A sad Deepavali PDF Print
Monday, 27 October 2008 15:59

OCT 27 — It is a sad Deepavali for members and supporters of the Hindu Rights Action Force. Their organisation has just been outlawed and their leaders are still detained without trial under the Internal Security Act.

They have recently heard Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar's decree that their organisation was detrimental to peace, public order, security and the moral values of Malaysia

They have also heard Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan's claim that Hindraf's status was akin to a secret society.

And like many Malaysians, they are wondering why their organisation was banned just a couple of weeks after they attended a Hari Raya open house at the PWTC in Kuala Lumpur to present a card to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi asking him to release their leaders detained under the ISA.

Many of them are still puzzled on how they could be accused of gate-crashing an "open house".

Even those who don't support Hindraf — some Malaysians think the group exaggerated claims of the Indian community being marginalised — thought it was just "rude" of them to ask the five-year-old daughter of exiled Hindraf leader P. Waythamoorthy to deliver the card — deemed political by some people — to the Prime Minister at such an event.

But they didn't expect that such an out-of-protocol act — which also included some supporters of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, also detained under the ISA, who wore T-shirts bearing the slogans "Free RPK" and "No to ISA" at the same Aidilfitri open house — would result in the banning of Hindraf.

Waythamoorthy has said that the ban would not banish the spirit and idea that created it.

"Hindraf represents the Indian commoner, the hard-working oily-faced man who is made fun of in the streets, and the man who people step on, the man who walks past you yet you notice him not."

As no one can kill off the spirit of perjuangan Melayu in Umno, it is almost impossible to destroy the idea of Makkal Sakthi (people's power) brought about by Hindraf that helped the opposition to wrest power from four states and deny the Barisan Nasional's two-thirds majority in Parliament in the last general election.

Just days before Deepavali, a group of Indian Malaysians were arrested when they tried to send a letter to the Prime Minister's office. Among those brought to the police station was a six-year-old girl.

Earlier, Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang had described the Hindraf members' presence at the Cabinet's Hari Raya open house as part and parcel of democracy.

"I don't think it was rude. That's democracy. In the United States, people demonstrate in front of the White House," he said recently.

Hindraf members did exactly the same thing at opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's Hari Raya open house in Kampung Baru, Kuala Lumpur, and instead of harassment from the organisers or the police, they were welcomed with open arms.

The opposition Pakatan Rakyat has criticised the ban on Hindraf.

"For the past few years, there were many coalition bodies, NGOs and concerned groups that have come up to champion various issues. We are surprised why only Hindraf is targeted.

"We are worried that this action to restrict civil rights will only anger the Indian community and add to more racial tension," said its spokesman Pas secretary-general Datuk Kamaruddin Jaffar.

However, the Dewan Rakyat Speaker recently rejected an emergency motion to debate the ban, citing "no urgency" to discuss the matter brought up by DAP vice-chairman M. Kulasegaran.

In his argument, the Ipoh Barat MP said: "Instead of using harsh, terror tactics, the authorities should engage Hindraf and resolve the fundamental problems of poverty and lack of opportunity that the Indian community faces. The ham-fisted move to ban Hindraf will only aggravate the disaffection of the Indian community towards the BN".

Many Indian Malaysians were loyal supporters of BN but Hindraf opened their eyes to problems of discrimination and neglect. Some joined Parti Keadilan Rakyat while others the DAP but many more have remained non-partisan

For many Indian Malaysians, they hope the spirit of Deepavali — the triumph of good over evil — will prevail. The Malays too might want to remember the wayang kulit epic about the triumphant return of Seri Rama and Sita Dewi after the hero rescued his wife who was kidnapped by the demon king Rawana, and that the couple later lived happily ever after.

It may be a myth to many but it is still an inspiring story despite the current sad mood for some people in celebrating this year's festival of lights.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by avj, October 27, 2008 16:21:48
When funds are low,and debts are high and your unshakable position is now very shakey,you need someone you can bully,and at same time look like a hero among your fellow miserable cronies.I can't think of better word to describe them, than this,"Bloody Cowards".
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 16:29:06
To all my MT brothers,
I'm not a INDIAN.I'm a malaysian.(chinese mix with eurasian).Believe!
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 16:33:54
ATTENTION...

To all who are still waiting for my Paris blockbuster,I have assure you all that it will be release becos MT is processing all the documents.I will go into exile when it's released.Very sensitive documents and MT is looking at the legal side of it.All this needs to be consulted with MT's lawyers.
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 16:37:55
Ooop! sorry,Ya ,it's sad to celebrate Deepavali,not becos of that Samy the bastard,but becos RPK is not around to give us some laugh.Also everyone thinks I'm a Red Indian,so that why it's so sad this Divali.
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 16:45:09
Another sad Deepavali is about last nite when I went fishing,hoping to catch a few wahoo ,but none.Also the spool was screeming and I thought WOW this bloody fish must be huge,but when I started to fight,the 80 Ib braided line snap.Shit! I curse like hell,blaming Samy Value.Indeed it was a sad Devali.
written by A MI, October 27, 2008 16:49:29
The colonialist granted independence on the assuarance the Alliance Party gave - that all 3 major races will be looked after. All that changed after second prime minister abd MCA and MIC sold their soul to the devil and now we see what is happening...all this while the Indian minority just accepted watever alms thrown their way by AMNO. Now that they are demanding their rights they get the slammer.
These Indians are under ISA because MIC sold out.

I suppose that the recent arrest of the 10 people including a 6 year old is a clear message to all Malaysians- just be happy with whatever scraps we thrown to you-- don't you dare ask for more. Only ones entitiled to ask for rights are those also entitled to ketuanan melayu.

Poor AMNO grassroots do not know that those in power are playing up the ketuanan melayu issue for their own aims and in the process are robbing the country blind.
written by A MI, October 27, 2008 16:53:41
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 16:33:54
.........Very sensitive documents and MT is looking at the legal side of it.All this needs to be consulted with MT's lawyers.

MT has released so many authentic documents and info, and what action has PeeDeeArEm. AceeA taken? zilch! As long as Petai, Musang, Najis and other crooks are in power there will be no justice.

BTW all it needs is a swearing at the nearest mosque and all parties implicated will be declared innocent.
written by Motherchell, October 27, 2008 16:58:37
Wan Hamidi Hamid well said ! No way will the Makkal Shakthi spirit be ever demolished with their lies and fabrications. Intellectually bankrupt Badawi and his hoodlums seem to think they are taking the Country to its helm but its actually to Hell.
We need RPK out at the earliest!

To Bro Ahmadneil, Good job , we depend on souls such as you to take this Land forward. We must always keep RPKs penance in mind for all that he suffers in pain -- should not be in vain!!!
written by Motherchell, October 27, 2008 17:00:33
apologies-- Typo--Makkal Shakthi spirit be ever demolished with their UMNO's lies and fabrications.
written by Hello Keithy, October 27, 2008 17:02:11
written by ahmadneil
I'm not a INDIAN.I'm a malaysian.(chinese mix with eurasian).Believe!

ahmadneil, I've seen you declaring a chinese, a malay, an Indian, a frenchman, ....I don't care. You stood up well and you are definitely human like all of us here. smilies/wink.gif
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 17:07:55
More Attention,Please..

I ask for your Patience.Already receive E mails from MT .Some documents have to be consulted.RPK have to be fully inform pending release.I assure you all that it won't be too long.

MT when are all these ready.Guys are all eager for it!
written by mikefonz, October 27, 2008 17:15:53
I am also sad for the Indians for this year's Deepavali. I used to have invitations previous years but this year I didn't. I can see why. If you take half of the 6% populations of Malaysian Indians who are supporters of Hindraf then the reason is simple. How can the Goverment outlaw the movement and jail their leaders. What is there to celebrate anymore ???
written by justinlian, October 27, 2008 17:41:45
Ahmadneil, even that you dont have also we wont mind.
If you have , of course it will be a show down.
Dont take it too hard..
Im sure rainbowseahorse will understand, right ?
written by Sunnysoul5, October 27, 2008 18:12:04
What goes around comes around.

DSAI's failure to form the new government by the said deadlines has affected his integrity very badly for sure. It was one of the possible tactics in the Art of War, but then the enemies could be adopting the Thick Face Black Hearted approach. For the moment, DSAI has lost the battle, and needs to re-strategise to fight back. This time it is important to keep the big mouth shut, and work quietly and give the enemies the surprise. Maybe a well deserved Christmas or New Year "present".

For the strategy or tactic to work well, it is sometimes better to keep it a secret and give the "enemies" the element of shock and surprise. The ABB and NTR fight is a good illustration of the element of "surprise", and ABB has to concede defeat without even having any chance of a fight back. This is a real checkmate so to speak.

No doubt this Deepavali is a sad one, and may not be a time for celebration per se. It is a time to forgive and engage in peaceful and harmonious ways of communicating and negotiating for an amicable solution. It calls for unity amongst the Indian community, and have a leader to seek peaceful resolution and avoid confrontation of any sort.

Truth shall prevail eventually, but the journey towards a better future is never an easy one. It is the determination, perseverance, conviction, courage and positive thinking guided by the clear goals and objectives that shall win at the end.

Do not be disheartened by the temporary setbacks and obstacles in life. As long as we stay on course with the set goals, we can then have light at the end of the tunnel.

No pain no gain.

Happy Deepavali to all.
written by Alice, October 27, 2008 19:00:32
Ahmadneil - hmmm totally confused as to who you are and what you are really up to?
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 20:10:47
Alice,
Have faith in me and you will not be confused,not like Rainbowseahorse ,sabahfan and justinlian.Believe me!Nothing but the truth!ok.
written by kenny, October 27, 2008 21:41:18
Ahmadneil,

I hope you can answer just 3 non-sensitive questions here since you are still carrying on with your charade. And I won't go into your unbelievable recklessness.

1) Why did you name one of your supposed 1st contacts as Francis Evion? Do you, yourself, know that there's no such French name? Don't say that you can get somebody's name wrong in cloak and dagger mission such as Altantuya's. That name in France is Francois.

2)Why did you say that L'Opera was directly opposite Hippopotamus Restaurant, when it is 200 metres away in the 10 o'clock direction? The addresses that you provided were correct. But anyone can have that information from tourism leaflets, souvenir bags or even wrappers. Of course, it's much harder to find such things on Mongolia here, which might explain your 'aborted' trip to Mongolia.

3)You mentioned that you took the high-speed train(TGV - train grande vitesse). What's the name of the train station for the bullet train in Paris? I'm not hard to impress; just an approximation will do if you can answer immediately.

Otherwise, stop it and cut the crap, brother. Be warned that I know Paris as much as I do KL. Just to give you an idea - is 8 years long enough? And I can have many tougher questions.

Sorry folks, I don't mean to claim anything here, otherwise I would have rushed in to challenge Ahmadneil right from the start. I'm just doing my part to maintain RPK's, MT's and our credibility.

Ahmadneil, I'm dreaming of writing an article to glorify and apologise to you.
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 22:03:32
TO KENNY...written by kenny, October 27, 2008 21:41:18

I don't have to be exact.What I write is my business but your 8 years does not give you the brain to write such a simple thing.Whether is true or not doesn't matter but at least I have entertain the majority.Let see what you can write to show me.Talk is cheap,Kenny!You can write all the shit but what's the use when only you are the only one reading.Skip mine if you don't mine.Thanks!
written by ahmadneil, October 27, 2008 22:10:10
Kenny....
What about the SMS between Najib and Shapee Abdullah!I would like to hear this from you!
written by kenny, October 27, 2008 22:56:33
Ahmadneil,

Malaysia-Today is not the platform to intentionally write such grave falsehood as entertainment. Yes, you said it yourself, entertainment.

