only fair that the deputy GM to acts an ACTING GM (not actual GM) to look after the corporation.

Same like Abdullah and Najib, if Abdullah is gone today, Najib will be acting PM if there is a contest for the top post within UMNO rite?

So if this happen to a Malays, it is ok. When this happen to Non-malay is not OK. Come on....why are we so racist?
written by Spear Bing, October 29, 2008 11:00:15
Until kingdom come, the Malays will never progress with such unconscious ethnic outlook. After 51 years of UMNO rule, they are still wrapped in pathetic racial lens even though this appointment has nothing to do with religious consideration, but purely on competency and experience that were clearly proven beyond any reasonable doubt.

This is the utter weakness of the Malays - a kind of inferiority complex.

What can we say except to shake our heads in despair.

They still need another century to catch up.
written by Wisdom above, October 29, 2008 11:24:32
Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim made a wise decision based on Meritocracy. PKNS should be able to survive the current recession under Meritocracy procedures. Syabas to Pakatan Rakyat Selangor Government. Remember to fight for 'RELEASE RPK, and all ISA detainees. ABOLISH ISA NOW!'
written by non conformist, October 29, 2008 11:29:39
Just go to prove the true RACIST color of VERY MANY Malay.
There is no hope for a country filled with such people.
Imagine a whole filled with such people... how would it progress at all?
written by temenggong, October 29, 2008 11:33:22
In this one issue we see all the reasons why malays remain mediocre, petty, backward and openly and shamelessly racist! They have become so thick that they just can't see it! They are never going to make it! And where is Ali Cordoba? Hiding in the cupboard in shame?
written by steviewonger, October 29, 2008 11:48:42
the problem with these rejections of ms. low being acting gm is there are too many skeletons in the closet. as ms. low has been with PKNS for 30 over years and knows the system inside out, also she is an auditor, a lot of covered things can be uncovered. certain parties feared that their shits will be dug out and being persecuted especially cronies during toyol's time.
so PAS should allow this appointment to proceed and i believe transparency is the magic word.
it's only for a year or less but to us , rakyat, we need to know that whoever we have voted for must shows results in their administration and ability.
therefore let Tan Sri Khalid do his work as he knows what best for the state and its' rakyat.
written by remielfl, October 29, 2008 11:57:35
Does it say anywhere in the establishment of PKNS that the head must be a Malay Muslim? If not, why does the MB need to defend his decision to appoint as he sees fit? Then, again, why does he need to say that the appointment is short-term, if at all?

On the other hand, if only a Malay Muslim MUST be the head of PKNS, I would ask whether PKNS is a Government organisation or a Malay Muslim organisation. If so, then all non-Malay Muslim has no place in this organisation and all should resign.
written by fairnessforall, October 29, 2008 12:04:49
Can anyone confirm that PKNS was set up for the Malays. The fact that PKNS stands for Perbadanan Kemajuan Negeri Selangor does not show any reference that its meant only for malays. So why are these idiots jumping about. This kamaruddin idiot must be an UMNO stooge. They rather have a stupid malay running the show and ruining the company than a non malay who will take the organisation to heights. How stupid and dumb is that. Such positions should be selected based on ability and not race. Its because of these low class mentality of some of these idiots that companies like MAS, BBMB ect had gone down the drains and tax payers money had to be used to bail them out, while the dumb idiot who destroyed it was left scott free to live a luxurious life.
written by Dongra Dude, October 29, 2008 12:08:34
Ms Low should be given the recognition for her devoted service to PKNS for the past 11 years or so. The Ex GM could have been just a rubber stamp only. All the hard work on procurement, investment and projects was handled by the Deputy. It it is the norm in the Malaysian Government and Semi Government Organisation, the Non Bumi as deputy will slog but will not be promoted. The credit will be bestowed to the sleeping GM or the CEO. "Lebu punya Susu Sapi Dapat Nama". MB Selangor, go ahead give the the due recognition to the lady who has contributed her tireless service to an organisation where all the lazy Nincompooks who are shouting now enjoyed the benefits of her hardwork. Theese shouting dogs if given PKNS, with the Economy turmoil, it will go burs and bankrupt shortly. There is no such thing as the Developtment Organisation of a State belongs to or to be headed by a particular race.
written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2008 12:12:21
That's because you people do not appreciate the benefits of thievery like some people do...

