Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Legend Of Jalan Alor

The Legend Of Jalan Alor PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 October 2008 00:23

Should we categorise Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Abdul Hakim Borhan as a "man with excess energy" as described by Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik?

He went abroad for 15 times within two years and at the same time, contributed RM1.46 million to the international tourism industry.

He has got the world at his feet while Kuala Lumpur in his hands. Perhaps, nothing much can be done to Kuala Lumpur under his control.

In his imaginary world, public transport in Kuala Lumpur is as convenient as London, the city is as clean as Fukuoka and as safe as Singapore. Kuala Lumpur is planned like Canberra, it is green like Auckland and full of culture like Paris. Kuala Lumpur is the world's most perfect city – perhaps, he really thought so.

So, he thought hard in a working day of doing nothing: What else I can do?

"They wanted the lively, warm and old street back."

Oh yes! He saw a road name change proposal on his table. Excitedly, he cried: "I can change Jalan Alor to Jalan Kejora." What a great idea! He placed Venus (Kejora), one of the seven planets, in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. Not only internationalisation but "universalisation" for Kuala Lumpur now.

As a result, Jalan Alor's residents became Venus' s residents. And visitors did not even realised that they have entered the Venus domain.

As Abdul Hakim was feeling proud of his greatest achievement, the people of Jalan Alor were burning in their chest. They refused to be Venus citizens, they just wanted to be the people of Jalan Alor. They wanted the lively, warm and old street back.

An order from Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Zulhasnan Rafique: Jalan Alor will keep its name.

Abdul Hakim could not understand why his dream was rejected? "As the Kuala Lumpur mayor, what do you want me to do?"

He looked out from his office window: flooding in urban areas, traffic congestions, dirty streets, sewers with rats playing around, blocked river mouths....

Oh, the name of Kuala Lumpur means muddy river mouth. How can it be? Let's change it to Kuala Bersih, which means clean river confluence.

No one will say no this time, right? (By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

written by Sandy, October 28, 2008 00:50:10
Yeah right. And change the district Pontianak to Tuhan and it will be the tourists' attraction
written by cheemengwong, October 28, 2008 00:56:30
How about changing Jalan Tun Abdul Razak to Jalan Marikh (Mars)?
How about changing Jalan Sultan Ismail to Jalan Saturn (Saturn planet)?

Please go and clean up the clogged longkang in Bukit Bintang better lah!
written by arazak, October 28, 2008 01:01:27
"Oh yes! He saw a road name change proposal on his table. Excitedly, he cried: "I can change Jalan Alor to Jalan Kejora." What a great idea! He placed Venus (Kejora), one of the seven planets, in the centre of Kuala Lumpur"
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Luckily this idiot did not renamed this Jalan Alor to "Jalan Uranus" (one the planets too).

Imagine this hypothetical conversation between a tourist and a taxi driver. . .,

Tourist : Mister.. . ., what is the name of this road (as they were cruising along Jalan Bukit Bintang)?

Taxi driver: Oh. . ., this is Jalan Bukit Bintang or Bukit Bintang road…

They moved on and the taxi make a right turn just before Jalan Pudu and entered Jalan Alor (now renamed as “Jalan Uranus” by the KL Mayor).

Tourist: And, what do you call this road?

Taxi driver: “your ra nus”.

The poor tourists thought he heard an “obscene word” from the taxi- driver and shouted at the bewildered taxi-driver to stop!

Tourist: You are an extremely rude man. . ., I should not have come to this
country!!!

(Ps* What the tourist heard is “your anus”. . ., got it!)

As I said . . ., luckily this idiot did not renamed “Jalan Alor” to “Jalan Uranus”!

written by renoir, October 28, 2008 01:01:37
We gotta get some legitimacy for mayors and council members, meaning they have to be elected. The people's voice must be heard and their choice respected.

written by Hakim Joe, October 28, 2008 01:05:14
No-lah! Just change ALL the street names to Jalan Datuk Abdul Hakim Borhan. Then at least we know for sure where all the places and shops are in KL.
It will be on Jalan Datuk Abdul Hakim Borhan!!! So easy lah!!!

written by Steven Tan, October 28, 2008 01:17:54
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

If Datuk Abdul Hakim Borhan don't know where to start or whatelse to do, may be he can something regarding the taxis in KL before the drivers (some drivers) fully tarnish the entire nation.

