Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow S'gor appoints non-bumiputra to temporarily head PKNS

S'gor appoints non-bumiputra to temporarily head PKNS PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 October 2008 00:19

By EDWARD RAJENDRA in The Star

SHAH ALAM: Dissatisfaction over the appointment of a non-bumiputra to helm the Selangor State Development Corporation (PKNS) as acting general manager did not stop the state from giving the post to a Chinese.

Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said the appointment of a non-bumiputra was a short-term measure for one year to ensure the effective continuation of management.

On being told that certain quarters are against the appointment of a non-bumiputra to the post, Khalid smiled and said, that “it is their view and this is mine”.

PKNS general manager Datuk Harun Salim whose annual contract expires this Thursday will not have it extended, as he is 60. Harun retired in mid-2003 and will have to leave the government entity in compliance with the Public Services Department’s age requirement.

Current Finance and Corporate deputy general manager Low Siew Moi, 57, will have her annual contract extended to replace Harun, as acting general manager.

Low, who is in Australia for a holiday, received her letter on Wednesday afternoon.

“We can’t have two top officers retire at the same time as we need an effective continuation of management. One best option is to extend Low’s service on contract basis to replace Harun,” said Khalid after he officially launched the I-City complex here.

He added that Low would work in tandem with the PKNS board of directors to steer the state government’s business arm forward until the state could source for a bumiputra person with high calibre and ethics and someone who is committed to lead the state’s business arm.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by GeoGeo, October 28, 2008 00:28:23
Qualified Malaysians overide colours, race and religion.
That's the way to go Selangor.
Malaysia for change.
agree 168
written by truthbespoken, October 28, 2008 00:33:21
Why is the STAR highlighting this issue? The paper wants to create another racial issue over a normal administrative appointment? Isn't it the perogative of the state boss to decide on this? I thought only the MBs' posts are largely mandatory racial appointments in the country? Stupid and mischievious MSM paper is at it again!
agree 130
written by Jan, October 28, 2008 00:49:57
Even at this age and time there are people who are against the appointment of a person not of their race to a high position. Worse of all they rather it a foreigner than to see it given to a chinese or Indian. These are the real classic racists.
Honestly I wouldn't give a damn if they got an eskimo for our PM if he does a good job.
written by Davy McChester, October 28, 2008 01:09:20
Why not? There were top non malay civil servants at Federal and State levels including a number of capable generals in the Malaysian Armed Forces. Why should this be something out of the extraordinary. It is not ! There was also a Chinese governor in Melaka for the matter.
written by picadilly, October 28, 2008 01:35:28
YOU know whats going to happen, within two days this issue will be running MAD like HOt cake in Utusan Meloya Headlines (this will be the series of articles)

1. Melayu Biadab: MB selangor menjual martabat kaum
2. Sernyum Kambing: MB Sgor macam pak pandir, tak tau jaga hak melayu,
PKNS itu bumiputra punye, mulalah kehakisan bangsa
3. awang selamat: Dalam pura-pura MB Selangor mongorak langkah mencairkan keuthan kaum melayu dengan membenarkan seorang bukan melayu menjadi penagarah PKNS. Rupa rupanyua Khalid semacam jahil tetapi sebenarnya ia suatu muslihat yang telah dimanupulasi oleh DAP.
4. Surat daripada pengarang: ketuanan melayu patut bermula di selangor
5. sms daripada pembaca: dulu babi dibela, sekarang cina diberi PKNS, saya amat malu kpd didri sendiri kerana mengundi PKR semasa mac 8. Hundreds of sms screwing khalid will be coming out as well as instigating people to MOGOK.
6.UITM will do a gathering Haram in front of MB office at shah alam, its only a walking distance away from UiTM. this will lead entire Malaysia to MOGOK with TV3 showing headlinessmilies/tongue.gifeople carrying banners on tv3 footage Khalid NATANG, tak tau erti hak melayu! and an exclusive report from KHIR TOYOL...

lets watch this unravel//BN drama fodder by PKR
written by Spear Bing, October 28, 2008 01:38:10
We cannot never be ' colour blind' as long as MSM like the Star continues to capitalise on using race to prop up its sales.

