Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Quick update on RPK's 1st Habeas Corpus hearing

Quick update on RPK's 1st Habeas Corpus hearing PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 October 2008 12:40

The first habeas corpus application which was originally scheduled to be heard on Sept. 23 but then deferred, was heard today. The hearing was for the judge to decide on whether to strike it (section 73 detention) out for being academic.

In the course of the hearing, the High Court was giving mixed signals as to where it will lean. The judge wants to read the different previous judgements before making a final decision on Nov. 25.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, October 28, 2008 12:53:50
I have been told to shut up but I'm still here becos I love what I'm doing,blogging.Ya! thanks
written by biggun129, October 28, 2008 12:57:28
If the accuses of the murder case can just walk away without the defend being call, what is so big deal about RPK's case? The judge will not lose his job by just striking out the RPK's case!!!
written by ahmadneil, October 28, 2008 13:20:07
The defense lawyers are too good for the prosecution so I think the defense lawyers have found a loop hole.RPK will be out soon!
written by carribeanking7, October 28, 2008 13:33:19
Thankfully the application was not struck out as being academic.
However it would have helped immensely if the foremost authority on Islam in the country "The national fatwa council" took a stand on the matter.

Most mentally sound citizens know that RPK's detention is to do with Najib/Altantuya and nothing whatsoever to do with insulting Islam.

written by indianputra, October 28, 2008 15:09:09
ahmadneil,

promises, promises and promises, raised hopes, raised hopes and raised hopes... we MT readers have gone through all that the last few months an our hopes crashed down in smitters.

Now, you don't start...if you really have something, just shut up until it is released.
==================================================
written by ahmadneil, October 28, 2008 12:53:50

I have been told to shut up but I'm still here becos I love what I'm doing,blogging.Ya! thanks
-------------------------

Aiyahhhh , don't be so childish lah. What i said was, if you really have some sensational news about our leaders, not to brag about it, until you have released it. STOP giving false hopes to Malaysian Rakyat!!!
written by Nunudada, October 28, 2008 16:42:00
We have a judiciary that lacks a back-bone.Hence,the reason for the judges wanting to lean in the Gov's favour.There is an invisible double barreled rifle constantly aimed at their buttocks.They do not want to bite the hand that feeds them.Augustine Paul,a well learned individual made some glaringly idiotic decisions during DSAI's earlier trial.The situation has not changed much.The actors and actresses are different but the stage is all proped to present the same show.
written by DontPlayGod, October 28, 2008 18:01:26
Our Malaysian judges will have to look at the muka of UMNO before they give any judgement. After all, the judiciary is under the thumb of UMNO. Don't forget, UMNO has already placed their man as the Chief Justice. And you know what that means, don't you?
written by kkselvam, October 28, 2008 20:04:40
Free RPK and thats what all matters to me and all MT family members!!
GOD bless all those who fight for THE TRUTH!