Agence France-Presse - 9/18/2008 2:55 AM GMT

MALAYSIA's 'WORST IN THE WORLD' TAXIS TARNISH NATIONAL IMAGE

The ads promoting "Malaysia: Truly Asia" aim to welcome visitors with a warm smile to a prosperous and modern nation, so the taxi fleet branded "the worst in the world" can come as a bit of a shock.

Even the locals are not spared the shabby service of unkempt and hostile drivers behind the wheels of decrepit vehicles who refuse to use the meter, overcharge and pick-and-choose which destinations they will travel to
At the popular KLCC mall under Kuala Lumpur's iconic Petronas Twin Towers is a typical scene, as a gang of cabbies negotiate with a young Norwegian couple just metres from a signboard warning against "taxi touts".

"Flat rate, flat rate, no metre," one driver insists as the tourists try to find a cab to take them to their hotel, less than two kilometres (1.2 miles) away.

Anxious to escape the baking heat, they agree to pay 25 ringgit (7.22 dollars) for a trip that would have cost less than three ringgit on the meter. "Is it expensive? We don't know, we thought it is normal here," said the woman as they piled in with their shopping bags.

More frequent visitors, however, are vocal in their criticism and say that aggressive and unprofessional drivers are tarnishing the nation's image as a squeaky clean and hospitable destination.

"I first visited Malaysia in 2006 and I was impressed by everything I saw except for the worst taxi service I have endured," said Kabir Dali, an Indian tourist waiting in vain for a metered taxi at another mall.

"I paid a whopping 260 ringgit (74 dollars) from the Kuala Lumpur International Airport to town and was later told that was twice the proper amount." Complaints about taxis are common in many countries, but in Malaysia it has escalated to an outpouring of frustration, on blog sites and in letters to newspapers.

In a survey by the local magazine The Expat, some 200 foreigners from 30 countries rated Malaysia the worst among 23 countries in terms of taxi quality, courtesy, availability and expertise.

The respondents lashed the fleet as "a source of national shame" and "a serious threat to tourists -- rude bullies and extortionists".

Salvation is in sight though, as a number of smaller, up-scale operators enter the market to provide a more expensive but quality taxi service for frustrated visitors and locals.

The uniformed drivers, behind the wheels of smart new multi-purpose vehicles and sedans, switch on the meter as a matter of course and do not refuse destinations -- surprising and delighting commuters in the capital.

Abdul Razak, operations manager for Dubai-based Citicab which launched here in January, said that even in poorer nations such as Thailand and Indonesia, taxis are smarter and the drivers far more courteous.

"I would say it is the worst in this region, undoubtedly. I have travelled to all countries in this region and our company operates taxis in many parts of the world. The situation here is the worst I have seen," he told AFP.

"The vehicles are in shabby condition, the driver will take you if he likes your face -- that is, if he agrees with where you want to go for the price he insists on." The government has called on taxi firms to lift their standards, but various campaigns have achieved little, and many blame the lack of enforcement on rampant corruption in the police and bureaucracy.

"It is difficult for the roads and traffic department to take stern action," said a security officer at one city mall as he watched the touts swoop.
"Taxi operators and the company which hold the licences are all linked to some politician or another," he said. "Drivers here are ruthless because they are unchecked by authorities who are almost non-existent."

John Koldowski, from the Pacific Asia Travel Association, said that "less than desirable" taxi drivers have an outsize impact on a nation's image.
"The first contact a tourist gets with locals is often during airport transits to hotels and it creates a very, very strong first impression, either be good or bad," he said.

"Authorities certainly need to do their jobs and act upon any complaints strongly, quickly and visibly.
written by johanssm, October 28, 2008 01:42:25
We need an elected town mayor.
A real town mayor who really works for the town / city.
We do not need any autocratic bimbo appointed by umno .
Jalan Alor name change is a big mistake and was not consulted .
Residents and business people screwed him rightly.
Jalan Alor need a restoration work as well. It is in total mess .
The arab garden (ain arabia ) built at a cost of 1 million which is nearby Jalan Alor is also in total mess.
Broken tiles, broken plugs , broken lights , jaga kereta boys sleeping there-
Bandaraya KL or Rasuahraya KL ?
written by Mee Udang, October 28, 2008 01:56:42
I suggest change your name to, HAKIM BORLAMPA... smilies/grin.gif
written by truthbespoken, October 28, 2008 02:12:49
arazak,

haha, that's a funny one! But isn't changing road names and irking the public in the process the forte of our Malaysian authorities? What else can they do better and with such consistency?

written by FFT, October 28, 2008 03:36:43
Why are you all acting so surprised?

This name change coincides with the election season for the National Nazi Convention, a.k.a. UMNO General Assembly.

The change of road names has everything to do with dishing out overpriced contracts for new street signs to an UMNO cockroach so he can pad his war chest to buy votes and climb up one rung higher on the Nazi hierarchy.

I mean, c'mon, if Rosmah can attempt to pad her war chest by trying to spend billions for overpriced helicopters, why can't a lowly UMNO cockroach call in a favor with his mayor friend to get a contract for road signs?
written by doggone, October 28, 2008 06:20:28
written by Ken Liew, October 28, 2008 08:17:42
as long as there are NO jalan Dr.M, or Jalan Pahlah, or Najis.... I can live with it......

Where ppl will still call it jalan Alor for another 10 years to come.

SO, where will be the JALAN Alien located soon>>>???

MORE NAME CHANGING FOR JALAN, MORE OUTDATE MALAYSIA's MAP WILL BE...... Thank you, for making more outdate status in Malaysia, Super dupper Jenious, ~!!
written by miwaki, October 28, 2008 08:20:15
How about changing Jln Bukit Bintang to Jln Bukit Bulan ? Jln Raja Laut to Jln Raja Sungai ? Jln Tun Sambanthan to Jln Samy Vellu ? Otak tak da ke ?
written by Kampong, October 28, 2008 08:59:08
Who selected this moron to be the mayor of KL? Them imbeciles should be totally voted out come next election, otherwise we will see no end of these jokers.
written by chc, October 28, 2008 09:59:02
well folks...this is wat u get by appointing a guy based on race and skin colour rather than on merit and qualifications. malaysia boleh.
written by CPY, October 28, 2008 10:22:11
Ok. Reminds me about the identity politics in Taiwan. Chen Shui-bian(pro-independent) president of ROC(Taiwan) change the name of Jie Shou Rd(Long Live Chiang Kai-shek rd) to Ketagalan Bouvelard(a tribe used to live in Taipei).That road is around the presidents office. Maybe DBKL may name roads like, Jalan Hidup BN, Jalan Hidup UMNO, Jalan MCA Anjing UMNO, Jalan Ketuanan Melayu, Jalan Pendatang, & etc after BN ideology. Then change KL anthem to 'Tiada UMNO, Tiada Melayu'(based on without the ccp, there will be no new China) from its present form.
written by bkho, October 28, 2008 12:56:04
DBKL employees, your boss is the best at spending the money.
Shouldn't it be going to your increments and bonuses?

http://bkho.********.com
written by rams609, October 28, 2008 14:15:36
Haiyya...callitwatchalike...but I'm gonna still calll jalan tuanku abdul rahman BATU ROAD, jalam semarak GURNEY ROAD, Jalan p.ramlee PARRY ROAD. and jalan Alor ALOR ROAD LOR.....
written by orangdunia, October 28, 2008 14:53:01

Not only are our taxi drivers the worst in the world, our bus drivers also hold the same 'proud' award. The smoke in their buses, stop anywhere they want, switch routes whenever they feel like it and drive like they are taking on Lewis Hamilton. The worst of the lot have got to be Metrobus drivers. Bus drivers, I tell you, are the most powerful people in KL. The police, JPJ and yes, the DBKL mayor one and all cannot control them. That's why the mayor decided to play around with road name changes - he's got no guts to take on the real problems

Steven Tan wrote...

MALAYSIA's 'WORST IN THE WORLD' TAXIS TARNISH NATIONAL IMAGE

The ads promoting "Malaysia: Truly Asia" aim to welcome visitors with a warm smile to a prosperous and modern nation, so the taxi fleet branded "the worst in the world" can come as a bit of a shock.
written by cllim123, October 28, 2008 16:57:41
I still call Hugh Low Street, Cowan Street and Cockman Street as such in Ipoh. Likewise, Campbell Road, Maxwell Hill, Fraser's Hill, Mount Ophir, even Brickfields. And Teluk Anson is still so and not Teluk Intan to many. So, Batang Berjuntai should remain so. Why should these names be changed while there are so many unnamed streets and places like where I am staying for the last 8 years is still Jalan 1/127A? And my previous address is still Jalan 8/3. What about naming all the streets in PJ like SS2/3 and 21/19 and the like?