That's not reality but actuality.
written by kksam, October 28, 2008 01:39:36
The Shit is at it again. luckily i stop buying it since a year ago, save lots of money for my weekly candle vigil, i rather light a candle for RPK than buying a piece of thrash
written by johanssm, October 28, 2008 01:48:53
Listen , as long as the person is able and can do the job well ,honest , clean with no rasuah who cares about skin color , race , breed and religion.
written by Nice n Simple, October 28, 2008 03:17:05
Are we going at the race and religion thingy,... again??!! I'm so tired of this country's racial and religious policies and the backward mindset of it's inhabitants.

Good job Malaysia, continue to live in the dark. No skills, expertise, experience or specialization needed. Just need the right mix of skin colour and religion and you can even stand to be the next PM of this country. Ability to handle explosives is a bonus.
written by OilMan, October 28, 2008 03:55:17
Even Barack Obama can vie for the Presidential post of the USA so why not a Malaysia of Chinese ethnicity be appointed to helm the Selangor State Development Corporation, a state entity? Again some quarters trying to stir racial sentiments to anger some Malays.
written by cheekymate, October 28, 2008 06:12:45
The government is fanning racism. PKR is walking the talk of truely practising meritocracy and should be highly commended on their efforts. Aren't we all Anakmalaysia or has our status changed since the arrival of Ahmad Ismail?
written by shamadz72, October 28, 2008 07:17:01
The appointment of non-Malay to head the top Selangor GLC company is lauded and should be supported by everyone. At the same time, I would also like our authority to come out with a law against job discrimination which has been blatantly abused whether it is in the public sector or private sector. It is time we should take out the requirement of what 'kulit' that person is as a deciding factor when hiring that person. For a start, we all as consumers should also boycotted any establishment who cordoned such practice. Sadly, how many of us feel disgusted or do something about it (probably by telling that shop owner what he did is racist) when we see job advertisement such as "Chinese female only", "Chinese only". Or do you support PKR move because it involves your races and conveniently turn a blind eye when it might benefit you guys?

The worst job advertisement I have seen have its criteria as "No Indians". I feel disgusted when I see it display on a groceries shop which I was about to enter, enough to make me walk out of it buy what I want to buy somewhere else. I hope all of you guys will have the courage to do the same thing!

written by DreamLady, October 28, 2008 07:21:48
My dear proarte, please, keep your cool and read once more the above article.

......it is their view and this is mine.............from his tone, he does not waver as to the choice he makes. this is the man who means business..

Further more he spends the last 6 months cleaning up the trash left behind by toyol. it is not as easy as it seems. Try to put yourself in his shoes before demeaning him....
written by ireneyow, October 28, 2008 07:24:52
Excellent. What a great Menteri Besar. I always belive that a person who dares make a difference will always suceed. Here we can see Khalid having these qualities. He is very focus and I am very sure his decision is the best.

Let the UMNO papers write what they want to write as long as the decision is final THATS IT.
written by Petaling, October 28, 2008 07:27:32
Easy guys. The PKNS is supposed to advance the economic well-being of Malays. Don't try to change that overnight. It is not realistic. This arrangement is fine. It is what I call pragmatic and this is acceptable. Any further calls for a permanent position will derail Pakatan's long term plan for a progressive Malaysia. We all know, we have to make sure that all races need to be on par with one another. Unless we have a formula or magic bullet that will get us there and implementable straight away, let's be reasonable in our expectations.
written by DreamLady, October 28, 2008 07:51:16
Proarte.........three races combined to become Pakatan rakyat, khalid is trying his best to enforce the ideology of multiracial government. i.e terresa kok is another good example. When she was jailed, khalid went extra mile to fight for her, can you now get a clearer picture of him now ? or do I need to elaborate further to other woes faced by rakyat Selangor when it was under toyol's charge??

Please, my dear proarte, do not make irrational comment, because it is not healthy for you or for anybody else for that matter......
written by fireduck, October 28, 2008 08:01:42
written by Petaling, October 28, 2008 07:27:32
Easy guys. The PKNS is supposed to advance the economic well-being of Malays.

Really? I doubt it. After all, it is the investment/development arm of the State of Selangor. But we all conveniently accept and expect it to advance the economic well-being of Malays only. No, I think it was meant to advance the well-being of anak-anak Selangor and the state itself, but as usual, it was hijacked by a bunch of cronies along the way, and even segments of the Malays are neglected.

And my thoughts is that there is nothing wrong with what MB Khalid is doing. He is willing to make unpopular but appropriate decisions, and considering that PKNS is the business arm of the state govt, it is a good business decision. May noy be politically correct decision to a few sad folks, but still a good business decision.

And I laud his move to stop all those JVs with the private property developers. The few tycoons get vast pieces of forest reserve land to develop, but they, in the interest of the mighty Ringgit, do not care about the environmental impact at all. And worse, we now know that PKNS gets shafted the short end of the stick in every one of these deals.
written by Dongra Dude, October 28, 2008 08:32:07
Even the American Whites has changed and ready to accept a Black as their President. But in Bolehland only KETUANAN M has deeply penetrated in their mind and soul. They cannot accept the changes in this country. They dont mind a monkey be the leader of an Organisation as long he is from the Ketuanan M. With this kind of Mentality, the vision 2020 of Great M@#$$%#r only a joke. Anyway well done MB Selangor you have initiated the first step towards the objective of a new Malaysian dream smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by InEffective, October 28, 2008 08:39:16

What is the Definition of Bumiputra in the Constitution ?
(has it even been defined? Or has it strategically been left un-defined ?)
written by loosecannon, October 28, 2008 08:46:02
Let's give the Selangor MB his due credit. This is a good start. If the appointee does her work well it will be a feather in the cap for the opposition managed state. Is PKNS a bumiputra entity? If not, why shouldn't a non-bumi be running it? It's the rakyat money which should be best managed. It's not a charitable organisation to dish money and positions for cronies. For once, let's see we get something back for our hard earned money. As an ex-corporate CEO, Khalid knows that that picking the right person to run a big organisation successfully is crucial. Let's give him our support. To hell with Umno monkeys.
written by Taikohtai, October 28, 2008 09:01:18
Khalid a racist? This must surely be the joke of the week!
Whether it is black or white, so long as it catches mice, that cat will do - so says Deng Xiao Peng and look at China today!
Until he can find a better candidate, whether Malay, Indian or whatever, Khalid's only interested in getting the job done - pure and simple!
Gua Caya Sama You Khalid!
written by Zapper, October 28, 2008 09:52:28
These racist again....if these bastards feel so strongly that a non-bumiputra is not qualified to hold this position, then these bastards should not benefit from the taxes paid by non-bumiputras. Please check with TDM how many percent of the taxes are paid by non-bumi.
written by marbl3s, October 28, 2008 11:46:25
Tan Sri Khalid has my respect.

http://marbl3s.********.com
written by alpha100, October 28, 2008 11:51:06
Is it oredi part of social contract to have bumi head PKNS? If oredi, then better rescind the appointment although its temporary. Otherwise, trouble again for PR!
written by cheekhiaw, October 28, 2008 11:53:21
The MB's choice is probably between extending the contract of one from a thief and crooked knife culture, and another which is not.

One may support the decision or oppose it depending on which culture one is from.

written by Proarte, October 28, 2008 11:54:40
DreamLady said:

'My dear proarte, please, keep your cool and read once
more the above article.

......it is their view and this is
mine.............from his tone, he does not waver as
to the choice he makes. this is the man who means
business..

Further more he spends the last 6 months cleaning up
the trash left behind by toyol. it is not as easy as
it seems. Try to put yourself in his shoes before
demeaning him.... '

My dear Lady,

It is you who have not the read the article carefully
and have failed to grasp the fundamental issue at
stake here. That is the equality of races which is an
inalienable human and constitutional right. That you
can gloss over this is simply shocking and speaks
volumes about your regard for the sense of dignity and
justice of non- Malays. The grossly negligent comment
by Khalid about having a Chinese in the interim period
until a Bumiputera could be sourced is clear in its
intent.

PKR should never belittle and be racist
towards other communities as this is old style BN
politics which PKR would have us believe was passe and
instead would be ushering in a new paradigm of
equality and mutual respect. Unfortunatley Khalid's
comments reinforces 'Ketuanan Melayu' and not
'Ketuanan Rakyat' as was promised.

