Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Security issue at open houses

Security issue at open houses PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 October 2008 09:26

KUALA LUMPUR: Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal said it was all right for the Government to continue organising open houses, provided a certain level of security was observed.

“The level of security should be at a degree where safety is ensured without blocking guests from joining in the festivities,” he told The Star at the Deepavali open house hosted by the MIC at the Putra World Trade Centre yesterday.

Shafie said the Cabinet had yet to reach a final decision on whether to continue with the practice.

“I still need to inform the Cabinet about the views of the people regarding this matter,” he said.

The open house went on smoothly with Cabinet ministers celebrating the Festival of Lights with people from all walks of life.

Shafie said open houses offered a good platform to foster ties among the nation’s multi-racial society.

The minister had previously suggested the Cabinet review organising open houses for major celebrations due to security reasons following an incident involving about 100 Hindu Rights Action Force supporters during the Hari Raya open house hosted by the Prime Minister on Oct 1.

- The Star

written by DreamLady, October 28, 2008 10:00:45
shafie, it's you again? My goodness, you guys are going to invent another law of the jungle to detain those who attend open house???

Tak ingin kami nak open house sini, open house sini at UMNO places !!!
written by DreamLady, October 28, 2008 10:03:48
Do you really require people's view on this? I just wonder how you are able to sneak into the UMNO political arena and bersarang there, with an empty head without brain?

Bertuah benar engkau !!!!
written by fireduck, October 28, 2008 11:09:06
Sure Shafie. Like, open houses but you must have the correct keys to enter. Security checks yes, but then would it be called Open House then? Ah, another Malaysia Boleh quality. We will tweak till we freak. Kinda like "we have democracy because we hold an erection (sic) every five years".

Just because they refuse to accept the Hindraf requests, they are going to burn the house down to get the mosquito. Another UMNO joker.
written by malaysian, October 28, 2008 12:57:46
Alarm! Alarm!

I saw another 8 year old girl carrying a letter to the PEE EM's office.

Quick, bring out the tanks!
written by mob1900, October 28, 2008 14:23:00

It should NOT be a called an 'Open House' then, sorhai Shafie!
It should be called 'JAIL HOUSE' since you need that level of security.
written by carribeanking7, October 28, 2008 14:33:44
I once again reiterate my call to BOYCOTT all opn houses organized or linked to BN, they are just a culturally incestuous bunch who will not understand tha spirit of "open house" even if it came up the toilet bowl and bit them up the arse.

I also think it is higly insincere of Pak Lah wishing happy deepavali to all hindus then adding the "not to be taken in by extremist" part to the wishes as downright insensitive and rude, how would he like it if a non malay were to wish him "selamat hari raya dan harap NEP tidak diteruskan lagi".

And this twit Shafie using an open house as a platform to make a political statement.

And to the Utusan reporters who are still writing about Hindrafs insolance of submitting a memorandum at PMs open house, no such memorandum was presented,
get your facts right or get out of the journalism bussiness.

written by mob1900, October 28, 2008 16:04:15

'Maximum Security' for Barisan Najis Open House!

lawl
written by Apache3, October 28, 2008 19:24:27
Aiyo, what is happening to our once so friendly and peaceful country. Going or GONE down the drain I guess with the type of people we have in the Govt.

Man is born free, but everywhere he is in chains - Jean Jacques Rousseau
written by mikewang, October 28, 2008 20:39:47
You can have as many open houses as you want if you use your own money !
written by Old Man, October 28, 2008 21:33:04
What security? Only those MPs who commit sins needs bodyguards with extreme level of security because they are always having a feeling of insecurity from their own shadows! Go and visit Nik Aziz of Kelantan who's never bothered about security.... smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif