Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno Youth debate: Khairy vs Dr Khir, Mukhriz opts out

Umno Youth debate: Khairy vs Dr Khir, Mukhriz opts out PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 October 2008 09:24

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir has declined to take part in the Umno Youth chief debate, so it will be between Khairy Jamaluddin and Datuk Seri Dr Khir Toyo.

All three have qualified to contest the Umno Youth chief post.

On Sunday, Mukhriz declined Khairy’s proposal for a public debate saying that the election was an internal matter.

But former Selangor Mentri Besar Dr Khir feels that a debate will allow the public to evaluate the candidates’ views.

Khairy, who is the Umno Youth deputy chief, welcomed Dr

Khir’s acceptance and said the proposed debate was to provide candidates an avenue to present their visions and not to attack each other.

Saying that he was open to any format for the debate, Khairy said: “I just want to know the time, date and venue and I’ll come.”

Khairy believes the debate would be healthy and would not cause disunity in the movement.

“The debate will be conducted in a gentlemanly manner to present our ideas and facts, not to make personal attacks against each other,” he said.

He added that the debate would allow all Malaysians to know about the candidates’ visions, what they stood for and capabilities, which were important since the party was not in isolation and could not take action without considering public opinion.

“Umno is a Government party so its leaders also represent the Government and hence people. Therefore everyone wants to know the candidates’ vision, ideas and capabilities,” he said, stressing that Umno must be inclusive and not divorce itself from the rest of the public.

“So when Umno has an inclusive platform, we need to have a forum where all candidates can present themselves to all Malaysians,” he said.

- The Star

written by truthbespoken, October 28, 2008 09:43:57
Interesting! Let's hear out what the protected species and the confirmed racist gotta say about the wellness for the people!
written by Zapper, October 28, 2008 09:49:05
I strongly support that they should have a PUBLIC debate. It would be interesting to watch them throwing shit at each other. This is going to be the dog fight of Malaysian politics.
written by cheekymate, October 28, 2008 09:52:21
...the debate will be gentlemenly manner...
When have you EVER been a gentlemen, don't make me puke, you slimeball opportunist with no scrupples, no dignity and absolutely no morals.
written by Motherchell, October 28, 2008 09:56:23
They want to debate , and debate with peacock feathers ?? Both have tonnes of skeletons in their cupboards. Should not the UMNO Malay grassroots see it ,then further push them into a hole of make beleive about what each can do for the Country.
DOES IT TAKE ONE TO GO TO OXFORD TO LEARN HOW TO CHEAT THE POOR SUBSERVIENT RELIGIOUS CITIZENS TO GAIN VOTES???? MUKRIZ can't face the truth so he stepped out !! To all of them the truth kills !! For how long are they going to be on this platform -- to plunder the innocent minds??? what a joke !!!The debate will be conducted in a gentlemanly manner to present our ideas and facts, not to make personal attacks against each other,” he said. Its like one thief debating with the Ronald Biggs!!

In another thread by Antares describes their apprehensions well !!

""Umnoputera capitalists who built their business empires on the fast track during Mahathir's 22-year reign, are petrified by the thought that a new government will implement genuine reforms of the judiciary, the Anti-Corruption Agency and the police; unmuzzle the mainstream media and - in the process of a massive spring cleaning - uncover a terracotta army of cobwebby skeletons, thereby exposing them to prosecution and public humiliation, leading to enforced exile or even imprisonment."""
READ MORE HERE: [url=http://magickriver.********.com/
]http://magickriver.********.com/
written by DreamLady, October 28, 2008 09:57:13
hantu toyol should not be allowed to appear in public because he is THE TRAITOR OF Malaysia. He steals and robs the rakyat,

And his expertize is: manufacturing fitnah so that whoever digs up his dirt of corruption in land deal scandal shall be fitnah by him under ISA...
written by cekikdarah, October 28, 2008 09:58:24
Let's have it! Let's allow them to fight it out and have real grassroot members ask the tough questions.

No scripted timed questions from 'friends', but wild cards!

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/cash...sults.html
written by Counterpointer, October 28, 2008 10:17:07
Mukhriz Mahathir has declined to take part

A Genuine product of Ma-Makhtir.
written by Anak_Asia, October 28, 2008 10:19:46
Maybe Mukhriz can be represented by his daddy ...

Anyway, at least we can see some healthy democracy being practised in M'sia, thanks to People Power !!
written by densemy, October 28, 2008 10:44:24
Another brave UMNO man who's afraid to face reality

But why not? You can get where you want to be through daddy's reputation
written by Jan, October 28, 2008 10:51:51
If I were Mukhriz I too would chicken out. What if during the debate they get into issues like those of my daddy's excesses how can I respond? No way Hose.
written by SCM, October 28, 2008 11:09:04
We have to stop this satan a.k.a. the Kerbau from Rembau at all costs. He barely made the cut for the UMNO Youth candidacy and is now desperate to pull the leader down. He is a slimy smooth operator and a con-man who can be quite persuasive with all his lies and that's why he wants this open debate. I agree that Mukhriz should not partake in this debate as it is the Kerbau's desperate attempt to get onto the first rung in his goal to become PM of Malaysia. We have to cut this rung off because it is better to have a little devil than to have Satan himself as UMNO Youth boss.