In the hope of a new paradigm, non-Malay Malaysians
must be careful not to throw the baby out with the
bathwater by condoning '2nd class' or 'pariah'
treatment. Otherwise we would not have moved an inch
forward politically but instead continue to play the
'beggar' politics of MCA and MIC and other component
parties of BN, to the UMNO 'Tuan'.

written by cheekhiaw, October 28, 2008 12:21:53
That's probably because you all may not wish to recognise that the current MB was from the same culture as the last MB.

That culture will take some time to shake off even with the greatest human will.

written by speedberg, October 28, 2008 12:37:05
He ls sharp,intelligent and commands respect!!!
If you limit your actions in life to do things that nobody can possibly find fault with, YOU WILL NOT DO MUCH!!!
written by Jan, October 28, 2008 13:07:33
If god gave me a choice to choose between Ling Liong Sik and Anwar Ibrahim as Prime Minister of Malaysia I will choose Anwar for the sake of the country. Ling may be of my race but I feel Anwar is the better man.
I think it's time for everybody to put country before race.
written by ChiaCY, October 28, 2008 14:33:09
So MCA should appoint bumiputra as Editor in Chief for the Star??
written by sydput, October 28, 2008 14:44:07
What is wrong with a non-malay to head PKNS Mr Khalid? Appoint her as GM until she reaches 60. Why? because most malay bereaucrats know nuts about business and often get a raw deal in ventures with the private sector. Ref IPP's, numerous development projects/JV in selangor etc. Most of the time, there is a conflict of interest stuation, with kickbacks bein offered, hence the raw deal PKNS gets. Since politicians sits on the board of PKNS, the malay GM just "go with the flow" according to their bosses desire.
Let this women teach the malays how to deal with private sector wheeler dealers. Only after that, then you can appoint whomever you wish.
written by InEffective, October 28, 2008 15:44:26

Just want good governance - only good governance can deliver true and lasting benefits.
(dont care what color, religion, race, sex, age, height, width, who you are)
written by cllim123, October 28, 2008 16:36:58
Good tha YAB Khalid can recognise the calibre over the skin colour but his statement that Low was appointed to fill the seat until "the state could source for a bumiputra with high calibre and ethics" is somewhat troubling. Why that seat must be filled only by a bumiputera is curious. Surely anyone who is qualified to look after all our money is qualified not because of his or her colour or sex as these has nothing to do with anything. Let's move on please, Tan Sri Khalid included.
written by MalaysianFirst, October 28, 2008 16:44:55
If I am the MB and these are the candidates for PKNS GM post:

Malay = Masters in Islamic Studies
Chinese = Masters in Agricultural Science
Indian = Masters in Astronomy
Undefinable = Masters in Creative Arts (whatever that is)
Foreigner (wherever he maybe from) = Masters in Automobile Design
Orangutan (with no name),Sepilok Santuary= CPA, FIMA, MBA, Phd in Bus.Management

My choice? Orangutan.
written by zonefinder, October 28, 2008 18:06:31
Some of you guys who criticize Khalid are naive. Do you think that a predominantly Malay organization will answer to a non Malay boss if a Malay alternative could be found? Lets face it, managing PKNS do not require rocket science and there are very good Malay managers around who can do the job. All we need is someone who is professional and don't give me the bs that only a Chinese is capable. I don't buy that even though I'm a Chinese.

Until and unless PKNS becomes a multiracial organization, placing a permanent non Malay as head will be disastrous and Khalid's approach is a sound one. We should applaud him for the courage to fight his detractors who want to bring a racial dimension to this decision.
written by coolandy, October 28, 2008 20:20:14
Let the Chinese make the money, then allow the Malays to collect and distribute the taxes generated. Malays must always be the TUAN!

This is the Ketuanan Melayu UMNO putras want. smilies/sad.gif

I am sure rational Malays would want the best man for the job independent of color.
written by rpremkumar2u, October 29, 2008 02:58:51
I am sure that the PKR and their Menteri Besar(s) and Chief minister work on the basis that the left hand knows what the right is doing.