written by Midvalley, October 29, 2008 12:20:03
I am a Chinese Malaysian and I am proud that I was born a Chinese because we Chinese can live and make a good living anywhere in the world. If there a moon you can find Chinese I pity the Malay because of the umno policies of spoon feeding them they cannot even compete in their own backyard. To be fair Malays are as good as any race in this world but if the umno continue to protect and spoonfeed them soon they will become a wasted race in the borderless world.
Wake up and be counted.
written by Counterpointer, October 29, 2008 12:30:09
Toyol said "Usually for a high post like this,...."

Toyol, Is it because by your true nature, you think only the likes of you can actually climb up to the high post?

written by JUST, October 29, 2008 12:49:28
Syabas YAB! Up-hold your principles!
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized
in this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Great Nation!
written by varvoom, October 29, 2008 13:53:20
Now is the time for all the Sultans to stand up and be counted as defender of ALL Malaysians.
written by JUST, October 29, 2008 13:58:03
Justice Bao? Father Of Reforms? Defender of ALL Malaysians? Dream on ........ smilies/grin.gif
written by hakuna, October 29, 2008 14:01:32
Khalid - good on you.

In the best interest of the state do what it takes. Don't listen to all these goons. You have a state to lead, lead it with the right people and TIME will prove you right.
written by Anak_Asia, October 29, 2008 14:02:24
What's wrong for an appointment of a non-Bumi if the person can bring up the well-being of Bumiputera and at the same time able to create more and more middle class families in Selangor ?

Those who oppose this kind of appointment by merit is like katak yang cacat di bawah tempurung yang ingin forever terkurung bersama dengan clutches dan wheelchair, those who afraid to compete with the rest of the world.
written by hakuna, October 29, 2008 14:05:25
Counterpointer - beautifully done. Could you do him turning into a TOYOL? because that is what he is
written by DanDan, October 29, 2008 14:56:31
To the Selangor MB, you have made a very wise choice by appointing Low Siew Moi as head of PKNS. We should not be thinking of race based but base on capabilities. If she is able to prosper PKNS, why not her? Why must you listen to the x-MB that the head must usually be a malay. Test her (Low) out and if she can excel all her previous bosses, then let it be if not you still have the authority to change. Let's not let racial discrimination takes over our head.
written by asguard, October 29, 2008 14:59:04
If the person has capability to lead PKNS ...then the job should be given to that person not consider the colour of the skin or race ...
written by penangboi, October 29, 2008 15:06:01
The bottom line is that Malaysia is still very racist in its outlook despite all the talk about anti-racism.

Why do we question whether the new GM is Malay, Chinese, Indian or for that matter a descendant from Mars?? What is the real criteria for the appointment? Surely it is a question of whether the candidate is the most capable or not.

I am sorry to say that racism is still very entrenched in our culture. I think it will be close to impossible for us to shed this racist attitude if even for one moment we question the racial background of any appointment and totally disregard meritocracy.

I also challenge anybody to deny the fact that why non-Malays are not interested in joining the civil service is because promotion and recognition of good performance are never a criteria when it comes to promotion. I have come across so many many many - countless - cases where non-Malays are bypassed in promotion just because of their race precludes them from any promotion. It doesn't matter how experienced or capable the person is.

I hope what Khalid's done is a step towards removing the racial factor the government's policy for staff promotion. He is still far from rejecting such unfair practices by admitting that the appointment is only temporary until a Malay candidate is available, where in fact, such a case should not even arise.
written by lamakawan, October 29, 2008 15:15:34
To counterpointer, it's people like you in our blogs that makes it an incentive to post comments and turn amateur works to works of art. I mean the lively pic.
written by Steven Tan, October 29, 2008 15:58:16
VERY FUNNY smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif They cannot clean their own backside perfectly but they will be putting extra effort to clean Singapore's backside.....very funny.