Oi slimy Oxford disgrace, go shoot yourself in that empty head of yours.
written by FFT, October 28, 2008 11:18:28
Mukhriz cannot afford to go on a live debate because then he will expose what everybody already knows...for all his cries about "Change", his ultimate platform is to deliver the same old pile of manure to take Malaysia back to his senile father's ways.

Sometimes, you need to pick the lesser of all evils, and this choice is Khairy. Though, quite frankly, I would rather that all three of them be abandoned in the African savanna with raw meat pinned to their buttocks. But UMNO members, being the brain-dead cockroaches that they are, will most probably vote for for a fake Malay like Mukhriz and the whle country will be subject to another round of looting by robber-baron UMNO Ma-Maks.

written by cheekhiaw, October 28, 2008 11:30:59
Thief B debates Thief C, Thief A opts out...

written by fireduck, October 28, 2008 11:40:59
Interesting. The ratings are already shooting up in anticipation of this debate.

And going by the previous experience, Mukriz will probably go the same way as Ka Chui.

But this is UMNO, so in defence to questions like why he should be the UMNO Youth leader, Mukriz will just need to say, "because my father said so, and my father has decided that Najib will be the President, so Najib owes us big time".

As for Toyo, this guy with his vengeful attacks against the PR and specifically for creating all those problems, including the ISA detention, for YB Teresa, will be seen as a hero in UMNO. After all, as the ex-MB, he probably had seeded huge amount of obligations (Chinese calls it 'Yan Ching', very unlike 'Kum Ching', which is relatinship) and he is going to recall those 'debts'. So, that is why he is very willing to partake in this debate. His audience is the UMNO fellas, ok? So, be prepared for some more of those sh*t that he will throw against the PR and the non-UMNOs.

For Khairy ..... he rode the easy way to the Deputy Youth Head position. In fact it was more like, "Here, your lordship ..... since your daddy-in-law is the President, and we are the curry flavors kings". But that was so many years ago. Now his FIL is more like daddy-out-law, it's a liability. So, he has no choice but to sieze the bull by its horns, and dared the other two to debate. He knows he will have an advantage in oratory skills, and he has already de-feathered one chicken among the two. But he lacks the factor of 'Yan Ching', even though he has a following of sorts among the Mat Rempits. I just hope he will try to redeem himself by focusing on issues and not go on another 'whack the bogeyman' orgy. But then again, this IS UMNO, and keris has been waved, and even promises of it being bathed in whatever, etc., we must also be prepared for ISA-able utterances to be hurled in the debate.

And we must voice ourselves if such do come to pass, and push for those who play the race card to be detained under the 'protection' of ISA.

Having said that, of the three, I am prepared to see KJ, notwithstanding the KJ Chronicles, win this Youth election. To be fair to him, he has yet to wet his ears in the political arena, yet so much crap has already been attributed to him. And he was generously credited with the downfall of Abdullah -- wasn't that what you all want? And if nothing else, in the face of the emerging Mahathirism in the party, let's just have an 'outsider' in the equation, just for the heck of needling those Mahathir loyalists.

But, again, this is UMNO, where not much values are placed on filial piety, let alone FIL piety. So, KJ for his own political future he may barter his 'principles' (whatever those are) to be in the good books of Mahathir and Najib. But, will Mahathir ever forgive him? And more so, if KJ becomes the Head at the expense of Mahathir's 'Crown Prince'?

Hmmm, gonna be an interesting situation.
written by Liberace, October 28, 2008 13:11:36
Mukhriz can't debate to save his own life. But I guess it's only fair that we allow him to send a representative. I know big daddy's just waiting for someone to ask.
written by Jan, October 28, 2008 13:24:29
If Khairy is the UMNO Youth head and Najib is the UMNO president that should be interesting. They both don't see eye to eye. Remember RPK's SD? It says PM/KJ may have the military intelligence paper on big hippo being at the murder site of Altantuya.
written by Anti Relon, October 28, 2008 20:21:51
Like the American elections (the primaries), a public debate is a wonderful idea. The Americans vote the best candidate from the party. Come on Mukhriz, agree to the public debate.
written by sonofmalaysia, October 28, 2008 23:56:06
If you have to choose between a monkey, a hyeena and a wolf to be in your neigbourhood, you will choose the monkey !!

written by carribeanking7, October 29, 2008 16:44:32
bapak mukhriz pemidato hebat

mukhriz nak debat bapak dia sekat

bapak mertua khairy kuat tidur

pak lah tak kisah sebab nasi sudah jadi bubur