Anti isa candlelight vigil - lights in darkness PDF Print
Monday, 27 October 2008 17:28

It was another great candle vigil… missing those who couldn’t be with us on this festive & special nite….

Happy Deepavali !!! Enjoy the many many pix within… HERE

written by educationist, October 27, 2008 17:48:31
yes, lights in the darkness!
How apt the description!
I believe that for many of us who cannot be there physically for numerous reasons our spirits and minds are with you folks.
Keep it up!
For even as I feel discouraged by the magnitude of our struggle against the UMNOputras , I drew solace from you brave souls and I'm reminded yet again that we must soldier on.
That's the least we can do for RPK who's now behind bars because he cared for the future of Malaysia!
written by cheekymate, October 27, 2008 17:59:03
A heartfelt evening. Wished I could have been there together with you guys, WARRIORS OF JUSTICE! When the going gets tough, the tough gets going!
written by DreamLady, October 27, 2008 19:38:21
Between light and darkness, there is a tiny space, meant for those who are undecided whether to be with the righteousness or the devils themselves...

We need to call upon the hearts of the lions to help spearhead a divine path, filled with enchanting light, to lead those who are either blind, mute or deaf onto the right track. Armed with people power, we, the rakyat, unite to form a mighty force, to surge forward and confront the evils in the battle fields..........
written by justinlian, October 27, 2008 19:49:28
The Vigil lighting was good but I urge the people to come abit early to group it into a larger group to voice out also will have a compact and for others to see also they will defintiely come to join.
Not like a famous Kopi Tiam , people going in and out with not enough seats.
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 20:13:18
Ya,so nice, how I wish all MT bloggers can show up and say who is who.Isn't that fun.Next big one will be Christmas.
written by justinlian, October 27, 2008 20:48:45
Ya, you wish... ahmadneil..

Better wish for a christmas present instead..
I might give you one.
written by kksam, October 28, 2008 00:53:47
yup another great night. Here i wish to thank Michael who came all the way from Singapore, Paula from Penang, and Suzie from JB, thank you for showing up. to the rest distance is nothing if you have the will. Next Friday another candle vigil at Seremban old Convent School near Terminal One, so please if you stay around it's your time to show support.
http://kkitsam.*********.com
written by renoir, October 28, 2008 02:41:47
Truly a wonderful night, and the first time our vigil was held without rain or the threat of it. But the wind was stronger than usual, blowing off my candlelight every now and then. I must remember to imitate those who placed their candles in a cup, which gave reasonable shelter to the flame.

Hisham, a former ISA detainee, gave an ironic and highly entertaining talk about his experiences under the draconian Act. Some politicians chimed in with their calls for a more democratic society. Charles Santiago was a tall, charismatic figure: the audience must be glad he was on their side!

I was glad, too, to see Pastor OC Lim again, and at the same time upset that he was coughing. I remembered asking him the previous vigil - on a rainy night - whether he'd like to use my umbrella. Being a tough individual and, I suspect, always young at heart, he declined. I hope it was not because of that night's rain that he got his cough.

There were lots of kids, and like the previous vigil more young people. Protest songs bounced off the warm night air. The cars tooting and hooting added to the feeling that we had, indeed, the beginnings of a people's movement.

But the authorities can nip our movement in the bud by simply freeing everyone and expunging the ISA from our nation's laws. If they do that, many of us, me included, would be glad to do other things on Sunday nights. I might even turn on TV3 or read the NST. Cross my heart, I would.

written by BORN FREE, October 28, 2008 09:39:36
YES ! the candle light vigil was very good indeed ! A feeling of togetherness of one big family ! That is RPK's family !
But it would have been better if the microphone used was of a better quality.
We standing behind couldnt hear properly what those speakers were talking !
Looking forward to this sunday !!