Anything about Singapore, they will find fault but whoever talk about their fault will be end up in Kamunting. This is what mentioned in one of Malay Proverb " Kuman Seberang Laut Nampak, Bangkai Gajah Depan Mata Ditutup Dengan Daun Pisang Tak Nampak". I just don't see the logic, appointing a Non Bumiputra in PKNS is Insulting the Sultan. Are they trying to say that these Non Bumiputra has another Sultan... These people are still leave under coconut shell
written by raven1958, October 29, 2008 16:20:19
Ok Lah....Khalid.....since they want an imam....just give the post to these hud up Malays....but as for the subordinate posts signed by the six signatories....give all these six posts to Chinese and Indians.....
written by mikewang, October 29, 2008 16:30:16
Former Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo said it was the Mentri Besar’s prerogative to choose a candidate but that it should have been done in consultation with officers.

=========================

You mean before you Toyo promoted someone, you would take a straw vote among the competing officers about your choice on who should head the agency ?
Haha Toyol ... you never failed to amaze me.
written by Rozlan, October 29, 2008 16:31:15
Port Kelang Authority is a chinese,why didnt anybody make an issue out of it?? You see PKNS is highly corrupt.Its officers live like king beyond their means..High time for MB Khalid to uncover all the dirts.UMNO was not scared PKNS administered by a chinese.However they were too scared that that theri dirty transactions will be uncovered.I hope the new CEO will wasted no time to exposed the hanky panky..
written by Zapper, October 29, 2008 16:45:23
Khalid...you will have our votes in the next GE. But those racists bastards....we will screwed them. Why bring religion into this corporate appointment?? That's shows how shallow their thinking is...totally shameless. Even a chicken has better brains.
written by MalaysianUnited, October 29, 2008 17:36:48
Jangan bimbang..Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim lebih BAGGGUUUUUSSSS dari Khir Toyo..ini yang perlu Khir Toyo setuju.

Orang2 UMNO Selangor patut setuju dan sedar kepimpinan Tan Sri jauh lebih baik dari dahulu..
written by Dongra Dude, October 29, 2008 18:39:50
Tan Sri Khalid, let His Highness The Sultan of Selangor decide who to head the PKNS. His Highness is the right person to decide on the money yielding Organisation. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Dongra Dude, October 29, 2008 18:59:59
Good piece of Art. He is no more known as Khinzir Toyol. Now he is known as Kera Hidung Besar a rare species monkey from Java Tengah. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Kathy, October 29, 2008 19:06:43
Stick to your guns, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, and do not bow to pressure. At least you are practising what you are preaching: meritocracy. More of this and you will have us non-Bumis believe that there is hope for us.
written by Semut Jantan, October 29, 2008 20:26:25
It is like playing a football game, if you take out the most qualified, best player simply because he (she) is non-bumi, Malaysia will remain where it is, forever.

Now go score your own goal.

Stupid to the core.
written by cylee, October 29, 2008 21:35:38
"Kamaruddin Raja Ab Wahid, said the move infringed Malay rights and insulted the Sultans."

In facts, this DicckHead Kamaruddin are him self Insult The Sultans, The Malays and
The Islam. He by saying that ,give the impression to the General Malaysian that "The Sultans, The Malays and The Islam" are so racist, inferior, greedy and have no self respect at all. Please... DicckHead Kamaruddin don't insult "The Sultans, The Malays and The Islam" anymore. Or, I might be wrong. In facts whats this DicckHead Kamaruddinsaid is the true feeling of the Sultan..? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jan, October 30, 2008 01:42:13
We need to save this country from these racists.
written by samyraj, October 31, 2008 08:33:09
What is wrong of appointing non-malays as the head of PKNS or any other govt body. Who the idiot says that non-malays cannot be the head of the gov body. Those who againts this are stupid and racist, that's why I said. Those days it was clearly seen most of the top govt officers are non-malays and this stupid Mahathir is the one changed it. Mahathis is really a son of the bitch. After he became the PM he robbed everything from non-malays and gave to this lazy and stupid malays. Now the malays are wealthy become more wealthy and the non-malays are strugling daily. All the kampongs are now looks like town and what happend to the New Villages and Estates. At least the New Villages are still there but what happen to the Estates and to the people. Those people in culture shocks and don't know what the **** to do. All this because of this stupid Mahathir(mamak pulthy).