You are misleading a lot of serious readers, especially the new ones! MT is a major platform in the search for political truths for Malaysians and also for readers from other parts of the world!

Have more substance instead of being a clown who not only entertains but misleads the newer readers with your childish antics and so-called creativity.

You are destroying MT's credibility and integrity! If you think that it's funny with your prolonged fantasy by taking MT readers for a long ride, it's high time that ride be stopped by an unpassable junction!

I don't need to write anything to satisfy you! Look into the archives to see my comments and articles if it's of interest to you. We deal in honest facts and manoeuvres to educate the less initiated readers. That's RPK's purpose! Foolishness would be nippped in the bud by RPK. And clowns would be sent elsewhere!

MT admin, I guess it's also time for you guys to say a few words now as clarification to the many confused readers. It's not a safe and clever game for MT to continue playing along, whatever the case maybe. Thank You.

p/s: the fact that Najib did not deny the SMS's proves it's existence. The sms's didn't come from Ahmadneil, did it? That was a hard, clever and swift blow to Najib who couldn't dispute it's existence.
written by arazak, October 27, 2008 23:04:15
ahmadneil, kenny. . ., both of you!

In the spirit of Deepavali cut the crap. . ., and take your duel elsewhere!
This is a time to reflect and think strategically rather than having a spat!!!

"Vous êtes les tous les deux bons gens, mais quelquefois agaçant. . ."

Gee. . ., I needed some room to breath here. . .!
written by kenny, October 27, 2008 23:08:45
"Vous êtes les tous les deux bons gens, mais quelquefois agaçant. . ."

Bon, d'accord Monsieur Arazak. Vous etes an bon homme aussi!
written by kenny, October 27, 2008 23:10:13
Excusez moi, c'est 'un'.
written by arazak, October 27, 2008 23:29:30
Kenny,

Concordé, mais quelquefois il est mieux de pardonner quelqu'un pour ses pitreries! En outre, c'est la veille Deepavli.

Nous tous travaillons pour la même cause!

Vous et ahmadneil devriez collaborer. Je sais quelquefois qu'il est allé par-dessus bord..., mais vraiment il est un bon homme! Comme de tous nous dans la famille MT, profondément dans son coeur il veut changer ce pays aussi... en mieux.

Seulement ses voies sont différentes!
written by arazak, October 27, 2008 23:45:04
It is not fair for the other MT readers and especially for ahmadneil what I have written above. Therfore I have translated the above converastion with kenny;
----------------------------------------------------------------------

"Agreed, but sometimes it is better to forgive someone for his antics! Furthermore, it is Deepavli eve.

We are all working for the same cause!

You and ahmadneil should work together. I know sometimes he went overboard. . ., but actually he is a good man! Like of all us in the MT family, deep in his heart he wants to change this country too. . . for the better.

Only his ways are different!"

. . ., end of translation.
--------------------------------------------------------------

So that's it.

Happy Deepavali. . ., and remember us in the far distant land, when you guys are eating your "muruku".
written by kenny, October 27, 2008 23:45:55
D'avant ici, j'avais ecrire le meme chose dans l'autre thread. Voila,
http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/14291/84/

Mais, je ne mettrais pas cette chose dans mon coeur.

Salut monsieur, a la prochaine fois.
written by indianputra, October 28, 2008 09:32:54
ahmadneil,

promises, promises and promises, raised hopes, raised hopes and raised hopes... we MT readers have gone through all that the last few months an our hopes crashed down in smitters.

Now, you don't start...if you really have something, just shut up until it is released.